Boothbay Harbor house rental - The Bold Colorful 1800s Waterfront Cape
The Bold Colorful 1800s Waterfront Cape
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Boothbay Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 9)

Come away from it all....catch your breath.

Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful retreat, set among rolling fields, meandering stone walls and richly colored perennial gardens........imagine a place that evokes your fondest memories....and brings your vacation dreams to bold colorful life....

Wake to birdsong in the apple trees and early morning fog on the Back River....then make yourself delicious coffee and a hearty, healthy breakfast in the fully-equipped kitchen in the fully renovated 1800s Cape.

Wander 15 acres of gardens and woodland trails....borrow a tandem, inflatable kayak to paddle with local seals....enjoy games, ride bikes, meet our friendly bald eagles and other critters.....watch the Maine painted turtles or listen to frogs on the freshwater pond......wander the park-like grounds.....take a cool dip in the river....

Refreshed, venture out into the Boothbay region to see whales, go lobstering, shop, view our many galleries, try some local restaurants and generally have a memorable visit. The Coastal Maine Botanical Garden is only 4 miles away! Or try hiking at any of the 13 preserves within 10 miles of this home.

At the end of the day, imagine coming ‘home’ to a snack and drink on the wrap-around porch....a good book in the hammock.....a sunset through the windows....and a long, delicious sleep in one of your five lovely bedrooms with private bath, luxurious bedding, paddle fans, cable TV, WiFi.

Or come home to a peaceful evening in one of your five elegant bedrooms with private bath, luxurious bedding, paddle fans, cable TV, WiFi....in the Farmhouse across the courtyard. When the buildings are not rented to VRBO guests, they function as an inn. See more information about both buildings by googling the Bold Colorful Life Inn.

Renewed again, live your bold and colorful life! Both buildings available year-round.

Keywords: House, estate

More Details
Hide Details

I’ve been saving for my ‘dream house’ for 40 years....and I fell in love with kayaking about 8 years ago. After a five year search through waterfront properties in CT, the Adirondacks, MA, NH and finally ME, this was the property that offered the combination of things I'd been seeking.

The setting is idyllic with fields, woods, old stone walls, apple trees, lilac trees and many perennial gardens. There are 15 acres of land, facing west for sunsets, on the protected waterfront of Maine and with a big freshwater pond. The whole estate sits atop Maine ledge, which is sculpted to fall gently towards the water.

It's in an area where I am able to offer weekend and week-long retreats that combine personal growth, spirituality and 'back to nature' events, including hiking, paddling and exploring the nearby Botanical Gardens. And I want to share this beauty with as many people who love Nature and the wild, wonderful aspects of Maine as possible...so vacation rentals are the perfect answer.

Melissa Thornton, Owner purchased this house in 2006

The Boothbay peninsula offers the perfect getaway. The area is naturally breath-taking, with forests and fields, farms and gardens, brash rocky coastline and gentle coves and lakes. Boothbay Harbor is a charming town with lots of engaging activities and it’s just down the road. It's the place to go shopping, visit galleries and craft fairs, sample local fare at great restaurants, enjoy deep water activities like whale watching and lobster-boating.

And there are natural bonuses: 13 nature preserves for hiking within 10 miles---5 within 5 miles---one within 1/2 mile; a major Botanical Garden within 5 miles; kayaking possibilities in rivers and lakes and the Atlantic.

The Rockland/Camden area and Freeport shopping are within an hour's drive in either direction; and my favorite Maine park, Acadia National Park is two plus hours away. Nova Scotia and Prince Edward island, both favorite parts of Canada, are nearby too……..

19 Reviews of Property 325241 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

The Perfect Maine Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Hi Melissa,
We wanted to write and tell you that we enjoyed our second stay at your Bold Colorful Life estate immensely. We hope to return again and again.

Last time, we loved the Farmhouse…the spacious, comfortable rooms, the wonderful 200 year old barn timbers in the Great room and the amazing view of the river. Everything was even better than the website pictures promised. Our daughter wanted to repaint our whole house in brighter colors after seeing what you did with your Inn! We enjoyed doing our crafts and having meals around that huge table….more than enough room for our 11 person group. The breezes off the river and all the paddle fans cooled the summer sun and the eagles and blue heron were a delight. The kitchen was so well equipped…there wasn’t a recipe we couldn’t create...and we made quite a feast. Thanks for giving us the tour and for answering our questions and needs along the way…it was good to have you nearby when we wanted you.

