Pacific Grove house rental - Classic sun room is an excellent place for dining, entertaining or just relaxing
Classic sun room is an excellent place for dining, entertaining or just relaxing
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Pacific Grove House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

Excellent vacation hideaway in a unique coastal setting! Classic ocean front home with 21st Century conveniences nestled in the prestigious Asilomar Dunes area. Located on two acres of lovingly restored native sand dune habitat.

Set back from the road in a sparsely populated neighborhood, this home enjoys spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific, crashing surf, ocean sunsets and moon sets with a degree of privacy rare to this coastal region.

Away from city lights and city traffic the dark nighttime sounds are those of wind, waves and the occasional sleepy cries of sea birds and sea lions. Fabulous tide pools and a recreation trail are just steps away from the front door. Truly a nature lovers paradise! No infants, please. Well behaved children 10 years and older welcome.

Nature Unfolds Before You: The living room, sun room, kitchen and two of the three bedrooms have full ocean and sand dune views allowing one to observe the ever varying parade of wildlife – marine, aerial and terrestrial: whales, sea lions, sea otters and even dolphins; pelicans, cormorants, and a wide diversity of shore birds; black-tailed deer, raccoons. The third bedroom has partial ocean views. A private enclosed back yard with bird feeders and bird baths along with the surrounding lush native plant vegetation provide a sanctuary for resident and migratory species. The home is steps to rocky and sandy beaches, awesome tide pools, walking and biking trails, and is mid-way between the PG municipal and Spanish Bay golf courses.

Classy, Cozy, Comfortable Ambiance: The ambiance of the home is intimate, cozy and comfortable with an open floor plan, hard wood flooring and Persian carpets, original signed and framed artwork, hand crafted driftwood furniture and carvings, custom designed closets and cabinets. The style is a tasteful fusion of Asian art, maritime and natural history; authentic coastal living. The home has 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths and sleeps 6 people. Two upstairs bedrooms each have Queen sized beds. The Master bedroom has a private half bath and the second bedroom is adjacent to a full bathroom. The downstairs bedroom has a Double and a Single bed and separate full bathroom. The classic Four Seasons sun room provides an ideal are for casual entertaining, dining and relaxing.

Abundant Amenities: Amenities include: wood burning fireplace, central heating, fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, 4 flat panel TVs and DVD/VCR players, home theater system with IPod dock, cable service, NetFlix and streaming video, High-speed internet and WiFi, extensive and diverse reference book collection (including guides to local wild life and natural history), binoculars, diverse video library, board games, 300+ thread cotton sheets, Egyptian cotton bath towels, laundry with washing machine and dryer, fenced private back yard with a Weber gas BBQ. Well supplied kitchen includes spices, herbs, condiments, basic cooking ingredients to allow convenient and economical in-home dining.

Because this is a personal residence with breakables, cleaning compounds etc. it is not appropriate for small children. No infants, please.

WELL BEHAVED YOUNGSTERS 10+ YEARS OF AGE WELCOME.

Due to the sand dune environment, STREET SHOES ARE NOT ALLOWED INSIDE THE HOUSE to protect the Persian rugs and hard wood flooring. Slippers and socks are provided for in-house use.

Area rugs, stairs, uneven flooring makes this home NOT SUITABLE FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH MOBILITY ISSUES.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 325382 in Pacific Grove, California

NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
An extremely comfortable house, well stocked with all the necessities (coffee, chocolate, honey & more); views of the ocean & sunsets, sounds of the waves crashing on the shore, easy access to trails, and visiting wildlife make this a most memorable vacation spot. The owner is very responsive to emails and quite accommodating. I hope that we will be able to return to this peaceful place for another stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Lakeville, MN
5

Wow - welcoming and exclusive

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home, directly across from the beach, is delightful. We feel in love with the town of Pacific Grove and being able to walk to the trails on the beach. This will likely become an annual trip as our 10 & 14 year old sons adored the home and surrounding nature! Valerie, the home-owner, is as sweet as can be and truly cares about her home & its guests.

In addition, we felt fortunate to be one of the lucky few with a beach home near Asilomar. Very nearby we enjoyed the 17 Mile Drive, including Pebble Beach and Carmel. We recommend breakfast at the Gallery Café @ Pebble Beach; and walking in the amazingly soft & white sand of Carmel City Beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Old Bridge, NJ
5

Nature Lovers' Paradise!

