Hanalei house rental - The center of Hanalei bay, Waoli Beach Park, is just 6 houses away. A very short walk.
The center of Hanalei bay, Waoli Beach Park, is just 6 houses away. A very short walk.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description
Beach Vacation Home in Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

If you want a taste of old Hanalei when days were slower and a good catch fishing and the best vegetables were the talk of the town, this home will fill the order. This property has been lovingly maintained since it was built. It is our family's privilege to share Aunty Lydia's homestead with folks from around the world. The front house, Aunty Lydia's Ohana is a 3 bedroom 1 bath with carport, most frequently used an a lanai. Inside you will find photos of the Hanalei family over the years. This home is only 6 houses from the beach (a very short stroll) and well located to reach all the North Shore's best beaches easily. This house is right off Kuhio Highway so you can see the surfers and North Shore life coming and going. It is about 5 blocks into 'downtown' Hanalei. There is a great carport for BBQ , eating al fresco & enjoying the mountains and waterfalls. Aunty Lydia's Ohana is a relaxed Hawaiian style home a minute's walk from the center of Hanalei Bay & is probably one of the best values in Hanalei Beach Houses. Surrounded by tropical plants, a grassy yard surrounds the house on 3 sides. There is a very functional kitchen enhanced with lovingly stenciled foliage for preparing some of our farmer's market produce and fresh fish from the sea. The wash house with a washer & dryer is just outside. There is a king bed in the largest bedroom at the back of the house. Hanalei is famous for its ever changing mountains; some times veiled in thin mist, sometimes obscured in thick clouds, sometimes full of water falls, sometimes so sun drenched so that every detail stands out. Aunty Lydia's is a great place to enjoy the mountains both from the living room windows and from the carport/lanai. Since there is plenty of room to park in front of the house in the yard, many chose this area as the eating & hang out spot. Not long after our family set this house up as a vacation rental, some of Aunty Lydia's family from the mainland came to Hanalei & were tickled to be able to stay in their Aunty Lydia's house. Here they are enjoying the carport for BBQing & beach reconnoitring. While being on Kuhio Highway, (highway in Hanalei meaning 1 lane in each direction with a 25 mile speed limit) the home has a beautiful hedge of tropical foliage separating you from the road. A parking area & the beginning of the yard are in front of the house. Wai'oli Beach park is a thin strip of park which is located between the bay front homes and the sand. There are BBQs, tables, shade trees, a bathroom and usually volley ball. This is where you encounter the bay, a minute or so from Aunty Lydia's.

(When you email us please be aware: we will never ask you to wire money out of the country or give you a discount for early payment. If this happens to you, call me, Suzanne, at 808 828-1918. Mahalo & happy travels!)

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 3248557 in Hanalei, Hawaii

Aunty Lydia's Ohana
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
5

Great great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I cannot say enough about Aunty Lydia's. The location is unbelievably close to the beach-also walking distance to town and market on Saturdays. The front yard has awesome view of waterfalls-- we saw 6 one day! We were a bit surprised that the neighbors share a lot but they were sooo nice and unobtrusive. All the beach stuff you need! Loved having the chairs. We love cooking, so if you do too, bring any spices and what not bc there was only S & P there. I will definitely stay again. And again! Feels like home the minute you walk through the door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
5

Perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband, 9mo baby, and I enjoyed a perfect week in this lovely home! Aunty Lydia's is perfectly located, as only a short scenic walk into town (10min at most), and 2 min walk to Hanalei Beach. Basic necessities are at the house, such as kitchen cookware, blender, BBQ, and dishes. Beach towels and beach supplies. The washer/dryer came in handy. Everything was clean and tidy. Beautiful mountain view from living room- with 2 waterfalls at the time of our stay. A perfect front lawn with table and chairs, and outdoor shower. We were a little worried that the place was right on the main road, but the yards mature vegetation provided plenty of privacy, and the road was actually not that busy- and we had no issues with noise. The neighbors are so warm and welcoming. It was truly a magical week. I hope to visit Aunty Lydia's Ohana again in the future, and definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful getaway in beautiful Hanalei Bay! TIP: Visit nearby farmer's markets to stock up on local foods. We grilled pineapple that was so delicious!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Aunty Lydia's stay

Aunty Lydia's stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Aunty Lydia's at the end of June and loved our stay! We had 3 adults and two kids, 13 and 11. The property was well represented on VRBO and perfectly comfortable for our family. The house is modest, but has great character and had everything we needed, including boogie boards and beach towels. The home was very clean and well-maintained. The bonus was the outdoor shower!

