Brooklyn apartment rental - Bedford Ave, view toward the East River and Manhattan.
Bedford Ave, view toward the East River and Manhattan.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Library, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Vintage 1st floor apartment in 1840 townhouse, near the East River. Has a private entrance from front garden, and a rear rose garden with tables, BBQ, fountain, fireplace, lots of greenery and hedges, very sunny and private. Apartment all newly renovated, kitchen and tile bath with shower and soaking tub, has original 10' wide plank floors. There is a study area with desk, nice sized living room/library (which accommodates a good quality raised inflatable bed, if needed), and bedroom with new double bed. Windows on 4 sides for fresh river air, very secure.

All rooms are joined by french doors...Apartment is quiet and restful, but near all the action. The area is surrounded by world class restaurants, bars, clubs, galleries, shops, music venues - within 2 blocks are great cappuccino around the corner at Marlowe, best lunch, brunch and dinner at Diner, Peter Luger Steakhouse, Dressler, Fatty 'Cue by celeb chef Zak Pelaccio, Italian at Giando's with seats by the water looking out at the river, 3 bridges and the skyline!...

Transportation is very close: Short walk to the 'L' train or 'JMZ' trains - then 5 minutes to Manhattan, ferry is a 2 minute walk, buses, and car service arrives on call in 3 minutes to take you to Manhattan in 10 minutes, $10. We are nearly always available with info and tips, and the house and the neighborhood are safe and friendly. Maximum occupancy 2 or by special arrangement, minimum stay 3 days, $80 cleaning fee, and security deposit required in advance. Also see VRBO #352989 for Apt #3 in the same building)

Absolutely no smoking, in consideration of other guests. Please send me an email to confirm availability and let me know about you, and any special needs you may have, before booking... Please note: excellent New York credentials and references available, also California, Amsterdam, Berlin and Munich references available. VRBO calendars may not be current - please inquire.

Keywords: full floor, private entrance, with front and rear gardens

More Details
Hide Details

Currently developing and brokering bars & restaurants, music venues, retail and commercial in prime Williamsburg, Brooklyn; own active real estate firm; interest in fine art, music, antiques; classical singer; art dealer, knowledge of German language and culture; frequent traveler to San Francisco and Munich.,,,,More info upon request.

Owner purchased this apartment in 1988

This is a large house in the City, but the sun, river air and gardens make it feel like the country. (I had lived in Tribeca, Manhattan, and feel like I bought the garden and the house came with it!) I live on the parlor, or second floor, and the 1st floor is often available for guests. It is quiet for New York, restful, out of the way and private - and 2 blocks away from everything!

Fresh breeze drifts in from the river - there are actually windows on all 4 sides! The garden is full of the scent of roses, lilies, honeysuckle, violets, lavender and herbs just outside the windows. And there is a fire pit and BBQ in the yard. It's great to walk around the corner early in the morning for expresso and newspapers, cappucione and croissants, and sit at sidewalk tables and meet the locals! 2 blocks away is Bedford Avenue, epicenter of the area, with every type of shop, bar, gallery or restaurant. World class food, film, and music venues are just blocks away, and it's safe to walk at all hours.

17 Reviews of Property 320337 in Brooklyn, New York

Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
average rating of 4.857143 based on 17 reviews
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Lovely, safe, clean, affordable, and charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I am admittedly late in reviewing this property, but late or not, this is a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I stayed in the lower floor apartment for several days, and then moved to the third floor apartment, as had been planned. Both apartments were great, in different ways. The lower floor was cozy, had a great kitchen, and immediate access to Minette's beautiful garden, which was blooming with climbing roses when we were there. The third floor apartment was spacious, and gave us a wonderful view of the garden as well. We felt completely comfortable and safe in what is a very quiet part of the city. Minette was a wonderfully helpful about where to eat, car service, etc., as well as being extremely well versed in the history of her fine old building. We very much enjoyed talking with her. I recommend this property highly, and hope very much to stay there again. Just delightful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
California
4

Exactly what we expected

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Comfortable apartment a short walk to the center of Williamsburg. Staying here we felt like locals. It's close to the bridge, if you want to walk to Manhattan (lower eastside), or take the subway 3-4 blocks away. Williamsburg is a great neighborhood to stroll through, Bedford Ave is just up the street. has everything you need to shop/eat or explore. The apartment, we stayed downstairs, was convenient and 'as advertised'. It's a little dark (so turn on a lamp), but provides the basics at a fair price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
SF bay area, CA
5

