Grand Haven house rental - Sassy says, 'Pets Stay Free in our home'
Sassy says, 'Pets Stay Free in our home'
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Grand Haven House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bed/3 Bath/Garage-Sleeps 6 Kayaks, Bikes, Canoe and Row Boat!

Our home is nestled between Grand Haven and Muskegon.

--Little Black Lake is in the front of the house. (It is a shallow weedy lake) Hoffmaster State Park is in the back yard walk out back to Lake Michigan (a 20-30 minute hike) Life is spectacular year around. Try kayaking, canoeing, fishing, hiking, or simply sit and watch the wildlife on this quiet little lake. The house is across the road from from the lake but we do have access.

--We have a rustic dock and provide 3 kayaks & a canoe.

--Hoffmaster State Park is literally in the back yard. Walk out the back door and into 1300 acres of undeveloped paradise. Enjoy 10 miles of the best hiking in West Michigan, climb 200' high Lake Michigan sand dunes, take a stroll on one of the pristine sandy beaches in our area.. Our area & home offers something for everyone!

--Our home is beautiful and clean.

--The kitchen is fully stocked with pots pans, dishes, towels, etc. All you need to bring is your food and drink

Clean and well maintained: Amenities: This is a fully furnished home with basement, front porch, double stall garage and bonus room. The kitchen is complete with dishes, microwave, stove, refrigerator dishwasher and towels. Also included is the use of our washer and dryer, Kayak, Canoe, Ping-Pong table, air hockey, bikes, fire-pit, picnic tables and Large Fenced dog kennel. Master Bedroom has a Queen size bed and private bath. Bedroom 2 - Queen Bed- Bedroom 3- private Bath & 1 full & 1 twin bed.

MONTHLY RENTAL CONSIDERED DURING THE OFF SEASON.

Activities: The Lakes Mall, Craig's Cruisers, Oak Ridge Golf Course, and many restaurants are less than 5-miles away:

If this house is booked check with us we may have something else available.

Activities & Area: West Michigan is a vacationers paradise. There is something for everyone. Check out our Sand dunes or spend a day at Michigan Adventure. Kick back on Grand Haven's board walk and watch the boats go by or watch the musical Fountain. Relax and fish or kayak. Bring a speed boat and launch it on Spring Lake, Muskegon Lake or on The Grand river. Spend time swimming in Lake Michigan, laying in the sun or walking our world famous singing sand beaches. Don't forget your camera, you'll need it when you walk the piers at sunset. In the fall enjoy the changing of the leaves, salmon fishing on the rivers and the fresh farm markets. Take a ride to Grand Rapids and tour the Gerald R. Ford Museum, Fredrick Meijer Gardens and John Ball Park Zoo. Check out The Lakes Mall and a wide variety of restaurants. This is just a sample of things to do.

We're just a phone call away: We live close to the rental so if you need anything, all you need to do is call.

More Details
Hide Details

27 Reviews of Property 322166 in Grand Haven, Michigan

Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
average rating of 4.84 based on 27 reviews
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Chicago Suburbs
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
This is a long over due review and so very deserving of this property and of the owners Jim and Doris.
We were making a last minute get away out of Chicago, and like to bring our (not so little) dogs with us. We have used home away before for other properties, but loved their pictures and the ideas of walks and the beach and night fires, even when we booked in the late part of October. It was everything as described in the property listing.
Their paper work was prompted and contacting them was easy. The directions to the property were easy and great, even at night. And when we woke the next morning what a beautiful sight we saw. The beautiful November clouds on the little black lake were breath taking. The dog run was perfect. Their endless back yard that blended right into Hoffmaster State Park trails that took you right to Lake Michigan was awesome.
The house was a little big for just the two of us and our dogs, but none the less... perfect. It had everything needed to make a great stay. Clean and well maintained, all the kitchenware and appliances were in great working order. Attached garage was convenient. Washer and Dryer were easily accessible and better than the ones I have at home.
We didn't venture away from the property to eat at any local restaurants, we were so wonderfully content staying at the house.
Jim and Doris stopped by to make sure everything was going well and to see if we needed anything. They are very delightful. We could have talked all day.
We would definitely recommend this property and look forward in returning in the fall again. Although, we don't want to recommend it too much, they might get too booked up.!!! Thanks Again Jim and Doris for making us and our four legged family feeling welcome. We still have your Christmas card still hanging on our fridge.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Perfect Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We wanted a clean, quiet getaway where we could relax, enjoy time with family and take our dog along too. This spot was perfect. The house was equipped with everything we needed for our 6 days from laundry detergent to beach toys. It was clean and very comfortable. We ate in town a couple times and cooked in as well. The trails into the state park at the back of the yard were well marked and gave us lots of room to wander with Guinness. The walk to Lake Michigan was pretty easy. The little lake out front was exactly as described - mucky and weedy but the bluegills were biting. We had beautiful sunrises, so relaxing watching the ducks on the water. One bit of advice, use the canoe instead of the rowboat if you want to go fishing. I laughed until I cried as I watched my husband and brother's first (and last) attempt to get out in the rowboat - too shallow, they scraped along the bottom and the oars brought up weeds & muck.. The canoe, however, skimmed right along. We rented a pontoon boat one day at Grand Haven Boat Rental - very nice - and cruised Spring Lake. We shopped a little in Grand Haven, saw the musical fountain show, went to Kruse Park in Muskegon where dogs are welcomed. All in all a wonderful time - we came back thoroughly refreshed. Doris and Jim, we very much appreciate your making this wonderful home available to people like us and we hope to be back soon.
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Couldn't ask for more!

