Kihei house rental - Lanai view of our very traditional beach cottage
Lanai view of our very traditional beach cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kihei House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

Private home, approximately 75 yards across spacious lawn with palm trees to a low dune and sandy beach. The dune area is a regular destination for turtles to come ashore and lay their eggs. Quiet residential area, with a hand-cut lava-rock wall ensuring privacy, but only a short walk to a shopping and restaurants.

This home was built on one level and made of redwood, with beamed ceilings and large windows. A large lanai faces toward the beach. A grounds keeper lives on-site.

The yard contains lemon and banana trees and other tropical plants. The large lawn area between the house and the beach (shared with the adjacent house) and is State land. The beautiful property has rows of palm trees and a banyan tree (great for shade) that is over a hundred years old.

This traditional Hawaiian home is located on very private property. The lanai very private with a large lawn area (including State land which you can use). Just a short walk across the lawn area and you are on a peaceful beach. Usually, just local people use this area for great fishing, windsurfing, paddling, sunbathing with very shallow water, great for the children. Wonderful property for making some very special memories. Children especially love this property. Adults love it, too!

Hawaii Tax I.D.#W007911451

More Details
Hide Details

Hawaii Tax I.D.#W007911451

14 Reviews of Property 325416 in Kihei, Hawaii

Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
Canada
5

Great House right on beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house was great. It is located right on the beach. There were 6 of us and it was more than enough room. Everything about the booking was awesome. It is less than a 5 min walk to supermarket, restaurants, etc. Highly recommend. Will book again!
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
4

Wonderful Home away from Home!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This the second time we have stayed at the Reed's wonderful homes in Maui. I wanted to give it 5 stars but to be honest the house is an older home and as expected needs some TLC. However the house is very roomy but cozy. The first week we stayed with our kids and grandchildren. I will admit it was a little cramped but the Reeds made sure we had a bed for everyone. The second week was just my husband and me, and we did not even use half of the house. There is no air conditioning but I felt the ceiling fans and trade winds were enough to make us comfortable. The views are amazing. That porch is where I spent all my time and was in heaven. My children liked that we could adult talk and enjoy drinks while the kids played in the yard and big banyan tree and were safe and perfectly entertained. There was a family of geckos that visited us daily and the granddaughters fell in love. Thank you Brian and Mitzi, we can't wait to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
Where do you live?
5

Would come again in a heartbeat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I just want to say this place is completely wonderful. When you walk in, it just feels like home. The yard is wonderful-- my cousins came by and the girls were just spinning around in the backyard-- that little dune and the beach behind-- it's all so completely, deeply appealing. And very comfortable beds to sleep on. Brian went out of his way to help us out and make our vacation even better. I've stayed in a number of VRBO homes and this is by far my favorite. Thank you for having this as a rental and sharing your wonderful space!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
Dennisport/Bridgewater, MA
5

Cape Codders

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed in two homes while on the islands, this house in Kihei and a home on Oahu. This house was by far my favorite. It was spotless, cozy, bright,comfortable, and ON the beach. Watching the sunsets every night in the comfort of your "own home" was wonderful. We spent most of our time on the outdoor patio, watching the waves or the sunsets, or just gazing at the scenery while emailing photos of our day's adventures using the wifi. Sleeping in AC'd bedrooms and having a private bath for each couple was convenient and stress-free!!! You could walk to the grocery store, the coffee shops or just sit on your patio and enjoy a home cooked meal. It's a very short walk to a great breakfast and homemade malasadas! And a major grocery store is steps away.
If you're considering this rental, you'll be very comfortable. I can't wait to return to it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
British Columbia, Canada
4

Charming Cottage on a Quiet Beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent 5 days at this cottage during March break. The weather was hot and sunny and the house was a nice quiet, cool spot to return to after a day of sightseeing or just relaxing on the beach.

The property was well maintained and the photographs on the VRBO website are an accurate reflection of the cottage. It's location is ideal as the beach is at the bottom of the lawn and the Banyan tree gives plenty of cool shade during the hot days. There are umbrella's you can take to the beach and lawn chairs and loungers in the garden, we spent hours reading on the patio and playing Frisbee on the lawn.