Trendy and charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had the pleasure of staying in this nice apartment from 10/7 to 10/19. It was very homey and convenient, very clean and comfortable. Minette was there to greet us, she showed us around. Initially, we were concerned that the bridge being so close might make sleep difficult, but closing both the french doors at night made it quiet and restful. We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Minnesota
5

Denise from Minnesota

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I loved staying at this property, and will most likely do so in the future. The apartment was clean, well equipped, both beds very comfortable. It is also quieter than any place I have stayed in Manhattan. Minnette was very helpful and responsive, the bagels and coffee were most appreciated! If you really want the feeling of living in a neighborhood, this is for you. Great food at Marlow's and Diner, and lots of other places a short walk away. A short walk to the subway into Manhattan, and a nice park less than a mile away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Madison, WI
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We stayed in this townhouse for 4 nights in December 2011. When the cab from the airport dropped us at the front door, and we worried from the exterior view if the apartment would be very nice. Once inside the front door, our impression shifted 180 degrees. The townhouse exceeded our expectation with an extremely clean and attractive entry/hallway, beautifully decorated apartment (two non-working fireplaces, hardwood floors, nicely furnished), quality linens (Ralph Lauren) on the very comfortable bed, very quiet building, plenty of space for two people, sun-filled large kitchen outfitted with everything we wanted including a nice table to eat at, flowerbox outside of the bathroom window, bagels in the freezer, shelves holding maps, umbrella, board games, everything you might want or need on your visit to Brooklyn. The apartment is located just a few blocks from Bedford Street which has small shops (cheese shop, Oslo coffee shop, wine shop, groceries, etc) and very near the subway to Manhattan. The owner's suggestion for breakfast at Marlow is a great recommendation - we loved it. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to New York. Thank you, Minette, for a wonderful stay in your lovely townhouse!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a Williamsburg - Southside tradition - we tend to keep the light of our hospitality shining more on the INSIDE! (The outside can look a little "old school" - but that's why they make so many movies around here!) Please do come back - you are always welcome!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Sacramento, Ca. USA
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Stayed in Minnette's apartment and found it an enjoyable and pleasurable experience. Close to everything, including the best dining in NYC. Just across the bridge from Manhattan and an easy walk, cab or subway ride. Williamsburg is an up and coming area with many young people out and about in the numerous bars and restaurants. Minnette is helpful, warm and friendly and a wealth of information on the local scene. The apartment is excellent and spacious with all the amenities one needs for a stay in New York. Everything in the listing was reflected in the Property. It was clean and well maintained and I would recommend it to anyone interested in a nice place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy when we can open the house to invite friends, old and new, to enjoy this great area as we do, and our efforts result in a great experience for our guests. Thanks for choosing our place to stay - you were a great guest and are always welcome here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Apartment is really nice and clean...

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
I had a nice stay at Minnette's place on the south side of Williamsburg. The location is great (only minutes away from great restaurants and a short walk to the Bedford area with shops, cafes, bars etc) and the apartment is really nice and clean. Also you have access to a very nice back yard. Minnette is nice and easy to get along with. All in all a pleasant experience.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Quiet, relaxing place to stay

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We enjoyed staying in this spacious, clean and convenient apartment. We were greeted pleasantly by Minnette and given all the information we needed. The apartment is in a lively part of Brooklyn just by the Williamsburg Bridge yet it is a quiet, relaxing place to stay. We would definitely recommend visitors to New York to stay here.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

5 Stars - Good Value

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Owner very welcoming. She also left bagels, coffee, tea for breakfast. Very spacious and comfortable apartment and very convenient to some of the best restaurants in Williamsburg. Good value for money. Gorgeous garden out back.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Garden - Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320337vb
Brooklyn New York City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Beautiful, comfortable apartment. Perfect for our needs. We turned thew fireplace on - I* had a few performances in Manhattan and my son and Mother were comfortable here, too. Would definitely return. Great hostess, too! Thanks, Minnette. Thanks also for keeping the place so clean!
Helpful votes: 1/1