La Jolla house rental - Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy cottage with 2-bedrooms and 2-baths, comfortably sleeps 4 people.

Location sets this charming rental from many others. In the heart of La Jolla; a five minute walk to marvelous boutiques, galleries and sensational restaurants. World-renowned La Jolla Cove and WindanSea beach and surfing are within easy walking distance.

After a busy day of sightseeing or shopping, sit back and enjoy an ocean sunset from your living room. A large, private deck offers the best of Southern California outdoor living. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, this 2nd floor guest house is secluded from busy street noise.

This pristine home has two bedrooms and two baths will sleep four in a queen and two twins or king bed option. Features include rooftop ocean view, large private deck, open beam ceiling, operable skylights, hardwood floors, carpeted bedrooms, fireplace, a private bath in the master bedroom, and a fully outfitted kitchen.

The property owner/manager lives in an adjacent house and can provide you with helpful recommendations on local attractions, restaurants and shopping.

Amenities include a living room gas fireplace, central heating and air-conditioning, phone, cable 27' TV, VCR/DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils), linens and towels, washer and dryer.

Nearby activities are within walking distance or a short drive: first-rate boutiques and galleries, incredible restaurants, topnotch museums, world-renowned attractions (San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Scripps Aquarium), diverse sightseeing (Gas Lamp Quarter, Old Town, Tijuana, Mexico), first-class public golf (Torrey Pines Golf Course), public tennis courts and Olympic size swimming pool, fitness clubs, wildlife viewing (whales, seals, tide pools), ocean kayaking, deep-sea/surf/freshwater fishing, snorkeling-Scuba diving, surfing.

Beautiful and picturesque, La Jolla's possibilities for adventure are as limitless as your imagination. High atop the cliffs, golfers tee off on world-class courses, while sightseers explore caves, museums and other intriguing landmarks.

More Details
Hide Details

Husand and wife own and manage this vaction rental.

Lisa Maher purchased this house in 1989

Converted a long-term rental unit into a weekly vacation rental.

94 Reviews of Property 320957 in La Jolla, California

Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 94 reviews
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great rental in a good area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of four stayed for five days. It is a pleasant place to relax and enjoy the delights of La Jolla. Our hosts Lisa and Michael, were welcoming and helpful with whatever questions and local advice we asked for.
The accommodation was very clean and contained everything we needed. We would not have struggled staying 5 weeks, let alone our five days.
The location is special, quiet yet only 5-10 minutes walk to stores and restaurants and a few minutes drive to great beaches.

Lisa and Michael have got it right!! I realised this when thinking that my family have rented many self catering properties; and this is the first time we have wanted to post an online review.
If we return to the San Diego area, we would stay again

Family from Bath, UK.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Perfect Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in La Jolla. The accomodation was clean, well equipped, bright and airy. We were only a 5 minute walk from the local supermarket and restaurants, and a further 15 minutes to the beautiful La Jolla cove.
San Diego is only a short drive away, and the Zoo was a big hit with our sons. Lisa kindly also allowed us to borrow boogie boards for a visit to Mission Bay.
The owners were really helpful but also allowed us to enjoy our holiday. We would definately recommend this rental.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
4

Just Lovely! Great Hosts and Area

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This place is just great as are the hosts. We were welcomed by the host and found the place just as described. It actually felt a bit bigger. Great natural light, excellent ocean breeze and a nice neighborhood. Grocery is a short walk as is the beach. Highly recommend it.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Elmhurst, IL
5

Loved the rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a perfect rental experience. It was impeccably clean and near downtown LaJolla.
Our trip included a toddler and we were pleased that Lisa and Michael accommodated his needs.
We appreciated the original art and pottery. The fresh flowers were a plus and we can only say thanks for the experience.
I send a YES recommendation for this rental.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Perfect La Jolla Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed in Lisa's and Michael's backyard apartment for 6 weeks in Fall 2012. The apartment is upstairs above the garage which houses Lisa's studio. It is bright, airy, and immaculately clean. The decor and furniture are excellent. The large kitchen is well-supplied and very convenient to use. We did a lot of cooking during our stay. Lisa and Michael volunteered to loan us any additional cooking utensils that were needed, but this did not turn out to be necessary. Lisa had the kitchen knives sharpened before we arrived--first time we have had sharp knives to use in a rental. The apartment is convenient to shopping and ocean. We walked to pick up our groceries and we particularly enjoyed the weekly farmers market that is only a block away.

You won't find a better rental at this price in La Jolla. Although the apartment itself is exceptional, the best things about the rental are the owners, Lisa and Michael. They are friendly and helpful and attentive. They delivered their paper to us daily and surprised us with intermittent gifts of fruit and vegetables and pastries. They are fine people. We hope that we are able to stay with them again before too long.

Hal and Kathy H
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Washington, DC
5

Perfect Place to Stay During a Visit to La Jolla!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I took my mother on a trip to sunny California (from the east coast) during Thanksgiving week. We wanted a non-hotel sort of place where we could cook for ourselves and relax...a place close and convenient to cafes, shops, restaurants, and sites. The owners' vacation place was just the right thing. It's in a great spot, close to a supermarket, coffee shops, a great juice bar, and it's an easy stroll or short drive to beautiful La Jolla Cove.

The owners were easy to communicate with in making reservations and very welcoming during the visit. As others have noted, the place is very clean and the little touches make a difference. We especially appreciated getting the New York Times after they read it every morning. They also were unobtrusive but available when needed. We chose this place partly on the reviews and I hope this review will convince others that it's a great choice for your visit to La Jolla!
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
La Jolla CA
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We live local but wanted the "village" experience. We found it when we stayed in this incredibly comfortable and well equipped guest house. We've stayed in many homes on VRBO and sometimes the condition, or the lack of everyday necessary items, has been a disappointment. Not here.The extra effort of the owner shows everywhere. First thing you'll notice is the lovely upper deck shown in the ad & it looks just like that. All the interior shots are also accurate. The home is immaculate, the furniture comfy for relaxing, the bookshelves full & a library of dvd's. We even had the New York Times delievered to our door. You will not be disappointed. Close to everything, restaurants, shops, grocery store, beach. Loved it!
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

A wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family (including two young toddlers) stayed at Lisa and Michael's La Jolla cottage earlier this month. We had a wonderful stay. The rental was spotless and fully equipped and Lisa provided so many sweet little touches, including freshly cut flowers, home-made lemon squares, high-end coffee, a bottle of wine and even morning newspaper delivery. It was just perfect. Better than any 5 star hotel. We can't wait to go back!
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

La Jolla Vacation House Rental 320957

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This being our first time to La Jolla booked a week stay at what turn out to be a faboulous rental home. Everything was perfect. It was like staying in a top floor suite in the Ritz Carlton! This home has everything! Every morning we walked a block to Starbucks, the grocery store a block away, unbelievable choice of restaurants withing 2 to 5 block walking distance and of course the beach in which we walked to every morning with our cup of coffee for our morning walk. The owners (Lisa & Mike) were absolutely delightful. We rate this a 5 star!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Beautiful place, perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We have stayed in a number of rental properties over the last 4-5 years and this is the nicest one yet! The property is exactly as described and the owners (Michael & Lisa) go out of their way to make it as comfortable as possible. They have thought of every detail to make it a wonderful home away from home. The location is a few blocks from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla and an easy stroll to shopping, coffee, dining, etc. They even had beach toys for our two year old! Perfect place for families or couples.