Sheffield house rental - House Exterior
House Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sheffield House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Rustic yet comfortable Berkshires getaway. Turn of the century post and beam farmhouse, tastefully updated with chef's kitchen. This fabulous property sits 15 feet from a seasonal brook and far back from a country road. Close to all Berkshire attractions (8 miles from downtown Great Barrington), yet peaceful quiet and decidedly rural. The perfect house in the country.

Keywords: Farm House

8 Reviews of Property 65182 in Sheffield, Massachusetts

Ford Hill Farm
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
New York City
5

Thanksgiving in an Ideal Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My friends and i were lucky enough to stay in this amazing house over thanksgiving. the kitchen and dining area was PERFECT for thanksgiving.

the rest of the house is amazing. we kept the fire going, swung on the swing out front, sat in the back patio listening to the adorable brook, collected fresh eggs from the fanciest little chickens and slept soundly in comfortable bedrooms. don't steal our idea next year, because we want this house again!

thank you Martin. Your property is stunning. and Brian hope you enjoyed the pie we left for you. Sorry there wasn't more....but guess we underestimated the amount of pie we could eat.

Shawn, Kara & Lara
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
Philadelphia, PA
2

Good access to summer venues; accommodations not up to snuff

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Adjacent to a seasonal stream with biking and hiking trails nearby, this home is perfectly located. It has comfortable beds, plenty of towels and hot water. Nevertheless, we kept wondering during our two week visit, if we were staying in the same home that other reviewers described.
We are really not fussy, but we expected the house to be more comfortable and clean. The photographs give the impression of an elegant country cottage. The great room (combined kitchen, dining room and sitting area) is dark and uncomfortable, more shabby than chic. There was a layer of grime throughout the house, especially in the kitchen and an accumulation of dead bugs in the shade over the dining room table and in the upstairs bathroom ceiling light.
There are no doormats so when it rains you could not wipe the mud off your shoes. Even on dry days, we were tracking debris inside the living area.
The master bedroom lacks any shades on the windows or skylights making it impossible to sleep in. Neither bedroom had trashcans and neither bathroom had bathmats. A raggedy chair in one bedroom, poor lighting, no teaspoons or bowls. Little things, true, but a home at this price point, one expects the basics.
Most disconcerting was the lack of instructions for any appliances (very unusual for VRBO). The brief information sheet we were sent via e-mail had an incorrect phone number for the caretaker. Evidently, it had been wrong throughout the summer. Fortunately, we had sorted this out by the time the house fire alarm went off for no apparent reason at 3 am.. Again, no instructions on how to turn off the alarm.
Equally frustrating was the misinformation provided regarding the computer modem's location. A well-known lack of cell service in the Berkshires requires that one rely on the Internet to check activities in the area, make restaurant reservations, etc. The modem went down during a power outage on a Friday when the caretaker was out of town for the weekend. The information sheet we received indicated that the modem was locked in the caretaker’s barn where we couldn’t access it. We spent a long weekend blind until the caretaker returned. He informed us that the modem had been moved inside our house a year earlier, relocated to an obscure location (inside the pie chest), where we could have easily reset it ourselves had we known.
We have been staying at VRBOs for 10 years (see our other reviews). Unfortunately, our stay here was the only real disappointment we have experienced.
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for this review. It has been most helpful, if for nothing else than to clarify exactly what potential guests considering our property can expect. Firstly, this is not a suburban house. Nor is it a modern facsimile of an antique farmhouse. It is, in fact, an antique, and aside from the addition of some modern mechanicals and a chef’s kitchen, it has remained as such. We’ve purposely kept the hand-hewn beams exposed. The home’s foundation is built on stones gathered from the land. And the fireplace was built by the matriarch of the farm family that lived here in the 1940s. Any additions we’ve made have been carefully considered to enhance what makes this place truly special. Original Emco Navy chairs (not reproductions) are in the kitchen. An Eames lamp hangs over the dining table. The other lamp in question that throws off the purported “poor light” is an Adrian Pearsall original. True, there are no rubber bathmats or trashcans in the bedrooms, and we must say, after reading your review, we thought about adding them. But then quickly thought better of it. We’d prefer the property to retain an aesthetic that both we and other guests who share our appreciation for simple and well done can enjoy. For our appreciative guests, this property serves as a valuable counterpoint to their day-to-day. This is not to say that I am not deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. And I sincerely apologize for the incorrect information in the information packet. However, I cannot speak to all of your criticisms because in truth I find many of them baffling. For instance, there are plenty of bowls and teaspoons in the house, and while there may have been a moth in a light-bulb or a cobweb between the screen and the window, cleanliness has never been a criticism we’ve received in the past. And oh yes, by the way, the “rickety” chair in the second bedroom is a Smilow and Trielle original. True it has yet to be fully refurbished, but the fact that you would point it out as a negative feature only underscores the fact that this house, while cherished by some, is not for everyone.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
Maplewood, New Jersey
5

The Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I found Martin's wonderful house a few years ago while visiting friends in Great Barrington. We are great lovers of the Tanglewood Concerts and were looking for a country retreat, close to Lenox with a "good kitchen," Much to our great pleasure Ford Hill Farm was (and is) the perfect place. The bedrooms are airy and simply arranged--the master has a beamed ceiling and white linens, and the public rooms downstairs are just right. Comfortable chairs and sofas, a good music system, wonderful fireplace and an incredibly well-laid out kitchen complete the picture. The bonus is having breakfast on the terrace and listening to the brook. Occasionally, one might be joined by the two beautiful chickens who live across the brook who show up for a bit of toast. We were there for two glorious weeks and it was very hard to leave. Martin is a man of great taste and kindness, who shares his beautiful home with apparent ease. Everything is immaculate. The feeling is totally laid back and casually arranged with an art director's eye. We are planning to will be back there again this Summer. It feels like home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
Leominster MA
5

We like to pretend we live here.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I rented Ford Hill Farm looking for a retreat - and that is exactly what we found. Lovely, comfortable and very well appointed, we immediately felt at home and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The property is convenient to lots of hiking, kayaking, swimming, shopping and dining - but the grounds made us feel worlds apart from anyone else. The kitchen is a joy to cook in and the decor of the house is very pleasing.

We have been searching for a place that we can revisit and make part of the traditions in our family and we have found it. Thank you to Martin - we look forward to returning as often as we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
New York, NY
5

a rustic gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I’m a repeat renter (going back this summer for my third stay), and this property is a real gem. It’s only a mile or so off Route 7, but its immediate setting seems isolated and calmingly rural, with its babbling brook and surrounding fields and woods. The kitchen has all the comforts of home, but in a rustic setting that’s a world apart. There is comfort in the fact that the caretakers are just across the brook, but there’s little need to call on them, or on Martin, who nevertheless is always welcoming, responsive, and easy to deal with.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
New York, NY
5

A perfect country house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This is a great property - a wonderfully old house with very modern amenities, situated in a quiet, wooded area that is still close to town. Martin is a helpful and accommodating owner with lots of local knowledge; it’s a pleasure working with him. We'll be returning to Ford Hill Farm!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
Philadelphia, PA
5

You couldn't find a more charming, beautiful place in the Berkshires!

You couldn't find a more charming, beautiful place in the Berkshires!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
My boyfriend and I went with another couple on a weekend getaway and couldn't have been more pleased. The pictures don't do the house justice. The house is impeccably designed (who knew country contemporary was such a hit!) and each room felt more beautiful and homey than the next. There was a large supply of fresh fire wood, a Chef's kitchen with Viking range, and comfortable couches and chairs to keep us happy and content indoors. Right outside the door was a seasonal brooke and expansive woods perfect for hiking, skiing and Great Barrington were only a short drive away. I have definitely mentioned this house specifically to friends, as a top recommendation, and hope to return one day soon. You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ford Hill Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65182vb
(914) 238-7143
Sheffield Berkshires
Saudi Arabia
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My family and I had the pleasure at staying at Martin's house last Thanksgiving. Having been former New Englander's now finding ourselves in Saudi Arabia we were yearning for a traditional holiday and that is exactly what we had. The pictures do not do this beautiful house justice. It is picture perfect. We did have a minor plumbing problem during our stay (admittedly all my own doing) but Martin could not have been more responsive or helpful. A wonderful host. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very fond memories for our family."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1