Sea Point apartment rental - Barry Hall Apartments
Barry Hall Apartments
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sea Point Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Historic Manor House, 2 Bedrooms + Other, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Our luxury self-catering apartment is set in an historic manor house near Sea Point in Cape Town, 10 minutes from the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton, the V& A Waterfront and the city centre.This gracious, four star turn-of-the-century establishment lies just off the hustle and bustle of Sea Point’s Main Road in one of the quiet suburban streets of Fresnaye, in Cape Town. The house interior is contemporary with a distinct Scandinavian feel to the furnishings.

The Apartment has a modern kitchen and bathrooms, cable television, pay-card telephones, broadband access. The apartment includes: 2 large bedrooms – sleeping 4, 2 bathrooms, one en suite, lounge, private balcony, and a large fully-equipped kitchen.

Location Fresnaye on the Atlantic Seaboard: Barry Hall lies in a quiet, suburban street just off trendy Sea Point’s Main Road, in Fresnaye – a fashionable suburb set on the slopes of Lion’s Head.

Fresnaye has easy access to the city, Camps Bay/Clifton beaches and V & A Waterfront.

less than 5 minutes walk to the Beachfront Promenade

and 10 minutes drive to the City, and Camps Bay.

Shops are within easy walking distance.

Attractions Close by: Coffee bar next door, Restaurants and take aways on Sea Point’s Main Road, Olympic size swimming pools on Sea Point’s beach front, Sea Point’s promenade –the length of Sea Point’s beach front, Woolworths for quality, pre-prepared food, Checkers – large, supermarket, New York Bagel, the best deli in town, Hertz car hire, Medical centre

10 minutes away: City centre - bohemian Long Street, fashionable Kloof Street, St Georges, V&A Waterfront, Topless bus ride from V&A Waterfront, Cape Spirit City Walk through the City Bowl, Camps Bay & Clifton, Bo Kaap, the historic Cape Malay quarter, and local cuisine, Table Mountain cableway

Day trips: Robben Island, Boulders beach and the local penguin colony, Historic Simonstown, Constantia Wine Route, Durbanville Wine Route, Darling - wild flowers, Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, Cape Point Nature Reserve

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 324399 in Sea Point, South Africa

Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
average rating of 4.888889 based on 12 reviews
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
USA
5

Charming, comfortable and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed a delightful stay at Barry Hall. It is close to restaurants, shopping for any essentials, and transportation. The owner did everything possible to make our stay easy - from arranging airport transportation to personally greeting us at 11 p.m. and checking in regularly to ensure all was going well. The apartment itself is spacious and well furnished with recently updated bathrooms. The surroundings are attractive and comfortable for walking around. The building itself has one, two, and three bedroom apartments to suit parties of various sizes. We loved our stay and would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Great location, wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I can't say enough good things about Barry Hall. It is centrally located with great views. We were in apartment 3 with our 2 grown daughters. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable, and the beds were comfortably firm. It is a great value too!
Barry Hall is exactly as the listing describes. It is very clean, well maintained. Rita and the daily! housekeeper were very helpful but were in the background unless you needed them. We walked to dinner in the neighborhood twice, and found that Barry Hall was a great location for getting to the waterfront as well as to other sights near Cape Town.
I would very highly recommend Barry Hall to anyone, especially my friends and relatives.
Owner's Response: Thank you for all the compliments paid to us at Barry Hall,
it makes it for a great reward at the end of our summer season, thank you so much.
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Western Massachusetts, USA
5

A comfortable, quiet base of operation and retreat for a stay in Cape Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Attractive building is on a quiet street in a quiet suburban neighborhood with adequate parking either on the property behind an electronically-operated gate or on the street. Set back from street, fronted by a secure gated entry and surrounded by nice gardens. 2nd floor apartment was spacious, full of light, and tastefully decorated, with a well-equipped kitchen. Rooms are expertly serviced daily; very helpful owner. Very near the wonderful waterfront Sea Point promenade; coffee & breakfast spot very close by; easy walking distance to 2 supermarkets, several banks, shops, lunch spots, etc. Walk to La Perla or La Mouette for good dinners. A perfect base for exploring the greater Cape Town area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Washington, DC
5

