Drake Bay cottage rental - Our home perched above a white sand beach lined with palms
Our home perched above a white sand beach lined with palms
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Drake Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms sleeps 4+

La Cuesta Roja S.A.

If you have ever dreamed of being surrounded by flowering plants, smells that say fresh, oxygen filled air, hundreds of varieties of exotic birds, greenery, bright blue skies, gorgeous views in every direction all with the subtle sound of waves reaching the shores, this is the place for you. An extraordinary hide out where you and a loved one can immerse yourselves in the natural beauty of this unique paradise.

There are few places in the entire world that are as stunningly beautiful, private and safe as La Cuesta Roja, S.A., our home, available to you. If this, one of a kind, property was in California, it would be a 20 million dollar property and most likely, not available to rent. Ideally located near the renowned Corcovado National Park, Drake Bay where Sir Francis Drake hid from pirates, and the Terraba Sierpe National mangrove preserve. Tours of these and other local destinations available by pick up right in front of the house.

No matter what your pleasure is; fishing, swimming, whale watching, swimming with the dolphins, zip lining, horse back riding, kayaking and more, it is all available right from the very private beach in front of the house. This is truly a place you will think is only viewable in the movies and available to millionaires. Warning, you will want to pinch yourself when you look around and see where you are.

La Cuesta Roja is our private home perched on a hill overlooking the big blue and magnificent Pacific Ocean where you can watch whales pass by. Turn your head slightly and you are looking at a vast palm lined beach which is part of the island across the river. Turn again and you are looking up the incredibly beautiful and wild Sierpe River and the biggest mangrove reserve in Central America.

Looking up the river you can see two distinct mountain ranges in the distance. A slight turn again and you see where the river meets the magnificent and wild Rain forest.

You can literally see thousands and thousands of acres but miraculously, you cannot see another house. Sound like a movie setting? Wait until you see it.

Our home for rent is still our home where we spend nearly half the year. It needs to be said that this is a rental property for the healthy and adventurous and not a good place for those who are not in good physical condition or not seeking adventure. While it has most of the comforts; my wife always asks if you like camping as a prerequisite to enjoying this special place. Location, location, location our home is not fancy, new or in of its self fabulous but the location is.

When you arrive at our very private beach by boat (there is no other way to get here) there is a concrete walkway winding it's way up the slope to where the house is set. There are several places where you will want to stop on the assent just to absorb the beauty.

With any luck you will be met by our happy and smiling caretaker who will, with the help of our boat driver, help carry your luggage, groceries, water, beer etc up to the house.

Provided we supply the transportation you will be orientated by one of us and shown the ropes. The beds will have clean fresh linens; the towels will be clean and ready. The refrigerator will be on and cold and you will be ready to settle in. It may take a few minutes to come to realize you are actually seeing the views you will be seeing.

The boat captain will depart and you will be on your own. For your safety and convenience, our caretaker will remain there the entire time of your stay in his home below.

The home has two bedrooms each with private bathroom, flushing toilets, sinks and hot showers. The master bedroom has a king size bed the guest room has two wide twins that can be pushed together to make a king.

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 324683 on Drake Bay, Costa Rica

Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
average rating of 4.9069767 based on 43 reviews
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Glorified Family Camping Costa Rica Style

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had the most adventurous time at LaCuesta Roja. Much appreciated was Jim's description of what to expect and it was exactly what we were looking for. In its rugged beauty, this place is your own private oasis.
The cabin is rustic but provides the simple ammenities of showers, flushing toilets, washer, fridge, and a gas stove and grill. Everything is solar powered, which we used little during the day ( I think the fridge absorbs a lot) and still found we were without by around 9 pm. Although we did not mind one bit, we had brought some candles with us and found that regardless of power we were enjoying all of our evenings by candlelight or going to bed early in preperation of enjoying the next day.
We spent our days hiking the ruggedly groomed trails in the rainforest, hiking to the coves, fishing (river and ocean) kayaking, smimming, laying in the tide pools (especially enjoyed by our infant daughter), and lounging on the porch. We are very active poeple and never found ourselves at a loss for something to do. Once at the property you are on your own (Rafa will help you if necessary).
We received help with preperations before arriving at the property from Jim's friends. They were so kind and helpful ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay.
My husband and I stayed here with our infant daughter and my parents. It was a perfect family vacation. We look forward to returning when our daughter is old enough to be back at the property. As there are many steep stairs and dropoffs, we will need to wait to bring her back when she is maybe 10 (depending on her level of resposibility/adventure). Although, I wouldn't mind returning without her before then.
Very much enjoyed the resident dogs, as we have two at home. They are very friendly. They were even able to be around our infant.
Suggestions: Bring candles or LED lanterns, bring fishing gear, wear sturdy sandles
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Bird lovers paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Waking up the first morning to the squawking of a pair of brilliant Scarlet Macaws swooping into treetop branches at eye level, we knew we were in for a thrilling week. Everything Boca Jim said to expect was true. Hopping off the front of the boat onto the beach after a 45 minute morning ride down the Sierpe River was the beginning of the adventure.

