Waikoloa Village condo rental - Living Room with lanai over-looks the golf course & Kohala Mountain
Living Room with lanai over-looks the golf course & Kohala Mountain
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Laughing Gecko Golf is a delightfully tropical 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom designer furnished ground floor, end unit located on a secluded seasonal waterway overlooking the Waikoloa golf course with beautiful mountain and golf course views.

This special unit is placed in a quiet location at the rear of the complex away from the street and parking areas. The condo has a lovely private lawned area in front with shady trees, birds and gentle views. Laughing Gecko is a cut above the rest; quiet and private with lovely views.

Sitting right on the Waikoloa Robert Trent Jones Jr. course, it’s the perfect spot to base yourself for a great Big Island vacation. The Waikoloa Village course is a favorite of local golfers, who consider it one of West Hawaii's best kept secrets with low green fees that make it a superb value. Guests at this condo pay as little as $50 a round with cart (discounted fee)!

The condo has a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, washer and dryer, and everything you need to make your vacation enjoyable. The master suite has a queen sized bed and luxury high thread count linens. The bathroom is spacious and has a shower with tub.

This condo is designer furnished and decorated. It's beautifully appointed; affordable luxury. (Traveler tip - not all rentals are well furnished. Check carefully.)

The complex is right opposite the golf course club house, Banjy’s restaurant, pool and tennis courts. The recreation area features a large pool, spa, BBQ area, and well equipped workout room; the only complex in Waikoloa that has a gym. Everything you need is right there and it's just a short stroll to the shops. A very good grocery store is a short walk away, along with banking, medical, post office, etc.. The Resorts and world class beaches are just 5 - 10 minutes away by car.

Waikoloa Village is a planned community with underground electric, world class golf course and amenities conveniently located between Waimea, Kona and Hilo, just minutes from the best beaches. It is the perfect central location to base yourself for your Big Island vacation. The condo complex is gated and wrapped on three sides by the golf course.

In home massage therapist, maid service, private hiking guide, professional photographer, gourmet pastries available. Ask owner for details.

Keywords: condo, vacation, rental, ocean, view, mountain, golf, two, one, bedroom, Hawaii, Big Island, beach, designer, furnished, resort, luxury, affordable, pool, hot tub, tennis, gym, waikoloa, village, fairway, terrace, apartment, flat, lanai, kohala, coast, golf, tennis, vacation, holiday, big island, kohala coast, waikoloa villlage, fairway terrace

More Details
Hide Details

Ali Blackmore is a Zimbabwean who has traveled the globe, living in eight different countries over four continents. Dual careers in real estate and design have traveled with her and continue on Big Island, Hawaii where she works as a real estate Broker & designer specializing in Kohala Coast property. A lifelong real estate investor, Ali knows a good property when she sees one and bought Laughing Gecko because it is one of the all-round best view condos and locations in Waikoloa Village. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search or purchase.

Bookings purchased this condo in 2005

In searching for a condo as a vacation rental my criteria included a superb location, golf course frontage, established and landscaped common areas, privacy and quiet. A tall order indeed but I found the perfect unit in the perfect place, that met all my criteria, and then some! For a couple this is a delightfully affordable luxury getaway.

The complex is located right on the golf course and just opposite the golf course club house, pool, tennis courts and restaurant. As a ground floor end unit set away from the street and parking areas the condo is private and quiet. Fronting the golf course with a private lawn in front the condo is a lovely place to relax. It's a very sweet spot within easy walking distance of shopping and dining and a quick five minutes to the beach by car.

