Albuquerque house rental - Kitchen
Kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Albuquerque House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms

The Old Town house in the museum district is an authentic adobe, built c. 1902. A recent systems update adds modern comfort to the rustic Southwestern charm of this old territorial style house. Across the street from Tiguex Park, and about a block and a half from historic Old Town Plaza, the location is unmatched. Three bedrooms and two baths accommodate 6 (2 queen beds and 1 full bed). The en suite master bath features a claw foot tub, the second bedroom has a gas kiva fireplace, and soft lighting is achieved in all three bedrooms with chandeliers.

An open floor plan connects the living room and kitchen. All kitchen appliances are stainless. An adjoining sitting room (with its own kiva fireplace) allows views of the park through a side lit French door. The dining room seats 6 comfortably.

With original wood floors, beamed ceilings, and foot thick walls, this house evokes the romance of the Old West, and is a fantastic base for your Albuquerque adventures.

Trip Advisor - Things to Do in Albuquerque: Duke City FIx: For a daily dose of Albuquerque pictures (as well as local commentary), see the Duke City Fix web site. Photos are posted on the Albuquerque Photo Gallery near the top of the DCF home page. People post new ones daily, and there are often spectacular shots of the Albuquerque scenery.

A Couple of Restaurants: Here are a couple of local restaurants of note (there are many other fabulous ones in Old Town, and throughout Albuquerque, but these are a couple of my favorites):

The St. Claire Winery and Bistro - great food, often live music, and local New Mexico wines. About a five minute drive (with traffic).

For those who are eating gluten free, try Paisano's. Yes, gluten free Italian, and it is wonderful.

Seasons - within walking distance - upscale, great food, good service

More Details
Hide Details

U.S. Naval officer out and about in the world. I head for New Mexico whenever I get the chance, and have excellent support staff for the house.

Carol Prather purchased this house in 2007

I have become enthralled with the New Mexico vibe, and Albuquerque in particular. Found myself looking down range at Navy retirement (just a few years now (!)) and bought a 100+ year old adobe house in Old Town. Perfect eventual home plate and launching pad for further adventures. Have really enjoyed sharing the Old Town house with people who seem to enjoy Albuquerque just as much as I do.

The combination of an outstanding location adjacent to much loved Tiguex Park, and within steps of the museums and the plaza, is hard to beat. While restaurants and shops are easily accessible, the location of the house itself is quite calm. The house is full of charm and character, and old adobes sleep very well. It is fairly routine for balloons to launch at daybreak from the ballon park, and often their flight path takes them over Tiguex park, which makes them visible out the front windows as they approach.

21 Reviews of Property 322523 in Albuquerque, New Mexico

The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
5 of us stayed at the Old Town House for a conference at the Hotel Albuquerque. It was absolutely perfect. The house itself is full of charm and lovely surprises. We highly recommend taking a bath in the clawfoot tub and chatting over glasses of wine in the quite large patio out back. The cozy atmosphere was a great change of pace from the conference, and it really felt like coming home. The location was extremely convenient for our purposes, only 5-10 minute walk to the hotel and 10-15 minutes to Lowe's the nearby grocery store. It is also just down the street from two museums and across from a beautiful park!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

Beautiful, comfortable, in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved the house--perfect for us (a couple traveling with our adult son and a close mutual friend) and perfect as the launching pad for our New Mexico reunions and side trips. It was always comforting to return to our beautiful adobe on Old Town Rd., which was very roomy, clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The owner has created a book of lucid, helpful, well organized instructions that leave nothing to guesswork.
The impressive Albuquerque Museum--great gift shop--is just down the street, and a museum of natural history (which we didn't visit) is equally close. Good, casual restaurants--Cafe Azul and the legendary Duran Pharmacy (it's a pharmacy with a restaurant) are close by, as is the Golden Crown Panaderia, a stunning bakery (don't miss the empanadas--especially pumpkin, which we had fresh out of their oven).
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
Texas
4

Great stay in Old Town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great location! Easy walk to Old Town & museums. Nice to have park across the street. The house was very clean and very roomy for 6 of us. Bathrooms were small, but to be expected for an historic house. Loved all the towel racks! The house had all the expected amenities. Washer/dryer had to be replaced during our stay, but the owner was very responsive and accommodating. The house was plenty warm with the fireplace! I did appreciate the security system, too.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

The Ultimate New Mexico experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful experience staying at the Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect! The location was great. The house was fully equipped and comfortable. Not to mention, the character and charm of the house which was beautiful. It gave our guests, who had never visited NM, the ultimate NM experience!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just GREAT, super location 2 blocks to Old Town. Really neat older Adobe house. This place is on our list for the next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

Great Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I rented this home with our three children for Spring Break. We were visiting my oldest son who is a grad student at UNM. I picked the place because it looked beautiful online, the location was excellent, and the reviews were glowing. My family could not have been more pleased with this home. The pictures just don't do it justice online. The house is across from a very family friendly park on the edge of Old Town. It is just a very short walk to everything.

What was mose impressive, however, was the home itself. Everything is provided--bedrooms with comfortable bedding, immaculate bathrooms and kitchen, a great backyard, tasteful decor, and lots of open and sunny space. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this property. The owner provides very clear directions on everything about the house, and refunded our full deposit the day after we arrived home.

Overall I give this house my highest recommendation!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
Johnstown PA
5

Nicer than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house was very beautiful and comfortable. We stayed over Thanksgiving, and the kiva heaters were surprisingly warm. The new bathroom fixtures are just amazing. It is a three minute walk from Old Town. I would definitely recommend this property, and we intend to come back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
Indiana
5

Paradise near Old Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay could not have been more enjoyable. Everything was perfect. For 4 adults, and 2 children, the proximity to everything was fantastic-Old Town, a two block walk, -the park across the street, and the Childrens Museum across the way. Furnishing were were really nice, especially the claw foot tub to soak in. Really nothing missing. Backyard was spacious and the weather was superb.We loved the rustic squeakey floors right down to the not so square arch ways. Furniture was really relaxing. Can't say enough other than we will try to stay here next year, possibly bring older friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
San Francisco, CA
5

Charming home for a family weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This house was well-equipped, clean, and comfortable for a weekend with 2 couples and a baby. The thick adobe walls allowed for a lot of privacy.

The park across the street was gorgeous and there was easy access to restaurants and the freeway.

Carol provided excellent instructions before we arrived and while we were staying in the house.

I would stay here again the next time I'm in ABQ.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Best Available! Historic Adobe Home in Old Town Albuquerque
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322523
Albuquerque New Mexico
null
4

Location could not be better

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The property is well maintained and clean, but perhaps the best thing about it is the location. You are litterally across the street or around the corner from eight of the top ten attractions in ABQ. There are lots of restaurants in the immediate area. It is an historic home so the floors aren't level and they creak but that's one of the things we really liked about it. The bathrooms have all been redone. There is a modern TV and appliances and internet and so on. Three seperate bedrooms with two queens and one full bed. The owner was very organized and well prepared. She communicated well. I would recommend the property.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4