Lake Ariel cottage rental - Our piece of the lake
Our piece of the lake
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Ariel Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Charming 2BR 1 BA Back Porch Lakefront Cottage sleeps 5

This charming cozy lake front cottage sits on prestigious Lake Ariel in Wayne County located in northeastern Pennsylvania. It has knotty pine interior with a tiled kitchen and a living room with a beautiful stone fireplace looking out over lovely Lake Ariel. The large game room in the basement includes a TV, air hockey, and Foosball. All rooms have center opening windows to let in the fresh country air. There are two large bedrooms, one with a queen and the other with twin beds. The basement game room has a daybed. The bath with Jacuzzi tub is recently renovated. The cottage also has a large covered porch overlooking the lake. The lake is well known in the area for its large old family-owned lake homes. It’s not nearly as crowded as other lakes. Property includes a large dock for swimming, fishing, and boating pleasure. Pets allowed. Property includes rowboat, paddle boat, water trampoline, fishing poles, and life jackets for your use.

The beautiful lake at the top of the Poconos sits east of Scranton, Pennsylvania, 12 miles from Hawley (location of Lake Wallenpaupack), and 9 miles from historic Honesdale (home of the Stourbridge Lion, the first steam locomotive and site which inspired Winter Wonderland). The village has several restaurants, markets, churches, fire hall, gas station, and various shops and hosts many quaint events throughout the year such as the renowned chicken bar-b-que and parade. The area abounds in history and antiques, hunting, snow skiing, fishing, golfing, water sports, candle shops, Claws and Paws animal farm, cut glass, Dorflinger Museum and Estate (hosts summer concert series), and many other unique experiences such as a nearby drive-in movie theater, hidden waterfalls, Irving Cliff, Archibald Pothole, McDade Park Mine, train rides, go cart racing, and many more.

Full refrigerator/freezer, small four-burner stove/oven, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, washer, dryer, 2 TVs with cable, DVD player, Foosball, air hockey, games, puzzles, books, toys, water trampoline, rowboat, and paddle boat.

Local restaurants, movies, shopping, hunting, fishing, skiing, swimming, airplane rides, train rides, bowling, parks, miniature golf, paintball, concerts, hiking. All winter sports, summer sports, fishing, hunting, shopping, antiquing, historical sites, children's activities, outdoor concerts, and many more, check out last paragraph of property description. Beautiful Wayne County Pennsylvania boasts fabulous scenery and activities all year round, naturally constructed of many peaks and valleys leaving lakes and rivers winding through mountains of beautiful color.

area links: Honesdale offers a leisurely train ride if you're interested, a museum, shopping, and usually entertainment in the park. Ehrhardt's on Lake Wallenpaupack is very good and you look out over the lake. Also, for a thrill, check out the happenings at Cove Haven, the Honeymoon resort (home of the champagne glass jacuzzi). Features driving range, go-carts, mini golf, batting cages, and arcade games in Beach Lake.

Fun and Games Family Fun Center in Honesdale has bumper/tube type cars, arcade/ticket games.

Camelback ski area has a water park open in summer.

Mohecan casino is nearby in Scranton.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 321186 in Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania

Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
average rating of 4.5882354 based on 18 reviews
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a great vacation we had in this charming lakefront cottage. The scenery was beautiful, the water crystal clear, and the fishing was fantastic! Catches included muskie, perch, bass, blugill, and catfish. Oh, and a 14" Crappie (that's a big one)!!

The cottage was conveniently located to restaurants, groceries, and even an eye doctor I needed to see while there. We also found plenty of antique shops to keep us busy in the area.

But what we really enjoyed was no phone and no internet, and we never watched the television. What a way to "get away"! The cottage is amply furnished with videos, games, magazines, and books for your pleasure. We highly recommend this cottage for a relaxing vacation.
Owner's Response: So glad to read happy reviews! You too can enjoy the calm and peaceful feeling at the cottage!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

The perfect getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The home is exactly as advertised. It is charming and the location is breath taking. We are very limited on vacation choices as we need to bring our dog with us wherever we go and this turned out to be the perfect choice. the home is well stocked with dishes, flatware, pots and pans. Our only problem was we didn't book a long enough stay, we were sad to leave and will be booking a longer stay very soon. We have rented other homes in the past, so far this has been the best by far for the price. We really didn't venture out in the area as we were very happy just enjoying the home. Made a fire down by the lake every night and just enjoyed the peacefulness. I hope this will be the first of many more stays in this home!

Melissa & Dimitri
Owner's Response: So glad others find the same peacefulness there that we have!
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Love that country cottage

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A few comments from a repeating happy customer:
1) We had another nice visit. Actually got to get out on the lake this time as we did have some moments in between the rain. It was a sad visit though as our 14 1/2 year old dog has bladder cancer, and we learned from our Vet on Tuesday her blood results now show she's in severe Kidney failure. We don't expect her to make it another week. So, it was difficult knowing that was the last time she'll get to be at the cottage with us. She loved it there and always seemed to feel at home. Thanks again for allowing us to always bring her with us.
2) We had another nice and relaxing stay. Used the fireplace a lot this time around. Our older dog (14 yrs old) loved laying by the fire.
3) We had a nice time while we were there. It was great fireplace weather.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Quiet country setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We've stayed at this cottage 4 or 5 times now in the past year, with the last time being in July. We love this place as it's not far from home, reasonably priced, cozy, quiet, clean and our dog is allowed. If you're looking for a city atmostphere, this is not the place for you. It's nice to get away for a few days and just enjoy the peacefulness of being in this country setting. There's plenty of room for our dog to safely play as they have a zip line in the back so she can stay securely leashed, but still have space to exercise. And the owner has always been very accomodating with getting us in last minute.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments! So glad you too enjoy the cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
1

OUR WORST SUMMER VACATION EVER

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We paid for 7 nights. We left after 2 nights. WHY?
Because the back lawn was covered with duck dung that our puppy ate and threw up, Lake Ariel was very dirty due to loads of water lilies, our bed had a 3" high, very uncomfortable foam mattress laid on top of a box spring, on a bed advertised as QUEEN-size. NO WAY.
NO dining table, only a narrow ledge between the living room and kitchen with high uncomfortable stools. If we ate our meals at the picnic table on the advertised “COVERED” but UNSCREENED porch, we would have become a meal for the mosquitoes. BEFORE renting, we told the Owner that we were renting her cottage so that our puppy could safely romp around her property and swim in beautiful Lake Ariel. She assured us that she had easy lake access and a dog-friendly property. This was NOT true. The shoreline was full of rocks, making it difficult for our puppy (or any human for that matter) to enter the lake. BUT, this was a blessing because once we got a good look at the dirty water, we wouldn't even let our puppy swim in it. By the way, speeding vehicles constantly raced down East Shore Drive which is at the front of the property, and this caused us to keep our puppy on a leash at all times. NO more romping.
We were amazed that all 14 of the previously posted reviews never mentioned any of the above issues. The Owner later admitted to us that she was aware of the duck dung, water lily and dirty water problems; however, she said that PA law prohibits removing the water lilies, and, that she could NOT stop the ducks from pooping all over the lawn! WOW, couldn't her housekeeper clean up the crap every week? An Owner should NOT advertise a property using glorified descriptions that are basically exaggerated if not misleading or untrue. Granted, the Owner sent us a paltry $200 refund for the 5 unused days and nights, stating that we were lucky to get it! In the future, before we rent any property that is advertised online, we will be extremely wary when we read 100% positive, ginger-peachy posted reviews!
Owner's Response: The description and pictures on Homeaway of our charming cottage on private Lake Ariel remain accurate. We, as well as many others, enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the cottage and lake and enjoy the natural flora and fauna which abound in the area. We try to make the cottage as comfortable as possible and replace items frequently. For instance, when the new bed was too hard for some, we added a memory foam pad to the queen mattress. While we understand everyone doesn't have the same preferences, we hope most will enjoy the cottage and lake as much as we do and appreciate the opportunity to bring their pet with them on vacation.
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family and I arrived at this cozy cottage on a Friday evening during a bad snow storm and oh how beautiful everything was. The cottage was warm and welcoming and the lake with the snow was amazing. We saw some people ice fishing on the lake.
We all went skiing on Saturday at Elk Mountain which was about an hour drive.
On Sunday we lit a fire in the huge fireplace, bought some buffalo cubes at the local buffalo store down the road and made a wonderful dinner and relaxed.
This place is just so charming and warm and inviting we all agreed that we need to come back again and this time for a week during the summer so we could use the lake and the boats.
The cottage was very clean and had everything you would need when staying there.
We will definitely be back again.
Owner's Response: Just love to hear of the good times others have at the cottage!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a great vacation we had in this charming lakefront cottage. The scenery was beautiful, the water crystal clear, and the fishing was fantastic! Catches included muskie, perch, bass, blugill, and catfish. Oh, and a 14" Crappie (that's a big one)!!

The cottage was conveniently located to restaurants, groceries, and even an eye doctor I needed to see while there. We also found plenty of antique shops to keep us busy in the area.

But what we really enjoyed was no phone and no internet, and we never watched the television. What a way to "get away"! The cottage is amply furnished with videos, games, magazines, and books for your pleasure. We highly recommend this cottage for a relaxing vacation.
Owner's Response: So wonderful to have others enjoy the cottage, lake, and surrounding area as much as we do!
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Wonderful Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a amazing time at your lovely cottage! The cottage was the perfect vacation for us to take together. I just wanted a get away and the fact that there was a fireplace, spa tub and big comfy bed made it incredible! We were also happy that we could take our girls with us. (chihuahuas) My husband is more of a can't sit still kind of person, so he enjoyed the fact that there was two casinos so close by and some other sites that he could visit. The cottage was so nicely decorated and we felt so at home almost instantly. The lake view was beautiful and so calming. Thanks!
The Cramer"s
Penn Run, PA
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had an amazing time at the cottage! It was the perfect vacation for us. We were able to take our girls (chihuahuas) I wanted to just get away and relax and the cottage was perfect for that. The fireplace, jet tub and big comfy bed made this a vacation to remember for a long time. My husband also enjoyed the vacation because we were so close to two casinos and some attractions that he wanted to visit. So this was the perfect place for us to go on vacation together, he got to do the things he enjoyed and I got to relax and just get away from it all. The cottage was so beautifully decorated and you just instantly felt at home! I have to say 5 stars all the way! Thanks so much! The Cramer's
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage in Poconos on Lake Ariel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p321186
+1 240 351-5285
Lake Ariel Poconos
5

Two Years in a Row

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have nothing but wonderful things to say about this charming, cozy lakefront cottage. We spent several weekends there in 2010 and a full week in 2011. The backyard is wonderful for children and adults alike - with a covered back deck, hammock, and much grassy area great for games of croquet or catch! The dock is large enough to pull up a chair and read a book or go fishing (my husband caught countless fish both times there!) And the use of the paddleboat, rowboat and water trampoline is great for water-lovers! There is a lot to do within a 1-hour radius, including wineries, zoos, parks/waterfalls, and shopping. And the cottage is within walking distance to a convenient store and a few local restaurants (and an ice-cream shop - highly recommend the adoralbe $0.55 mini cone!) Kathleen was wonderful to work with and returned our security deposit in a timely fashion.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so happy others enjoy it as much as we do!
Kathleen