Nature Lovers' Paradise!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This rental home was simply awesome. The pictures do not do it justice. Traveling with our family of six, we were thrilled with the location, the view and the home itself. The area is located close to a variety of sightseeing options, but even staying at the home itself was entertaining. The rocky beach in front is home to countless sea creatures in the tidal pools, and the adorable sea otters are a pleasure to watch. We all became explorers, as well as temporary caretakers of the resident gulls that provided an alarm clock every morning, as well as a source of fun with daily feedings of Monterey Jack. Sitting inside in the comfy easy chair in front of the large picture window, or outside, just watching the Pacific and waiting for a whale to breach, provided the type of relaxation that is the epitome of a great vacation. Two of the three bedrooms also have the amazing view through picture windows. The home is completely equipped with anything and everything you could need or want, and Valerie is the most gracious hostess, sharing it all with her guests. I give this home the highest recommendation, and I would love to come back someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Las Vegas
5

Soothes The Soul...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home, as well as its owner Valerie, are both like warm, soft, fuzzy blankets for your soul. The house is directly across the street from the ocean trail where you can explore the tide pools or take a relaxing stroll. You are very close to everything the Monterey Penninsula has to offer. Cannery Row is about a 5-7 minute drive and Carmel is about 10-15 minutes away. The house is very well appointed with everything you need for your stay and the owner Valerie is AWESOME! Her love of life, her profession, and all the simple things was so refreshing! Her love for her home and all the beauty and wildlife it surrounds is very evident as well. You won't be disappointed if you rent this home, we were saddened to have to leave the house as well as Valerie!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Best holiday ever had

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We booked a 7 nights stay and extended it for further 3 nights. We had the most wonderful time ever. We felt like at home. The house is awesome, comfortable and very private. Valerie ist the best host you can imagine. Very generous and with an eye for the details. She bought chocolates for us, in very room she put flowers. We cannot describe how unique it was.

The view is great, sitting in the backyard or winter garden is relaxing while feeding crows, squirells and woodpeckers with peanuts. Feeding Gimpy the seagull with cheese is fun!

We will return as soon as possible! Thank you for everything Valerie!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

1767 Sunset Drive Pacific Grove CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were greeted warmly by the owner and given the necessary details on the home which included feeding a resident gull living on the garage roof.
The home is pleasant, clean and very well stocked with normal spices, coffee, linens etc.
The house has an unimpeded ocean view, in a quiet residential neigborhood. Commercial services are generally not in walking distance but all the ocean trails and activities are.
We found the home and the owner, inviting and comfortable. We plan on using this home again.
Ray
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Los Angeles, California
5

An authentic and spectacular seaside experience...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is the most spectacular location in this area--it simply cannot be beat. The house itself has an authentic real-life beach house feel, as though it was built by and has been inhabited by people who simply and truly loved the sea. It is entirely comfortable and cozy, and well kitted out with all the necessities, but it is not a "hotel" experience--which is what makes it so charming. Valerie, the home owner, is very anxious that you should enjoy yourselves, and we truly did. She left some lovely snacks for us and there were fresh flowers in every room. The area was so beautiful and peaceful, and one simply walks, unobstructed, across the road out front to the tide pools, just as old Ed Ricketts might have done. A family of deer grazed in the front yard each morning, with the backdrop of the sea behind. A simply remarkable place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Los Angeles
5

Everything you need

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Beautiful and relaxing environment. Even though its convenient to shopping and all the sights in Monterey, the house is located in a quiet part of the coastline, and in the height of summer we only saw occasional walkers, bikers, the free trolley that goes to the Monterey Aquarium, and very little car traffic. The tide pools across the way were amazing, and it miraculously kept two teenage boys fascinated for hours. The house feels like a real home, with collections from around the world, some lovely handmade furniture, and has everything you need from kitchen supplies and appliances, barbecue grill, to multiple TV's & DVD players, wi-fi, lots of extra linens and towels, and comfy beds. Don't miss the beautiful Asilomar conference grounds next door designed by Julia Morgan, and a coffee/wine bar in the reception area!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Los Angeles
5

Relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is extremely comfortable, and just like home with everything you need. It's a beautiful and quiet location with wonderful tide pools in front.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
NATURE LOVERS OCEAN FRONT PARADISE ON 2 ACRES OF SAND DUNES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325382
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Sequim WA
5

Second time around

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Do we love this vacation home? Yes, we do. For the second year in a row we have spent our Thanksgiving week in this Pacific Grove rental. So many things to do---from kite flying on Asilomar Beach to bird and marine mammal watching just outside the front door to hiking in Pinnacles National Monument. The house is warm and inviting---just like a holiday home-away-from-home should be. The location is perfect---an easy walk (or drive) north into Monterey and a short drive south to Pt. Lobos State Reserve. A drive further south takes you into Big Sur country. In one week we logged three species of marine mammals and over 30 bird species. The house library is well-stocked with nature guides and natural history books. The owner cheerfully greeted us at the door and is very easy to work with. We would recommend this vacation rental to anyone who wants a classic Pacific Grove beach house experience.
Helpful votes: 2/2