Kaanapali condo rental - Oceanview from our Lanai
Oceanview from our Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Kaanapali Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Sofa bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The Papakea Resort is a four story, oceanfront, condominium complex located between Kaanapali and Kapalua. It is situated on 13 Beautiful Tropical Acres with swaying palm trees, freshwater Koi ponds, fragrant tropical flowers and Tiki Torches illuminating the walkways during the evenings. Also located on the grounds are two swimming pools (Lanai pool is heated), 2 large Jacuzzi's, 10 gas BBQ's, 2 meticulously groomed 12-hole putting greens, 2 shuffleboard courts and 3 lighted tennis courts.

While relaxing on chaise lounge chairs, located along the waters edge, enjoy the magnificent views of Molokai and Lanai. Don't forget your camera, you'll see some of Maui's most stunning sunsets with unobstructed panoramic views. During the Winter and Spring months also enjoy oceanfront viewing of the migrating humpback whales. This oceanfront resort sometimes has a sandy beach (depending on the season), or you can enjoy the beach right next door, across the foot bridge.

Keywords: Condominium, Ocean View, Resort

More Details
Hide Details

We are a very active couple so we do lots of walking, hiking, biking, golfing, kayaking and snorkeling. We love the outdoors and all of natures beauty. You can't beat a beautiful sunset in Maui.

We recently moved our wedding videography business to Maui and we enjoy filming in such a beautiful location.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2003

We started vacationing in Hawaii in 1986 and visited every island throughout the years. In 1991 we rented a unit at the Papakea Resort and fell in love with the beautiful tropical grounds and friendly people. From that point on whenever we went to another island we really missed the Papakea atmosphere and longed to be back there. We dreamed of owning a place at the Papakea and in 2003 our dreams came true and we were able to buy our piece of paradise. We feel very fortunate to own it and would love to share that feeling with you.

While staying at the property we enjoy the putting greens, tennis courts, swimming in the pool and walking around the grounds taking pictures of all the flowers and ponds.. Our favorite thing to do is go out during the evening to the ocean front lounge chairs and just relax, listen to some music on our iPods and enjoy the stars and planets and view the milky way.

26 Reviews of Property 321368 in Kaanapali, Hawaii

Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
San Diego
5

10 Days in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We absolutely love the Papakea Resort. This was our second time and we enjoyed every minute. It was our first time using VRBO. Rick and Shirley made it a fantastic experience. The room has everything you need and is very clean. The ocean view overlooking Molokai is breathtaking. The facility, pools, and beach are spectacular. Rick even provided beach toys, boogie boards, chairs, and mats. It was the perfect vacation for our family of four. We strongly recommend the Papakea Resort, especially this unit. Thank you Rick and Shirley!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Canada
5

Great Condo and Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at the Papakea for 11 nights for our honeymoon. The place was exceptionally clean. There was everything we needed for our stay including beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella, all kitchen utensils and there were even condiments in the fridge. The resort was beautiful and there were many chairs or a little beach to lay on out front. Rick and Shirley were very easy to deal with and were prompt in returning messages and emails. We would highly recommend this condo to stay at!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Lake Forest
5

A wonderful stay at Papakea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful 8 day stay at Papakea resort. The condo was super clean and ideal for our Maui stay. Location is also really well situated and has an ABC store and Market directly across the street. We would most definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
5

