Savannah house rental - The Captain's Quarters, Savannah
The Captain's Quarters, Savannah
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Savannah House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 2 convertible sofas/futons, sleeps up to 8

Hearken back to simpler time with a stay in the Captain's Quarters, a fully-restored downtown property within an easy walk or bike ride to Savannah's most popular venues, including River Street, beautiful Forsyth Park, the Juliet Gordon Low House and other fine museums, City Market and an array of dining, shopping and entertainment options.

The Captain's Quarters, built in 1887, features tasteful furnishings, professionally-chosen, nautically-themed decor and newly-restored surroundings. It has two bedrooms, each with its own bath, plus spacious living and dining areas, a working wood fireplace and a fully-equipped kitchen capable of producing cuisine from the simple to the sublime! In addition to the regular sleeping arrangements, the property features a brand-new leather sleep sofa downstairs and, upstairs in a beamed loft, a super-thick, double-sized futon to comfortably sleep up to four additional individuals.

Back in its historic heyday, Savannah was a bustling seaport town. 'Cotton was King,' and the ship captains who successfully delivered this precious commodity into the hands of mill owners in New England and Europe often possessed more money than time on land to spend it! But from their voyages to the Far East, they brought back silks and china; from Europe, the latest fashions for women and men. During their infrequent stays on terra firma, they furnished their houses with reminders of life on the open sea and unique treasures from their travels afar. Transport yourself back in time--but with all the comforts and conveniences of today! During your stay the Captain's Quarters, you'll be well-positioned to fully enjoy the mystique of author John Berendt's 'Garden of Good and Evil,' wandering among Savannah's famous Spanish-moss draped squares, trying its unique local cuisine, and exploring the fascinating and sometimes chilling stories of its colorful past and present.

During your stay in this property, you can enjoy Savannah's warm year-round temperatures in the home's private courtyard, featuring lush tropical plantings, and ample deck and covered patio seating. Select a book from the extensive collection provided and kick back for a good long read, or pack a picnic and stroll two blocks over to the lush lawns by the Forsyth Park fountain for an afternoon or evening idyll. Watch the ships make their way up the river, browse the many quaint shops and galleries downtown and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of River Street and City Market--it's all right here!

In addition, the Captain's Quarters has a private roof deck for stargazing, sunbathing, reading or just catching a nap! The property also enjoys plenty of free, on-street parking (not always a given in Savannah's busy downtown!) For specific rate information and the ability to book your vacation online 24/7, go to our website at: www.CalypsoRentals.com.

More Details
Hide Details

Quiet, owner-occupied area within easy walk to all downtown activities and amenities.

23 Reviews of Property 322689 in Savannah, Georgia

Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 23 reviews
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
new port richey, florida
5

Awesome Savannah Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Spent Thanksgiving 2007 at this lovely rental. The attention to detail was incredible. We were 2 couples and the place was perfect. The upstairs suite affords privacy yet the balcony allowed conversations easily with the living room downstairs. Outdoor patio was lovely in the morning in the cool weather with a nice cup of coffee. Beds were high quality and extremely comfortable, even with bad backs! I could go on forever! Have recommended this place to all my friends and their friends who ever want to go to Savannah. Close enough to walk to the riverfront, far enough away to feel like a local. Grocery store very close! Will certainly go back to Captain's Quarter for my next long weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 35/37
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house is very comfortable and in a great location. The neighborhood is really cute and there is a lot to do close by. The agency that rents the property was great at getting back to me and answering all of my questions. Would definitely recommend to friends and would certainly stay there again when visiting Savannah.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Alex:

We thank you for choosing Calypso Rentals and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to having you return soon!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
3

Property Photos and Description are Quite Misleading

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property had some nice amenities associated with it: easy street parking, within blocks of Forsyth Park, and a nice restored wood interior. However, upon arrival to the property, we experienced some issues in regards to misleading descriptors of the property as indicated on the VRBO website. Our stay was in July 2013, so hopefully the property description has been corrected since this time. I wanted to pass along this information so that you will not be mislead as we were:
1. This property is a duplex. As of 7/13, the website photos made it appear as if it were an independent structure, which is obviously not correct. The connected duplex is ALSO a rental unit, and YOU WILL hear the people in that unit! Here is a photo the actual front of the structure looking from the street: http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee404/brtrnlds/photo-1.jpg
2. As of 7/13, the property description/photos state that a "private courtyard" with "covered patio seating" is in the rear of the house. Actually, the courtyard is shared with a completely different house...not the adjacent duplex, but a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT HOUSE! We were not certain if that house was inhabited by renters or owners, but they were certainly present in the courtyard many times during the day smoking cigarettes. This certainly isn't "private". Also, there was no "covered patio". Here is a photo of the courtyard taken from the back door of the unit: http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee404/brtrnlds/photo.jpg
Helpful votes: 27/29
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Albany, NY
5

Great house, Great location, Great town!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The house is lovely, comfortable, efficient, clean, and in a beautiful location. We have already recommended Savannah and the Captains Quarters and hope to come back again! A great town for all ages!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Tennessee
4

Perfect for family college visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We recently rented the Captain's Quarters while visiting the Savannah School of Art and Design which one of our daughters is interested in. The location was perfect. It's within a reasonable walking distance to just about anything you want to see in the historic district and 2 blocks off of Forsythe Park. The house has good internet connectivity, but only the basic cable and 1 TV. With 2 teens, I thought this would be a touchy point, but their was just so much to do that they didn't really seem to miss it. The house is comfortable and has the basics. We would go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Great Place for Family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed the house! The home is from the 1880's and has beautiful old floors and characteristics. We comfortably cooked meals in the kitchen and the house seems larger than it is. There was plenty of space for all 6 of us to spread out. There were 6 adults so we used all the beds and everyone slept very comfortably. The location is perfect as you can walk to the park and take the purple DOT into down town fare free. We had dinner on the back deck which was great to be able to have privacy while enjoying our family. Everyone really loved the house and enjoyed every minute there!

There are only a few points I would say need attention (but nothing that would ever keep me away from this place!). The linens and comforters are getting old & worn so new ones would be an icing to this cake! There is a waterspot in the ceiling which isn't problematic, just an asthetic bump, and there are a couple places paint can be touched up. Finally, the downstairs bedroom can use more decor....its a little bland in comparison to the rest of the home. Needs a little extra to make it more cozy and homey feeling (like the rest of the home!). Again, I am planning to stay here EVERYTIME I return to Savannah so none of these are issues.

Overall, excellent and awesome home and I hope you will enjoy it as much as we would!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Northern California
4

Captain's Quarters

Captain's Quarters
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The house is well equiped and close to everything. The neighborhood is charming and the neighbors are friendly. The rental agency is a dream to work with. I wouldn't recommend to families with young children as the stairs are dangerous to navigate.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We ate, drank and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Savannah and your home! It was really quite lovely. House is in great location to walk to most everything . . . .
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Had a great time--thanks for the house! Nice walk to River St., etc. in downtown. Try Lizzy's--has awesome grouper. Thanks again and will totally recommend!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Comfortable, Historic 'Sea Captain's Home' in Downtown Savannah!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322689
+1 (912) 604-3733
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We loved Savannah--the old churches, the siteseeing, and the beach! This house is very comfortable and in a perfect location!
Helpful votes: 3/3