Sister Lakes house rental - Sunrise at Dewey Lake
Sunrise at Dewey Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Sister Lakes House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy 3 BR Wheelchair Accessible Cottage Sleeps 10

This modern wheelchair accessible cottage overlooks Dewey Lake. It has a 100' beach, with a pier and raft, great for fishing and swimming. The deck has a beautiful sunrise view; picnic tables and a fire pit make evening gatherings special. Raft and sandbox with toddler's climbing gym and swings are shared with neighboring property.- property #150846). These two properties can be rented for a reduced combined rate. The smaller cottage which sleeps 9 .

Please note, there are stairs from the house to the lake that are not wheelchair accessible.

This property is on the South end of Dewey Lake, next to the former site of the historic Sandy Beach resort. It is normally less than two hours from the Chicago city limit and about 30 miles North of Notre Dame. Silver Beach on Lake Michigan is about 30 minutes away. Pipestone Creek and Indian Lake Golf courses are within a few miles.

7 Reviews of Property 322378 in Sister Lakes, Michigan

Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
5

Cozy and oh so comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We combined our vacation time with a special gathering of family and friends at a nearby lake, and this cottage did not disappoint as our home base for R&R. Glistening water and cozy cottage comfort gave us a nice respite from the grind of everyday life. Thanks to a heat wave, we took many dips in the lake with floaties (bought at the local grocery store), The shade trees gave great relief from the sun, and the AC units worked well. We enjoyed sitting on the deck, around the fire pit, and in the hammock. The property was clean, well-maintained, and plenty of dishes and utensils. Having a washer & dryer and a grill was a plus for us! The owners were a true delight to deal with, both via e-mail and in person, and they were readily available if we needed anything. Linens and towels are not provided, but that was not a huge issue for us. The steps to the lake were a little steep, but very manageable when holding onto the rail and not an issue at all. Family & friends in the area visited us at the cottage and were very impressed with the home and the property! When our travels bring us back to the area, we will definitely rent this property again.
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
Chicago, Illinois
5

Marvelous place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The owners were very sweet and nice and always there if we need anything. The place is cozy, quiet, and lovely! The water is very clean. Definitely worth the trip!! Will be back next summer or so. Thanks for everything =)
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Perfect home for our family vacation on Dewey Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I can't think of a better home to stay in for a family vacation! The home (I hate to call it a cottage) was exceptionally clean, very spacious, and had everything that we could ever want or need. The property is very well maintained and there was plenty of seating on the deck as well as around the firepit. We enjoyed fires in the pit every evening and appreciated that the wood was stocked and we didn't have to bring with us. The kids enjoyed swimming out to the raft every day and were worn out every evening! We rented a pontoon through the local marina and thoroughly enjoyed that too! Carol and Bill were very gracious and helpful, they truly wanted us to have everything we wanted/needed to make the week enjoyable. They even allowed us to bring our dogs, which was great. I have already requested a week for 2010!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
Lombard, Illinois
5

Cozy, pet-friendly cottage on Dewey Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We had a wonderful stay at this cheerful, roomy cottage the third week of June 2009. The living room is particularly spacious as is the dining area so you do not feel cramped for space if the weather does not cooperate and you're confined to the indoors. The white walls and surrounding windows with marvelous views of the lake, the skylight in the bathroom, just made it a cheerful place with all the natural light even on a rainy day. The list of amenities did not mention the VCR and DVD players that were available as well as a portable CD player. The kitchen was fully equipped, microwave, blender, coffeemaker etc. The cottage was very clean and the surrounding property is nicely maintained. We enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evening and relaxing on the deck for morning coffee at the umbrella table. Picnic table was nice for meals when we cooked on the new Weber charcoal grill that was available. The garage space for storing our bag toss game & flotation devices
as well as having access to a washer & dryer was a real plus. The lake was unusually high this year so there was no sandy beach but we didn't have any young children with us so it did not spoil our stay at this wonderful lakeside cottage. The owners are very friendly and shared with us information about shopping and restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
Warsaw, Indiana
4

Great Cottage But Not for Elderly or Handicapped

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My husband and I invited our two adult children, daughter-in-law, and elderly parents to share this cottage with us. All in all we had a great time but were disappointed that my parents weren't able to do lake activities due to the steep and rather dangerous steps down to the lake. There is a handrail but the steps are slanted downward and are difficult to impossible for elderly people to manage. My parents are in very good health for their ages but the steep climb was too taxing and they were afraid of falling. Even our dog had difficulty not falling. Though we didn't have small children with us, I would think that they would also have problems with the steps. My mother also nearly fell in the shower, as the only handrail is outside next to the toilet and the shower is slippery. There are many positives about the cottage, though. The bedrooms and bath are good sized, the couch and 3 recliners are comfortable, the dining table pulls out to seat 10, one twin bed has a tempurpedic mattress, there are 4 window air conditioners and a ceiling fan, the TV is large, and the deck and deck furniture are nice. Views of the lake are super both inside and out, the hammock was a favorite, there was a tree swing and a swing set, really nice firepit, plenty of outdoor seating, picnic table, great fish-cleaning station in the garage, washer and dryer, nice raft, sandy bottom, sturdy pier with bumpers. The kitchen was adequate for cooking and storing food. Behind the cottage is a nice grassy area for kids to play but beware of the poison ivy. The lake was high so I don't know if normally there is a beach but right now there is no place for little ones to play in the sand by the water. The water is pretty clean and not too weedy by the shore. We had great fishing and caught huge perch, bluegill, sunfish, and tons of large-mouth bass. During the week there aren't many boaters. We rented a pontoon from Lake Effects Marina. Owners ask you to clean when you leave so we hired a cleaning service. I left the number with Bill. I had to wash the dishes and cookware before we used them as they had a greasy film probably due to not being used over the winter. The rest of the inside of the cottage was very clean but we didn't use the grill or deck furniture because they needed to be cleaned first. The owners are very nice people and were very helpful and accommodating. We would probably rent it again except the steps are a deal-breaker. If they fix those, we'll be back.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/14
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
St. Louis, MO
5

Great Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
I've been going for the last 2 years and is a great cottage. The property is very well maintained and the owners are very accomodating. I would definitely recommend this cottage.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Brown's Wheelchair Accessible Cottage on Dewey Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322378
708 638-3653
Sister Lakes Southwest Michigan
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Fantastic Dewey Rental for the Family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
This was a great place to stay at Dewey Lake! ***Very, very clean house with plenty of room and all the amenities of home. ***Beautiful view of the lake, and great beach.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9