Mystic house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mystic House Rental Photos and Description
Five large bedrooms& bonus room off master bedroom 2 & one half baths sleeps 10

Located on a private island in Mystic CT at the mouth of the Mystic river. The house is 5 min. from Mystic Seaport, Aquarium, historic Mystic and Stonington villages. Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun casinos and RI beaches are just a short 20 minutes drive. The privacy of the house location on the island gives the opportunity for swimming, boating, kayaking, biking and walking. The house is a short distance to all the main attractions which makes this property quite unique. There are 10 large rooms with 3 fireplaces, 2 & one 1/2 baths, a laundry room, private sauna with exercise and weight room on the 2nd floor The house sleeps 14#. A 2 car garage with four bicycles. There are two beaches within walking distance to the house. Masons Island Beach and Williams beach. There is a right of way for (small) boat and kayack access 300ft. from the house, to set off for a day of exploring Historic Mystic River, the small inlets and marshes. Mystic is a top wedding destination in the U.S. Email inquiries take priority over voice mail inquiries.

Tennis Courts: Free Tennis courts open to public at Stonington High school and Stonington Community center both within 4 miles.

Golf: Elmridge 27 holes as well as Pequot Golf. Both Within 6 miles in Stonington

Kayack, Canoe, Small Beaches,Fishing and Bikeing: Within a short distance of a walk on the island are kyack and canoe launch ( 300 ) ft. Small beaches, Allyns Alley, Hidden Beach, and Enders ( .01) mile and Williams beach (1 mile.)as well as many spots to fish Enders, Skiff Lane,Allyns Dock, as well as great clamming in the river bed. You Can Bike as well as Walk ( 4 Bikes on Property) available. The island is a private Island not open to the public. The roads are clear of traffic and very easy to use within these stately houses and some of the most prime real estate and plantings in the state. If ther is an non commercial outdoor activity to do, this Island has it all .

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I own and manage the property .It affords the opportunity for the grandparents, grown kids and their children to use.as well as the rest of the families.

Neil Orkney purchased this house in 2002

The property was large to bring up a large family where the kids were raised here.The Island afforded many opportunities for children as well as safety.

11 Reviews of Property 324166 in Mystic, Connecticut

Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
TAOS NM
5

Rob & Rose

Rob & Rose
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family of 8 stayed in this beautiful home for 2 wks, with more then enough room for everyone to be comfortable . The area is spectacular , close to Mystic seaport, and the restaurants are awesome we all got our fill of lobster. My husband rented kayaks for all the kids to use when they needed. we kayaked all the way to Mystic seaport. The kids would all go fishing in the evening down at the pier even if it was raining, We had a memorable family time in a very wonderful , comfortable home. The owner was very helpful to any of my questions that I needed help with. The family all agreed we would all love to return here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
New York, NY
5

Fantastic getaway house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
After reading the description, reviews and seeing the photos on VRBO of this rental, I was wondering if we'd show up and it would be not as good as I had hoped. In fact, it was the opposite -- this house is fantastic for a large group looking for a quiet weekend with a bit of wilderness. The kitchen is a chef's dream complete with pretty much anything you could think of needed for cooking (pots, pans, knives, double-oven, etc), and there's plenty of space for dining with a crowd as well as relaxing. We comfortably fit 14 grown men, and the outdoor deck space was perfect for relaxing and lounging during the daytime. Plus, the owner was beyond easy to deal with, very accommodating and gave us tons of info in case we needed anything external.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
mass
5

renter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay at this house exceded our expectations. It is spacious, beautifully furnished, well equipped
kitchen, good beds etc. The location offers something for all, I would recommend to one and all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Vermont
5

Mystic week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Beautiful home, lots of space, wonderful kitchen and grill with a GREAT DECK!

The home comes with Bikes which are great to get around town and the Island. It is a very safe area and close to the aquarium and Casinos if you want to venture out!! We brought our Kayaks that were accessible to water about 100 feet away that take you out of the marsh and into the bay(great place paddle).