This time, it was the historic Cape, for our smaller group. Again, the colorful and whimsical rooms were SO comfortable and we got caught up on sleep…so important for our vacation. Our daughter brought a friend this time and they loved the cozy bunks and their own private bath. We love your wildflowers and the emerald green lawns between them, and we love all the stone benches and hammocks, in perfect spots for resting. We didn’t see the eagles, but loved the bullfrogs and the last of the tree frogs around the pond. Thanks again for giving us the perfect spot to gather with family members, catch up with each other and with rest, enjoy the beauty of waterfront Maine and of the Boothbay peninsula. We recommend the gardens, lighthouse tours, nearby hikes and downtown waterfront restaurants to your other guests. See you next year!
Annie T
Owner's Response: We love the fact that each group arrives with a different set of goals for their visit…some come to explore and immerse themselves in the adventures of the area….some come to relax and recover and get themselves onto ‘Maine time’….others come to balance both…hustle and bustle some days and simply rest and relax the others.
This was a group intent on deep rest and deep connection with each other…they were set to enjoy everything they came across…and we love it when a group falls in love with the site, makes it their own space and doesn’t feel the need to leave. This group immersed themselves in the quiet and beauty of Mother Nature…on the site and in the area…they enjoyed every nook and cranny of both of the buildings and of the estate, during their two visits …they cooked and feasted and wandered the peninsula a bit and then came ‘home’ again…and at the end of their visit, went on with their lives fueled with ‘bold and colorful’ energy. We look forward to having them return..they are part of our ‘greater family’.
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
-Dumfries,Virginia
5

Cozy and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a lovely stay at Bold Colorful Cape. The house is so nicely decorated and cozy with all the comforts of home. Each guest room is decorated with a bold color in the most charming way, and clean and comfortable.
There are walking paths on the property down and around the river, which is lovely.
The owner was welcoming and helpful with information about local attractions and offered discounted tickets for the must see Botanical Gardens
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
5

A bucolic escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The Bold Colorful Life Inn was the perfect getaway spot for a reunion with friends. The Inn and surrounding property served both as a peaceful escape from the throngs enjoying the New England Fall colours, and a jumping off spot for a variety of sightseeing adventures including galleries, shopping, hiking, delicious seafood and more. Melissa is an enthusiastic host who knows the area well, and made great recommendations for activities. The accommodations at The Cape are charming, cosy, clean and self-contained. The bed was firm and comfortable, each bedroom has its own bathroom, and the kitchen is fully equipped.
I only wish I could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Colorful Columbus Day Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I came here with college friends for a weekend mini-reunion. (The owner Melissa Thornton went to the same college.) The property has an enchanting view of a tidal river and picturesque landscaping and paths. I stayed with my friends in the renovated Cape – the rooms there were charming and cozy and my bed was very comfortable, but other than sleeping, we didn't spend much time there.

In fact, we didn't spend all that much time on the property. Melissa, who puts the E in enthusiasm, organized a host of things to do, including visits to the Farnsworth Art Museum, the Coastal Maine Botanic Gardens, Camden, Boothbay Harbor, a local outdoor crafts fair, local restaurants, and more.

Our college group shared a fantastic breakfast with French toast and omelets and fruit – the dining room table is actually an old barn door shellacked to an impressive gleam, one of many unusual touches that make the place colorful. The library, with a large wall of a window facing the river, is sky-high with books.

If you'd like to stay at an "away-from-it-all" place that isn't far from a boatload of activities (kayaking included), Bold Colorful LIfe is a great choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Ideal Property Rental for a Large Group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I started planning a large family reunion in Maine when we found out that a family wedding was being planned in Camden. Everyone would be travelling to Maine so why not all come a week early and spend quality time together? I searched literally for weeks to find a location that could accommodate such a large group (we had a lot of coming and going but several nights during the week we occupied every bedroom with 18 people total) and also such a large age range (from 9 months old to 91 years old!!) AND meet our generally high standards. After finding Bold Colorful Life and communicating with Melissa, the owner, I knew this was the place. It's location was ideal for so many reasons - it was close enough to Portland to be convenient for everyone who flew in and also just about an hour away from the wedding site which made all the travelling we were doing very easy.

On top of the physical location the property is IDEAL in every sense. Where else can you get 9 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms (including a handicap accessible bedroom/bathroom that enabled 4 generations to spend time together)? That was a major plus for us. Then the kitchens are so well stocked - everything we needed to cook dinner and dessert was on hand - including a kitchen aid mixer! The table in the farmhouse was perfect for our group. It easily sat 18 around it and created a lively and fun atmosphere for us the entire week. We all agreed that the colorful bedrooms were just plain fun. It was wonderful that the linens were provided - so many times you need to bring your own and this was so much easier! Everything down to the water pressure in the bathrooms to beautiful flowers on the property to the fun instruments in the gathering room to the local hiking and shopping options made this a wonderful rental.

The owner is also onsite which worked out well because she went out of her way to give us space and privacy but was also right there if we had any questions. Melissa was a great communicator - before, during and after our stay - and we were grateful for that.

