Blue Hill apartment rental - Dining Area, Living Room, and Deck!
Dining Area, Living Room, and Deck!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Blue Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
One (1) bedroom, One (1) bath, sleeps three (3)

Newly remodeled, second floor, one bedroom apartment located in the heart of historic Blue Hill and Downeast Maine. This gorgeous apartment sleeps 3, has a gas fireplace,new bamboo, cork, tile, and carpeted floors, free wireless Internet and flat screen HD cable TV and a private balcony overlooking the back gardens, grapevines, and forest. Enjoy looking at the stars or waking with the sun on your Queen size bed under the sky light. You are just a short walk from beautiful Blue Hill Village, with its many shops, restaurants, galleries, beaches, town park, and hiking trails. Blue Hill is centrally located between Acadia National Park/ Bar Harbor, Stonington/Deer Isle, Ellsworth and Bangor. Enjoy cooking in your fully equipped gourmet’s kitchen or join us at one of our 2 on site restaurants: The Arborvine, with award winning fine dining; or DeepWater Brew Pub, a casual brew pub serving our very own Micro-brewed Beer and freshly made pub fare with indoor & outdoor seating.

We are unable to accommodate Pets and are a Non-Smoking Campus (both inside and outside of the apartment).

More Details
Hide Details

John and Beth Hikade moved to Blue Hill in the 1970's. They opened the award winning Fire Pond restaurant at that time and stayed in the restaurant business until the early 80's when they started their family. John then turned his focus towards carpentry and became a well known restorer of beautiful the old homes that are so prevalent in the Blue Hill area- their current restaurant is perhaps his greatest masterpiece yet. When their children were older John and Beth decided to start a new restaurant called Arborvine, which in its 13 years has won many awards, and gained the same stellar reputation that the Fire Pond had all throughout New England.

John Hikade purchased this apartment in 1998

When John and Beth purchased the building next door to the restaurant they knew they had their work cut out for them. With John's amazing carpentry skills and help from his 2 sons, the simple old doctors office next door was turned into a beautiful office space which is home to a local graphic design company (Borealis Press) and a gorgeous luxury apartment located in the center of Historic Blue Hill Village. Renters have found Blue Hill to have everything they are looking for from hiking, to dining and shopping, all right on the amazing Downeast Maine Coast.

During the summer months you have the convenience of 2 restaurants just across the white fence- The Arborvine with its award winning fine dining, or the more casual Deep Water BrewPub with Craft Beers, outside seating and a Pub style menu. There are fantastic farmer's markets held several times a week in town, plus wonderful local events like street dances with the local Steel Band, plays by the community theater companies, fairs, festivals, and of course the coast of Maine just waiting to be explored.

The cooler months bring a relaxed slower pace to the community. See Acadia national Park on skis, dine and shop. Many of the local shops and restaurants are still open, but you can also stay in and cook and curl up with a good book in front of the fire and watch the snow fly!

29 Reviews of Property 325925 in Blue Hill, Maine

Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Where do you live?
5

Beautiful Respite in Blue Hill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This property is an adorable, high end apartment in a lovely little town! 5 star food and scenery within steps of the door! Owners are so hospitable, and the area is fantastic. I highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

Weekend getaway!..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wonderful place to stay!! Very homey, comfortable and has everything you need. YOU MUST go to their restaurant that's right on site. The best food you will ever have!.. Very convenient to great sites and points of interest.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Boston, MA
5

Worth a trip from anywhere!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, perfectly located, private, cozy, romantic retreat. Pictures are accurate but this lovely apartment is even nicer in real life. Blue Hill has many terrific eating options (don't miss the superb Arborvine next door) but the perfectly equipped kitchen and cozy little gas stove will tempt you to bring home something yummy from the Blue Hill Coop (and wine and cheese from the excellent Blue Hill wine shop) and cuddle as the snow falls gently outside and the sun sets out your window overlooking a perfect New England white church steeple...Ask Chrissy, John, or Beth for advice on any of the many splendid local activities, from hiking and biking and water activities to art, culture, history and, of course, Maine's splendid food and beverages. A very cute brewpub is under construction in an old barn in the back of the property and looks to be the perfect place to be come this summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

Very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I stayed in this unit while I was in the area dealing with a local boatyard. The apartment was clean,nicely furnished and very comfortable. Nice location. Within walking distance to all amenities in Blue Hill. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Ambler, Pennsylvania
5

