La Jolla house rental - View of House, Pool, Garden
View of House, Pool, Garden
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms+ 2 office/play/sleep rms, 5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 9

Enjoy romantic early La Jolla, at Casasol, a historic Mediterranean home. Casasol was designed by Thomas Shepherd in the 1930s, near Bird Rock, within a few minutes walk to Windansea beach. A designated historic property, today it is restored and modernized, but filled with the same charm and character that the architect gave La Jolla's famous La Valencia Hotel:carved stone benches, leaded glass windows, hand-crafted tiles; high beamed ceilings; paneled dining room, tile and wood floors. The 4000 sq ft. home includes four bedrooms, five baths, large dining room, modern kitchen, large family room, living room, and two studies. The upstairs has three large bedrooms (California King, queen, and two single beds), and three bathrooms. Downstairs: study w/single bed and bath. We also have 2 folding beds for young people and Graco crib.The family room has an adjacent cabana bathroom for the pool. The pool is about 50 feet in length and is 9 feet deep at the deep end.

18 Reviews of Property 324959 in La Jolla, California

Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
Berkeley, CA
5

Great Space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I recently stayed here with 10 family members, having a mini family reunion. We spent a long weekend and mostly stayed in! From the first night, when Shona accommodated meeting us late after our delayed flights, to the sad day we left, we thoroughly enjoyed this home. There are many great spaces to hang out and relax. The pool and surrounding patio area made the New York relatives want to move back here. The well stocked kitchen made everyone comfortable pitching in on collaborative meals. I'd highly recommend it and hope to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely home very well situated in La Jolla. We wanted to spend a fair amount of time seeing the sights in San Diego, and the location made for easy driving back and forth. We were so glad to come back to this retreat after being busy each day. The home is definitely a step (or many steps) above the usual rental property. The owner has gone to great trouble to ensure a comfortable stay, including robes and slippers and soaps..as well as a nicely stocked and organized kitchen. The living areas are comfortable, and the bedrooms are spacious. The house is a short drive from some great restaurants in the "downtown" La Jolla area, and an easy walk to the beautiful coastline. We plan to come back and make this an annual girlfriends' trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
Minneapolis, MN USA
5

Great Family Home--Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed at this home over Thanksgiving weekend 2013. It was fantastic. We have three young children, ages 6, 4 and 4, and they loved it. The pool was wonderful for them, and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was well-stocked, we were able to cook our turkey, etc. with everything we needed.

The location is perfect. We were just a few blocks from the ocean. The town of LaJolla is also just a short drive away, with tons of restaurants and shopping. Major attractions such as the San Diego Zoo were only an easy 15 minute drive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
5

A Classic Beauty!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is true La Jolla living. The house is elegant and beautifully organized. When we arrived, after a 15 hour flight, it was like arriving home. Everything we could need was already there! It didn't seem like a rental property, but a cozy home. We spent afternoons by the pool and even one cool evening in the living room by the fire.. The walk to Wind and Sea beach is 5 minutes through one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in California, the bike riding is fantastic. The location is central and extremely convenient. Go north to the village of La Jolla and Del Mar , south to downtown , Point Loma and Coronado. I highly recommend this villa and would be very happy to go back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Dana...Thank you so much for these kind comments. We are very pleased you and the children could enjoy part of their summer in your native homeland!
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
Dublin, Ireland
5

Elegance and charm in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay in Casasol was truly delightful. The house has great elegance and charm - in addition, it is extremely well equipped with everything you need and more. The bedrooms were very comfortable. The garden, with its beautiful pool, is the perfect place to relax, unwind and have fun! It is perfectly located for all La Jolla and San Diego has to offer and Windandsea beach is a couple of minutes walk away. Shona was very helpful at all times, as was Alisha. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this enchanting home and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a truly memorable holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
Canada
5

Happy Canadians

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was perfect for our group of 8. Wonderfully equipped kitchen for dinners in, evenings by the fireplace with room for everyone to visit, and a great location. Close to the beach, restaurants and shops in La Jolla and easy access to the freeway to San Diego and beyond. Shona and Barry were helpful before our arrival, checking in about our needs, and took time to meet with us upon arrival and show us around. Our favorite meal out was at Piatti in La Jolla Shores, we highly recommend it. Thanks to our hosts for sharing their wonderful house with us.
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
West Vancouver, British Columbia
5

What a home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a truly wonderful time in La Jolla and at your home in particular. It was a real privilege to be able to stay in such a beautiful home and we hope to stay at your place again in the near future. Your house is incredibly charming and the location is superb. We've stayed at numerous vacation properties all over and have to say your place was easily the most organized and most comfortable home we've ever stayed at. We felt, in fact, like we were at our own home in many ways! Thank you for everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of 5 had a wonderful vacation in San Diego. We enjoyed our stay at Casasol and the location was perfect - walking distance to the beach and a short drive to all the main family attractions. The home was well equipped with everything we needed including swim and beach towels. The kids loved the large pool and the garden was beautiful. The owners were very easy to work with and helpful in providing information about the area. Thanks for sharing your lovely home!
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Party of 6 adults from London, England

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Just to say again what a fabulous time we had in your beautiful house. I did have high expectations but it was even better than I could have hoped for.

The house is equipped with everything we could have wanted, the kitchen especially. The garden and pool are wonderful. The location is great. There was so much to see and do in the area, the local beach lovely and just a few minutes walk away. The surrounding area is beautiful and we found the bus into San Diego was very efficient and good value for money. We had fabulous days out to San Diego zoo and Sea World, did the hop on bus around San Diego and loved Balbao Park with all its art galleries and museums. Barry & Shona were very welcoming and gave us lots of local information. We found everyone very friendly and the local shops and restaurants good.

We had a fabulous holiday in this beautiful house and would recommend it to everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Mediterranean Home - Pool & Nr. Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324959
+1 858 922 5162
La Jolla San Diego County
Calgary
5

Canadians in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Staying in this home is not just a vacation, it is an experience. Being walking distance to the beach is a bonus. One of my friends got up every morning, early and walked the beach before we were even up. He loved it. The beds were very comfortable and we loved that everyone had their own bathroom. The house was great and had everything we needed and the kids loved the pool plus used the boogie boards 5 times. We even used the bikes. It was a ritual that before we got in the car a few of us had to ride the bikes down the alley and back. We loved sitting on the patio in the beautiful backyard. The foliage, the gardens and the trees were too beautiful for words. The kids loved playing their music that played outside while they used the pool. We loved the kitchen and it had everything we needed. We ate breakfast at the house, but did not have the privilege of making dinners there as we were always out and about. I have never seen a kitchen more equipped than yours and I am a cook and entertainer. A chef's paradise.
All in all, we had a wonderful time. The weather was great, the location was great and the house was superb. It is a very interesting home and I wish you had of been there so we could have asked you the history of it. It intrigued us. We loved the porcelain fixtures with the patent year on them and the original state of the bathrooms. Very cool! The light fixtures were interesting as well. If the walls could talk, that house could tell a few stories. The front door with the gothic stained glass is a museum piece. You have retained the historical aspect of the house but also added modern flavour to it and it all goes together very nicely. Also, your furniture is beautiful. Down filled couches (exquisite). We had everything we needed plus some. Thanks for having us.

Thank you for sharing your home with us because it is truly a "home" and not a "rental". I've stayed in rentals and know the difference.
We had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway