Captain Cook studio rental - View of the pacific coast from the lanai
View of the pacific coast from the lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

'HALE GEDIMINAS' vacation rental is in a lush tropical setting on sunny Kona Coast. Spectacular sunsets on private lanai with ocean view overlooking Ili-Ili beach, which is 5 min down by car. The unit is studio like with private entrance, has a queen-size bed, bathroom, outdoor kitchen includes refrigerator,microwave, sink,gas grill with burner for cooking, grill could be used for baking (lasagna,casserole and stuff like that). We will send more pictures if required.

We are located in the middle of all the Kona side attractions, between Kailua Kona and Volcano National Park. Nearby are PU'UHONUA O HONAUNAU National Historical park and famous “Two Step” for great reef snorkeling; Kealakekua bay Underwater Coral Reef State Park, historical place where Captain Cook first sailed into Hawaii; and nearby Hookena Beach Park, also great for swimming and snorkeling and dolphins watching.

Keywords: Studio, attached cottage

17 Reviews of Property 320477 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Quadra Island, BC, Canada
5

Perfect for a couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My wife and I chose Hale Gediminas for the location. We'd been to Hawaii before and knew that we wanted to stay in one spot for our two week visit and wanted to go to all corners of the island, swim, snorkel, hike, etc. The location was ideal for our purposes. The room is clean and comfortable. The bathroom and shower were clean and well maintained. The outdoor kitchen is small but functional. We concur in everything that has been said about how pleasant our host was (Daiva was away visiting her mother while we were there) and how informative. The garden is as good as many botanical gardens. You can even see a pomegranate tree. The pictures shown on the website are accurate in their depiction of the home and the view. We would have no hesitation in recommending this to any couple who wants to do what we set out to do.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
4

A great place to stay on Hawaii

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We so enjoyed our time here. Our hosts were friendly and gave us great travel tips, and the unit met our needs beautifully.
Kathleen and David
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
beijing
5

A superb place on a quiet area of the island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our 2nd visit to the BI and we had to stay with August and Daiva again. Both times we have stayed on this island we have felt very comfortable and relaxed because of this rental. All of the positive reviews are true. NOTE; there is no cleaning fee. The location is fantastic to snorkel at 2-step, snorkel with dolphins at the captain cook monument and it's only 40 mins to Kona. The green sand beach and the volcano are not far away either. I am glad we never stayed in Kona for many reasons!
August and Daiva are warm, friendly, knowledgable about the area and generous. The smaller attention to detail at this place make it special. You are given bottles of water, beach chairs, ice box, etc. The bbque on the lanai is perfect for evening meals. The tropical botanical garden near hilo is stunning but August's yard can rival it! Ask for the tour. A great place to stay on Big Island
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Honolulu
5

Ideal location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
All the reviews are true.
I chose Hale Gediminas because of the ideal location (for my activities) and the unbeatable rates.
Clean, comfortable, and.....quiet. Everything you need is right there. Comfortable bedroom. Clean bathroom. High end grill (or microwave if you don't want to fuss). Exotic garden. August identified all the plants and fruits he has, but I was lost after about a half dozen. Another review mentioned the black sand (actually pebble) beach at the end of the drive. In my humble opinion, it's better than Two-Step for snorkeling. But watch the conditions! It can be surgey. I guess I just caught it during excellent conditions.
5-10 minutes to Place of Refuge/Two-step. 10-15 minutes to Cook Monument. And you'll beat the crowds if you visit Volcanoes National Park because you'll be starting closer. A bit of a drive if you're returning from a Mauna Kea Summit tour, but again, no problem.
I most definitely recommend Hale Gediminas, and I can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Forest Lake, MN
5

Perfect Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My wife and I just spent nine wounderful nights at Hale Gediminas. Other reviews led us to this property and we were not disappointed! We enjoyed every minute of our stay and August and Daiva were the perfect hosts.We would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a great location for exploring the big island. I won't repeat what has been said in the positive reviews that have already been written, but we do want to thank August and Daiva for the letting us share their home for nine fabulous nights! We will always have many excellent memories of our stay at Hale Gediminas! John and Jan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Hale Gediminas was the perfect place for us to stay for our anniversary! The property was beautiful and very well maintained. The hosts were wonderful; very welcoming and also helpful. We were given pointers on great places to go, and also were given a road map to help us get there. We had a blast, and will definitely come back to Hale Gediminas when on the Big Island again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Philadelphia
5

Warm, Friendly and Beyond Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Located on the beautiful Kona side of Hawaii, Hale Gediminas is a piece of paradise. During the short 4 day stay with owners August and Daiva, we fell in love with them and they treated us like family. The small guest cottage attached to the main house with its own lanai facing towards a beautiful garden is outstandingly beautiful. August is very warm and informative. He also helped us with maps, directions and equipment. Daiva is very nurturing and a wonderful conversationalist. The view of the ocean from the lanai in the front is out of the world.
It was a perfect romantic getaway for us and we loved every moment of staying in Hale Gediminas!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Olympia, Washington
5

We loved our stay in Paradise - Everything was perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was our third visit to the Big Island and we wanted to stay somewhere out of the ordinary. We found it at Hale Gediminas! The surroundings and accomodations were perfect! It was clean, quiet, restful and secluded, with a gorgeous view and sunset thrown in. The outdoor kitchen was great! We were there for 10 days and went sightseeing nearly every day, but we made sure we were back home to cook and eat outdoors. Being from the Northwest, we don't do that in March! August & Daiva are perfect hosts who take great pride in their lovely home and gardens and made every effort to make us feel at home. Every time we strolled on the pathways, we saw something new growing underfoot and they made sure we used the fresh herbs from their gardens for our meals. We would find whimsical, fresh floral creations on our patio table, handcrafted by Daiva! It was truly a delight to stay there and we would definitely return for another stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
5

A Beautiful Home and Garden with a deck that has a view of the Ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We really enjoyed our four day stay in this beautiful studio apartment that has it's own lani or deck, a covered outdoor kitchen, large bedroom and private bathroom. The idea of an outdoor kitchen was a new idea for us, but it worked very well in the warm dry weather of the Captain Cook area. The house and large yard filled with all kinds of tropical trees and shrubs was very well cared for. Our hosts were very helpful suggesting interesting places to visit and sharing fruit from their garden with us. We highly recommend this as a place to stay, particularily if you want a holiday from the hustle and bustle of city living.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1000 ft elevation overlooking the Beautiful Pacific on the Kona coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320477vbi
(808) 328-8169 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Tennessee
5

Excellent Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My new wife and I stayed here back in September for 4 nights of our honeymoon. I chose this place after sifting through countless other ones. Things that are awesome about staying here:

Location - This place is well located on the island if you're interested in seeing a lot. We traveled 640 miles while there for 4 nights and saw a lot. There is a black pebble beach that is beautiful right down from the house. You basically drive out of the driveway and travel downhill to the beach where there is a little area to park. There is awesome snorkeling at this beach on the right side and it is calm water. There are also several other beaches within less than a 30 min drive. There is also a grocery store pretty close by, less than a half hour if I remember.

Living quarters and grounds - Excellent. There is a bedroom, bathroom, and outdoor kitchen that has all you'll need. We bought groceries and enjoyed cooking several meals. For cooking, you use a grill with a side burner. The grill is a Commercial Series Charbroil with 4 burners. Toss a pan on the side burner and fry up whatever you like while you grill a steak! There is a coffee pot (6 cupper if I remember) too. A mini fridge in the bedroom is sufficient to hold plenty of food and drinks. The bedroom is of a good size with a closet and futon. There is no air conditioning but you don't need it. We sat comfortably in the room while it was in the 80s outside and were fine. The temperatures are fine, warm in the day and cool in the evening. Out front, you can overlook the ocean off the deck as you enjoy a cold one. The grounds around the house are amazing. August has a massive variety of plants growing in the gardens and is very knowledgeable about them. Many produce tropical fruit that you can eat just consult August.

The owners: Extremely nice people. August is very knowledgeable about the island and what it has to offer. If you like to keep to yourself, have no worries, you will not be bothered. August is only around when you need him, and if you don't need him, you won't even know he's there. For us, we really enjoyed talking with him during our stay and look forward to seeing him again in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3