Rafa was there to meet us and we all hauled supplies up the winding narrow concrete path to La Cuesta Roja. After catching our breath on the postage stamp manicured lawn, we took in the stunning view of the Pacific Ocean with Sand Dollar Beach across the wide mouth of the Sierpe River. Jim soon left us to our own devices and the grinning began.

The next day was the low tide hike to the Cove of the Caves. It was easy and worth the sunburn, especially the soothing dip in the freshwater pond on the way back. Lisa was thrilled to see the water-walking Basalisk Lizards scurrying away from our splashing.

Jim had said some of the best bird-watching in Costa Rica could be had from the rocking chairs of the west facing deck and he was right. Since the cabina is half way up the side of a steep hill, the deck is at canopy level of tall trees growing around Rafa's house.

Another day we set off in the canoe to paddle amongst the mangroves. However, we set off upstream with the strong tide against us that was heading out to sea. After 15 minutes of strenuous digging we realized we had made no progress and went to plan B and crossed over to Sand Dollar Beach, officially known as Playa Violin. The surf was breaking hard and the long run of the waves up the pristine beach was a beautiful stroll in the sun.

Another great day was a boat trip to Corcovado National Park, an easy 45 minute boat ride down the coast that featured a stop to watch juvenile dolphins splashing into schools of sardines. The park trek was easy and Miguel, a young bull-riding local guide, made it fun and informative. He skillfully pointed out Howler and Spider Monkeys, a Three-toed Sloth and all kinds of other plants and animals.

Since our agenda was mostly relaxing, we would read for an hour or so after the sun went down and then off to bed for a sound sleep and then up with the sun for coffee on the deck with the Parrots and Macaws. An added bonus was putting our binoculars on a pair of large green iguanas high up in the branches of a towering tree 50 yards in the distance
It truly is a piece of paradise and we'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Unbelievable!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wow, is all we can say!

First off from our very first communications with Jim up until meeting him in person he was very helpful with any and all questions we had for him. He is a great guy.

The description of the property and everything that he wrote on there was exactly as he said.

This was our honeymoon and we could not have imagined being anywhere else. We had never done this type of trip before and admittedly were a little nervous, however Jim was able to calm our nerves.

When we arrived in Sierpe and met jim at the grocery store, this was when the reality of our trip set in! Time to buy groceries in Costa Rica and plan our meals! Groceries were surprisingly cheaper, about 160.00 for the 8 days.

The boat ride was fantastic, with Jim having a couple of cold ones on ice for us :)

When we arrived at the property, we were met by Rafa, the caretaker. Great little fella. Doesn't speak much english at all, but the reality is, is that it is very easy to communicate with him. Jim gave us the low down on the generator (more than enough fuel), showed us the in's and out's of the place and he was off!
Our first day, we canoed across the river and walked along the beach and took dozens of pictures. We collected a lot of sand dollars, it was an absolutely beautiful day.
We were greeted by a bunch of people on our beach when we returned, and it turned out their boat had broken down in the ocean and they were escorted to our beach to be picked up.
We spent alot of time, on the porch relaxing and enjoying the incredible views.
We had Rafa take us for a Jungle Tour one day, it was absolutely amazing. We were able to hear Howler Monkeys and we saw Tucans and Macaws. It was really nice time through the jungle and Rafa's little dogs, came along and kept us "safe" :)
We did a Deep Sea Fishing excursion with Jim and it was UNBELIEVABLE!! We caught so many fish and had such an incredible time. We even had Sushi that night, after Rafa cleaned our Yellow Fin Tuna, it was delicious!!
We also did the snorkeling tour at Cano Island one day, it was a great day as well. Cano is beautiful and the lunch was fantastic!
It was nice to have Rafa catch us some fresh lobster and a Rock Grouper as well, we felt as though we ate like kings the entire week!

The house is just as Jim describes. It is a very clean house and, again, the views are incredible.

