West Jefferson cabin rental - Front view of Log Cabin with side entry porch
Front view of Log Cabin with side entry porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

West Jefferson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

New River Ridge is located on the New River near West Jefferson, North Carolina.

This new mountain retreat features cathedral ceilings with exposed beams, is well appointed with all the comforts of home. The linens and towels are supplied. If you want towels for swimming you may want to bring them. The kitchen is completely set up with ice maker, coffee maker toaster and all pots/pans. We also have a washer and dryer. There is a gas grill on the back porch. You will need to bring all food and drink. One roll of paper towels and toilet paper is supplied at all locations. The cabin sleeps 6 people. There is a king bed in the master bedroom, an upstairs bedroom with a queen bed and an upstairs bedroom with two singles.

The cabin has a phone with local service. You will have to bring a calling card to use long distance. You can get a rechargeable long distance card about anywhere and they are cheap. The house is equipped with a WiFi system. There are two TV’s a flat screen with HD in the great room and a regular TV in the upstairs bedroom. Both TVs have DVD players.

There is river access at many areas around the cabin. Directly below the cabin and about 300 feet down stream there is a ramp that you can take canoes and kayaks and this is a good fishing spot. The river has small mouth bass (red eyes) and trout.

There are art galleries, golf courses, restaurants, farmers market, and many more things to do in West Jefferson. In the Boone and Blowing Rock Area which is 30 min. away there are all types of things to do. There are state parks and there are scenic drives.

There is a convenience store about three miles away. The grocery store (Ingles) is about seven miles with a Walgreens, Super Walmart and all other stores about the same distance.

Things to do in the area:

Tubing rafting and canoeing on the New River.

Rock climbing rappelling and caving located in Banner Elk.

Waterfalls:

Mitchell Falls 40 feet, at Mt. Mitchell State Park.

Crabtree Falls- 60 feet, at a Visitor Center at MP 340 on the Blue Ridge Parkway

Linville Falls -A series of two falls, upper at 12 feet and lower at 90 feet, plunge into the 2,000 foot deep Linville Gorge.

Boone Fork Trail Falls - 25 feet, on Boone Fork Trail leading from the picnic area at Julian Price Park.

Glen Burney Falls - 75 feet, in John's River Gorge off the Globe Road below Blowing Rock.

The Cascades -Series of three cascading falls, 30 to 40 feet in height, at Jefferson Park.

Fly Fishing:

New River

Grandfather Trout Farm

State Parks:

Moses Cone Memorial Park

Julian Price Memorial Park

Doughton Park

Linville Falls & Linville Gorge Wilderness Area

Mount Mitchell State Park

Mount Jefferson State Park

Museum of North Carolina Minerals

New River State Park

Museum of North Carolina Minerals

Roan Mountain

Stone Mountain State Park

Hiking Trails:

Moses Cone Memorial Park

Julian Price Park

Linville Falls/Linville Gorge

The Cascades on the Parkway

The Beacon Heights Trail and Flat Rock Nature Trail

Crabbtree Falls

Roan Mountain

Mount Jefferson State Park

Summit Trail

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 323320 in West Jefferson, North Carolina

New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
average rating of 4.9 based on 22 reviews
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Great Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had so much fun! What a great place, just secluded enough but close enough to everything. Our family really enjoyed spending Christmas here and the owners were so helpful every step of the way in wanting to make sure we had a great holiday here -- just the right place to do everything, or nothing :) We look forward to coming back in the summer and floating the river and spending some time at the fire pit. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
4

Relaxing Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This cabin was absolutely beautiful . We stayed here for New Years 2014 with another couple and our for legged kids . The view if the river was wonderful and the walks we took with the dogs were private . You really feel like your in seclusion yet are close to market as well as downtown . We would definitely rent again however in the spring or summer time so we could make full use of the river access .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Great cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We truly enjoyed our stay at this cabin, from the beautiful fireplace, to the exposed ceiling beans, not to mention a very well equipped kitchen . The location was perfect, in the woods but not so far away if you need to go shopping the local Walmart as well as other stores were just a few miles away. The town of West Jefferson had many little shops and many local restaurants to explore. The river in back of the cabin was beautiful to watch as well as relaxing...all in all a great getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
North Myrtle Beach, SC
5

Retirement Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cabin was a great location for a retirement celebration during the month of July. We not only found West Jefferson to be a friendly town with many shops and restaurants, but also the surrounding area of Boone. When not out exploring we enjoyed watching the hummingbird battles and other wildlife visiting the area while sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch.
We ate most of our meals at the cabin and found the kitchen well equipped. Four grocery stores are close so shopping was made easy. Many restaurants are available in West Jefferson and Boone if you prefer not to cook.
We brought our bikes and found the Todd Railroad Grade Rd. to be close and a wonderful flat & scenic ride. The Riverside Restaurant was a perfect place to park and then enjoy breakfast or lunch after a ride. We also traveled over to Damascus and loved the Virgina Creeper Trail ride from Whitetop To Damascus.
The owner is very helpful and quickly responds to email if you have questions. Beautiful area and great cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Delray Beach, Florida
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cabin is so wonderful and the location is ideal. My husband and I stayed at the cabin last year and loved it so much we took my parents this past visit. They were as blown away as we were the first time we came. The owners have made great efforts to make sure there is everything you need in the cabin.
The beds were so comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. Although the cabin is perfect we were more entertained by the back porch! We spent most of our time sitting in the rocking chairs watching the Humming Birds and breathing in the fresh mountain air!

Escaping from reality and all the hustle we didn't want to leave the secluded cabin but when we did everything is very close. The grocery store is 10 minutes away and the town is right there as well with many unique stores to shop. We love the local public golf course and played it numerous times. It is very challenging and very scenic, don't be surprised if you have to wait to tee off because of a deer in the fairway. The fly fishing went very well for us too, Helton Creek was ideal. We liked the new restaurant Boondocks and finally had our first Smithney burger! My beagle loved sniffing out all the rabbits and deer but he wished we let him off his leash, not. We woke up a few mornings to 46 degrees, that was so neat for August weather.

We had a lovely time and spent precious moments my folks. This place is a keeper, we already booked for next summer! The owner has been more than helpful and all the local people there are so friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Apex, NC
5

Excellent Accomodations and Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our week away was during frequent downpours, but that did not hinder our enjoyment at all. The porch allowed all in our party (2 families with 2 adults and 3 children ages 8-15) room to spread out and stay dry, even in the heaviest of rain. The location of the cabin was minutes to the Parkway, West Jefferson, Todd, Glendale Spring. An easy drive and just a bit longer to Boone and Valle Crucis. The house was well appointed and we did not want for anything. It is as described and pictured. The property sits above the river and direct access is below. You can take the maintained path up and down or walk a little further on the private road outside the house. The owner was easy to work with and obviously cares about the property. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again.

While our outings were limited by the downpours we were able to get in the river at the cabin near the beginning of our stay. Would have loved to again. Attractions we enjoyed were the Ben Long Frescoes in West Jefferson and Glendale Springs, ziplining with no handbraking at Screaming ziplines just outside of Boone, Ashe County cheese in W. Jefferson, driving on the Parkway (although the fog was dense at times), Mast General Store (the original) in Valle Crucis, Mount Jefferson State Park, and the Christmas in July Festival. When we were not out, the cabin was a great place to just hang out, play games, read a book, relax, and recharge. I would recommend visiting the Chamber of Commerce in W. Jefferson on your check in day and getting a county street map. It is the mountains where GPS and cell phone coverage are spotty and often unreliable. While we had no issue, if you want to go "off the beaten path" a map is the best way to do it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Tallahassee, FL
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Cabin was clean, comfortable, and plenty of room for our party of six. Walmart, gas and grocery was close by. Enjoyed kayaking out of New River State Park, we took in the long views at Grandfather Mountain, found a orange newt at Mt Jefferson, Linville Falls is amazing, white water rafting the Nolichucky was real fun. Was a really wonderful week; kids had a blast. My batteries are recharged.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Gastonia
5

Nice House, Nice Location, Nice Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house is beatifully built in a secluded location looking down on the river but with good access to all the amenities less the 15 minutes away. The attention to detail is apparent in the trim work and the accessories. The beds were great, we slept very well. The kitchen and family room are a little tight but you don't go here to cook and watch TV, the porch is the real deal. The master bedroom is well set up. The kitchen is nicely set up with about anything you need, use some condiments and leave some more.

Try jumping in the river on a tube or kayak and have a friend pick you up in 90 minutes at the Methodist Church Camp off Boggs Road. It is an awesome float!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Naples, Florida
5

Our wonderful 2nd Christmas holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is our 2nd Christmas holiday trip to your lovely cabin and as with the first trip, this one was also very relaxing, enjoyable and most memorable for our family. The cabin provided the atmosphere we needed-coming from our dirt bike riding in the cold North Carolina climate-the fireplace was wonderful to gather around and get warm. We went down to the river's edge and also enjoyed the firepit and made smores. The back porch was used to take our family Christmas portrait and to greet the cold flurry mornings with the sun shining amongst the trees was absolutely beautiful. Our 12 year old senior dog, Reese was able to walk down the paths/roads without the fear of a car hitting him and gave me the peace and time with him. This was also his 2nd trip up with us and I savored the moment cause he was just in awe with the surroundings and it made his old bones and senses vibrant as if he were in his youth again. The cabin had all the necessities I needed to make a nice holiday dinner for our family. We even brought our little Christmas trees and opened our gifts on Christmas day. On our first trip to your cabin, all my daughters wanted was the wifi and this time they enjoyed watching TV with the family in your livingroom, exercising with their "Zumba" game and just "chilling". If we needed more food the drive to the local Walmart was within minutes. Downtown West Jefferson which is also just minutes away provided the small downtown feel along with the small town shops and I loved the antique shopping, This is our 6th year to come to West Jefferson and our 2nd time at your lovely cabin and most definitely we will come again because it is like our home away from home. Thank you for our wonderful Christmas Holiday at your cabin.

See you again soon,

The Naples Family
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Sanford, NC
5

WONDERFUL RIVER VIEW MOUNTAIN CABIN!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
WOW! What an OUTSTANDING surprise to spend Thanksgiving in such a PERFECT cabin! The views are Spectacle! The porches are better than the photos could ever show and the River access was perfect for our family campfires. The owner of this cabin went all out on the details! The wood works, Granite everywhere, even the bathroom! The bedrooms were super and the family room with its 30 ft stone fireplace was fabulous! Wireless for the kids and Dish TV with DVD. A Full kitchen and when he says fully equipped, it really has everything even a Washer/Dryer. The Hiking was fantastic and the setting was awesome! The cabin was only 10 minutes from West Jefferson and the village is great for shopping. We also spent the evening at the River House Inn and had an UNREAL gourmet Dinner. I would highly recommend this cabin and will be returning for yet another adventure. Daniel
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2