Lake Sinissippi house rental - Prairie House in fall
Prairie House in fall
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lake Sinissippi House Rental Photos and Description
Spacious Prairie-Style Home on 120 Acres with Vista Views of Lake

Prairie House is perfect for small group retreats (12 max), or for larger retreats (18 max) when combined with the Prairie Cottage just down the hill.

The House:

Upstairs: Guests will appreciate the spacious commercial-grade kitchen and large adjoining dining area with panoramic views of prairie and bays. The Master Bedroom/Bath features a king-sized bed and a view of Eagle Island. A cozy sun room with felt-top card table, and observation deck extends off the Living Room and Master Suite. The Living Room features a natural stone fireplace, wide screen cable TV and WiFi, Steinway grand piano and ceiling to floor windows with sweeping views. Next to the living room is a library stocked with books for all ages and Peterson Field Guides. The vista views and sounds of the woodland birds can also be enjoyed as you relax on the screened porch just off the kitchen.

Downstairs: The lower level features views of the countryside with a game room with pool table that can be converted to ping-pong, wide screen tv and serving bar. There are 3 bedrooms with queen beds, one with additional bunk beds, two bathrooms & walk-out veranda.

The Property: Nature lovers and prairie enthusiasts will enjoy this modern home built to complement its magnificent surroundings. Prairie House's 120 Acres of glacial drumlin and wetland bays of Lake Sinissippi are part of the largest fresh-water cattail marsh system in North America. The property includes more than a half mile of varied shoreline. Bald eagles, herons, egrets and deer are your neighbors when you visit this prairie-style home.

The Prairie: The house is surrounded by 18 acres of restored prairie. 65 native flower species and 7 grasses provide a dynamic collage of color for three seasons.

The Sullivans will gladly share their prairie successes and failures with guests - seed gathering and tours of the prairie can be arranged.

The Lake: We provide 2 lightweight kayaks, a canoe and a rowboat for exploring the marshy bays where bald eagles, great blue heron, and white pelicans are frequently sighted. About 7 miles upstream from Lake Sinissippi is the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, where over 260 species of birds have been documented, making it an attractive destination for birders and nature photographers.

Amenities: Commercial-grade kitchen appliances, Calphalon cookware; coffeepot/grinder; toaster-oven, Cuisinart, Kitchenaide, microwave - well-stocked kitchen is equipped to serve gourmet meals for up to 12; Towels and Bed Linens; Laundry Room with sink and Maytag Washer and Dryer; 2-car garage; Steinway Grand Piano; Wifi; CD/DVD Player; Game room with serving bar/refrigerator, Pool/Ping-Pong Table; Natural Stone Fireplace with wood; 2 kayaks, 1 canoe and a rowboat; variety of family indoor/outdoor games/toys/library; Picnic Table and Weber Grill/Electric Starter & Grill Tools.

More Details
Hide Details

Prairie House is a custom prairie style home built in 1999 designed by Architect, Arlan Kay, featuring a passive solar design. The owners enjoy hosting family gatherings and retreats and maintain the 18 acre prairie and gardens for guests to enjoy, and extend a warm welcome to guests of the Prairie House and Cottage.

Laurie Sullivan purchased this house in 1999

9 Reviews of Property 321199 in Lake Sinissippi, Wisconsin

Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Lake Villa, IL
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Everything there was wonderful-from the house, to the garden, to the lake. We had our small wedding there. It was the perfect setting with the yard, lake and the prairie flowers. Laurie and Larry were so helpful in making the stay & the wedding perfect. The house was great for the wedding. We had plenty of room for everyone at the wedding and the BBQ the next day. Including the people who stayed at the house with us. We used the backyard and set up a tent. The pergola in the back was a perfect backdrop. We were able to use many things from the garden, including the edible flowers for the wedding.
The sights were amazing. We watched the hummingbirds up close every morning as we at breakfast, the eagles soring above us and the chipmonks scurying about the yard. The kayaks, canoe and rowboat was great for us to use. We took the kayaks out by the eagle island. That was really amazing.
What else can I say... We had the most amazing time and would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Sweet Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I have now had the good fortune to stay here in 2 seasons with friends who are consulting on barn renovations for the owners. The site is gorgeous in both the fall and winter, and the panoramic views from the house are spectacular, including some stellar sunsets. The photos do not do the house justice -it is beautifully appointed yet very comfortable, and immaculately clean. The owners are wonderful. I highly recommend a stay here. Thank you Laurie and Larry!
Owner's Response: It is always a great pleasure hosting your group, Susan, and thank you for the kind review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the sub-zero Wisconsin weather! We hope you'll have a chance to enjoy a visit in the warm seasons, as well, when the prairie and gardens mature, and the eaglets are fledging. With warm regards, Laurie and Larry
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Leawood, Kansas
5