The amenities nearby (within walking distance) include; Longs drugstore, the Post Office, plenty of restaurants,and a supermarket. Our favourite places to walk to for food were Coconuts for fish taco's, Ono Gelato for ice cream (their Sandy Beach flavour is very tasty) and our tween daughter liked Peggy Sue's burgers. Further afield but less than a ten minute drive are Pita's in Paradise, MonkeyPod (both excellent for dinner) and the Kihei Caffe for breakfast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
Nevada City, Ca
4

Privacy and solitude off the condo path!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We all loved our stay at this peaceful Hawaiian style cottage as an alternative to the condo scene. The sliding glass doors in living room opened exra wide and let the outside in. The view was serene as you looked out across the grass through the beautiful old banyon tree and coconut palms to the ocean. You would never know that you were only a a block from Kihei and it was private even though Brian's other rental is next door. The house was clean and comfortable. We discovered the little farmers market south on Kihei Rd. with farm fresh veggies and tropical fruit. I was surprised that I was inspired to cook (used the nice bbq) as we ate our dinners on the lanai watching the sunset! A couple tips...a great restaurant we found worth mentioning is the Pita Paradise in Wailea.... a surprise was how good the fish tacos are from Maui Tacos (take out and watch the sunset). Everything is central to this Kihei location and Brian was gracious host as we called him twice for a couple questions. We hope to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
canada
5

Dream vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent one week here on our 3 week Hawaiian holiday traveling with our baby and grandparents and it was indeed "best for last". From the lovely porch, spacious living room to well equipped kitchen this house has it all. The best though was the location - 1/2 minute to your own private beach right outside to the 3 min walk to shops and restaurants. All the beach equipment you could ask for was provided which made our family beach days a breeze. On our next vacation to Maui we will 100% stay here again and highly recommend it for our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
5

Mele Kalikimaka!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place fulfilled all my needs and expectations for my Hawaii christmas vacation. Beds are comfortable and home is clean and quiet. Perfect central location to all points of the island. I feel like this is what Hawaii is supposed to be. This is "vintage" Hawaii, like it must have been in the 50's before all the commercialism. The best part is the clean, uncrowned beach right in front! I want to come back here every year....Also thank you Brian - a perfect Hawaiian host. You can tell by your two homes here how much you love this place. To potential tourists here: I would recommend turtle town for the farmers market ( 61 s Kihei rd) for strawberry papayas (squirt fresh lime on top), pineapples, sweet maui onion and kona coffee. Get a snowcone there by the ABC store and for dinner go to Star Noodle in LaHaina! Also you can walk over to Coconuts for a Mahi Mahi and Poke? fish taco mmmmmmm!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
5

Happy Family of 4

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Awesome home in the perfect town of Kihei..This little slice of heaven was a perfect fit for our family. Everything ( I say EVERYTHING) is walking distance from the home, the market, the church, many dive rental places, a marina, & tons of restaurants and of course the beautiful beach front ocean. Working with the owner was a pleasure, he is very informative on this beautiful island called Maui. You wont waste your money staying here. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kihei Maui Private Beachfront House Sleeps 6; One of Two Adjacent Homes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325416
+1 808-891-1926
Kihei Maui
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
5

Island getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I went to Oahu in 2011 and, while we had a wonderful time, we were looking for something a little less crowded. We got our wish with this lovely little home, just steps from Ma'alaea Bay. The house was comfortable and fairly well appointed, although not as updated as the larger house next door. Brian was a tremendous help and answered all of our questions promptly.
It was such a treat to sit on the lanai with our breakfast and see the ocean. If you are lucky, fresh bananas and lemons can be picked from the trees in the yard. The bay is a whale favourite and happy hour on the beach is a great way to whale watch! We had a wonderful opportunity to paddle to our bay in an outrigger canoe to see the humpbacks up close. It was an amazing experience, and highly recommended. We had a microphone and were able to hear the mother and baby swimming about 10 feet away from our boat. Everything is close by - airport and Costco about 30 mins. and all of the main beaches are minutes away by car. The beach in front of the house is fairly rocky, but there is a sandy area just a few minutes walk down the beach that is great for swimming. Great snorkeling is available right off the beaches, due to the abundance of coral reef. I would recommend this for couples or families that don't want the 'resort' life, and don't need a waiter to make them their margaritas.....we can't wait to come back. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1