Maalaea condo rental - Relax in comfort-watch whales from your lanai
Relax in comfort-watch whales from your lanai
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Maalaea Condo Rental Photos and Description
2Bed/2Bath Air Conditioned Comfort at Kanai A Nalu

Beachfront paradise! Enjoy whale watching and beautiful sunsets from your lanai and Sugar Beach in front of Kanai A Nalu (gentle surf). Your completely remodeled 'home away from home' has all of the comforts you need to make your island vacation unforgettable! Centrally located, this condo is perfect for couples or families. It's a great place for people who like to snorkel, dive, fish and sail, or for those who like to keep their feet on land while enjoying a fabulous ocean view! Enjoy watching the boats sail into Maalaea Harbor and visit Maui's #1 tourist attraction, the Maui Ocean Center, as well as shops and restaurants at the end of the street! If you need to stay in touch with the outside world, hi speed internet is available at no additional charge. New maple cabinets, Corian countertops, porcelain tile and wood floors enhance your vacation experience inside the condo. Island life is complete with ceiling fans in both bedrooms, the living room and dining room.

Being on top in our fourth floor, 2-bedroom, 2-bath condo only makes the view better! The condo has easy elevator access and air conditioning on days when the trade winds aren't enough to keep your comfort level perfect. Everything has been made available to you for your stay from kitchen utensils to luxurious oversized beach towels, hair dryer to coffee maker; bring only a need for relaxation and yourselves. The whales come back every year from December to April to put on their incredible show which can be seen while having breakfast on the lanai or down on beautiful Sugar Beach, directly in front of Kanai A Nalu. If you're up for more adventure, the Maalaea Harbor just down the street, has daily boat tours to Molokini reef for snorkeling and scuba diving, or whale watching and sunset tours. World class golfing can be found all over Maui, some of the closest courses- Sandalwood, Waikapu, Lani and Elleair (Silversword) are within just a few minutes drive.

Centrally located on the island, only 10 minutes from the airport in Kahului and 15-20 minutes away from the tourist areas of Wailea and Lahaina, Kanai A Nalu is world's apart in it's solitude. The condo complex is on a quiet dead end street that ends at a park and 700 acre Kealia Nature Preserve. The other end of the street boasts the Maui Ocean Center (Aquarium), shops and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. Unlike some other Maalaea properties that are only on a reef, Sugar Beach starts at Kanai A Nalu. This pristine beach stretches for miles to the east, in front of the nature preserve and its gentle surf is great for boogie boarding, snorkeling and beginning surfers. Due to the preserve, there is no development for the first several miles along this picturesque beach.

Whether you're looking for adventure or just want to get away from all the hustle and bustle, Maalaea is a great place to start! You can lounge by our heated pool or snorkel with the giant sea turtles. If you'd like to cook your own meals, you can do so in our full size kitchen, or use the gas or charcoal BBQ by the pool-but if you'd rather let someone else do the work, one of the best restaurants on the island is just at the end of our street-The Waterfront.

Whatever your interests, make sure you save time for merely enjoying the sound of the surf and watching the waves, from the lanai or down on the beach and your time on Maui will have been well spent!

More Details
Hide Details

Mike and Lynnette Mote-currently living in Alaska care of the USAF

Mike and Lynnette purchased this condo in 2005

After visiting Maui for almost 20 years, we finally stayed at Kanai A Nalu and loved it! Easy to get around the island, but secluded and tranquil when we just wanted to stay at the condo-exactly what we were looking for during our times in Maui! The beach is almost always ours with just a few others sharing it and the surf is gentle enough for our little ones to play in and build sandcastles!

23 Reviews of Property 322366 in Maalaea, Hawaii

Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
5

Great place to stay in Maui

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I (along with our almost-2-year-old son) just finished up our one-week stay here. Simply put, it was wonderful. The view was great...one of the best parts of each day was having dinner out on the lanai. In case you are wondering, I can verify that the condo looks exactly as it does in the photos on this site. We cooked a lot of our meals at the condo, usually using the on-site gas grills, which were very convenient.

The beach in front of the property was perfect for our little guy, with enough room to build sand castles, and surf that was calm enough that (after the first day or so) he was totally fine playing in the water. There was also an area about 100 yards down the beach that was sheltered a bit, so during low tide it served as sort of a shallow pool in the ocean.

Yes, the condo is not in one of the main towns, but we loved the centralized location, and found that it was very easy to get to other parts of the island.

The only real negative I can think of (and it really wasn't that big of a deal) is that we just so happened to be there while they were harvesting the nearby sugar cane fields. There was no burning, though, so it was just a matter of trucks running into the night. And apparently this only happens for one week every two years, so it's really not something most people will have to worry about. Most importantly, our little guy slept through it all anyway.

We will definitely look to stay here again on subsequent trips
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
USA
5

Great Maui location and view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I are wrapping up a 25-night stay at this comfortable and centrally located condo, which allows easy access to the island's interesting destinations along the northwest, southwest, and northeast coasts of the island.

The master bed is very comfortable, and the selection of pillows is phenomenal (wish hotels were as considerate). Kitchen working surfaces are excellent, and the dishwasher, washer/dryer, and cabinets are all first-rate. The sheltered balcony has a great view of the ocean and Lanai, Molokini, and Maui’s southwest coast.