Family from Washington, DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved our 10 days at Barry Hall. The location of the apartment is ideal. It is convenient to coffee shops, food shops and the lovely trail along the waterfront. We regularly jogged to Green Point Park - which is beautiful and well worth a visit. We will definitely contact Rita again when we next visit Cape Town.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Excellent Accomodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed at Barry Hall for 8 nights and absolutely loved it! What a lovely, self accomodating flat and grounds in a perfect, secure location at Sea Point. Rita was right there to meet us when we arrived and in touch if needed, along with her wonderful support team. We loved BBQ-ing in the courtyard braai area and meeting other guests who were staying there from other places in the world. IWe would rate this top notch and one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Dunwoody, GA. USA
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Not only was Barry Hall in a wonderful location but the owner Rita, provided first class service.
As for the location, you would be hard pressed to find a better one. Within a 10 minute walk
you could find a couple of grocery, liquor, and pharmacy stores along with many outstanding
neighborhood restaurants. As an added bonus the property is located only a few blocks from the
ocean with its wonderful promenade filled with families, dog walkers, and art work. It is here
That you can catch the on and off red double Decker bus that will provide a good overview of the city
And it’s the surrounding area. We were able to save a day on our car service and it provided us with
A clear idea of what and where we wanted to spend more time and even saw things we were unaware
Of from our various tour books.
As for Rita, not only did she arrange for the car service to pick us up but she was there to greet us
herself at 11:00PM. She called to verify that we were fine after the worse wind in over 50 years had
Swept through the area and to provide us with information on what to see in the surround areas.
On top of that much of the furniture in the unit is designed by her husband and produced by their
Local company.
Overall experience, Property description and photos were accurate. The property was clean and well maintained with few exceptions that were taken care of promptly. Issue of ants and a light switch. I would have loved to have had screens on the windows to keep out the mosquitoes, or at lease AC. However we know this is not the norm in the area. We have recommened this property to our friends.
The Doyle’s and Spangrud’s April 2011
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Seattle, WA, USA
5

Charm and Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
If you want comfort, historical charm, and access to everything Cape Town, this is the home for you! We stayed 12 days for World Cup and besides having amazing African winter weather, our accommodations made this vacation. It is a warm, clean, safe place to come home to after a long day touring. This place is close to everything. We walked to the waterfront more than once. You are steps from cabs, good restaurants, coffee, internet cafes, a great grocery store, and best of all the beach. Seriously, what else can I say, oh I know, the owners of this building are amazing! Rita and Neil greet you when you arrive, and kiss you goodbye when you leave, and in between they are 100% available to assist you with whatever you need. Dinner recommendations, driving directions, you name it. We felt so at home knowing we could ask them anything. Do yourself a favor and don't feel like you have to be right down town. This is really a perfect location! Thanks Rita and Neil!! Lonely Planet better come visit you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
St. Paul, MN USA
5

Camps Bay Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed not at this pictured apartment, but at another the owner, Rita, maintains in Camps Bay. The apartment was perfect- clean, safe, BEAUTIFUL ocean views of Camps Bay and Signal Hill, and check in and out times were flexible. The location was as described- no more than 15 minutes in any direction to much of what Cape Town has to offer... a few minutes to the beach (or a long walk), a few minutes to Table Mountain and Signal Hill, 10-15 minutes to the V&A Waterfront area and downtown, and a grocery store just moments away. We found it was the perfect spot to stay for what we wanted to see. A car is really required, and the neighborhood seemed really safe. The apartment had good amenities and Rita was an excellent host! We would recommend it to anyone. We would recommend driving around the Cape along the coast... it's a beautiful drive with many stops along the way- great views at Hout Bay, Cape Point, Simons Town, Kalk Bay and back. There is a great restaurant in Kalk Bay called Cape to Cuba that we highly recommend. The apartment was about 1.5 hours to Cape Point, if I remember correctly. We'd love to come back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Chicago
5

Perfect - Book Now

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Barry Hall was our home away from home for 2 weeks during the 2010 World Cup, and our group of four (two married couples) could not have been happier with our experience, from start to finish. Rita (owner) and her staff were incredible- the accommodations really felt more like a 5 star hotel than a self catering apartment (but with the advantage of being able to cook your own food in a stainless steel kitchen or have your own bbq in the back courtyard). While the pictures on VRBO and their website are accurate, they could not capture how charming, spacious, and elegant the building and units actually are. All of our expectations were far exceeded during the stay, and we look forward to coming back to re-live our World Cup experience in the future.

I should also note we appreciated Barry Hall's location within Cape Town - we felt we were ideally located to take in all the city has to offer. Table Mountain, the beach scene at Camps Bay, downtown city center, are all at your finger tips here..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cape Town Atlantic Seaboard spacious luxury apartments very centrally located
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324399
+27 (0)21 4486452
Sea Point Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2008

Have had a wonderful month , to think that before I went to Cape Town I was worried where I would stay, I need not have worried, for it could not have been better than Barry Hall . Many thanks.
Helpful votes: 1/1