Eugene townhome rental - Spacious second floor bathroom
Spacious second floor bathroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Eugene Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 Convertible bed, Sleeps 6

Why stay in a hotel, when you can have the same amenities in a two-bedroom, two-storey, home? Built in 1929, our ''Town & Gown Guesthouse'' is the recently-updated end unit in a row of 8 connected apartments (think San Francisco, think London): as charming and as centrally-located as you can get! Everything is within walking distance: the University of Oregon, the Performing Arts Center, a wide range of dine-in/take-out eateries (including vegetarian and vegan), breakfast and coffee shops, Euphoria Chocolate Company, Newman's fresh fish market, playgrounds, a large Safeway and Walgreen's, the post office, public library, a natural/organic grocery and wine shop, and the central bus station (bus stop 1/2 block from our door). With your car, take a winery tour, go Fern Ridge lake for swimming or sailing (1/2 hr), or to the beach (1 hour) or up the gorgeous McKenzie and Willamette River valleys (45 min), with hiking trails, hot springs, stunning views, and access to the mountains!

Location, Location, Location!: Built in 1929, our 'Town & Gown Guesthouse' is the recently-updated end unit in a row of 8 connected apartments, as charming and as centrally-located as you can get! Everything is in short walking distance: a wide range of dine-in/take-out eateries, breakfast and coffee shops, Euphoria Chocolate Company, Newman's fresh fish market, playgrounds, a large Safeway and Walgreen’s, post office branch, library, a natural/organic grocery and wine shop, yoga and massage studios, even medical clinics. Or take the bus! It stops 1/2 block from our door. Easy transfer downtown to the OU or the new stadium! We also have off-street, covered parking for guests with cars.

Attention to Detail: We provide organic sheets, pillowcases, blankets, and duvet covers, and ultra-plush towels. Start your first morning with owner-provided organic coffee and tea, as well as milk, juice and some of Eugene’s finest baked goods. Enjoy our beautiful, fully-remodeled kitchen with new stainless appliances, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, blender, and service for 6. A high-end (Bosch) washer and dryer, iron and ironing board, and biodegradable cleaning products are available for your use, as well as a high chair for your little one. Musicians take note: we provide a beautiful, old Hinze piano!

About the Owners: Having traveled, ourselves, to many cities in the U.S. and abroad, we've always sought lodgings with an “old world” feel, where we could enjoy the liberation of walking (or using public transport) wherever we wanted to go. Now we delight in offering these pleasures to Eugene visitors: an updated, vintage home in a quiet, older neighborhood, within walking distance of all you might need. Husband and wife Ingrid Wendt and Ralph Salisbury are both widely published authors and teachers of creative writing at all grade levels. They live full time in Eugene, OR, where Ralph has retired from the University of Oregon. Ingrid continues to accept invitations to visit public and private schools, teaching poetry writing to students and their teachers, through in-service programs around the country and abroad. Both Ingrid and Ralph have been 3-time Fulbright professors in Germany.

More Details
Hide Details

Still together after 42 years of marriage, Ingrid Wendt and Ralph Salisbury are both widely published authors and teachers of creative writing at all grade levels, from kindergarten through graduate school MFA programs. They live full time in Eugene, OR, where Ralph has retired from the University of Oregon. Ingrid continues to accept invitations to visit public and private schools, teaching poetry writing to students AND their teachers, through inservice programs around the country and abroad. Both Ingrid and Ralph have been 3-time Fulbright professors

Ingrid Wendt-Salisbury purchased this townhome in 2010

Having traveled, ourselves, to many cities in the U.S. and abroad, we've always sought lodgings where we could enjoy the liberation of walking (or using public transport) wherever we wanted to go. We've also enjoyed lodgings with an 'old world,' historical feel. Now we delight in offering these pleasures to visitors to Eugene: an updated, vintage home in a quiet, older neighborhood, within walking distance of a wealth of happy discoveries.

