Harbor Island house rental - A glorious sunset awaits you every evening...enjoy it from both balconies!
A glorious sunset awaits you every evening...enjoy it from both balconies!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Harbor Island House Rental Photos and Description
4-bedroom home sleeps 8

Located in quiet Harbour Key, we have one of Harbor Island's newest homes, built in 2008. You'll need to take our golf cart to get to the Harbor beach but you will appreciate our unobstructed water views and the gorgeous 5-minute drive over salt marshes and lagoons teeming with wildlife. Your children can ride safely all around Harbor Key on our bikes, with no traffic and no exit except through locked gate. Fish and crab without leaving our backyard. Our home sits on a tidal lagoon and overlooks the Saint Helena Sound where it meets the Atlantic Ocean. Each evening offers a breathtaking sunset from two full length balconies! Each morning offers a different view of shrimp boats trolling in the sound. A sanctuary for sea birds, the balconies offer up close views of many species and the lagoons are host to alligators, fish, crabs and other wildlife.

This Non-Smoking, no-pets home is kid-friendly and comes equipped with everything you need for a family vacation: free use of our golf cart, lots of bicycles, a pack 'n' play, dining booster seat, safety gate, diaper changing table, toys, movies and books!

Our home has two master bedrooms/bathrooms with queen beds, each with doors opening onto the 2nd floor balcony with plenty of chairs and tables. The first floor of the house has a full bathroom , a large living room, a full size kitchen with brand new appliances, a dining table that seats 6 and 4 counter top dining stools, all opening out on a full balcony furnished with chairs and tables. Two bedrooms on the 3rd floor share a huge bathroom; one bedroom has twin beds; the other a full size bed. Also on the 3rd floor is a common area with a futon offering awesome views of lightning storms should you be so lucky to have one!

Access to the Harbor Island Beach and Racket Club and facilities is included in available and includes a swimming pool, tennis, volleyball, basketball, fitness/weight rooms.

Drive our golf cart, our bike or drive your car to the private, uncrowded beach at Harbor Island. We also include for your use 2 car passes to Hunting Island State Park beaches, just 4 minutes away by car (without the pass, $5 per adult per day to visit) where you can enjoy 2 different beach areas, the Lighthouse, Nature Center, Fishing Pier and more....

Keywords: Enjoy amazing sunsets, unspoiled beaches just minutes away from historic Beaufort, South Carolina. Our home is just three years old and brand new on the rental market and sits on fishing/crabbing lagoon overlooking Saint Helena Sound with Atlantic Ocean in distance, adjacent to Hunting Island State Park beaches and private Harbor Island beach, protected bird sanctuary, quiet, gated community with 24-hour security, unspoiled coastline near heart of Gullah culture, near Fripp Island, 45 minutes from Hilton Head Island, an hour from Savannah, Georgia and 1 1/2 hours from Charleston, SC, near Parris Island, SC

More Details
Hide Details

We are native to West Virginia and currently reside in Pittsburgh, PA, until we can retire to our Harbor Island home!

Mia Moran-Cooper purchased this house in 2010

My husband and I have enjoyed the Low Country around Beaufort, SC for many years. We find the whole area, dripping with Spanish moss and Southern charm, to be so romantic and enchanting, full of historic interest and unique Gullah culture. There is something here for everyone to enjoy: If you get bored with the natural beauty, unspoiled beaches, nature center, trails and lighthouse at Hunting Island, there is shopping, dining, carriage rides and playing at the waterfront park in downtown Beaufort; the Marine Corp Parris Island and Marine Corp Air Station and more. Nearby Savannah, GA and Charleston, SC offer great day day trips. In April 2010, we just could not pass up the opportunity to buy a two-year old home of our own at Harbor Island where we watch dolphins follow the shrimp boats and enjoy yet another private beach where we have watched egret nest eggs hatch, followed sea turtles and collected our share of horseshoe crab shells!

