Manuel Antonio house rental - refreshing pool
refreshing pool
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manuel Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sofa sleeper, sleeps 8

If you appreciate architecture and design you will love Casa Pura Vida! It is beautifully designed with tongue and groove ceilings , and hand crafted arched windows and doors throughout. There are huge decks upstairs and downstairs with a hammock and Adirondack chairs right outside the bedrooms and living area . Our stair rails and deck rails are artistically sculpted as wrought iron leaves.

It is important to us that our guests feel the quality of being in a home, rather than a 'house rental' or hotel. We have decorated with love and attention as if we were inviting our closest friends to come visit.

Our house backs into the rainforest. Each day Titi monkeys and white faced monkeys play in the creek right off the deck. It is in the back of a residential neighborhood so it has the feeling of home, rather than a tourist destination. The property is not so secluded that you feel desolate. You will love relaxing by our pool. We are five minutes from Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

Amenities: Pool, air conditioning in upstairs bedrooms, Phone, Cable TV, DVD, Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Cooking Utensils provided, Linens provided, Washer & Dryer, Parking, No Smoking

Activities: Hiking, Biking, Gym, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Restaurants, Sightseeing, Swimming, Snorkeling/Diving, Boating, Sailing, Surfing, Windsurfing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Rafting

More Details
Hide Details

Chris and Penny Williams were from San Diego and bought this house on their honeymoon in 2002.

Dana or Penny purchased this house in 2002

Casa Pura Vida is a beautiful house with unique architecture and is located in a great neighborhood. We wanted to have this place for our children and their children to come to for nature and monkeys!

19 Reviews of Property 320754 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Canada
5

amazing hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
VRBO from HomeAway

Your Review
is Pending
Please read and confirm your review for Property #23256 below.

Confirm Your Review



Review #6455035 warm hospitality

Our few days in Casa Pura Vida were just like it's name. it was living the good life. The home was spotless and big enough for our family of five. The pool was a lovely addition to have after a hot day. We got rained out one day and it was great to sit on the balcony and watch the weather. We also enjoyed the visiting monkeys from the balcony. The beds/mattresses are huge and very comfortable. There was good air conditioning in the bedrooms, which helped. We ate some of our meals in and had enough utensils to cook a real meal. There are restaurants close by as well. Manuel Antonio park is either a taxi or an inexpensive bus ride away. The bus stops across the street from Casa Pura Vida. My kids enjoyed the surfing but the waves were a bit too challenging for beginner/intermediate surfers. The best part was that Penny and Chris were helpful and hospitable and available to answer any and all questions. all in all, a highly recommendable place to stay in Manuel Antonio.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Canada
5

warm hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our few days in Casa Pura Vida were just like it's name. it was living the good life. The home was spotless and big enough for our family of five. The pool was a lovely addition to have after a hot day. We got rained out one day and it was great to sit on the balcony and watch the weather. We also enjoyed the visiting monkeys from the balcony. The beds/mattresses are huge and very comfortable. There was good air conditioning in the bedrooms, which helped. We ate some of our meals in and had enough utensils to cook a real meal. There are restaurants close by as well. Manuel Antonio park is either a taxi or an inexpensive bus ride away. The bus stops across the street from Casa Pura Vida. My kids enjoyed the surfing but the waves were a bit too challenging for beginner/intermediate surfers. The best part was that Penny and Chris were helpful and hospitable and available to answer any and all questions. all in all, a highly recommendable place to stay in Manuel Antonio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Drums, Pennsylvania - United States
5

Wonderful week in Manuel Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We recently enjoyed a one week stay at Casa Pura Vida. The home is set in a quiet residential neighborhood surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. Monkeys came by several times during the week and were very entertaining. The property has a small pool that was a great way to cool off and relax after a busy day of sightseeing, shopping, etc. The immediate area has many great restaraunts most of which offer awesome sunset veiws, definately try El Avion, Ronny's Place, and the Gaia resort. The Beaches were beautiful and not too crowded. The rainmaker jungle hike was fantastic, we were able to take a refreshing swim in a stream fed pool along the way. Owners Chris and Penny were very accomodating and did all they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Would definately recommend Casa Pura Vida to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

excellent home for monkey viewing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Home is beautiful and clean. The 2 decks are magnificent. The larger lower deck has a hammock and is feet wide and semi circular 25 feet deep
It could use a picnic table and furniture.
The top deck opens off the top 2 bedrooms and is also semi circular, and smaller. It is at treetop canopy level and is a treat; in the morning lots of songbirds; once a day a troop of monkeys came through.
The upstairs bedrooms had room air conditioners that were great...but nothing downstairs except ceiling fans.
The small downstairs bedroom got hot and stuffy; the electric fan was broken.
POOL is beautiful and refreshing.
Note: there are lots of neighbors; even though you are in the jungle, this is a busy place, a few miles from Manuel Antonio...the fridge is also sub-par, not getting things very cold. (we were there a hot week, 70;s low and 90s high)
be sure to get to Rainmaker Park and to a beach OTHER than Manuel Antonio to get the true Costa Rica. Manuel ANtonio overrun with tourists....
washer and dryer work great...spiral staircase steep..maybe a concern for very young children....
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Fargo, North Dakota
5