14 Reviews of Property 321814 in Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 14 reviews
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Time / Cozy Place

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Hi Ali, We had a great time here and are sad to leave tomorrow! Thanks for a nice cozy place.
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Certainly enjoyed our stay

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Hi Ali
We certainly enjoyed our stay in the Laughing Gecko Golf and visiting
the beaches and historical spots along the North and South Kohala
area. I was delighted to find the sofa bed so comfortable as many
aren't.
Tried to extend my trip to continue to be away from the lengthy cold
spell up here in Canada but here we are back in the cold.
Thanks again and we sure hope to return at some point and maybe one
day find a bigger accommodation to include the rest of the family!
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Private, quiet, great location

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Ali,
Just wanted to let you know, all went very well at your vacation rental. We found everything very adequate. Nice private and quiet location in the back corner of the complex. Waikoloa village was a great central location for our exploring of the north end of the island.
Thanks,
Sharyl
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
5

Laughng Gecko Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We have traveled the world during the 6+ decades of our marriage. We learned to be skeptical when making lodging reservations based on the owner's description. Most oversell. In this case, the owners may be guilty of underselling. It was perfect for our needs and comfort. We were especially impressed with the professional look of its decorating. The furniture and wall-hangings are wonderful. Thank you.

Sherman & Sally Stock

Sherman
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I think being in Hawaii is all about the beautiful outdoors and the mountain view from this unit is lovely. But, when we are indoors we like to have beauty around us also. Your vacation should be special and you should feel spoiled a bit. I have been disappointed also at some rentals I have stayed in, so I understand your sentiments. Bottom line, I try to create spaces I myself would like to stay in. Aloha, ali
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Oahu, Hawaii
4

Good quality for a good price

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a nice place to stay. It's clean and has everything you need and for a reasonable price. The weather is much cooler in Waikoloa too. The owner is very helpful and friendly.
Owner's Response: Thank you! We think this condo is great value; it's lovely and very affordably priced. You can't beat that! We strive to offer the 'best in class' at the lowest pricepoint because you should be pampered on your holiday, and it shouldn't cost you an arm and a leg! aloha, ali
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Ohio
5

Great value for Waikoloa, clean, quiet, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Just stayed here for a week. Loved everything about it. Wonderful value for location and condo. Everything seemed brand new. Loved being on the end of the building/complex, it was very quiet and peaceful. Mornings on the lanai with all the birds and watching the golfers were quite entertaining. Waikoloa Village is about the best location on the island for getting around. The weather is perfect. We stayed on the hilo side for 3 days and had pouring rain, mold, mud, mosquitos, very loud frogs all night (couqie), even if it wasn't raining, we couldn't be outside because the mosquitos would carry us away. No beaches on the entire east side of the island. We loved being on the sunny, dry, west side. Some of the best beaches I have ever seen in Hawaii are just 6 miles down the hill from the village. We went to Hapuna or Mauna Kea at least once a day. Loved your grocery store in Waikoloa Village as well. We could even walk there if needed. The complex itself was very well maintained, all the gardeners and grounds people were very friendly and helpful.. Love that the pool is a large pool, good for lap swimming. Workout facility was OK, not anything special, but had what we needed. BBQ at the pool was very nice and we even met a local guy who gave us fresh caught Ahi tuna for grilling. We were blown away. Nice to have the secure gated access, not that I think it probably necessary in Waikoloa. We have been coming to Big Island for 20 years and could not be happier with finding this sweet little condo. Thank you Ali for all your advice and info. We greatly appreciated your assistance and kindness. You might want to take a look at the drawer next to the stove, it sticks a bit and I think the ice maker might need to be hooked up (looks like ref. is brand new?). Not a problem as there were ice trays and we could just make ice. Thanks again and we will certainly be back. The value of your place is incredible. A Motel Six room in Cleveland costs more than this little gem of a place!! Not sure how you can keep the price so low, but we appreciate it!!
Take Care,
Marcus & Julie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. The nene have been visiting and the francolin have chicks which are adorable. Sorry Hilo was wet. The east side has had much rain but the flip side is the farmers market is the best. regards, ali
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Oahu
5

Great value, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Just stayed here for a week. Fit all of our needs nicely. Very quiet and serene. On the edge of the golf course so you can watch the golfers. unit was nice and cool. For the price this is a great deal. Has everything you need and more. I found the unit to be very clean, well stocked and of much higher quality than most hotels room in Waikoloa, which you will pay double for. Complex has a pool, hot tub, grilling area and workout room. Gated parking is nice also. Everything seemed really new in the unit from the couch, to the flat screen tv and the bed. We would recommend this unit. You just can't beat the price and the quiet location. We found the owner to be very helpful and answered all our questions..Thank you ! Gia Madison, WI
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, another thing our guests really like is the library and reading room at the pool area. great news too, the complex is getting brand new barbeques, and they have an organic herb garden right by the grills. rosmary rub on your steak, or dill on your fish anyone?
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

couldn't have been any better

couldn't have been any better
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
thank you so much for letting me stay here. i had a great time, and was able to relax. it couldn't have been any better and i really appresciate the late check out. god bless, vegard
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Victoria, B.C., Canada
2

