Canal District studio rental - Our house, where the studio is situated, is the third house from left
Our house, where the studio is situated, is the third house from left
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Canal District Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bathroom (Sleeps 2)

Our Prinx studio is situated within the Amsterdam historical city center in a canal house at the canal Lijnbaansgracht.. It overviews a small neighbourhood street with typical historical houses .

Most attractions are within walking distance. The Museum Area: Rijksmuseum (National Gallery: Rembrandt among others) and Van Gogh Museum are just 100 meter away from the house. The Central Station can easily be reached by several tram lines.

While during the day a lively Amsterdam’s historical and cultural neighborhood, the location is quiet. You will be surrounded by typical historical houses. The rest of the canals are just around the corner. The canal Spiegelgracht, 20 meters away from the house, is famous for its art galleries and antique shops. In the neighborhood you can also find many breakfast cafes and restaurants. The studio has been very recently renovated (2008) and has, besides the bathroom, a living-dining area -with cooking facilities- and a bed area. WI-Fi included.

Why the Owner Chose Amsterdam: : The city of Amsterdam has one of the most important intact historical city centers in the world. The historical city center is dominated by the famous canal houses, crowned by ornamented gable tops, that have been built as residences for the wealthy merchants and citizens. During the commercially successful Golden Age, late 1500 until late 1600, Amsterdam becomes the staple market of the world. The city gets the unique ring of canals and the characteristic appearance is established. The historical and monumental character of Amsterdam’s city center is specially determined by the 1600th and 1700th century houses. But also Amsterdam’s warehouses are worth being mentioned here. Its architecture is unique in the world. The city contains around 6,700 historical monuments, has about 100 kilometers of canals and 400 stone bridges.

The Unique Benefits of this Studio: : Year Purchased: 2007 - Most attractions are within walking distance. The Museums (Rembrandts and Van Gogh) are just 100 meter away from the house. While during the day a lively Amsterdam’s historical and cultural neighborhood, the location is quiet. You will be surrounded by typical historical houses and the rest of the canals are just around the corner. The canal Spiegelgracht, 20 meters away from the house, is famous for its art galleries and antique shops. In the neighborhood you can also find many breakfast cafes and restaurants.

Owner Description/Comments: : Ton speaks Dutch, English, Spanish and German. Hector speaks Spanish, Dutch, English, and a very little bit Italian.

More Details
Hide Details

Ton (left) speaks Dutch, English, Spanish and German. Héctor speaks Spanish, Dutch, English, and a very little bit Italian.

Ton & Hector purchased this studio in 2007

The city of Amsterdam has one of the most important intact historical city centers in the world. The historical city centre is dominated by the famous canal houses, crowned by ornamented gable tops, that have been built as residences for the wealthy merchants and citizens. During the commercially successful Golden Age, late 1500 until late 1600, Amsterdam becomes the staple market of the world. The city gets the unique ring of canals and the characteristic appearance is established. The historical and monumental character of Amsterdam’s city centre is specially determined by the 1600th and 1700th century houses. But also Amsterdam’s warehouses are worth being mentioned here. Its architecture is unique in the world. The city contains around 6,700 historical monuments, has about 100 kilometers of canals and 400 stone bridges.

82 Reviews of Property 325284 in Canal District, Netherlands

Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 82 reviews
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Comfortable, Centrally located, Wonderful hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
It was our first time in Amsterdam. Being right on a canal and so close to museums was perfect for our introduction. Right around the corner was public transportation by water or land. The room was immaculate and nicely decorated. Our hosts met us to take our luggage up and down the steep steps up to the apartment. So thoughtful! Would definitely return to this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
4

Most delightful and relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Everything I needed just right and quiet no complaints. I will be back hopefully if my travels let me and the host were most helpful .
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
5

A great place to stay In Amsterdam!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We spent a week in a canalside studio apartment here, and were pleased with our choice in every way. The apartment itself was comfortable and nicely decorated, with a good bed and ample storage space. There was a cosy sitting area where we could enjoy an after-dinner drink and admire the canal view. The kitchen area was not large, but it certainly met our needs as we were only having breakfast in the apartment. The bathroom had a good walk in shower and everything was clean and functional.

We found the location excellent--very close to the Museumplein and walking distance to many attractions. While the city has an excellent tram system, we found that we rarely used it, preferring instead to walk almost everywhere. There are many cafes and restaurants in the vicinity, which is an added convenience for anyone staying in this rental property.

The owners, Hector and Ton, were very easy to deal with. They responded promptly to all of our e-mails, and they were most charming and helpful during our visit.

We hope to stay here again on our next trip to Amsterdam, and would have no hesitation in recommending this property to others.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great and friendly place to stay in the center...

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
“Great and friendly place to stay in the center of Amsterdam 3rd visit”
I have been travelling to Amsterdam for over 14 years, but this was by far the best choice: styly modern decorated rooms, bath and kitchen clean and refurbished up to excellent modern standards, home from home.

Free WiFi always available and friendly advise form Hector and Ton, nice quite building a few minutes walk for lots of resturants and bars within walking distance to everything in Leidesplein.

I have booked again for next year already.


http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r179564225-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Excellent accomodations”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented 2 studios. Everything was perfect, they were clean, modern, with fully equipped kitchen. Studio on the 2nd floor is smaller. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The location is superb - right near all the museums and just 15 min to Dam square. I think it is a value for your money. The only negative was that the street gets very noisy at night, actually all night to the wee hours people are talking loudly, sometimes singing, even closed windows would not help. If you are a light sleeper, it can bother you. Otherwise, perfect stay

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r179564225-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“What more could one ask for?”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Central location, friendly owners, tasteful ambience. Close to tourist "must see's", to shopping and good dining, public transport a stone's throw away. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, thanks in no small part to the accomodations. We will be sure to return. What more could one ask for?

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r179564225-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great Location & Super Clean”

“Great Location & Super Clean”
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Would definitely rent here again if I were going back to Amsterdam. It's in a great location in the Museum quarter, is extremely clean, the beds are VERY comfortable & the kitchen is stocked with everything you'd need; the cava on arrival was a treat! The one thing I really liked was that we had utter privacy - it was like staying in our own house for the weekend.

Would recommend!

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r175599596-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Very pleasant stay excellent apartment”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent 4 nights in a studio apartment. The apartment was well fitted and kitted out. Plenty of utensils for preparing and cooking meals and there was a supply of cooking oil, tea, coffee, milk, all the basics and even a welcome bottle of champagne.
The owners were very friendly and we were made to feel very at home. Ton was very engaging and was more than happy to answer our questions and make suggestions on what to do in Amsterdam. He helped us with our luggage and provided a map showing, supermarkets, pharmacy and laundry etc.
Wifi was fast and didn't drop out at all. There are english speaking channels available on the tv.
Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and centrally heated.
The apartment is situated close to the museum district and there is a multitude of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. The only downside was we got a bit of street noise on 2 of the nights but you get that in any big city.
As with most properties in Amsterdam the stairs are steep and narrow but they are well lit and can be negotiated without too much difficulty.

The only thing we found to be not to our liking was the lack of a shower screen/curtain. The water from the shower went out onto the bathroom floor/toilet and had to be cleaned up with a window scraper that had been supplied for this purpose.

One of the best apartments we have stayed in during recent travels. Thoroughly recommended.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r158779613-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Our second stay”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We love visiting Amsterdam and now that we have found Prinx would never stay anywhere else. It's lovely to have the freedom from a hotel, the apartments are clean, attractive and have everything you need. The location is great for visiting museums, eating out and finding public transport when necessary.

Room Tip: The room at the front is slighlty more spacious and has a view of the canal.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r158779613-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Excellent Accomodation”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Spent 2 weeks at the studio apartment from the 25th February till the 11th March 2013 and we could not have been happier. We had the canal view apartment and our son and daughter inlaw had the street view room. Both rooms are tastefully decorated, roomy, clean and comfortable. The apartment is in a very safe area, easily accessible to trams, cafes, coffee shops, museums. What more can one ask for. Great hosts in Ton & Hector, very helpful with our luggage (carrying up steep stairs, typical of Amsterdam) Can recommend a stay here for either a short or long visit. Ben & Milda, Adelaide, South Australia


http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r158779613-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
Helpful votes: 1/1