Town is two minutes away, but it was a great place to just relax and enjoy a big beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Merion Station, PA
5

Wonderful Mystic Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family recently enjoyed a lovely reunion in this generously appointed and spacious home. We had 9 adults and 3 children and the house was plenty big for all of us to sleep and live comfortably for a week. The house had more than enough space for my large family to congregate, sit, cook and eat together both inside and outside. The home is nestled in a beautiful, quiet community on Mason’s Island; the setting is the perfect backdrop for a relaxing vacation of lounging around and/or taking in the sights and activities in historic Mystic, CT. Great dining options are just a few minutes by car, but the large, renovated kitchen made it easy and fun to stay in and cook as well. The owners are very gracious and responsive to any questions, making the entire process and vacation a breeze!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
5

A perfect time for all and a perfect wedding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had an absolutely lovely vacation, renting this home from Oct. 1-8, 2011. The home was spacious enough to accommodate all of us (8 adults and 5 children). As a bonus, our youngest daughter got married in the backyard of the house on a glorious day and a lovely ceremony. The house is also close to everying, walking, biking, and all Mystic has to offer, also lots to do with children. The owner was most helpful throughout (especially in helping us arrange the wedding). The week we were there and the folloiwng week (us old fogies took another week driving through New England) turned out the best time in 2011 for the fall colors. A perfect time was had by all.
Arno Partner, a-part@cox.net
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
New York, NY
5

Great Space for Big Groups! Incredibly Accomodating Owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was a perfect house to host a large gathering of friends! There was plenty of room for everyone to have their own space but there were great places where everyone could come together. The house was clean and very comfortable and the owner went above and beyond to ensure that we had a good stay and had everything we needed (he even continued that level of service after we had checked-out. When I got home, I realized I had left behind a couple of dresses in the closet and he quickly mailed them to me!). The location is beautiful and peaceful and well located to some great beaches and cute New England towns. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a stress free place to host a good gathering!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
5

Our stay at Mason's Island Mystic, CT

Our stay at Mason's Island Mystic, CT
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I would like to take this opportunityto thank Neil for sharing his beautiful home for my family and I. There was twelve of us and everyone was so pleased with the house, and it is something we will always remember. You furnished the house with everything that was needed, and when you said all we need is food and clothing you were right. This was a family reunion, and you made our stay one that we will always treasure. Your home will always hold a special place in our hearts, and I hope other families that come will feel the same. We couldn't ask for better place to have our family reunion. You are truly a wonderful person and I will always hold a special place for you in my heart. Anyone who is interested in staying at a place that words cannot describe for different occasions, this is the home and location, with so much to see and do that will leave you breathless. We visited East Beach, Harvey's Beach, Misquitmatett, and several different restaurants which were all maybe twenty minutes away.I can't say enough about this location and the this beautiful home.Many thanks Neil I will always treasure my stay. Thank you Neil. The Barresi Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Virginia
5

Fantastic location... charming and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family (w/ young children) rented this house over spring break and loved it. It was spacious, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. It was well stocked with all the basic cleaning/cooking equipment we needed (just add groceries!). The sauna was definitely appreciated in the chilly New England spring weather. The best part about this house though, is the location. Mason's island is blissfully quiet and secluded, with quiet roads that are perfect for strolls or taking kids biking. At the same time, we had easy access to all the nearby museums and attractions. I managed to get to downtown Mystic in about 10 minutes. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island Estate Property Located in Historic Mystic, .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p324166
+1 8602870569
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Family Reunion In Mystic

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our stay for 8 days was tremendous.More than what we expected. We arrived at a beautiful home, well stocked and we needed nothing to accomodate our family. We enjoyed the quiet and serene environment which suited our purpose for keeping the feast of Tabernacles which is commanded of us in the scriptures.
We will always have fond memories of our stay here.and look forward to another year in your beautiful home. Once again thank you for accomadating us and being so gracious to us.
Helpful votes: 3/3