Includes use of 2 unlimited car passes for nearby Hunting Island State Park (usually $5/per person/per day entry fee but you will get your whole carload in for free each day with our pass) Includes use of all the Harbor Island amenities: private beach, swimming pool (April 1-November 1) tennis, basketball, gym, crabbing/shrimping dock and more

20 Reviews of Property 321705 in Harbor Island, South Carolina

Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
5

Couples Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great space for 6 adults. Loved gathering around the spacious dining table for eating, card playing and laughing together! The house had everything we could need and is well decorated. There is so much to see and do in the area. We ran out of time to check out everything. Great food too! We really enjoyed the Foolish Frog for dinner - twice. Guys loved golf at Parris Island and Lady's Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
5

Great family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Even though it was the week of the "polar storm" we had an awesome time. Our home was exceptionally clean, cheerfully decorated and we were snug and warm playing games, enjoying the beautiful views from the deck windows.later in the week we ventured outside as the weather warmed up, went to the beach which was a very short distance away and we so appreciated the use of the golf cart. We could not have found another place that suited us as well. There were 6 adults and 3 children in our group and we did not feel crowded at all. There were lots of movies, books for all ages and information about local attractions which im sorry to say we did not get to enjoy as a couple of days we attended the Marine graduation festivities at Parris Island.
Mia ( one of the owners) was so helpful and friendly, she even had a back up plan for us at another home next door just in case the water pipes were frozen from the unusual cold weather. Thank you Mia for your hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
5

Wonderful home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our oldest son recently graduated from Parris Island and we were in search of a property that was comfortable enough for our extended family to join us for this momentous occasion. This was the perfect place. The home was everything it was described to be. The location was beautiful. Waking up overlooking the water was such a tranquil scene. We had 5 adults and 2 teenagers and there was plenty of room for everyone. We didn't spend as much time at the house as we would have liked to because we spent most of our time at Parris Island stalking and spending time with our new Marine but what time we were there it was a very comfortable. The home was well maintained and the property owners were extremely helpful in answering any questions we had. We didn't get to do a lot of sight seeing but the owners provided us with an amazing wealth of information to make a visitor feel like a local. We greatly appreciated their advice on where to shop, dine, and little hints to make our stay more enjoyable.
We look forward to visiting this area again and staying at this property with our family. The only draw back with having 2 teenagers was the lack of televisions in rooms other than the living area but that did give us more time to communicate which was very nice for us parents.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
East Stroudsburg
5

Parris Island USMC graduation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wonderful time with my parents, my sister and our four nieces to experience the Marine Corp graduation ceremony, November 2013. The view was beautiful from the balconies and the third floor. Beautifully decorated throughout, Lots of space to hang out together for a movie. Space for us to spread out to read and relax, come together for games and family fun. And I loved the kitchen, cheerful coffee mugs and plenty of dishes and seating for all of
us. We caught some fish too! Our weather was not great but we had a fantastic
experience! Beautiful home ! Gated and safe area for walks and adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Conyers (Atlanta) GA
5

Just Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay in South Carolina was all about attending our nephew’s Marine Corp graduation at Parris Island and getting to the base from the house was an easy 20 minute drive. But we got so much more than a convenient drive – the house and the area was just AMAZING! The home sits on a lagoon with one of the most awesome views of the bridge spanning the waterway and we watched the shrimp boats navigate through the bridge and drag their nets through the inter-coastal waters. It was hard to pull ourselves away from the views we had on the second floor deck!
The house accommodated everyone in our party and there was something for everyone to enjoy – no matter their age. My brother and the kids really enjoyed fishing off the little back dock. There were movies and games during down times for the teens. We absolutely loved being able to drive the golf cart and ride bikes to the club house to hang at the pool and to the private beach where the girls explored the tidal pools. We took advantage of the free passes and the 2 mile proximity to Hunting Island State Park for the ocean waves and to climb the lighthouse. On the second trip we made sure to walk the marsh boardwalk and got a “crabbing” lesson from some fishermen at the end of the dock. We took our new knowledge to the crab dock in our gated community and had loads of fun even though we caught few crabs.
The house was beautiful inside and out just as the pictures show. The kitchen was spacious enough to allowed several folks to prepare food at the same time and an eating area with room for all of us to eat together at the table or counter area. There were 2 decks that over looked the canal so the adults could enjoy watching the flying fish and sunsets away from the kids. Most of all it was located in a spectacular community that is home to a variety of wildlife, nesting water birds, turtles, and especially alligators. The alligators are wild and protected and really wanted to have nothing to do with us. However, “going gator spotting” became a favorite pastime and catching a few sightings in the lagoons and at the crab dock was truly phenomenal.
To say we all had a wonderful time would be an understatement; none of us were happy to leave when our short stay was over. We can’t wait to go back and hope to plan a longer stay next summer. The owners were so helpful and accommodating we can’t thank them enough for letting us stay at their wonderful home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Charleston, WV
5

AMAZING HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you so much for allowing us to spend our vacation in your beautiful home! Your home was very well maintained and there was nothing more we could have asked for. Your offered everything we needed excluded food of course. The decor was very beautiful and I loved that the many photos througout the house we actually taken there on the island. We had a fabulous time enjoying the many ammenities offered in this area. We also traveled to Savannah, GA one day and had a great time there! The grandchildren DID NOT want to leave and asked if you would let us stay there forever...LOL. We made so many precious memories and took some AWESOME photographs that included wildlife, lightning shows and beautiful sunsets. We will surely vacation here again! Again I THANK YOU for your generosity and will never forget the wonderful time had by us all!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Pittsburgh
5

Absolutely Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Sunsets were beautiful, the home was perfect and the area was just right for us. We couldn't ask for anything more. We were looking to spend a relaxing time with our two older sons and this vacation home/spot exceeded all our wishes. We enjoyed the beach, pool, long walks, alligator sightings, rookeries, grilling, playing cards, kayaking, the golf cart and much more. The host was very informative and helpful throughout the whole process. The home had everything we needed and was in excellent condition. We all agreed we would come back - soon and stay longer. There are so many other things we have yet to explore. Thank you for sharing your home and giving us a glimpse of Low Country Life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Detroit
5

3rd year, it is more impressive each year.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The physical property and amenities are all 5 star. Each year we find new ventures to keep us going 12 hours each day and sleep soundly through nature chirping and the occasional thunderstorm and light show. This year we were referred to a bird roodkery inn PortRoyal. About a mile trail that brought us into close viewing of nesting egrets and sleeping alligators. An occasional ferrel cat also prowled the sanctuary. Fishing on Hunting Island was not fruitful but the nature center provided equipment at no cost and no license was needed on their pier. They sold bate and $4 would cover a days fishing. Great golf courses in the area at bargain prices. Lady's Island country club and Sanctuary golf course are 20 -30 minutes away and it is fairly easy to join other groups. Less than half the cost of the Hilton Head courses. Some unique art shops in Gullah and Beaufort cover the local art offerings in all price ranges. We are still trying to pick out a "Sweetgrass Basket". It is a fast disappearing art form of the Gullah people. Our two favorite places to eat are Sweetgrass on Dataw Island and Breakwater Resturant in Beaufort. Of course the Shrimp Shack, just off Harbor island is a must stop for a fast lunch. The shrimp sandwich is the best. One of the few places in the world where you can walk for miles on prestige sandy beach with seeing another person.......Hunting Island. The property and the location and the culture are unique treasurers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
5

Fantastic Sunsets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed in the home over the Thanksgiving Holiday and let me say the picture of the sunset says it all! This house is very comfortable and had everything we needed including the fantastic sunsets off the 2nd floor balcony! We were even able to spend an afternoon at the beach collecting shells and inspecting empty horseshoe crabs. This home is also good for bird lovers. Right off the balcony we saw many egrets and herons as well as king fishers and osprey. We were also able to spend a morning on the water watching dolphins and roosting bald eagles. I must also mention what a joy it was working with Mia, the owner of this beautiful home. Any questions or concerns we had were dealt with promptly. Would most definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone in search of a peaceful relaxing stay while in beautiful Beafort SC.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great water views & awesome sunsets! Fish & crab right from our yard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321705vbi
+1 (304) 549-3677 (mobile)
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia
5

Fabulous stay, Fabulous people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From the minute I received communication back from our host, it was easy to tell that our stay was going to be great. She went out of her way to provide information regarding the area and how to get around. Once we arrived, after getting over our 'stunning' at the luxury of the house, we quickly settled in and explored the local area. It was a wonderful stay and we were privileged to meet the hosts and their daughter for sunset cocktails and the kids had great fun together.

Many thanks for a lovely stay in a wonderful house with everything you could wish for in amenity, beauty and comfort.

We would love to return some day. I'm sure we will stay friends with the hosts 'tho.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway