West Saugerties house rental - Front of House with View of Sunroom and Garden
Front of House with View of Sunroom and Garden
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

West Saugerties House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Wake up to birds singing, leaves rustling, and green all around you on a perfect country road located between Woodstock and Saugerties. Close to HITS! Gorgeous leafscape in the fall, dazzling white snow on pine trees in the winter. Property has hundreds of trees on 2+ acres, with landscaped garden, good-sized lawn, and rock outcroppings. Private but not isolated. Custom sunroom with AC and exercise equipment (stationary bike, yoga mat, medicine ball, weights). Bluestone patio with chaise lounges for lounging in nice weather, bluestone fireplace built from stones on the property for snuggling in winter and fall.

Comfortable furnishings, including mid-century modern pieces. Esquire magazine did a photo shoot there in December 2011.

3 bedrooms, including master bedroom suite with terrace. 1 ½ baths (upstairs is spa bath with Jacuzzi), custom terra-cotta tiled kitchen with dishwasher, toaster oven, microwave, washer/dryer. TV/DVD, high-speed Internet and Wi-fi. Woodstock Land Conservancy Nature Trail down the road, 'Big Pink' of Bob Dylan fame just a 5 minute walk away. House offers a very serene environment and beautiful views (seasonal mountain views from downstairs). It is perfect for relaxing, writing, meditating, regenerating, but is just a 10 minute drive from the shops and restaurants of both Woodstock and Saugerties.

All interior photography by Phil Mansfield Photography.

Keywords: 3 Bedroom House on 2 Wooded Acres

More Details
Hide Details

I am a writer and professor in New York City. I love my home in the woods and would love to share it with others. It is the perfect blend of relaxation and stimulation - it is private but not isolated and close to two towns (Woodstock and Saugerties). It is great for solitude and writing but also a fun place for families - and a romantic retreat in all seasons.

Bruce Stalnaker purchased this house in 2005

I love the rustic feel of this area, my property has 'outcroppings' that can be explored and hiked, and there is a wonderful hiking trail run by the Woodstock Land Conservancy just down the road. And yet there are also great restaurants, shops, bookstores, so you have nature and fun at the same time.

My house has a wonderful serene energy, both inside and throughout the property. Whether you sit on the bluestone patio, or in front of the bluestone fireplace, or in bed drinking coffee or tea and looking at the trees, you feel a sense of calm. It is the perfect getaway.

7 Reviews of Property 319194 in West Saugerties, New York

Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife and I with our two adult sons and one girlfriend visited Serenity in the Woods for our second time. Although the weather was spotty at times we managed to get some serious hiking during the day and plenty of relaxing around the beautiful fireplace at night. The house has everything you could want or need, including a brand new water heater that never quits making hot water. The house is laid out nicely for 5-6 people with a big dining room for those eat at home days. Again, the kitchen is well equipped. There is a picturesque sun room to just sit and enjoy the natural setting of the house from the comfort of a couch. The owner has a local property manager who will gladly provide as much help as you may need, not that you'll need much, but it's nice that he is available.
The quaint town of Saugerties is ten minutes by car and has many interesting little shops but one place stands out for our family and that's Dutch's Ale House. Uncommonly good pub food and a great selection of beer - great after a hike.
Oh yea, the hike down the block, the Allen Sloan Gorge trail, is a great 1-1.5 hour hike that provides a lot of interesting geologic stops along the way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
4

wonderful, cute house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
6 of us rented serenity for a weekend bachelorette party. we fell in love the moment we stepped foot into the house. there was a nice woodsy country aroma in the atmosphere. we absolutely loved the sun/exercise room. while at serenity, we took advantage of the nature trail close by (we walked there without even driving our car). house felt quiet and secluded but was a close drive into town. on our last morning, all of us wished we had more time to spend in the house. if we ever come back to saugerties, we'll definitely stay at serenity again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
Cape Cod, MA
5

Relaxing Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Stayed at this beautiful house in the woods during our daughter's graduation from Bard College. The house is in a quiet, peaceful area, but is only a ten minute drive to the downtown area of Saugerties. There are nice shops, restaurants and "Beer Universe!" The weather didn't cooperate (cold and rainy at the end of May!), but we enjoyed a fire in the gorgeous fireplace and the views of the woods out the large windows. Plenty of room for everyone. Would definitely recommend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
United States
5

Wonderful, refreshing break from city life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife, 3 year old daughter and I just returned from our stay. In short, we had an amazing time. The house was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. We felt relaxed immediately upon arriving. Although we only stayed for three nights and four days, we felt like we'd been gone for two weeks. Ruth, the owner, was extremely responsive - usually within 5 minutes! - throughout the process and offered great guidance on local, kid-friendly activities. There is an absolutely beautiful, easy hike only about a mile down the road and tons of family activities and restaurants in both Saugerties and Woodstock. I would absolutely recommend staying there. It's a perfect, relaxing break from NYC.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
New York, NY
5

The Perfect Escape from NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I decided to treat my husband to a weekend at Serenity in the Woods for his birthday. I invited five of our closest friends to join us. I can't imagine a more relaxing, rejuvenating, and peaceful getaway from the pressures of life in NYC. During our visit, Saugerties was a winter wonderland with over two feet of snow outside. We brought snowshoes and planned to do a lot of outdoor activities, but ended up using the snow shoes only to bring more wood in from the endless supply in the woodshed outside. The house is beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. We did a lot of our own cooking and the kitchen had all the appliances and things we needed. We also appreciated the "extras" that made the house feel like a special getaway: the balcony off the second floor master bedroom with beautiful view, the luxurious shower/jacuzzi, the sun room with exercise bike and yoga mat. The wooded area around the house is so calming and inviting. We loved our short walk to Big Pink - it makes perfect sense that Bob Dylan would choose this neighborhood to write music. Ruth, the owner of the property, was a pleasure to work with. She was continually accessible and accommodating to our special requests. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
ny
5

New Year´s Eve

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Amazing! My family and I (total 8) had a fantastic time. I will recommend it to everyone and probably go back in the future to get away from the city. Beside all Ruth is a very helpfull person.

Do not hesitate
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Serenity in the Woods: Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319194vbi
West Saugerties Catskills
Sudbury, Ontario
5

Beautiful, quiet retreat in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
A friend and I were down from Northern Ontario to attend the Dutchess Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. Although we didn't end up spending a lot of time at the house, we did find that it had everything we needed, and more. We spent some time knitting in front of the fireplace (although we kept it unlit because of my asthma, it apparently does work).

Our hostess was wonderful and answered all of our questions. She even provided information on local delights.

This place is perfect for a single family, a couple on a romantic getaway, or a week-end with the girls. I would absolutely stay here again in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends or family. Thanks again to our hostess for a wonderful stay in the Saugerties-Woodstock area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1