Cabo Matapalo villa rental - Spectacular "Home on the Hill"
Spectacular "Home on the Hill"
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps20
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Cabo Matapalo Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 6 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 20)

In one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, there is a paradise that only God could have imagined. The Pacific Ocean stretches out to the horizon. In the distance, one can see the tip of Panama across the Gulfo Dulce. Behind you are hundreds of acres of primary forest teaming with wildlife. Below are magnificent beaches with some of the best fishing and surfing the world has to offer. It's only a short hike down our path.

Built over 500 feet above the sea, Tres Palmas catches the cooling tropical breezes coming from the Gulfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. The sound of the surf rolling in the distance, scarlet macaws calling to their mates, while howler monkeys cavort overhead, lull you into a sense of harmony with nature.

In the midst of this spectacular setting, a secluded and exotic house has been built in modern Spanish style under a massive artificial palm thatched roof. We used the artificial thatch to give it the look of real palm thach with none of the problems.

The area was once home to the Brunca Indians that settled in southern Costa Rica and the western part of Panama. Pieces of native pottery can be found by those that care to look. The Indians considered this a holy place and many who stay here find a spiritual peace that is quite uplifting.

Our property is home to four types of monkeys, hundreds of bird species including tucans and scarlet macaws, sloth, iguana, anteaters, and a myriad of other animal species. Plant specimens are varied and abundant. This magical place offers the rare opportunity to experience nature at its most spectacular and unspoiled.

Keywords: Villa

More Details
Hide Details

I'm an oceanfront restaurant owner living in Cocoa Beach, Florida. I love to fish and surf, so the property in the Matapalo area of Costa Rica made a lot of sense for me and my family.

The Owner purchased this villa in 1989

It's one of the most biodiverse places on earth with lots of exotic animals and birds to observe. The fishing and surfing are world class.

Peace and tranquility when you want it - lots to do when you desire that.

10 Reviews of Property 85985 in Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica

Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

Testimonials A Memorable Trip The trip from Puerto Jimenez (12 miles or a 45 minutes drive) to Tres Palmas was like a fairly tale drive through t...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2006
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
Testimonials
A Memorable Trip

The trip from Puerto Jimenez (12 miles or a 45 minutes drive) to Tres Palmas was like a fairly tale drive through thick tropical forest and lush vegetation running down from the mountains and touching the ocean to our left. Birds and wildlife were abundant, but there was a noticeable lack of traffic, road signs, power lines and people. Perfect!

Along the way we quartered the Gulfo Dulce and at times came to open cattle pastures with majestic views of tubing waves breaking at point breaks in the distance.

Once we reached the entrance to Tres Palmas the fun really began! The drive up and down the 1 mile road was steep and exciting! The size of the trees towering all around us was incredible and we could hear and see howling monkeys. My immediate thoughts were, “We've found paradise!” But the best was yet to come. The Tres Palmas property overlooks Cabo Matapalo. The vista is downright breathtaking. I've never witnessed a more moving perspective in all of Costa Rica!

The amazing thing about this area is that there are so many amazing things to do and see. Within a walking distance you can experience world class surfing, hiking, wildlife, beach combing, fishing and much more.

The accommodations and food were all 5 star class.

This was my fifth multi-week trip to Costa Rica and hands down because of our visit to Tres Palmas it will be always the most memorable and exciting.

Captain Rodney Smith
Coastal Angler Magazine
Helpful votes: 12/13
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
5

AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay at Tres Palmas was definitely unforgettable! My entire family truly enjoyed the home and the surroundings. We had athe pleasure of enjoying meals that were prepared by the onsite cook and they were all fabulous. The pictures that are seen on VRBO are just a glimmer of how wonderful Tres Palmas is. We had great weather the entire time we were there, we enjoyed the pool, the space, and the bird watching. I would absolutely recommend Tres Palmas to everyone who is interested in visiting the Osa Peninsula in Costa Rica, you would not regret it!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Indianapolis, IN
4

Awesome vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was a beautiful and relaxing place, it was everything the info said it was. We lacked hot water in many of our showers, but we lived! (I love hot water, too! ). The caretakers were wonderful, we had them cook our dinners, it was awesome! They were a sweet, cute couple and very helpful! We highly recommend you have them cook for you! The gate was locked upon arrival, the code was not given to us, that was a small issue on day one! Great vacation, wildlife in the property gave us a daily show, very cool!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Bozeman, MT
5

Tropical paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Words can not describe how special Tres Palmas actually is. Up on the side of a mountain, with a view of the cape, pacific ocean, and Panama in the distance sits one of the most remarkable homes I have ever seen. With it's circular footprint and open air design I felt like a Mayan king standing on the edge of the house looking out over paradise. The elevation above the water offers a welcome breeze. The walk down to the beach is through the rain forest on a good trail with stairs. Tres Palmas literally sits right in the midst of the jungle with all the monkeys and birds all around you. The sunrise over Panama everyday was amazing. You get the sun in the morning and the welcome shade then extends out over the steps and pool in the afternoon and evening. The surfing and fishing are world class. And after all the sun and saltwater treat yourself to a hike under the canopy up a fresh water stream to a waterfall for a swim. Tres Palmas has it all, luxury, views, and all the action you could possibly need. The staff takes good care of the guests and they make you feel right at home. I would highly recommend Tres Palmas to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Minneapolis
5

Minnesota grandfather

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Every year we have a family reunion.We have done cruises, Hawaii,and many Mexico destinations. Tres Palmas was by far the most exotic and memorable.We did all the activities, surfing,swimming with Dolphins,fishing, hiking and zip lining. We also layed by the pool and watched the monkeys in the trees along with a Sloth in a tree 50 feet away. Tres palmas is truely impressive. We had 14 there and still had empty beds. Marvin the resident manager is terrific.Be sure to have he and his wife cook dinner for you.You will be impressed. there are also two 5 star resturants about 15 minutes away and two inexpensive but good resturants also within 15 minutes. Adrain ( Marvins nephew ) works on the property and is an excellent guide and speaks very good english. Be sure and have him take you to the hidden water falls. We like to try different places but Tres Palmas is the one that all my family wants to return to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Boston, MA
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My family arrived at Tres Palmas after a harrowing drive, only to find Paradise on Earth. The location and beauty are exquisite, yet simple. The "tiki hut" is larger than life, with all the ameneities a family would look for. The kids loved the pool and surrounding area. The people of the area are friendly and helpful as well.
Monkeys will awake you with a gentle howl as you start the day with spectacular sunrises. Lisa, the caretaker at the time, was friendly helpful and fun to be with. We had the time of our lives and will definitely go back!!! Our family voted it our best vacation...."even better than Maui"!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Our first trip to Costa Rica, and it was so hard to decide where to go and stay. Tres Palmas was absolutely the right choice -- a spectacular oasis of peace and beauty. We loved the architecture, the design, the colours, the pottery collection, and ahhh -- that view! A 5-10 minute walk down and you come to a string of gorgeous beaches for fun in the surf or just walking. We felt like we were living the life of the rich and famous. Coming back to Tres Palmas after a day hiking in the jungle, walking in the grand front entrance, with the pool beckoning, wildlife viewing right from the patio, and that spectacular view beyond... pure contentment. Truly a place that feeds the soul. Wish we could have stayed longer. Luz Marina and her husband Oldemar were very kind, and her cooking was great. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Nancy - hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
New Jersey, USA
5

The Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
What are looking for in a vacation? You can read about all there is to do in the area on all the other sites. Let me talk about 'Tres Palmas'. It can't be more private. You are on over 20 acres of private property and the villa is constructerd half way up the mountainside from the coast. The villa is all open concept and faces south with beautiful views of the gulf, the Paciific and the coast beyond. The setting is ideal and the villa is quality built construction with detail and expertise. The designer has great vision. The open concept and the high roof brings the hilltop breezes right thru the building and the sunrise illuminates the living area, coming to life simultaneously with all surrounding nature. Every aspect of a day can be appreciated to the limit. Watching the evening stars while lying in the pool, feeling the heat of the sun in afternoon hours, the birds, the beautiful landscaped grounds, all set in harmony and balance with the natural surroundings of the rainforest. It is an experience that can never be described but only experienced. 'Tres Palmas' is the ultimate balance of luxury accomodation in a eco environment. Your own personal eco lodge and the staff there are a national treasure. The meals prepared by request are phenomenal and local cuisine is perfected in each meal. There are no pretenses here. It is full immersion into tropical nature with a luxury setting and all immenities at hand. The roadway in is not for the timid and four wheel drive is needed. The hike to the ocean is a workout and for the physically fit, or one can drive to the water by a local roadway a few miles away, maintaing the privacy this property offers visitors. We came to experience one of the worlds great rainforests and full day fishing off the coast. We had fresh fish in tuna and mahi mahi dinners prepared for us each evening. Bring your ipod with your favorite music, played from the sound system and enjoy the resonant sound created by the open concept of the villa and the height of the open 3 story cathedral-like ceiling produces while dining or just relaxing. A perfect 10, nothing is pervect but it is the most beautiful place I have visited in my 60 years on earth. Don't hesitate, book it while the space is available! We will be back if they continue to offer to share this location to all of us. How fortunate we all are.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Not Specified
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2006
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
TestimonialsA Memorable Trip The trip from Puerto Jimenez (12 miles or a 45 minutes drive) to Tres Palmas was like a fairly tale drive through thick tropical forest and lush vegetation running down from the mountains and touching the ocean to our left. Birds and wildlife were abundant, but there was a noticeable lack of traffic, road signs, power lines and people. Perfect! Along the way we quartered the Gulfo Dulce and at times came to open cattle pastures with majestic views of tubing waves breaking at point breaks in the distance. Once we reached the entrance to Tres Palmas the fun really began! The drive up and down the 1 mile road was steep and exciting! The size of the trees towering all around us was incredible and we could hear and see howling monkeys. My immediate thoughts were, “We've found paradise!” But the best was yet to come. The Tres Palmas property overlooks Cabo Matapalo. The vista is downright breathtaking. I've never witnessed a more moving perspective in all of Costa Rica! The amazing thing about this area is that there are so many amazing things to do and see. Within a walking distance you can experience world class surfing, hiking, wildlife, beach combing, fishing and much more. The accommodations and food were all 5 star class. This was my fifth multi-week trip to Costa Rica and hands down because of our visit to Tres Palmas it will be always the most memorable and exciting. Captain Rodney SmithCoastal Angler Magazine
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa, Rental House, Home, Pool, Private, Surfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85985vb
(321) 783-9759 (Florida, USA)
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

Enjoy the Get Away of a lifetime! If you want to get away from it all, and have a vacation like non-other Tres Palmas is the answer. Experience the ju...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2006
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
Enjoy the Get Away of a lifetime! If you want to get away from it all, and have a vacation like non-other Tres Palmas is the answer. Experience the jungles, beaches, the adventures of hiking to the waterfalls, repel down a 100 foot wall with the waterfall next to you, or just playing in the pool of water at the base of the falls. Hike through the jungle to the beautiful beaches, enjoy swimming, surfing or bring your boogie board. If that doesn't suit you, take a hike to the tide pools.

We spend part of our day lying by the pool and enjoying the peace and quiet, and the beauty of this 5 star Tres Palmas Resort. Watching the monkeys swing in the trees as they pass the house, or come down to pick a banana off a nearby tree. Tucan's and Macaw's (flying in flocks) or perched in a tree as your floating in the pool.



The 25 acres of land that Tres Palmas is located on offers you privacy and gives you the opportunity to truly experience the outdoors and the beautiful jungle of Costa Rica at it's finest. We loved getting away from the rat race of everyday living. You find yourself having time for just yourselves. We always feel so renewed and much healthier after a week, two, three even four of staying at this beautiful place. Yet if you have the need for a reality check the little town of Puerto Jimenez is just a short drive away.

Tres Palmas is the place for the person that likes adventure, great hiking experiences, and wants to take in a little heaven on earth.

We have visited Tres Palmas approximately 6 times; we try to go at least once a year usually after the New Year. The weather is beautiful (80's) with a wonderful ocean breeze. The best news of all is that you can pack your suntan lotion and leave your BUG SPRAY at home.

On a scale of 1 to 10, we personally give Tres Palmas a 10. I promise you that the moment you step out of your car you will be Wowed by it's beauty. It is truly a 5-Star experience in every way.

We'll be back! Thank you so very much to our dear friends at Tres Palmas.
Helpful votes: 10/11