We were a little surprised about the other house on the property, but the residents were super nice and quiet. The proximity to town and the beach was exactly what we were looking for. Walk to everything!

The property management was very helpful and attentive and very easy to communicate with. We really had a trouble free visit. We would definitely recommend Aunty Lydia's to anyone considering and would stay there again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Arroyo Grande, CA/US
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The property was very clean and well maintained. A short walk to a very nice beach. The town of Hanalei is just down the road with a grocery store, restaurants and shopping. Planning on coming back soon!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Seattle, WA
5

Comfy and cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The house was comfortable and cozy for the four of us, including two teenagers. It's proximity to the beach and the town were great, the view of the mountains fabulous. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and it made us absolutely LOVE Hanalei. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Trinidad, CA
5

home with character

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The location of this home was great, centrally located in the middle of Hanalei Bay, very close to the beach. We had everything we needed and felt very comfortable. The house has so much charm, plenty of space, wonderful views of waterfalls and mountains; we would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
michigan
5

Great location and our favorite place during our trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
3-4 minute walk to a fantastic beach. Close proximity (10 minute walk) to town. House had loads of character. Outdoor shower=awesome. Mountain views-spectacular. 10 minute drive to Tunnels where we had great snorkling. <15 minute drive to Kee beach where we hiked Kalalau Trail. Took a short drive to swim at Queens Bath. Washer/Dryer nice. Lots of square footage with huge living room, dining room, kitchen, and 3 bedrooms. If it were possible I would spend the rest of my life in that house in that spot on the most beautiful island in the world. Took a helicopter tour of Na Pali coast-best thing we have ever done and a Zodiac tour as well with dolphins within arms reach-amazing,dreamy place......
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We love to hear about you having a great time and we look forward to your return many times in the future! Mahalo.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Seattle
5

Nice well priced rental house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We were looking for an affordable rental in town and were very happy with our choice. We only needed 2 bedrooms but this was less expensive that the two bedroom places on VRBO so we had more than ample space. The house isn't "fancy" but was very comfortable and had everything we needed plus a nice yard for our daughter and her friends to run around. The location was fantastic (two blocks to Grandpa's beach). We definitely made use of the bbq, boogie boards, snorkel gear and beach toys that are available. We also really enjoyed the history of the family who lived there. Thanks so much and we hope to be back soon! BTW, very cute women's boutique up the road in Kilauea called Oskars. The owner, Anne, was really helpful and has fantastic clothes!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Anchorage
5

I had a really nice stay in Hanalei!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The house was very cozy and clean. The neighbors were very nice and loaned us their Paddle Board. The area was very quiet after 10am. The walk to the beach was very short and the beach was, of course, amazing. We would recommend the Ohana for families or couples anytime. The sleeping arrangements were perfect for us with 2 large beds in separate rooms and a third room with twin beds. We did a lot of cooking and barbecued some fish and steaks. Dont bother buying charcoal, like I did, as the grill is propane.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for sharing your experience. The grill is now charcoal so bring those brickettes!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Aunty Lydia's Ohana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3248557
+1 808 828-1918
Hanalei Kauai
Boulder, Colorado
5

a week in June 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
great time and great location; The place was perfect size for our family of five.... Too much rain while we were there, but at least we were able to adapt... thanks much

p.s. listing and listing photos were accurate; the place was clean and nice... I have already recommended the place to some friends.... favorite neaby locations and activities --> Downtown Hanalei --> JavaKai food and coffee, Bubba Burgers, Hanalei Pizza; locations --> Ke'e Beach, na Pali Cliffs trail, Lumahei beach, Tunnels Beach, Queen's Bath....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad our guests ejoyed their experience enough to take the time to write a 5 star review. Rain makes the North Shore lush & beautiful and you never know when it will fall but everyone seems to have a great time anyway. It is usually a come and go affair. The expression here is if you do not like the weather, just wait 5 minutes and it will cahnge! Not always the case but usually. Thanks again for sharing how much you liked Aunty Lydia's and for recommending it to your friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1