We will definitely be returning!
Martin and Nicole
Tiny, Ontario, Canada
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Indescribable Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This vacation rental exceeded my high expectations in every possible way. The pictures on this site do no justice to the actual beauty that awaits you. The views from the house are some of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. The beaches, as far as you can walk, are completely secluded. The wildlife that awaits you from the doorstep is like a scene from the Jungle Book. There are Scarlet Macaws and Toucans flying overhead and monkeys frolicking through the trees. The ocean provides excellent opportunities to see humpback whales up close and personal in their natural environment. We observed scenes better than anything I have ever seen on National Geographic.
We went fishing with Jim twice for a great price and caught offshore species within 12 miles of the house! Jim is an experienced fisherman, and despite rough conditions, we caught a 60 lbs. Rooster Fish, yellowfin tuna, albacore tuna, wahoo, and jacks. This allowed us to eat fresh fish every night during our stay.
The best part is, Rafa the caretaker, was there to clean our fish and help out in any way possible. When we needed groceries during the week, he was there to meet the boat and collect our groceries. He took us on a jungle hike where we saw many monkeys, exotic plant species, and ate fresh fruit. Rafa was helpful with carrying our bags to and from the house and swapping out fuel for the generator and gas for the stove and shower.
Jim is an excellent host and he is there to help you in any way possible. You can ask Jim for anything to help make your trip better, and if he can accommodate you, he absolutely will. We will be visiting La Cuesta Roja again and I absolutely recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Florida
5

Wonderful secluded vacation rental !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 4 stayed at this great hideaway for 6 days. My children, 10 and 12 hrs old, absolutely loved it!
First, before we even arrived , Jim had helped me to arrange everything from transportation from airport and lodging near his rental, everything I needed to figure out, Jim had solved. He was a huge help and it was great not having to worry and deal with all the details.
If you can, I highly suggest hiring a van to pick you up at airport and drive you to Sierpe where Jim will meet you. It was a great drive and our driver stopped at wonderful fruit markets on the way and some other interesting stops that definitely made it worth while.
When we got to the house it was more amazing that I imagined. The views are stunning. We were greated by toucans daily right outside the house eating from the almond trees. We also saw several scarlet macaws daily right by the house! There is plenty to do on the property and neighboring beaches.
Jim told us about the hike to the caves which was loads of fun for us, kids especially loved this! Really beautiful beaches on this short hike. We saw a family of howler monkeys everyday that came to feed on some of the fruit bearing trees on the beach, that was a real treat!
We went out fishing one day with Jim, which turned out to be our best fishing day ever, (and we fish a lot in Bahamas and Florida), my son caught mahi mahis,wahoo, crevalle jack and my husband caught a 50 lb Rooster fish!
We honestly LOVED our time here. This is one of those places you hesitate telling others about so you can keep it hidden but we want to share our experience and hope others will enjoy it as much as we did.
If you want seclusion and avoid tourist trap areas in Costa Rica, then this is the place. We wanted solitude and to see wildlife and this place had it all!
Thank you Jim for making this one of the most memorable vacations for our family and for making it the least stressful for me due to all your help!
We hope to return one day!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Paradise that you don't have to share with tourists...

Paradise that you don't have to share with tourists...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was our 7th trip to Costa Rica and second time to the OSA Peninsula. Jim's place has everything you need for a relaxing stay and Rafa spoiled us with fresh snapper for our daily consumption. After meeting Jim in town and shopping at the market for food, our items were boxed up and delivered to Jim's boat for our 45 min ride on the river to paradise. During our stay we saw macaws from the balcony, toucans in the trees on the other side of the house and heard howler monkeys in the distance. We timed our kayak outings to the mangroves with the tide making it an easy paddle back to the house at sunset. Months later, the view from the balcony remains on the home page of each of our phones. Be a traveler (not a tourist) and experience a slice of off-the-grid paradise and stay at Jim's place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Niceville, FL
5

Awesome Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The property exceeded all my expectations and Jim was a most gracious host. We had a blast fishing both offshore and inshore. The daily adventures were awesome and something I will not soon forget. I will definitely be making a return trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Memphis, TN, USA
5