Great location/ Lovely Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed at Casa Pura Vida for one week. We had a blast getting to know the neighborhood, the iguanas, and the monkeys! This home is located in an ideal neighborhood- minutes from the beach, shops, and restaurants. Penny and Chris were very helpful and went out of there way to make sure we enjoyed our time in Costa Rica. The home is gorgeous and unique! The ceilings are beautiful. More than enough room for many! The pool was perfect and actually looks even nicer in person. The property was well maintained and private. I definitely recommend Casa Pura Vida as the property provided an ideal location, privacy, and most importantly, a unique one-of-a-kind experience! We are so glad we decided to stay in a home instead of a hotel as the experience was priceless!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Charleston, SC
5

Love, Love, Love this house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I love, love, love this house. Sitting on the hammock on the back porch was one of the most relaxing things I've done in my life. I enjoyed having our own priivate pool. The location was great and Penny was wonderful in answering all the questions I had, as well as suggesting adventure tours. Im not sure why the previous guests were so disgruntled, as I found the house and sheets clean and everything in good working condition. The house was as advertised. I will definately book this house again
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Charleston, SC
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I love, love, love this house. Sitting on the hammock on the back porch was one of the most relaxing things I've done in my life. I enjoyed having our own priivate pool. The location was great and Penny was wonderful in answering all the questions I had, as well as suggesting adventure tours. Im not sure why the previous guests were so disgruntled, as I found the house and sheets clean and everything in good working condition. The house was as advertised. I will definately book this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
1

"The worst vacation home I've ever experienced!”

"The worst vacation home I've ever experienced!”
  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at Casa Pura Vida for eight nights. The house is beautifully designed but the owners didn't maintain it well. There are so many things wrong with this house:
1. Leaking toilet & kitchen sink
2. Not enough hot water for shower...we probably got a few hot shower during the stays. The very first night, I have to get the pot to get the hot water from the sink to bath my baby.
3. Dirty sheets, foul smelly sofa (we found food & many stain on it). My kids got asthma attack after the couple nights stayed at the house.
4. Only 2 rooms out of 3 have a/c, the small room downstair has musky old smell (worst when it's rain - sewer smell, mildew smell)....my mother was coughing so much the whole times we were stayed there.
5. Old TV with no remote control
6. Weak internet....basically, we have to walk around the house, inside, outside to find the signal.
7. Termite in house
8. Old outdoor furniture, too dirty to seat on it..
Too many things wrong with the house. I would not recommend Casa Pura Vida to anyone.
Helpful votes: 4/8
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Cincinnati, Ohio
4

Clean and Comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was very clean and comfortable. I would suggest that the owners add places to hang towels because we went in rainy season and pop up storms gave way to places to dry towels. The stove/oven didn't work so we had to be creative with cooking in electric skillet. Carlos was helpful with things to do. There are many restaurants to try and know we missed a few. Easy travel to Quepos and Manuael Antonio Park, also to other towns. . Penny suggested tour company, which was great! Take a tour in park because well worth seeing so many animals. We saw Jesus Christ lizards by pool but no monkeys! Kids loved zipline and we found Rainmaker Forest. Didn't need a guide and was very pretty. Swinging bridges scary for me but I did them and was worth it! I would also suggest having better lighting for reading. The common area had overhead lights but lamps didn't work! All in all, things were great. We loved the pool after a hot day of touring or early in morning to get us started! We would stay here again if you make a few corrections. My husband should write a cookbook about cooking meal in electric skillet! He got really good at it! Must be creative! Thanks for sharing Pure Vida!
Owner's Response: Janie: Thank you for your suggestions! We are actually in Costa Rica now so it is the perfect time for us to hear about the stove and lights and towel racks. We will definitely get all of that up and in working condition! I am bummed that the monkeys didn't come to visit you but I hope that you got to see them in the National Park! Keep the Pura Vida! Penny
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Casa Pura Vida was Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family was celebrating my father's 60th birthday in Costa Rica. This house was absolutely perfect for our stay. The pictures are exactly what you can expect when you arrive. Very clean, spacious, and beautiful decking with a private pool! The surrounding trees, flowers, and wildlife only added to our experience! The location was also great. Easy access to Manuel Antonio as well as Quepos.

Carlos (who takes care of the house) was more than helpful too! Thank you so much, Penny, for letting us stay here.
Helpful votes: 4/5