Elysburg cottage rental - 55 Roaring Creek Rd, Catawissa, PA, 17820
55 Roaring Creek Rd, Catawissa, PA, 17820
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Elysburg Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-6)

Mayberry Canyon Cottage offers seclusion and solitude. The Cottage is nestled deep in Mayberry Canyon along a naturally beautiful and pristine stream named Big Roaring Creek. Here, you will be a world away from the hustle and bustle of life's distractions.

Whether traveling for a weekend getaway or a full week vacation, your stay at Mayberry Canyon Cottage will provide the ultimate in convenience and relaxation. With plenty to do nearby, Mayberry Canyon Cottage is the premier destination when looking for a fun filled family getaway, a romantic couples retreat, or even a peaceful business trip.

The cottage is strategically located 5 miles from Knoebel’s Amusement Resort and Valley Gun and Country Club in Elysburg, PA, and 7 miles from nearby Danville, PA. Also, within 5 miles you'll find two public 18 hole golf courses. For the adventurer there are several State Parks nearby including the fascinating Rickett's Glen Waterfalls. Historical enthusiasts can find nearby covered bridges and scenic areas, take a tour in a central PA coal mine, or even visit the historic Jim Thorpe.

For those of you that like to stay in, Mayberry Canyon Cottage is an excellent hub for outdoor adventure. From hiking to biking and swimming, this place offers it all. Spend the day swimming, kayaking, or even fishing, all in your backyard. At night, relax around a campfire creek side while stargazing under the moonlit clear sky. The possibilities are endless at Mayberry Canyon Cottage! The only place where you can enjoy doing it all or doing nothing at all!

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 323503 in Elysburg, Pennsylvania

Mayberry Canyon Cottage
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
5

Mayberry

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Great for bachelor get away in the wilderness. Although it states it only sleeps up to 6, the cottage can easily fit ten if needed. My friends and I had a blast.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
phoenixville, pa
5

scott

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time. We stayed there as a base for Knobel's Grove and the kids couldn't wait to get back to the cottage and the stream.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
5

Love this place :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I have been going to Knobels for about 12 years. This is one of the nicest, most cozy little cottages we've stayed in around this area. Doug the owner is very helpful and makes you feel so welcome when you arrive. I would recommend this lovely little cottage to anyone that's wanting a getaway for 2 or for a family of 4. Our family of 6 (5 grown ups and a child) did just fine in this one bedroom because of the spacious living room. We did bring our own blow up mattress, but really wouldn't have been needed. The screened in porch is great for early morning coffee and watching the ducks swim by :)

My daughter actually cried when we had to leave and said she hated our trip was over. We can't wait to come back again!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Allentown
5

Serene getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I snuck away from life in the Lehigh valley to Knoebels. We stayed at this lovely cottage, which is only a few minute but beautiful drive away. The accommodations were more than comfortable with everything you need to build a fire by the river. We caught a few fish and had a rule of no technology which wasn't hard to keep with all of the nature around. We will be back again soon for another escape! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Pennsylvania
4

Great Setting, Smelled Smoky

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage is just as described and pictured. Setting couldn't be better (quiet, secluded, scenic, etc). Our kids had a great time playing in the creek, watching wildlife and cooking hot dogs over the campfire. It had all the benefits of camping without all the hassle, which worked well for our 3 and 6 y.o. Our stay would have been perfect, but apparently the prior tenants had smoked inside, leaving an unpleasant cigarette odor. This was a disappointment and had we planned to spend much time in the cottage or if the weather had not cooperated for outdoor activities, this would have been a bigger issue. For the most part, we were only in the cottage for sleeping and some of us slept on the screen porch to escape the smoke smell. The cottage is close to several attractions, we visited Reptiland, Pioneer Tunnel and Knoebels. All 3 were easy and scenic drives. Our kids enjoyed all 3 attractions. I would recommend the cottage to anyone, unless you are sensitive to cigarette smoke. I know it can be a hard smell to get rid of and I guess at any rental you don't know what the prior tenants will do during their stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Brad, thank you for your review. We are extremely disappointed in the tenants that smoked in our property and saddened that due to this, your stay didn't live up to the high expectations we pride ourselves in giving to our guests. Our guests' stay and experience is of utmost importance to us and we have not taken your feedback lightly. We are in the process of a thorough deep cleaning to remove the smell. To prevent this in the future, I have added a clause to our contract noting that anyone who smokes in the property will be responsible for and charged all fees associated with cleaning and removing the odor. We will continue to take any further measures needed to ensure our guests always have an enjoyable and memorable experience, while still respecting our property and our future guests' to come.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
5

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time! The cottage has pretty much everything you might need. The kitchen had pretty much anything you would need to cook with. I loved having my coffee on the screened in back porch every morning & watching the water & the birds. Just bring your bed linens, towels and personal items. The creek was wonderful & my son loved taking the canoe out and paddling around. Doug was a great host making sure we had everything we needed. The firepit down by the creek was a great place to do smores and relax as the lightning bugs started twinkling all around us. We are already planning next years stay. Thanks Doug for sharing this special place with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Eastern PA
5

Peaceful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of six just returned from three nights at Mayberry Cottage. The cottage is cute, clean and convenient to Knoebels and about an hour from beautiful Ricketts Glen State Park. We enjoyed the peaceful location - it is off the beaten path! We all played in the creek in the canoe, tubes and raft, enjoyed a campfire by the creek and dinner on the huge screened porch. The kitchen is well equiped and the great room spacious. Doug the owner lives next door and is very friendly and helpful. Our first afternoon we lost power due to a tree coming down in the storm. Doug brought us a lantern and kept us informed of the power company's progress. Power returned overnight. We recommend a stay here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Houston, TX
4

Beautiful location and excellent lodging

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are from Houston and were looking for lodging that would offer us a peaceful and beautiful setting around the area of Knoebel's park. Mayberry Canyon cottage is exactly what it was advertised to be a peaceful, well appointed cabin, setting nestled in the woods. My wife and daughter used the raft that was stored underneath the back porch and drifted down the creek behind the cottage. This cabin is perfect for families or couples. Doug came over and saw that all our needs were taken care of.. He is a great host.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Glen Burnie, Maryland
5

great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
my husband and i brought our 2 year old grandson. we went to knoebels and had a great time. we were gonna go back the next day but my grandson wanted to stay at the cabin. he had a great time hanging with his pappy building a fire, fishing and just hanging out. he loved it as much as we did. cabin is awesome we will surely be coming back. thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful property. would also be nice for a romantic getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mayberry Canyon Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323503vbi
+ (570) 356-2520
Elysburg Allegheny Mountains
Wisconsin
5

Did NOT Want To Leave This Amazing Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Fabulous getaway!!!! The location was amazing, quiet, relaxing, surrounded by wonderful flora and fauna. The creek was clean, refreshing and a main attraction. The cottage was spacious, clean, accommodating and felt like home. Doug was a top quality host and made the stay even better by being helpful, friendly and an overall great guy. I plan on making this an annual tradition as well as bragging about how great it is to as many people as possible, even though my better judgment wants to keep this a secret sweet spot. Close proximity to many amenities and entertainment. Overall a great stay and truly couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a vacation in the Poconos!!!! Thanks Again!!! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3