Eugene may be known for its 'liquid sunshine,' but even in storms, our house is cozy and warm, and well-stocked with environmental magazines, novels, poetry, puzzles, and games. You can even read the framed poems of some of our writer friends on the walls. We provide city maps, menus from nearby restaurants, suggestions on day-trips around and outside of Eugene, and the offer of free advice for guests with questions about the area.

30 Reviews of Property 325096 in Eugene, Oregon

Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Town & Gown exceded our expectations! The home was comfortable and well appointed. The location was perfect for biking to all the activities and restaurants around town. We would certainly recommend this property to anyone. We are looking forward to returning on our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
United States
5

Wonderful Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
So cozy and warm. The pictures don't do this lovely place justice. Close to grocery, restaurants and a great chocolate shop. We didn't want for a thing!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
United States
5

Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I could live in this place. So perfectly appointed, within walking distance of cozy cafes, grocery store, wonderful chocolate shop -- what more could you ask for! We really enjoyed our week in Eugene.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Hi Kelly, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse, and thank you for such a nice review. You folks were ideal guests and I hope you'll come again!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Lovely stay in Eugene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This lovely cottage suited our needs, and then some. While we didn't spend a whole lot of time there-- we were visiting college kids- it was very cozy and like home. Nice amenities: towels and bed linens perfect. Would definitely return when in Eugene. Close to the university without being underfoot, great restaurants nearby, and easy parking. Loved the tree-lined streets.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Dawn, Thank you for taking the time for this lovely review. We want our guests to feel cared for, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. And the location couldn't be more perfect, could it? We were lucky to find it! Hope to see you again. Cheers, Ingrid
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
Rochester Minnesota
5

A Wonderful and Warm Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Ingrid kept in constant email contact with us, and was available via email and telephone. The location of this property was perfect for us, and we enjoyed walks around the neighborhood on cool fall days. Ingrid's home was spotless, and the linens and beds were great! We'll be back as we visit Eugene once or twice per year from Minnesota. Thanks!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time for these good words. The comfort of our guests is very important to me, as is keeping them informed and helping them find their way around Eugene, and I'm happy you enjoyed your stay -- and the neighborhood. We're so close to so many things, yet the house is quiet. We'll look forward to having you stay with us again!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
San Diego ,ca
5

Town home comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Close to all-spacious
Wonderful landlord who cares about your enjoying Eugene. Great walks to beautiful neighbors, but close to city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad you had time to explore the neighborhood, Mary Ellen, and yes, the city center is so close, yet the house is peaceful and quiet. Thanks for posting this nice comment, and we hope you'll come again!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
Juneau, Alaska
5

Wonderful townhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed two nights in this lovely townhouse. It is in walking distance to downtown and a grocery store; if you are attending a ducks football game, it is in walking distance to the express bus to the stadium. The townhouse is nicely decorated and very clean. You feel at home and there are plenty of instructions to help you out with using appliances and recycling. I would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Beth, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I'm happy you had a good weekend at our Town & Gown and hope you'll come again! Take care, Ingrid
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The pictures do not do this lovely home justice. Ingrid takes pride in her home and everything you will need is there. Comfortable beds, ceiling fans, quiet neighborhood yet close to everything. Even a tuned piano if you are so inclined. Would certainly stay again if we are lucky enough to travel to Eugene again!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A great location in Eugene and the house was perfect for our stay. The pictures do not do it justice! Everything was ready for us even fresh roses in vases from the garden. Quiet location and easy walk to downtown, shopping and U of O. Ingrid was a great hostess and the bed was very comfortable. Our only disappointment was we only stayed 2 nights!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting the two of you, and I'm happy you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for your good review. Hope to see you again some day!
business
Downtown Eugene -- Walk Everywhere -- 1929 Charm, Stylishly Updated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325096
Eugene Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Dean from Minnesota

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Awesome!! Comfortable, convenient and relaxing. If I return to Eugene, we will return to this property.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good words, Dean. You were wonderful guests and I'm looking forward to seeing all of you again!