Overall this was one of the best family vacations we have had and a large part of that is because this property was so well suited to large groups. Thank you Melissa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This must be the best-organized group ever to visit this vacation site. Jes was in charge of an ever-changing large group of beloved family members (ages 9 mos to 91 years, who arrived from NINE different states, with endlessly varied interests) and was a wizard at keeping everyone happy, on track, on time and having fun doing what they wanted to do with their vacation time…it was truly amazing to see and hear about! This group had one wedding and 5 birthdays during their visit to Maine…all orchestrated and themed and deeply enjoyed by all. Jessica’s husband, Carter actually fabricated his own miniature brass cannon, brought it along and set it off in honor of the various events. Awesome.
And they all enjoyed the other ‘usual’ events on the Boothbay peninsula as well: swimming and boating on our riverfront, enjoying the gardens and paths and pond here on site, wandering abroad to the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens and the local shops and galleries and restaurants.
When all the babies and children and grown-ups were packed up and driven off to Camden to the wedding on Saturday, it became awfully quiet around here…a great energy went with them…. and we were VERY sorry to see this lively and loving group head down the road…but we’re talking about a return visit…and I’m SO looking forward to that.
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Ideal Property for a Large Group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I started planning a large family reunion in Maine when we found out that a family wedding was being planned in Camden. Everyone would be travelling to Maine so why not all come a week early and spend quality time together? I searched literally for weeks to find a location that could accommodate such a large group (we had a lot of coming and going but several nights during the week we occupied every bedroom with 18 people total) and also such a large age range (from 9 months old to 91 years old!!) AND meet our generally high standards. After finding Bold Colorful Life and communicating with Melissa, the owner, I knew this was the place. It's location was ideal for so many reasons - it was close enough to Portland to be convenient for everyone who flew in and also just about an hour away from the wedding site which made all the travelling we were doing very easy.

On top of the physical location the property is IDEAL in every sense. Where else can you get 9 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms (including a handicap accessible bedroom/bathroom that enabled 4 generations to spend time together)? That was a major plus for us. Then the kitchens are so well stocked - everything we needed to cook dinner and dessert was on hand - including a kitchen aid mixer! The table in the farmhouse was perfect for our group. It easily sat 18 around it and created a lively and fun atmosphere for us the entire week. We all agreed that the colorful bedrooms were just plain fun. It was wonderful that the linens were provided - so many times you need to bring your own and this was so much easier! Everything down to the water pressure in the bathrooms to beautiful flowers on the property to the fun instruments in the gathering room to the local hiking and shopping options made this a wonderful rental.

The owner is also onsite which worked out well because she went out of her way to give us space and privacy but was also right there if we had any questions. Melissa was a great communicator - before, during and after our stay - and we were grateful for that.

Overall this was one of the best family vacations we have had and a large part of that is because this property was so well suited to large groups. Thank you Melissa!
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Marblehead, MA
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our first time renting a house for our family summer getaway and it met all our expectations. It was charming, warm, and cozy. Every bedroom was pleasant and colorful and each had adjoining bathrooms which was wonderful. The kitchen was great for all the many meals we put together. We loved the deck. The grounds were lovely and Melissa is such a great hostess. Thanks Melissa for making our Maine vacation so memorable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Fantastic is the right word...this was a beautiful family, inside and out. They arrived on the site, filled with anticipation and appreciation. The whole property lit up. Having been in the area many times before, they needed little guidance in finding adventures and they went out on excursions throughout the peninsula and beyond...hiking and wandering, shopping and museum-hopping...even shark hunting with great success. Every day was greeted with enthusiasm and it was a pure delight to have them here....we're already talking about their return...possibly with a bigger group, for the bigger building. Can't wait!!
Warmest of wishes, Melissa
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Harbor Lights Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Melissa is the perfect hostess and Bold Colorful Life is the best location for our annual family Christmas.. We are a family of seven adult children and 15 grandchildren.. most from away.. so this was our second year of being lucky enough to meet here for our family holiday,
The dining table is the perfect place for holiday crafts, cookie making and the kitchen is perfect for our appetizer and dessert contest chefs.
The great room with the largest christmas tree we have ever seen, was perfect for relaxing, games or an evening of Karaoke..Yikes. The bedrooms are so comfortable and the kids love the fact they all have their own bathrooms! See you in 2013 Melissa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was such a unique and wonderful experience. Thank you for helping to make this such a pleasurable experience. The time and effort you spent on making our stay here so special is appreciated by all who had the opportunity to visit and stay here. Both houses were absolutely beautiful. It really reflects on the kind of person you are inside and out. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts and hope we have an opportunity to visit again.
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
4

Many Thanks

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
August 24, 2012

Dear Melissa,
How can we begin to thank you for the most wonderful vacation we've had in a long time? It was exactly what we needed to relax and remember how life should be lived. We love the little house, and really enjoyed cooking and sharing meals outside. The views are spectacular! It was most important for me to spend time with my sons, swimming, boating and just sitting on the hammock and talking before they are off to their busy lives. These days have reminded me of the summers I spent as a child, my mother playing with us, my grandmother baking cookies or bread. What lovely memories. Thank you and much love to you for your generosity of spirit.
Karen, Mike, David and Jake, Mt. Airy, Maryland