Hilo bungalow rental - Welcome to the Bamboo Bungalow - private covered entry
Welcome to the Bamboo Bungalow - private covered entry
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hilo Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

The ZEN BAMBOO BUNGALOW is a 1 bed, 1 bath luxurious, Asian-style upstairs guesthome with private garden entry, spacious living area and balcony with a panorama view. The bungalow features a full kitchen, 50-inch Plasma High Definition TV and home theater sound system, Asian antiques, plush leather furnishings, and Japanese bath with deep “furo” tub. The bungalow is situated on nearly an acre of lush tropical and Japanese-inspired gardens located 2.5 miles from historic, downtown Hilo. The bungalow is more than a beautiful place to stay, it’s a lifestyle. You will experience charming “old Hawaii” where life is slow and easy. At the bungalow you can relax in style or pursue a variety of adventures at your doorstep. Amenities include a secluded outdoor garden spa equipped with jetted hot tub with UV light water purification, infrared sauna and outdoor shower. The beautifully landscaped grounds and naturalistic setting capture the tranquility and beauty of the islands where travelers can relax and experience the true Hawaii that the locals live.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Big Island of Hawaii. The ZEN BAMBOO BUNGALOW provides a private vacation retreat with all the comforts of home for visitors and travelers to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, and where you will not feel like a tourist. Chef's kitchen is fully-equipped and coffee bar is stocked with fresh, organic coffee. Your hosts reside on the neighboring property and personally greet you and handle key exchanges when you arrive. Your hosts answer questions you may have, assist you with any special needs and help you plan your stay... sharing tips on where to visit, how to get there, where to lunch and favorite local dining spots.

The bungalow property is located in East Hawaii in a picturesque area of Hilo and surrounded by streams, waterfalls and quiet cul-de-sacs perfect for walking or jogging. Spectacular views of landscaped terraces and partial ocean views of Hilo Bay can be easily enjoyed from the private balcony. Shoji screen doors are designed throughout to create a private and serene setting or open up to views of the gardens below. The courtyard with pond, waterfall and fountains create a garden oasis for dining and relaxation. In harmony with nature and with all the comforts of home, the Zen Bamboo Bungalow will make your journey a most memorable experience. The bungalow is a perfect Hawaiian getaway for couples celebrating their special occasion, and is centrally located making it an ideal home base while exploring exotic points of interest on the island.

The bungalow is a 5 minute drive or a free bus ride to historic downtown Hilo and Hilo Bay. Hilo is known for its warm aloha spirit, relaxed lifestyle, unique shops, art galleries and restaurants with local regional cuisine. Local attractions include Lyman Museum, East Hawaii Cultural Center, historic Palace Theatre, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Imiloa Astronomy Center, UH Hilo Performing Arts Center and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. Hilo Farmer's Market is a favorite for fresh, local produce. Merrie Monarch Festival, Hilo's premier hula competition and cultural event, is held annually. Hilo's black sand beaches and freshwater pools are some of the best for snorkeling, diving, surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming with turtles and tropical fish, or watching the whales off shore. Take a helicopter volcano tour or short scenic drive to active Kilauea volcano to view a lava flow, ride horses in Waipio Valley or tour the summit and view the night skies of Mauna Kea.

Weddings, graduations, receptions or large gatherings may be allowed with owner's prior consent and only by arrangement with our event planning and management services. Contact us in advance to facilitate your special occasion set in the privacy of the bungalow grounds and lovely gardens.

The Zen Bamboo Bungalow is a Non Smoking property: Hawaii State Law dictates that all public areas are designated as smoke free. The safety and comfort of all our guests is of utmost importance to us. As such we have a non smoking policy. Smoking is not allowed in any of our buildings or on the property grounds. Please inform your visitors of our non smoking policy. Your support and cooperation to maintain a smoke free environment at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow is greatly appreciated.

