Kailua Kona house rental - The front of the property
The front of the property
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Upstairs One Bedroom Apartment attached to a large custom home (4000 sq ft.).Huge King Bed. Located on a Tropical 1/2 at a cool elevation of 1500 ft. Full Kitchen and lanai. Washer and Dryer. One of a kind, owner is a fine finish carpenter and his quality of work shows.

Keywords: Comfortable, King Bed, Full Kitchen, North Kona, Excellent Location, Turn Key, Cool Elevation with private lani.

Susan and Tom McGeachy have owned this property since 1988. We have run a vacation rental since 2010. We are within 2 miles of Makalei Golf Course. Private and quite location. Join us for your next vacation.

Susan McGeachy purchased this house in 1988

Comfortable with a full kitchen and deluxe bath with your own laundry. Upstairs with a nice ocean view. Cool elevation. King bed, washer/dryer, full kitchen, full bath, and great location. Terrific reviews.

State of Hawaii Lis TAT: W40910194-01

What ever is in season will be given to our guests. We have apple bananas, bread fruit, avocados, coffee, papayas, etc...

We have a boogy board, cooler, and chairs for you to use during your stay.

14 Reviews of Property 323528 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 14 reviews
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Can't Say Enough Good Things

Can't Say Enough Good Things
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed for here for 11 days and didn't want to leave. Susan and Tom were such gracious hosts who could not have been more friendly and kind. From advice on activities and restaurants to fresh fruit from the trees in their yard, they really made us feel welcome and at home. The cool nights at 1,500 feet were perfect for sleeping and a welcome change from the heat down on Ali'i Drive. It's like having your own house in the mountains, beautifully handcrafted by Tom, with custom trim work and a great bathroom with dual sinks and an big, impressive two-person shower. Everything was very clean and well kept with comfortable furnishings and bedding. You feel removed from town, but you can get there in about 10 minutes plus you are in a good position to access the beaches of the Kohala coast. The coffee town of Holualoa, with its quaint shops and restaurants, is a scenic 15 minute drive away. Overall, this rental is just a great place to stay with a relaxing and peaceful vibe. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great to have Rob and Lisa. Rob brought his bike and rode the Ironman trails. Hope to see them back for the ironman race one of these years.
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Nice escape from hustle & bustle of the city.

Nice escape from hustle & bustle of the city.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The property was a great place to get away from the city, but still close enough to get to in 10 minutes. The listing was very accurate about the location and how cool it was in the evening. The inside was just as clean and cute as the pictures. Tom and Susan were wonderful people, very friendly and provided us with very tasty papaya's and avocados. We would definitely recommend this property to rent. We had a wonderful time staying here and would again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: It was the perfect location for them as their cousin lives a couple of miles away. Tom and Linda were delightful and left the place in great shape. Our first guests from Minnesota.
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Everything we'd hoped for!

Everything we'd hoped for!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place was perfect for us, and Susan and Tom were friendly and wonderful hosts. They provided great suggestions for things to do upon request, and they even brought us Christmas cookies and papayas and avocado from their yard. This yard is lush with many beautiful trees and plants and it provides a peaceful atmosphere with chirping birds and nice views of the ocean. Being at 1500 ft, it is slightly cooler than at sea level and a great escape from the heat in the evening. The place was clean and tidy, with beautiful woodwork, comfortable bed and living room furniture. The kitchen was fully equipped and had a kettle, toaster, and blender in addition to coffee maker etc. It was also really great to have a good cooler and beach chairs handy. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We Love it when people are thrilled with their stay. Mahalo.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver BC Canada
4

Happy Traveller

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The listing is accurate and all information received by the owner was correct. The unit is up a set of stairs which provides the view of the water. "Vog" in the area is common however. The unit was quite spacious, including the kitchen area, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom features double sinks and showers, a nice feature. It was quiet at night and cooler than right on the coast.
The owners were very helpful and friendly. There is one food store close by and the drive into Kailua was relatively short (10 minutes). The location is central to Kailua and the beaches north. Walking in the area is not the greatest as the streets are steep and no street lights so very dark out there! I would recommend this unit to those who are content to be away from the tourist crowds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always enjoy the Canadians as they can appreciate the island and all it has to offer. Mahalo.
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Chehalis WA
3

good value 55 & older

good value 55 & older
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Very clean property, with cooler nights & fresh air, with a central location. Do visit local Mt. Thunder Coffee farm (close by) & Greenwell Coffee (Captain Cook area). Napuna Beach State Park has a beautiful beach. If you can get a parking spot Mauna Kea Resort has an excellent beach. Great Natural Foods store by Target in Kona. Written instructions for TV use would be nice. Dogs & Cats do quiet down later in the evening. Good value
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: When these people were checked in they were told that if they had any questions or problems to please let us know.
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
College Station, Texas
5

Hidden gem with amazing views of Kona coast!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a terrific one bedroom rental in a quiet neighborhood above the hubbub of Kailua-Kona. The comfortable and private apartment includes a full kitchen and large bathroom with washer and dryer, and the entire space is very clean. The friendly owners live in the main house and often gave us fresh avocados and papayas that were absolutely delicious! We are both divers who like a restful retreat when we're not in the water and so this place is perfect for us. Note that the rental is accessed via an outside staircase and is a 15 minute drive to restaurants etc on Ali'i Drive.
Owner's Response: Thank you Kim and Helmond, It was a pleasure having your here. You left the rental in excellent condition. You're Welcome any time. A hui hou!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Mattituck, NY and Tucson AZ
5

Relaxing week in the big island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This property was well-maintained and the photos were accurate. If anything there were more amenities than listed including beach chairs, water shoes, plentiful towels. The kitchen was well appointed and included such necessities as coffee filters and a decent corkscrew. The view of the ocean was somewhat obscured because smoke from the volcano was settling over the area. This is evidently something that happens from time to time.

The owner was helpful and pleasant. Work was being done on an adjacent building; they were considerate and did not do any noisy work while we were in the apartment. They asked when we would be out. Parking was easy and off the street.

As for local food, we can recommend several right on Alii St. in Kailua-Kona which was about a 15 min drive from the apartment. Our favorite was Boston Basil where we ate two nights. We enjoyed the live music and the view of the sunset from the second floor dining area. In addition Tante's was an excellent value with a great view of the harbor. Kona Inn was more upscale, beautiful presentations, great service, but the fish was a little undercooked. Either eat before 6 pm or get a reservation.

Our pick for the best beach was between town and the airport at a National Historic park. The geeen sea turtles come up on the beach in early evening and there are nature trails with historic ruins.Shore birds come into the rocky shallow pools.

Several boat tours leave from Kailua-Kona that look interesting, but we opted to drive the coast instead and found several wonderful beaches both on the north and south sides of the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a wonderful time in Big Island!
The location of the condo was perfect, quiet, near the airport and from major roads to start our visits around the island. Also it was a short distance from the beaches, stores and gaz station, but you need a car. The condo was as described, very clean and well maintained. WIFI internet is available, but there is no telephone (bring yours if you need one).
The owners were very nice, helpful, and discrete even if they live next door. We would recommend this property to our best friends and family!
Notre expérience à Kailua-Kona s'est très bien passée!
Le condo est très bien situé, quartier tranquille, près de l'aéroport et des grandes routes pour les divers trajets autour de l'île. Il est aussi à de courtes distances en voiture des plages, magasins et station d'essence. La description du condo est exacte, très propre et bien entretenu, avec internet sans fil, mais sans téléphone (apportez le vôtre si nécessaire).
Les propriétaires demeurent juste à côté, sont très gentils, aidants et discrets. Nous recommenderions ce condo à notre famille et meilleurs amis!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a delightful traveling couple. They were traveling through the island chain and enjoyed having them on the Big Island.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Huber Heights, Ohio
4

Carefree, relaxing stay in a good location ...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Property was clean and well-maintained. Really liked the remodeled bathroom with double shower!Very friendly owner, easy to talk to, ready & willing to help. This was our 2nd Big Island visit, so we didn't need much help. Owner respected this and kept a low profile. Neighbor's dogs only barked if we disturbed them ... not a problem at all if we kept our noise down or closed the window(s) between them & us. Nights were cool enough to close ALL the windows, and the ceiling fans provided more than enough cooling if needed. We appreciated the free fresh fruit the owner gave us! Location was perfect - a quiet area removed from Kailua-Kona but still only a short drive to town and the airport. View was O.K., considering distance from ocean. Good exercise with two long flights of stairs! For anyone with knee problems this could be a chore, especially carrying luggage. Motion-sensing stairway lights were great going upstairs at night, but when going down the lower flight the light in that area did not come on until near the bottom. This left us "in the dark" going down most of the lower flight and could be remedied by having top and bottom sensor switch ALL stairway lighting on. Candlelight dinners on the lanai (a favorite pastime of ours) were thwarted by permanently-armed motion sensor lanai light (could not switch-off) and mosquitoes (unless you wear repellent or bring your own bug-zapper). We detected some mustiness in spare blankets in the living room and in some dresser drawers that could be better controlled. Overall, we did have an enjoyable, relaxing stay at this property and would recommend it to laid-back adult couples like ourselves. Would not recommend to "party animals" or families with smaller children.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
North Kona- Tropical Upstairs W/ Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323528vbi
(808) 989-4182 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Unforgettable Kona Stay

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I stayed at the McKeachy Kona Rental and had the most amazing time. The rental is beautiful and comfortable, conveniently located with enchanting ocean views and sea breezes. It gives you the feeling of living there, an authentic experience. Set in a perfect altitude, the temperature was comfortable and cool after a busy day at the beach. Hosts Tom and Susan were a wealth of information and under their suggestion, we were able to swim with dolphins, do a night dive with manta rays, take a one-night excursion to the town of Volcano and snorkel at several pristine beaches they guided us to. We also enjoyed delicious restaurant recommendations as well as the option to do our own cooking in the rental’s fully set up kitchen. Kona has so many things to do, you can’t possible do it all in one visit. We can’t wait to visit again!

Kim and Judy
Los Gatos, CA