Couldn't ask for more!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a wonderful vacation experience! Absolutely everything we needed/wanted was in the house. Even the sheets and towels were extra nice. The house is clean and inviting. We felt at home right away. The hike to Lake Michigan is picturesque and interesting--just right for a couple of reforming couch potatoes. Our kids are photographers, and Little Black Lake and Lake Michigan provided ample subject matter. There's plenty to do within just a few miles--shopping, golf, mini golf, restaurants, plus all the hiking, swimming, etc. Our hosts were accessible and incredibly accommodating. Truly, everything about this home exceeded our expectations. We'd rent here again in a heartbeat!
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

You're in for a treat!

You're in for a treat!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 5 plus dog spent a week in this wonderful area. The house is fantastic; I never felt like I was in a rental. It is clean, spacious, comfortable. The attention to detail in anticipating what guests would want or need is impressive. The beaches are great; we tried several. Fishing spots are also numerous. Loved the waterfront at Grand Haven. And only when it was too dark to do much more did we turn on a TV and check our phones. What a great week. See you next year!
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Great Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spend two weeks every summer in Grand haven area and really enjoyed this year's stay at your property. House was perfect for a family. Fire pit, lake in front of the house, row boats, kayaks, canoes, short hike out of the backyard to Lake Michigan, bikes and toys in the garage, birds -- it was all there!
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Great West Michigan Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home was exactly as it was described by Dori, Jim & past guests. My husband and I took a mini family vacation with our dog and the home was perfect. We enjoyed a scenic hike from the back yard to Lake Michigan and spent most of our time at nearby Kruse park where our dog was able to join us at the beach. We also enjoyed sitting in the enclosed front porch looking out at the lake. The home was extremely clean and offered all of the amenities you could need from bikes to shampoo! In addition, Doris & Jim were extremely responsive to all communications leading up to and during our stay.
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I wanted a fun place to getaway to and found it here. The house was quite spacious and full of all the necessities. It also has a nice basement with ping-pong, air hockey, and darts. We loved exploring Hoffmaster State Park out the back door during the day and driving an hour into the city of Grand Rapids for a little night life. A wonderful place to relax and have adventure at the same time. Try Francino's Pizza nearby. Its a great local place.
Owner's Response: Grand Haven is often thought of as a summer destination but as these guests discovered, it is also a great place to visit during the off season. Reconnect with loved ones, re-energize or just kick back. All to often life gets too busy. Work, computers, families and others duties zap energy. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, make a reservation now. Hike, bike, fish, canoe, play a game of ping-pong, read a book or just enjoy the view.
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Home away from home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I decided last minute to "get away from the weekend" with my son and dogs in tow... We came across this home which had everything... lake Michigan access and overlooking a small lake.

The home owners were gracious and accommodated our last minute needs.

The home had everything we would want and need. It was close by grocery stores and restaurants (if necessary). The home owners also gave us a ton of recommendations for food and activities.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

We will definitely be staying here again.. but next time for an extended weekend or week!
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
St Clair Shores
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I loved this home the location was good and the house was very clean. Just a short ride to the beach and to the town of Grand Haven. The house lacked nothing lots of room , two car garage and a basement. Nice neighbors too. Great view of Little Black Lake. Would stay there again!
business
Beautiful Lake View, Kayak, Canoe, Hike Hoffmaster St. Park, Dogs Welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322166
+1 6165108896
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Great week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great house! Very comfortable and clean! I can't believe how well-equipped it was. I certainly did not to pack as much as I did. The house is spacious, clean and had anything you could ever need for a week's vacation. The location is amazing, an easy drive to Grand Haven, Saugatuck, and even Grand Rapids.The view from the front porch is just gorgeous and the trails that run through the State Park in the back were fun to walk. This is a great house with great owners. We'd definitely come back to this house!