Hanalei apartment rental - Keone from the sands of Hanalei Bay
Keone from the sands of Hanalei Bay
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hanalei Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Ocean Front Hanalei Bay Vacation Rental, Kauai, Hawaii

This is a duplex. Each floor has two bedrooms, one bath, kitchen, dining area and living room. Both have large covered lanais and great ocean views from the living rooms and lanais. They both have totally separate entrances. Just walk across the grass to the beach. Keone, The Downstairs Beach House is great for easy access. No steps between your bed and the sand! It has a cool relaxed feel. Cool greenery reflects on the windows of the Downstairs bedrooms. Twins in the second bedroom for the kids or single friends. If you are two couples, pushing the beds together may be the plan. Your lanai is a great spot for lounging, lunch, or anytime. Some of our guests get a pretty cloth & cover the picnic table and set a bunch of flowers on it. With others, its sand toys and surf boards. A combined tub shower is in both baths Up & Down. Just walk past the palms & ironwoods to the sand. If you've has enough sun, but not enough beach, under the trees is where you will be. Great place for reading or Scrabble. Not all of vacation life is with out some slight toil. If you need to wash clothes, the Upstairs, Downstairs and Old Style share the coin op washer & dryer in this cute little building just steps away. There is also a cold water shower on the side for rinsing off sand & salt after the beach. You never know what you will see on the beach. Many people come here to get married, renew vows, celebrate anniversaries, birthdays, even to get baptized! Canoe races, surfers, kite surfers, fishermen, volleyball players. Even with all this activity, most people experience the beach with fewer people on it than they could have dreamed. Whatever is happening in the water, you'll be in the picture when you come to Hanalei. You will enjoy, sun, rain, surf, rainbows, and a great little town set in a fabulously beautiful location.

More Details
Hide Details

We are the Kobayashi Family. We have been in Hanalei for several generations. The property has been in the family since 1947 and the first vacation rental was completed in 1965. We have enjoyed guests from around the world since then. We welcome you to share our island home.

16 Reviews of Property 3248560 in Hanalei, Hawaii

Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Prince George, BC Canada
5

Super location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved our stay here, perfect location, perfect weather, perfect wedding! We will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Dana Point, Calif.
5

Keone Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location with all the amenities and very comfortable and clean. More than we expected. During the heat of the day there was no better place to read and relax than under the shade of the trees with the breeze of the trade winds. Would definitely recommend to everyone. Great place for a family with children and for all ages - young and old. Loved the hot/cold outdoor shower. Will definitely stay here again and for 2 or more weeks instead of one week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Dana Point, Calif.
5

Keone Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location with all the amenities and very comfortable and clean. More than we expected. During the heat of the day there was no better place to read and relax than under the shade of the trees with the breeze of the trade winds. Would definitely recommend to everyone. Great place for a family with children and for all ages - young and old. Loved the hot/cold outdoor shower. Will definitely stay here again and for 2 or more weeks instead of one week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Clovis CA
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented both the upstairs and downstairs for a family vacation. It was absolutely perfect for our group. It had everything we needed and it is in the perfect location especially when you have small children with you. The grass area is wonderful and worked perfect for my 16 month granddaughter who was in a walking boot from breaking her tibia two weeks before.Kobayashi's are great to rent from and they keep the area very clean and maintained. We had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad these guests had such a great family vacation. Renting both the upstairs, Na Hoku and the downstairs, Keone, makes an affordable 4 bedroom 2 bath home with privacy to boot.
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
TUCSON AZ
5

christmas on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
WHAT A PERFECT PLACE TO HOMEBASE FROM. WE RANGED IN AGE FROM 13 TO 60 AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. OUR END OF THE BEACH WAS PEACEFULL AND TOWN WAS SO CLOSE. OUR FAVORITE MEMORIES ARE OF THE GREAT MEALS WE COOKED ON THE GRILL. FRESH FISH FROM THE FISHMARKET COULDN'T BE BEAT. WE ALL LOVED HAVING BREAKFAST AND DINNER ON THE PORCH AND HEARING THE WAVES RAIN OR SHINE. IT WAS AGREAT LOCATION FOR US AS WE HIKED THE MANY TRAILS THE ISLAND HAS TO OFFER. A SIDE NOTE - A SPECIAL THANKS TO THE OWNERS FOR DELIVERING MY DAUGHTER'S CHRISTMAS PAKAGE ON CHRISTMAS EVE--THEY WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND ON THAT ONE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
San Diego
5

Fantastic beach house in beautiful Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This beach house is really great for families. Being on the first floor was great for us because we could just walk over to the beach in no time. The large grassy area in the front was so fun to run around in and play ball. The beach is beautiful and the mountains and waterfalls can be seen from the property. We will be returning here for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Lihue, HI
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a relaxing week in beautiful Hanalei!
Loved the downstairs beach house, very clean and comfortable, had everything we needed.
Thanks for being so accomadating.
Will definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Sebastopol, CA
5

Fantastic spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful week in the Downstairs Beach House. The place is cute and was super clean. We loved being right on Hanalei Bay and being able to swim in front of the house and walk into town. The kitchen was nicely stocked for cooking at home. Thanks for the super reservation service and fun vacation home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So cool! Mahalo. We try hard and we are glad when our guests appreciate our places & our service. We look forward to your return.
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
East Bay, CA
5

perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
As advertised, this house really is right at the beach on beautiful Hanalei Bay. Just walk across the lawn and you are there! It was our third time in Hanalei, and this was the best. Rain when we arrived, but sunny for the rest of our stay. The house was in perfect condition -- clean, well-appointed and comfy. We recommend the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant for great (tho expensive) food and location on the river. Next time in Hanalei, we'll book this house again. (Also -- nice to meet you Suzanne!)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Meeting great people who stay at our houses is my job perk! Suzanne
business
Keone, The Downstairs Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248560
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Franklin, Tn.
5

The downstairs beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What a great place. The best part is the location on Hanalei Bay. It was easy to find due to the maps and directions Suzanne and Terri sent. Just a short stroll across the lawn and there is the beach. We could sit in the shade of the trees down by the water and watch the waves with a nice breeze or a few more steps and take a dip in the cool water. The photos we saw on the site were just as it appeared. The second bedroom with twin beds was kind of funky and the ceiling fan made so much noise and wabbled that we could not sleep there. Kids would probably be fine with it. We reported this to them.
The property was clean. The kitchen needs attention, one cabinet door came off the hinge, I reported this too. The overall character of the place was just like I would expect a beach house to be. Being on Hanalei Bay, with the beach close to the house so mom could walk to the ocean or just sit and enjoy was our goal. In this sense it was perfect. Loved the wind blowing through the windows and the constant sound of the ocean waves. Just sitting in the living room watching the ocean and the trees was contentment. This is what we went for. The house was secondary. I was perfectly happy with the house and it's location and the view. We were there 10 days but it was not long enough. I have already recommended this beach house ,downstairs or upstairs, to many people.
We loved going to get fresh fish at the Dolphin restrauant and market and cooking it on the barbecue or eating out. The Health food store was great and all the shops were fun to shop in too. Plenty of places to eat in town. We could have walked to town in about 10 minutes,
but mom is 84. We loved the farmers market for fresh vegetables and fruit.
Mahalo and Aloha, Barbara
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We fixed all of the things that Barbara reported to us right after they checked out. We appreciate our guests letting us know if something needs fixing. As of June 2011, the living room got a beautiful new classic Hawaii style furniture set and a new king size bed in the bedroom. The twin room got new beds in 2012.
Helpful votes: 2/2