Our assessment of Laughing Gecko Waikoloa Condo

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The condo was centrally located to many of the things we are interested in but found the following deficiencies; kitchen sink needs a plug; had to replace the batteries in the TV remote; toilet flush mechanism needs to be replaced (fixed it temporarily); sliding glass window was very dirty so we washed it; bedroom overhead fan needs to be secured better rather than jamming a piece of paper to firm up the base; stemware was dirty so had to wash it; kitchen and bathroom floror was very dirty and needs a good scrub; bedroom windows and sills have not been clean for a long time; window blinds were very dirty so cleaned some of them because dust bothered us; clean on window sill so we could open window; drapes need cleaning; mattress was of poor quality and hard on back; sliding glass door lock needs to be be repaired rather than using a piece of wood; both drawers in the kitchen have broken sliders and are ready to fall apart and in general the condo needs a good two or three day cleaning and the carpets and mattress replaced. There was dust everywhere in the condo.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you. We appreciate feedback. Of course had you let us know while you were here we would have taken care of everything immediately. Waikoloa, or 'Waikablowa" as we fondly call it, has Trade Winds and it's located in a dry area; there is dust. we service our units just before rental, but on a windy day, in 30 minutes there will be dust. Carpets are steam cleaned regularly and the bed is new standard hotel grade. With your feedback you didn't mention the price. At $75/n on special I defy you to find a better choice. Yes, it's not the Ritz, but it's also $75/n in a comparable range where similar units are $110/n. We do hope you had time to enjoy the beauty of the complex, the Village and the island and have worked to remedy these items. Kind regards,
ali
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Laughing Gecko Golf - SPECIAL - last nights April $75/n 2pp!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321814vbi
(808) 333-0302 (Hawaii, USA)
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Bellingham WA
3

Not affordable

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We picked this condo because of the "affordable" price and good location and while the condo provided us with what we expected, don't be fooled by the price. When you add the "cleaning fee" it ends up to be much more per night....could have probably had a place closer to the beach for that price. Adding to this, a few months after we got back we received a letter about how the condo was not cleaned properly and we got another $ 25.00 taken for cleaning. We followed the instructions provided when we cleaned the place; we've used many VRBOs in the past and never had a problem with the cleaning.
On the positive side, the condo felt safe, close to groceries, gas station, good location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Chris and thank you for your review. At $79/n this condo does offer very good value. In it's class it is, we believe, the best offering in Waikoloa Village. A comparable unit at the beach resorts would cost $125 - $180 a night. Rack rate on a hotel room is app. $300/n. Of course for a suite with kitchen that would be a great deal more. Most all VRBO rentals charge a cleaning fee and at $89 our cleaning fee is far lower than average, which is $110. The cleaning fee covers normal cleaning after your stay. As clearly outlined in our rental agreement it defines what is covered (and what is not). A check out list also covers what a guest's responsibilities are. Sadly, on occassion, guests leave our vacation homes in a state that would be considered far beyond normal 'wear & tear' and necessitates our cleaners having to spend more than the alloted 3 hours to clean. The cleaners bill us for the 'above & beyond' and we feel this is the responsibility of the guest who created the situation. A $25 surcharge, in your case, was more than reasonable for the extra cleaning that was required after your stay. As owner operators we sometimes face complete nightmares when we enter a unit after a guest has left. In all instances we try to be fair; there is an equal responsibility on the part of the owner and the guest and each party's responsibility is clearly outlined in the rental agreement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location convienient. We regret you found the witholding of $25 unreasonable, as we also equally regret the state in which you left our accomodations. Regards, ali
Helpful votes: 5/5