And the owner (Lynnette) is remarkably responsive when contacted for any reason.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
Colorado
5

Amazing View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This was my 6th visit to Maui as well as staying at the Kanai A Nalu condos. This condo has an amazing view from the 4th floor lanai and it is right next to the elevator making it even more convenient. We went during whale season and saw whales every morning right out our back door! This condo gave us the right height to see more of Maalaea Bay as well as the complex. The condo was extremely well stocked! We only needed to buy food! All our trash bags, detergent, dishwasher soap, hand soap, hair dryer, and more were provided! I slept on the pullout couch a couple times and it was the most comfortable pullout that I have ever slept on! I would highly recommend this condo to anyone and everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
Caledonia, MI
5

Sharon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I spent 6 1/2 enjoyable weeks at this wonderful condo. Thanks so much Lynnette and Mike for sharing your home with my guests and me. My daughter and her fiance' were married on the beach at Makena so it was really a time of celebration for us all. The view from the lanai was spectacular and I spent MANY hours sitting there reading and just watching the waves. We loved the grounds and the pool. It was also very comfortable sitting under the tree down by the ocean - again reading and/or meeting new friends. I so hope that I will be able to return at some point and use your condo again. Thanks a million.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
Aurora, co
2

No basic items

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Over 40 different VRBO rentals and this was the most dissapointing! Broken closets doors, air conditioner that only worked part time and made horrible noises, TV in masterbedroom did not work, light fixture hanging by a wire. And the worst part was the basic items that were not provided, coffee, filters, sugar, toilet paper (only 2 rolls for 6-8 people 12 days!!!! PLEASE. Small bars of hand soap no shower bars, told there would be makeup remover pads none available, who travels thinking they need to take their own toilet paper and soap even campsites provide these items. We requested a small refund and was told we needed to send receipts! Who would bring those back and why? A true shame because its a great location, with a great view.
Owner's Response: This is a home and like all others, things do break, but we take all of our guests' conveniences very seriously and do not expect them to experience anything subpar. Any discrepancies at all are rectified immediately. The property is beautiful and the property managers on site react quickly to keep it that way.
The closet door and light fixture were fixed the day they checked in and the air conditioner has been serviced. A new TV was installed less than 24 hours after discovery.
In addition to several bars of soap, there is liquid soap in both baths and the kitchen and refills under all sinks. Several spare rolls of toilet paper are supplied to get things started. We try to keep coffee and filters in the condo but ask our guests to let us know if they use the last of it. The condo is set up for a maximum of 6 guests.
Although we offered reimbursement for the supplies, we could not justify the hundreds of dollars asked for.
Our 6 years of vacation ownership in paradise have been very enjoyable for our guests...please feel free to look at our other reviews.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
Washington
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
I would highly recommend this rental unit. The description and pictures shown of property are exactly what you will find. We have stayed in Maalaea before and this was by far the cleanest and in the best location. Great view of the ocean, a nice pool and well kept grounds. If you have a small child then there is the extra bonus of a port-a-crib and a booster chair. So thankful we did not have to haul those things on our trip. Boogie boards and sand toys in the closet too.
We are planning to return to Maui in a couple of years and will definately stay at this condo again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
LaGrande, OR
5

Guestbook comment

Thank you for sharing your wonderful condo with us for an adventurous week. I never tire of coming to Hawaii! This time I loved seeing the whales and ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Thank you for sharing your wonderful condo with us for an adventurous week.
I never tire of coming to Hawaii! This time I loved seeing the whales and
their calves. Our boat captain let us listen to the whales talking and singing
which was a very spiritual experience.
Even though we had a tsunami warning on Saturday and had to evacuate to higher
ground, it turned out to be a positive adventure. It was an opportunity
to meet many new people, to see the wonderful hospitality of our hosts and to
have a great story to tell friends and family for years to come. Iwas amazed
and in awe at how organized the island authorities were in the face of a would-be
disaster. Once again there was many, many things we wanted to do and not
enough time-which only means we'll definitely be back for more adventures.
So, thank you again for the use of your well equipped and lovely home away from
home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
St. Helens, OR
5

Maui beach condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Had a great time. Wonderful view from the deck and great every morning to have breakfast on and start the day. It was pretty windy-but that's ok, kept it from being uncomfortable. Plus with the wind you didn't realize you were getting burned. Great location to get to wherever we wanted to go. It's nice and quiet here and not crowded! The beach is great-morning and night walks were awesome. Nice condo-it's nice to have 2 bathrooms so we all could get ready to go out. Thanks!! We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
5

Kanai A Nalu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We're back! And this time we brought parents! The condo was great...thanks for having a portable crib and high chair for the baby. We saw whales breaching out in the harbor, did some snorkeling and lots of sight seeing. Can't wait to come back! Aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Whale Watching, Beachfront Paradise and Free High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322366
888 445-9313
Maalaea Maui
Austin, TX
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Wonderful vacation with outstanding amenities-great value! We hope to be back again next year with more family. The beds were ooh so comfy and we loved sitting on the Lanai and having coffee and morning breakfast and watching the ocean. The aquarium was awesome! We enjoyed the beaches and beautiful landscapes, resting and relaxing. We loved eating at Beach Bums. The food was excellent, the waitstaff outstanding and friendly and you could sit outside and watch the boats in the harbor and see the ocean. Just down the street from the condo-outstanding!
Helpful votes: 1/1