Two thumbs up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wow, we were impressed! We walked in to be greeted with a welcome sign and treats. The next step was to look out the patio door to a beautiful pond and flowers which seemed to be our own private vista- stunning! There is also a great view of the ocean. The lanai was a popular spot for us!
The unit was perfect! Clean, well equipped, and had every start up item that a traveller would need. Rick and Shirley certainly know how to make their guests feel at home!! A heartfelt thanks from all of us!
The resort itself was visitor friendly- gorgeous grounds, two pools with hot tubs. an extended sea wall
Rwith chairs for ocean and whale watching, a putting green and twelve very popular barbecues.
We enjoyed walking to Black Rock along the ocean boardwalk path every morning- 3.75 miles return that takes just over an hour.
We went on a whale watch with the Pacific Whale Company- 30 passenger zodiac for two hours- great!
Some of our group thought the hula pie at Duke's was to die for! I wasn't there so will have to save that treat for another time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Grand Rapids , mi
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our first time using VRBO, and really didn't know what to expect. The condo was better than we could have hoped. The grounds were more beautiful than the photos, if that's possible. We were able to leave our balcony doors open all night, as we were on the 2nd floor.
Everything that we needed for our 10 day stay was supplied, including snorkel equipment, boogie board, cooler, & beach umbrella.
We even took advantage of the weber grills a couple times.
This is a great unit. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Bay Area, CA
5

Convenient and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Papakea Resort is located about 40 minutes from the airport, however, once you are there, everything is perfect. Of course, while in Hawaii, you can't really be too far away from the ABC stores and sure enough, the ABC store is right next to one of the buildings behind the Papakea Resort. Across the street was a small shopping center which includes everything from ice cream shop, bikini shop, subway, to a nice and large Times grocery store (which is similar to a Ralph's, Safeway, or Lucky grocery stores). Boss Frog and some other snorkeling rental places are also nearby. All in all, everything that you need is very much within walking distance of no more than 5 minutes from the building. There's one place that every must try -- Ono's Taco. This is a small family owned taco stand, yes, it's a taco stand right outside of a house across the street from Papakea Resort and everything from shrimp taco to burrito and more are made fresh at time of order. I went there at least once each day that I am there.

As for the room, everything is pretty standard. You got the fully furnished kitchen with all the cooking utilities and utensils, etc...Most room has a sleeper sofa and either a standard queen size bed or a Murphy's bed. Depending on the rooms, some room may not have as good mattress, so my advice would be buying one of those inflatable beds at Costco nearby the airport ($50) and put this on top of your mattress and you'll be out like a baby (after spending sometime at the hot tub sipping a cocktails of course). Keep in mind that while this is a resort, you do not have day to day room service where people come in a clean up the room and take out the trash for you. You need to clean up your own mess and take out your own trash. If this is not what are you looking forward to be doing while on vacation, this may not be a good resort for you.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Sonora, Calif
5

Papakea #321368

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Loved it, it was so perfect the grounds were beautiful. There were more amenities then we could hoped for. Clean and very comfortable. We never even turned on the air conditioner because the trade winds were so amazing. The owners were very helpful and very genuine people, we are going to visit them again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Vancouver
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding that we attended in Maui. All of the guests of the wedding were at Papakea and it was great! The grounds are beautifully maintained and we had tons of fun playing shuffleboard all day! There isn't a beach at the property, but we just made the short drive to Whaler's Village and relaxed there.
Rick & Shirley were wonderful! They were very helpful and accomodating. Our condo also seemed to be better equiped than our friends' places staying at the complex. Everything we needed from tupperware, to beach towels, to an ice maker was provided. We would definitely return to this unit! :)
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Eugene, OR
5

Papakea May 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Papakea is a great property in a nice location. This is the second time we have stayed in a VRBO at this location. The grounds are very well kept and tropical. It's easy to get to Kaanapali, Lahaina and only about 30 minutes from Kihei. Also close to Napili and Kapalua bays, which are fantastic beaches.

The owner of Papakea VRBO #321368 is very helpful and very prompt with any questions or concerns. They set up the rental so you feel very welcomed when you arrive and check-in went smoothly.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Grounds, Fantastic Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321368vbi
(657) 464-3154 (California, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Alabama
5

Time of Our Lives!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our stay at the Papakea Resort was fantastic! My husband and I honeymooned in Oahu and always wanted to return to a different island. Rick and Shirley were great to book from and we loved how friendly they were. When we arrived, we were welcomed with a sweet note wishing us to have a wonderful trip. The resort was quiet, beautiful and well-kept. We especially loved how quiet the swimming pool and grounds were. We look forward to our next trip to Hawaii and would love to come back to the Papakea!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway