Galveston house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Galveston House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This beautiful privately owned beach home is ideal for family get-togethers or a reunion of old friends. The house has a large 'beach facing' deck (with both covered & uncovered areas) to catch the summer breezes & watch the waves. The large yard is great for playing games, water slides & picnicking. The kitchen is fully equipped, allowing you to cook, grill or go out to the strand for dinner.

The house is just 150 yards from the beach (a 2 minute walk) with great views from the kitchen, deck & master bedroom. It is located in the prestigious Pirates' Beach area where the beaches are private and well groomed. Home includes all the creature comforts including gas grill, outdoor shower, patio furniture, large flat screen TV with DVD & cable in bedrooms & den. It's a great location for a beach vacation. Only a 10 minute drive to Schlitterbahn & Moody Gardens. This is a non-smoking vacation home and we do not rent to persons under the age of 28.

Weekly rentals only from 6/4 - 8/20.

Keywords: Beach house

More Details
Hide Details

I was born & raised in Houston, Texas. I purchased my Galveston home as a relaxing getaway for myself & family. I have stocked & decorated it as an 'upscale but relaxed' weekend getaway. It is such a beautiful home & perfect refuge for enjoying the sea breezes & beach fun that I decided to share it with caring tenants. Come enjoy a break from the city heat, traffic & stress. You will feel your blood pressure drop when you step out of the car!

Nancy purchased this house in 2010

My beach house is newly renovated & located in the prestigous Pirate's Beach community, (Galveston's premier area for vacation homes) where the beaches are private and well maintained. It's the best beach in Galveston, and vacationer's & families love this area of Galveston. Pirates' Beach is 8 minutes from Moody Gardens & Schlitterbahn. It's the perfect location giving you quick access to the Strand & various attractions without the seawall crowds. You actually FEEL like you are on an island when you're in the Pirates Beach community.

This home includes access to the Galveston Country club for golf, tennis, swimming pool & dining room privileges. It's only 150 yds to the beach, and the large yard is great for games & picnicing. Enjoy a day at the beach, grilling shrimp on the BBQ and having a glass of wine on the deck, relaxing in the gulf breeze or a round of golf at the country club followed by a snooze in the hammock.

23 Reviews of Property 303088 in Galveston, Texas

Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston
5

A delightful beach house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This gem of a home is beautifully decorated, with fabulous appliances and amenities, gorgeous views, and an easy walk to the beach!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston
5

Shangri-La

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just got home from Shangri-La, and wanted to let you know how sad we were to leave! Your home is well decorated, well equipped, and quite clean. The full shade on the porch throughout the day was honestly our favorite feature, and one that we didn't notice on many other houses. Loved the neighborhood, but enjoyed the beach so much, we never took advantage of the club passes! Thanks again for telling me about this special place. We'd definitely recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Tyler, TX
5

Wonderful mini-vacation, enjoyed by all ages!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your wonderful beach home! It was welcoming from the very start, and we liked it even more as time wore on. None of us wanted to leave, we all wanted another day or two, and that's said to be the sure sign of a wonderful vacation!

We genuinely enjoyed the stay and would most definitely consider staying there again. Everything was as expected, actually it was better than expected. The pictures were nice, but they definitely don't do it justice. I love the way you have it all decorated. It's so light, open, clean, and homey-feeling. We are even considering a copy-cat paint job with your aqua color for the den walls of our lake cabin. It grew on us so much, has a calming effect, all decorations blend well with it, and looks great in just about every light.

Everything we needed (and then some) was easily accessible, and the very short walk to the beach was most convenient. The convenience store is also very close, for any random items we thought of.

One of the favorite features enjoyed by all was the wrap-around deck. There was a constant breeze while we were there, and to see the water while reading, eating, visiting, even playing Legos or Barbies was most relaxing. It's wonderful that so much of it is covered, yet part of it is open for those who may desire the direct sun.

Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Tyler, Tx.
4

Beach Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Thanks for a Great Retreat. Even though the weather was up & down! Great view of the ocean and quick walk to beach. The house had everything we needed. Comfy beds and linens! Thanks again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Lubbock, Tx.
5

Adventure seeker

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We enjoyed the Shangri La beach house. The view from the 2nd floor deck was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this beach to my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Waxahachie, TX
5

Family Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This lovely, spotless home on stilts is located in a quiet neighborhood only a block from a nice sandy beach. The three bedrooms are large with very comfortable beds; the living room and kitchen area are open, making the house roomy. The kitchen is well-equipped; the dishes and utensils are easy to find. The large kitchen table is wonderful for a family feast; but the beautiful wrap-around deck on the second floor is the jewel in the perfect setting. The chairs are comfortable for watching the stars sparkle above, or for watching the soft white clouds slowly moving across an azure sky. This is the house for a truly memorable occasion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Dallas
5

Beautiful and well stocked beach home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This beach house is wonderful: beautiful decorated, very comfortable, well located, and completely stocked. We had everything we needed, and we were a 3 minute walk from the beach. The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet and the beach seemed semi-private, only for people in the community, so it was not overly packed - great for families with small children. The owner is easily accessible and helpful. She has thought of everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Katy Texas
5

Don-Grandfather

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a great time at this lovely home. The home met up to all that it was billed to be. My wife was especially impressed with how clean and neat everything was. The beds were very comfortable and the AC worked great. The beach was close and the kids and adults had tons of fun with the waves. The General Store was close and had a good assortment of what we needed. We made a couple of trips to the Strand which cost me a little bit, but it made my wife happy! Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer. We would recommend this home to anyone and hope to return again ourselfs.

P.S. We used the bar b q grill twice successfully, but I think it may need new burners soon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad Don (Grandfather) enjoyed my home, and advised me that the grill may need new burners. I have just purchased a new stainless BBQ grill to replace the current one and I look forward to my guests having great grilled dinners on the spacious deck or inside. I also really appreciate kind guests like Don that help me keep my home & its amenities in top condition! It makes my job so much easier. :)
Nancy
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Liberty Hill, TX
5

Annual Mother/Daughter Get Together 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What an awesome mother/daughter gathering. This beach home is the ultimate. Felt like home and was exceptionally clean. Our daughters loved laying out on the beach. Everything has changed so much since my days on Galveston Beach in the late 60's. It felt great to be home again. Hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great House, Great Views! 'Shangri La'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303088vb
+1 7134291250
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston
5

Happy Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family had a wonderful Mother's Day weekend at Shangri La. The house is comfortably and tastefully decorated and many little details make it feel just like home. The beds are very comfortable, kitchen very well stocked and home is in excellent condition. It was also very clean. The views are perfect as is the close proximity to the beach! We can't wait to return again next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2