Comfortable and charming retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The Apartment at Arborvine was exactly as advertised and pictured. It was well appointed, incredibly clean and very convenient. Beth and John were excellent hosts - very helpful but not intrusive. Their Arborvine restaurant is a must.
Acadia National Park in one direction and Stonington in the other are both worthwhile destinations. We also visited Ellsworth and ate at Cleonice - an excellent tappas restaurant. We were very comfortable during our stay due to the thoughtfulness of our hosts. This was our first VRBO experience and it was an excellent one. We would recommend this property without reservation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Decatur, GA
5

This Place Gets it Right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our first trip to Maine, Blue Hill, Arborvine and Apartment. You can be assured and feel comfortable with this selection for your visit. The owners and managers" get it right" with warmth, hospitality, and attention to detail yet are respectful of your privacy. The apartment was perfect for my husband and me. We enjoyed returning in the evenings after filling the day with sites,hikes, and biking. The property is a wee village itself! Downtown shops, restaurants, galleris an easy stroll, but be sure to dine on property too! It was a restful week after a very busy summer. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Denver, Colorado
5

Perfect place to stay in a delightful town!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Arborvine was the first place I had ever rented through VRBO and we were delighted in every way. Chrissy, the manager, did a great job of communicating the initial nuts and bolts (quick responses to emails, easy to deal with on the $$) so we set it up quickly and painlessly.

The actual unit itself is a treat – everything is tasteful and thoughtfully put together, right down to the last detail. Nothing was missing in the kitchen that I could discover – appliances, coffee, pots, pans, colanders to rinse your blueberries… Initially, I was a little concerned about being so close to the restaurant, but it is a mature and subdued crowd and we never even heard them. While we didn’t eat at the Arborvine, we did go several times to the more casual part of the restaurant and enjoyed the beer, tasty burgers and out-of-this-world blueberry pie.

The town of Blue Hill is charming and there was a surprising amount for a 6-year-old to do – a wonderful playground, hands-on marine center, nearby kid-friendly beach. We made a number of day trips to explore the area and found no end of things to do and see. We visited Acadia & Bar Harbor, Stonington, Brooklin, Castine, Deer Isle, climbed to the top of Blue Hill Mountain, and went to the beach. We went out on a two-hour mail boat ride through all the small, family-owned islands, which was a definite highlight. I loved poking around in all the interesting galleries and often meeting the artists, who were hard at work. This isn’t schlock art – think Santa Fe prices, not tourist trap stuff.

It was a great trip and we hope to return to Maine next summer and every summer!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Bergen County, New Jersey
5

Modern, clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay here. It is as clean and nice as it looks in the pictures. The balcony, large shower and skylight over the bed were all big pluses. Blue Hill is a great location to use as a base camp to explore the area, with a great supermarket and drug store up the hill from the apartment. Highly recommend for a pleasant and relaxing trip to this part of Maine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Key Largo Florida
5

Our stay wasn't long enough!!

Our stay wasn't long enough!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our 5 day stay at Arborvine Apt was wonderful! Everything was just perfect, from the Acadia travel guide, to the fabulous dining experience we had at The Arborvine Restaurant. The apartment has everything needed, comfortable and complete.
Chrissy gave us all the info we needed to have a great few days to celebrate my husbands retirement!
Our first hike was 5 minutes away on Blue Hill Mt. The view was spectacular! Acadia offered lots more of adventure.
We enjoyed our meal at the Barncastle in Blue Hill as well as Thurston's in Bernard, the quiet side of Acadia.
I have recommended this apt. to my family and friends!
Thanks to all the staff at Arborvine, Chrissy, John and Beth for a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325925
+1 207 664-3592
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Wellesley, MA
5

Excellent Condo/Apartment in charming Blue Hill ME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I recently stayed at the Arborvine apartment for my sister's wedding in Blue Hill, ME. The apartment was amazing and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. We enjoyed the apartment's modern bathroom/kitchen and tasteful furniture and design. It was also spacious and had a beautiful deck to enjoy our coffee in the morning. One of the most important features of the apartment is that you can conveniently walk into the town without needing to drive. In addition, the Arborvine restaurant is steps away for fine dining and it's very own brewery. We will make the trip again next summer to stay at this wonderful property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2