Magic in Wisconsin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A beautiful home on a windswept prairie hillside. A place full of color, the sound of distant geese, and the flights of eagles. For those who appreciate such things, this home on Lake Sinissippi is unmatched. The accommodations are excellent, the view is spectacular, the home warm and welcoming and full of unexpected touches which make the experience that much more special. Peaceful and serene but also full of nearby opportunities to hike, explore, canoe, and shop (if that is more to your taste). Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Temperance, Michigan
5

We searched and found the BEST!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My husband and I, along with our 3 "pups" as we call them, take vacations about 3 times a year - some a week, some for a few days. In early fall, 2010, I was searching and came upon the PRAIRIE HOUSE and looked at the photos and read what was written, conversed via email with the owner...and then with my hubby and we decided our 10 day Wisconsin vacation (to visit with friends and relatives, since I'm originally from Wisconsin) would be spent at the Prairie House.

When we arrived on my birthday in October, the house was spectacular!! We were very impressed. The Pups immediately felt "at home". There was absolutely no transition for them at all. Nor for my hubby and I. The house was so comfortable and had such lovely views. The owners were so happy to give us directions, information and share "goodies" that they'd made themselves. We couldn't wait to get unpacked and begin to enjoy our 10 days in that glorious place.

The weather was great while we were there, allowing us to fully enjoy the view...walk the property...and while cooking, to have the windows open enjoying the fresh air and the Spa on the enclosed porch. The pups enjoyed lounging on the porch, as well.

The kitchen, layout and the appliances were fabulous...and there were so many extras in the kitchen - even a large Kitchen-Aid Mixer. The dining table next to the kitchen snack bar, is surrounded by windows and everyone who joined us at the dining table for a meal thoroughly enjoyed the views.

The bedrooms were everything we could have hoped for and far more. The walk-in closet in the Master Bedroom was like another room!! The master bathroom was large, spacious and well supplied with shampoo, moisturizer, hand cream and more. The towels were soft and fluffy.

The lighting in the house, made for a BRIGHT room when you wanted it and dimmed for mood lighting too! The fireplaces were very enjoyable.

I just can't say enough about this lovely place - other than we have our 3 vacations for 2011 booked there already!! And everyone who was out to visit us last time, is anxious to come again. Whether running around during the day or staying put...this is the BEST vacation spot we've found. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Wahoo, NE
5

Family gathering held at the Prairie House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family gathering at the Prairie house was an amazing, relaxing week. The house is beautiful, and they think of everything. We had children from 10 months to 11 years old, and there were lots of fun inside and outside activities for the kids and adults to enjoy. The Lake is a short walk down the trail from the house. We loved everything about the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Michigan and Illinois
5

A Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
What can we say? The serenity of this place has helped us slow down, and catch our breath. The prairie, the woods, and the lake are beautiful! We saw a red-tailed hawk right outside the window at breakfast, and enjoyed watching the eagles. The house is so well designed and comfortable. Thanks, Larry, for answering our many questions. The garden vegetables were delicious. Thanks, Laurie, for sharing them. We loved the hot tub and the reading nook. We enjoyed playing pool, fishing, and taking beautiful photographs. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay - thanks so much!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Chicago
5

Scenic Prairie house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
We were a group of friends that visited Prairie house in fall 2007.

This is a comment from one of our friends. This is a great place. Don't miss it.

"I write this sitting here at the dining table, seeing the awesome shades of a fall sunset in the calm water of the lake. What else could anyone want for a vacation. beautiful house, beautiful location, everything about this place is beautiful. Now as we leave, it seems 2 days wasn’t enough. There is so much to do here, and still nothing to do here but relax and let the prairie breeze wash your face gently. Thanks a lot. We’ll come back someday!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Lake in the Hills, IL
5

THANKSGIVING at the PRAIRIE HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We have a lot to be grateful for and we were thankful to bring our entire family to the Prairie House for Thanksgiving 2008. We made memories here once before in 2006 for Dad's 60th brithday and decided to return to make even more memories. The owners provided Thanksgiving linens and personal decorations for our event. It is incredibly warm here. It is cozy with the fireplace and all the toys and puzzles and games, not to mention ping pong and billiards and a grand piano. Between eating in the gourmet kitchen to playing with our family and later sneaking to the hot tub, it was wonderful. More memories made - fond and warm. We were even able to take a hike on the property in the snow - enjoying the soitude and the beauty of the area. Our grandkids loved the treehouse. We highly recommend this property to anyone with families or even a romantic getaway. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Prairie House on Scenic Lake Sinissippi: Perfect for Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321199
+1 414 690-3464
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
Omaha, NE
5

Pleasant stay at Prairie House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
The stay at Prairie House was very pleasant. We had gone with a group of friends and had a very relaxing time. There is a lovely lake nearby where you can boat as well as kayak.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/14