Fishpond on grounds, No Pets: Children are welcome at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow, however, families with children of a certain age must be aware of safety concerns around the fishpond on the property, and the Zen Bamboo Bungalow's upper balcony, stairs to the upper level living area and the deep soaking tub in the bathroom.

Sorry, no pets are allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are the owners of Orchid Isle Bungalows in Hilo, Hawaii. We have have lived in Hilo for 35 years where we started our family and raised our three children. We own a construction and real estate development company on the Big Island of Hawaii and have been in business since 1979. We designed and built the bungalows and landscaped the grounds taking care to preserve and restore the Japanese gardens and ponds. We are continually beautifying the gardens and the property is lovingly cared for. We reside on the property neighboring the bungalows and greet guests personally to welcome them, handle key exchanges and respond to renters' needs. The bungalows are fully furnished and have all the amenities making this a perfect island home away from home. It is our pleasure to share this amazing property, as an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, with travelers and visitors to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking a private vacation retreat where you will not feel like a tourist.

Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Sherron Skeele purchased this bungalow in 2003

The Orchid Isle Bungalows property was formerly a Japanese garden developed by a Hilo resident, educator and a founding father of bonsai in Hawaii. Dignitaries from Japan visited the gardens and tour buses regularly visited the garden showplace. The gardens and ponds were well-known on the island and several generations of residents fondly recall enjoying the gardens during their childhood. The gardens was one of the first places my husband and I would show our family and friends who came to visit the Big Island. Over the years, the property changed hands and was let go. As we lived on the neighboring property, we took the opportunity to acquire the property in 2003 and begin the 'restoration' of the gardens. We made arrangements for the the unrepairable existing structure to be burned down by the fire department in a training drill for its cadets. We then embarked on the project of custom-designing and building the bungalows and restoring the existing Japanese gardens. We love to share the gardens and our ongoing efforts to beautify and landscape the grounds is in keeping with the naturalistic setting that captures the tranquility and beauty of the islands.

43 Reviews of Property 323163 in Hilo, Hawaii

Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
average rating of 4.928571 based on 43 reviews
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Kailua, HI
5

Hilo's Best Kept Secret!

Hilo's Best Kept Secret!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This bungalow is a wonderful place to stay in HIlo's cool uplands. It is located in an established older neighborhood and is set back in landscaped gardens that can be seen from the bungalow's large picture window bringing the Big Island's upland forests inside. Having been raised on the Big Island, but now living on the highly populated island of Oahu, I so appreciated relaxing in this bungalow and feeling like I returned home! I would stay here over any other high-end resort or condo anywhere else on the Big Island. The craftsmanship and decor are exquisite and the bungalow is extremely comfortable! Sherron and David were very responsive to everything we needed, yet the bungalow is equipped with everything anyone could need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. My husband and I are already trying to figure out when we can return, and I'm absolutely recommending this rental to my large extended family and all our friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you June and Paul for being wonderful guests. We really enjoyed your stay and being able to share our bungalow and gardens with you and your daughter attending the university in Hilo. We very much look forward to your return to the Big Island for your next visit. Mahalo again for your compliments on the property, and for your high rating as it is so very important to us to provide excellent service and hospitality.

Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Bern, CH
4

Nicely Designed Space

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Very attractive cottage with high quality features. Would have appreciated glass glasses and a couple of chairs in the outdoor space for this accommodation in the group of rentals at this location.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Tina and Dale, Thank you for your compliments on the design and quality features of our Zen Bamboo Bungalow vacation rental in Hilo. Our mission is to create beautiful living spaces that invite guests to relax and experience peaceful moments and the harmony of nature.

As much as we would like, it is not always possible to supply each guest's preferences. We remind our guests to PLEASE ASK for anything not provided and we will happily respond to their request as best as possible. We also ask guests to report any condition not meeting their satisfaction within the first 24 hours after arrival so that we have the opportunity to correct the situation.

We would like to clarify for future guests that the bungalow is furnished with an assortment of beer, wine and water glasses, both glass and plastic, and outdoor areas are fully furnished with tables, chairs, dining furniture and loungers.
It is our desire that guests fully enjoy their stay and to provide exceptional hospitality. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Unbelievable Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent our first 4 nights at this property and could not have been happier. From the minute we arrived, Dave was at the top of the driveway waiting to show us the property and answer any questions we had. The property was exactly shown in the pictures with nothing else needed for our stay. Kitchen was fully equipped, fresh linens and towels, was a perfect start to our Hawaiian vacation.

We had rented another property on another part of the island for the remainder of our stay. Things went dramatically wrong at this property and we decided to leave within 24hrs of our stay. My wife in tears called Sherron and Dave and without hesitation, “we’ll open our guest house, come stay with us.” We cannot express how grateful we are for your kindness and generosity in our time of despair. You truly are two of the nicest people we have ever met and again are eternally grateful.

Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you and keep in touch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mark and Heather, Thank you for your kind words of gratitude and appreciation. It was a pleasure having you stay at our guesthouse. We know how important your Hawaii vacation was to you and we are happy to have been there to help you through a difficult situation. Please keep in touch and we hope you visit us again in your future trips to Hawaii.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Denton
5

Better than 5 Star and Immaculate inside and out.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have booked through Homeaway and Vacation Rental before and all properties have been as described and never a problem. My wife and I put together a 14 day stay on 3 islands and needed an affordable place near Hilo for 4 nights, we were impressed by the photos and descriptions so we booked it.
It was after dark when we arrived, Sherron met us with the garage door open for us, which we did not expect and gave us the keys and garage opener for the car. It was so easy coming in and out this way. We were immediately were impressed by the minute details and and cleanliness of the grounds, garage and bungalow. The craftsmanship is first class with perfect wood work, cabinets, flooring, counter tops, and furnishings. The bath room was even more roomy and comfortable than the pictures could describe. The owners provide everything right down to disposable towelettes for make up removal. Another plus, there is a organic cotton robe for each guest to wear while in the bungalow. There was not a mark, stain, chip, or dirty spot in the entire place, like it was just built.
We did a lot of driving around on this trip and this bungalow became our resting spot, we did not venture far from it and enjoyed the slow relaxed atmosphere. I am from Hawaii, my wife loves the tropical plants there and our colder climate home on the mainland is full of tropical plants we can keep alive, so the gardens were an amazing plus. We talked with the gardener for over an hour about the plants and how they are kept, again spotless as the inside.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that there is no place on the islands that could compare no matter what the price range. This had to be the best deal of the whole 14 days.
Owner's Response: Aloha Alan and Vivian, Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review of our Zen Bamboo Bungalow vacation rental property in Hilo. We are truly grateful for the appreciation you have shown us for both our bungalow accommodations and Japanese/ tropical gardens. We hope you will visit again to make our bungalow retreat your home away from home on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

garden to the max

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We really enjoyed our 4 night stay @ Zen Bamboo Bungalow. The Japanese Garden & the Bungalow's Asian design were highlights. On our morning outings to Richardson Beach, we made full use of the beach gear that the owners provided for us. Laundry, garage parking, quiet, & a good location were other pluses.
Owner's Response: Aloha Karl & Kathy, We are thrilled that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Zen Bamboo Bungalow and gardens, as well as one of our favorite spots...Richardson's Beach. We look forward to hosting your stay again for your next Big Island vacation. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Heavely Gardens!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had an absolutely amazing time at the Bungalow. David was so nice and helpful with everything. The gardens are pristine and I absolutely recommend this place 150% and are definitely coming back! Maholo David and Sherron!
Owner's Response: Aloha Marissa & Matt, Thank you for your stellar review and for sharing our little piece of paradise. Your love of gardening and plants is truly evident and appreciated. We look forward to your return to the Zen Bamboo Bungalow for your next Big Island adventure. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Clio. Ca
5

Wonderful place to stay in Hilo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We were one of two couples that enjoyed our stay at the beautiful two bedroom home next door to the one bedroom bungalow. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in Hilo for the price and the hosts were very helpful and friendly. The craftsman style home was beautiful and extremely well appointed. Everything you could want was first class and in immaculate condition. The Japanese gardens were exceptionally well designed and maintained and the hot tub and dry sauna were greatly appreciated. Mahalo to Sharon and David for making this a memorable stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jim & Patsy, It was a pleasure hosting your stay in Hilo and sharing our property with you during your visit. Thank you for your enthusiasm and appreciation for the gardens and landscaping plants. We hope to see you back for a future visit when you are on the island again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Ucluelet, BC, Canada
5

Affordable luxury in gorgeous garden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The whole property has a wow factor from the restored Japanese gardens to the gleaming hardwood floors, marble counters, deep Japanese soaker tub, glass bowl sink and 50" flat screen. Description and photos are100% accurate. The unit is so clean and everything perfect, it was a little unnerving for me. I found myself constantly worrying about the how I was handling the supplies, equipment, furniture and fixtures. As irony would have it we unknowingly chipped a bowl and will have to pay for new dishes which is unfortunate. Dave was very helpful and friendly as was Sherron in setting up the reservation. I would recommend this beautiful rental, especially if you have time to spend there enjoying it. Time constraints didn't allow us to use the spa or sauna but loved the soaker tub.
We tried to get in to Cafe Pesto but was packed. Tired and hungry we popped into Puka Puka Kitchen for take out. Wonderfully surprised with BBQ chicken and Sauteed Lamb. Lots of flavor. Came with garlic fried rice and tossed salad. Large portions, $25. If you are there on a Saturday, check out the Hilo Farmers Market. Lots of selection, good prices. Go to Rainbow Falls! But not for the falls, they are a little low right now. Walk up the staircase to the upper lookout on the left. Keep going into the woods. Look up to see a remarkable Banyan tree down a little dip. Breath taking. Island Naturals offers a 20% discount on their take out food bar close to closing. Great selection of just about everything eco friendly throughout the store.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Corinne and Mervin, Thank you for your lovely review and high rating on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow. Although your stay was short you covered alot of ground and were able to experience much of the local cuisine and sights. I would like to express my appreciation for your offer to take care of the chipped Asian bowl with an affordable replacement. We hope to see you again and have a wonderful holiday season. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Eagle River, AK
5

Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Accomodations were beautiful. The pictures, as wonderful as they are, can not accurately depict the beauty of the gardens. The property was well maintained and very clean. The owners were very kind. Would definitely recommend this property to others.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Amanda and Chris, It was a pleasure hosting your stay at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow for your Big Island vacation. We enjoyed getting to visit with you during your stay. Thank you for being such wonderful guests. Please come back again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Oakland, CA
5

Tranquil, beautiful and relaxing home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Orchid Isle's Bamboo Bungalow provides a comfortable, relaxing home from which to explore the Big Island. Located just 10 minutes from the shops and restaurants in downtown Hilo, the bungalow is positioned close to the "action" and suitably away from the hubbub. It's chill down to the quiet garden and stimulating as in the really cool furo (Japanese bath), which gets hot in a hurry and provides a soothing soak, especially after hiking the volcano crater.

The bungalow has a great veranda from which to enjoy the morning and evening light with libations in hand. The croaker frogs are out in full force by the late evening but you get used to them and those gentle breezes lull you to sleep.

When we wanted a change of pace from quietly reading books and magazines, we turned on the flat screen TV and watched local news and DVDs.

We're definitely planning to stay there again on a future visit to Hawaii. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Donna and Eddie, We are so glad you found the Zen Bamboo Bungalow for your getaway to relax and enjoy tranquil quiet time. It sounds like you got to unwind and truly experience everything to the fullest...the peaceful gardens, hot furo soaks and the beauty of nature. We look forward to your next stay at the bungalow. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1