Truly unique and fabulous vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house offers all that is listed and more - we had an incredible time. It is the best view and location. Our kids are 9 and 11 and very active and adventurous, and they had a blast. Some very young kids and their parents might find it a little challenging if they are used to being entertained. And there are steep stairs and climb up from beach, narrow paths and drop-offs. But beach, swimming, canoe, jungle, Rafa's dogs, and overall beauty should be enough. Jim is an amazing host, and really looked after us and shared his home. The property is very accurately described. The information is very thorough which is good because of the unique nature of the place - It is a very remote location, and once you are there you are by and large on your own. That being said, Jim was instrumental in setting up tours at Corcovado and snorkeling - both excellent - getting us to Sierpe and finding a hotel for us, and then showing us where to shop for food the next day. We couldn't have done it without him - maybe others could, but unlikely, plus emailing, meeting and spending time with Jim was a plus. Rafa was a very nice guy who caught us fresh fish when we asked him, which we cooked on the grill - amazing! Solar panels and batteries were a great way to have modern conveniences - fridge, ceiling fans, a few lights. Headlamps were very handy. Corcovado trip was great but in hindsight may have had as good luck with animals if we had gone into the forest behind the house with Rafa. But boat ride to Corcovado, waterfall hike and swim and lunch were all fun adventure. Snorkeling was out of this world. We also did a waterfall kayak/hike at Rio Claro which we will all remember forever. Isolated beauty, and jumping off waterfalls. Heaven. The views from the porch and kitchen are absolutely stunning - I could have looked at them all day, and sometimes wish we had just stayed put more. Even washing dishes was a treat looking at the water, sunset, etc. It is "roughing it" a bit, but if that's your style then it's a home run. Beds were comfy, kitchen well stocked with pots and utensils. Never needed a warm shower, but heated water was available. No-seeums were tough a few evenings at the beach, but I'm pretty tender. Others got a few bites but not bad. If breezy, then no problem. It is hot and sun is strong of course, and we did burn. Very clean. Overall, a very memorable wonderful vacation which we would repeat and recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Dallas, TX
5

Amazing Wildlife and Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a very unique and magical place that is must for those that are adventurous and love wildlife. The boat ride to the house is an amazing 35-40 minute ride down the beautiful Sierpe River. By the time you arrive at the house you are already feeling “out there” and the wonderful stress relief that comes with it. The house, while very rustic, does have basic necessities, a small refrigerator, gas stovetop with oven, plenty of kitchen items (pots, pans, plates, utensils) and bathrooms with showers in each of the bedrooms. We found the home to be adequate for our stay. Bearing in mind it is similar to camping with open air throughout, though the windows are screened. There is hot water in only one shower, in addition, you might run low on power, it can be very warm, you might find a few bugs, and might not have water on a rare occasion......However, after a few days all of this seems to make very little difference as you begin to meld into the jungle life. You find these small inconvenience to no longer be inconveniences whatsoever. You simply make small adjustments in your day without much thought and begin to fully embrace this beautiful place. After a few days we found cold showers refreshing after a hot day and didn’t even use the hot water. We found we really only needed power to run a light or two at night while cooking and otherwise didn’t use it. We also came to an agreement that some of the bugs were quite interesting and were never a nuisance of any sort. The wildlife that surrounds the house is nothing short of amazing. It is not at all uncommon to see a Howler monkeys, geckos, green parrots, hummingbirds, toucans, iguanas, and the beautiful Scarlet Macaws are regularly flying overhead. There are hundreds of yards of beaches to explore below the house. The water temperature is just perfect for a dip or swim. Be sure to round the point at low tide to explore one of the most beautiful beaches! Fishing the river below the house paid off well with several nice Snapper(thanks to Raffa’s fresh bait!) Offshore fishing with Jim in the boat was great! He is a very enjoyable guy and knows some excellent fishing locations. He works very hard and it shows - we caught a ton of fish! (Just don’t ask him to put you on a Rooster fish :o !) Thanks Jim! Overall La Cuesta Roja is an outstanding stay for those that are very able, adventurous and nature loving. We will certainly be back to La Cuesta Roja!
Thank You Jim!
Colby & Megan Vick
Dallas, TX
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Get Away...Incredible Views...Solitude...Right at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324683
+506 506 8701 5650
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Toronro,Canada
5

The greatest vacation we have ever had

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Thus far, it has been the greatest vacation we have ever had and the most beautiful place we have ever seen. The beach is at your doorstep, the fishing is bountiful and the scenery outstanding. Rafa was very helpful, his presence was non-intrusive but he was always available when we needed help. The pinnacle of our trip was the deep water sea fishing with Jim. We caught many fish: jack, tuna and mackrel. The weather was beautiful, the temperature of the water was 32 degrees celcius and the landscape was breathtaking.
Helpful votes: 1/1