Hartland chalet rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Hartland Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This lakefront, chalet-style home is located on the shores of Great Moose Lake in Hartland, Maine. Great Moose Lake covers 3500 acres and is a popular destination for those looking to find a quieter off-the-beaten-path place to vacation. The home is located on Great Moose Lake's huge northeast cove, providing easy access to the main body of water but not as busy to boating traffic.

Located just over three hours north of Boston, this home is ideally situated for spring, summer and autumn vacations. There is 125 feet of very private rocky/sandy frontage on the lake with a 25 foot dock to access the water from. The frontage itself is deep water with a small sandy access area for smaller kids and deep-water from the end of the dock. There is a public boat launch available, however, if you can lift your boat, you can back your small boat right up to waters edge and launch from this homes waterfront.

On Great Moose Lake, you will enjoy swimming, boating, windsurfing, water-skiing, tubing, sunning, fishing, or simply cruising around the lake exploring all this lake has to offer. New this year is a huge floating dock and swim float, the perfect place to spend a lazy summer day soaking up the sun. Also on sight is a 6 man outdoor hottub. If you do not have your own boat, I do have an 18' pontoon boat for rent (click on the link for my web site below for details). Fishing is open year round and you can expect to catch Brown trout, large & small mouth bass, white and yellow perch and Brookies in the tributaries.

For the autumn vacationers, October holds some of the most beautiful foliage outside of the white mountains you'll ever see and November on Great Moose Lake is a hunter's paradise. There have been several good sized bucks taken over the years by the hunters who have stayed at the house.

The interior of the home is simply beautiful. Most of the interior was custom built in knotty pine and the hardwood maple floors simply light up the home. There is an open and airy loft overlooking the living room with huge glass windows overlooking the deck and lake. The finished basement holds the fourth bedroom and has sliders directly facing the lake. The fully-equipped kitchen is available for your home cooked meals. A washer and dryer are also provided. The first floor master bath is full sized and the upstairs bath is a 3/4 bath. The home has approximately 2600 square feet of living space. There is a full-size soft and fluffy futon in the loft, so if you are the kind of person who likes to wake up to an expansive view of a pristine Maine lake, then you will want to claim that as your bed!

Nearby you will find restaurants and golf courses, as well as a guide service which will cater to your needs, be it fishing, photography or simply exploring. If you love good microbrewed beer, be sure to ask about the Oak Pond breweries tour.

Please note, dogs are welcome with one exception, they must be quiet, i.e. no perpetual barkers. Folks who live and vacation on Great Moose Lake do so for the peaceful serenity of the area, so please respect that. If you have any questions regarding this policy please don't hesitate to contact me.

In-season (May-Nov) housekeeping is provided prior to your arrival along with sheets and towels. While I am open to discussions regarding off season long term (2+weeks) rentals, I have no set policy. I typically shut the house down for the winter in December, but would keep it open for a longer term rental.

Keywords: Chalet

More Details
Hide Details

Hi! I hope you've enjoyed reading all about this vacation home and all it has to offer. I hope at this point, you have come to the realization that if you choose to rent my home, that I want you to have a great time! I want to be as perfectly honest about what the home has to offer... no trick photography, no sweeping imperfections under the rug, no deception. Just like you, I'm a consumer and I abhor those who are not honest and upfront about their product. I'm sure you can tell by reading the reviews of this house, there have been several years of very happy visitors. I realize that picking a place to vacation with your precious one or two weeks of vacation a year is a nerve wracking process, I will do everything in my power to help you decide. I've had 100% occupancy from June-October for 10 years now, so I have no problem filling vacancies, my motivation is to make sure that this home is well suited to your needs.

John Lanoue purchased this chalet in 2003

I fell in love with Maine in 2001 when I had the good fortune of being invited up to my friend Greg's lakefront log cabin which could be described as 'in the middle of nowhere'. Shortly after visiting his place, I bought a small camp on a local pond for my family. After vacationing as frequently as I could at the family camp, I ran across the house you're looking at now and decided to buy it, I've never regretted doing so and I've thoroughly enjoyed the new guests, the returning guests, and the guests I've yet to meet!

A good friend of mine who stayed at the house, Jacqui Loring, best described this house with the following words... 'it's in the middle of nowhere, but has all the ameneties of home... wait, it's actually better than my home!'. I pride myself on providing a turnkey vacation, everything you need to enjoy your stay should be there at Great Moose Lake house, and if it's not, I'll do my best to provide it.

43 Reviews of Property 55814 in Hartland, Maine

Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
average rating of 5.0 based on 43 reviews
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A perfect vacation! The house, the lake, the yard, everything! We had such a wonderful time. Every day we had ambitious ideas of things we were going to do. We started most days sitting on the deck and then rarely moved! My husband and I both have busy stressful jobs so it was nice just to have some down time. I loved going down to the lake in the morning and watching the loons through the mist and listening to their beautiful sound. My husband fished off the pier and caught 2 small mouth bass. Went to Oak Pond Brewery and got 2 Growlers....Yummy! Ate lunch at Netties in Hartland and at Sunrise in St. Albans both were good. Went to a few little antique places. The people are wonderful. We can't wait to go back and stay in the summer so our nieces and nephews can come. They would love it! There's so much for the kids to do. Thank you to John and everyone who cares for this house. It's so welcoming and warm. We didn't want to leave :(
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Hudson, NH
5

Vacation year 4 at Lakeside Chalet in Hartland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We went for the fourth year in a row to this lovely chalet in Hartland. We vacation annually with our daughter, her husband and their three children. Every year, it gets better. The accommodations are so comfortable and the surrounding area just beautiful. We love the hot tub and paddleboat and especially enjoy the sunsets out on the lake on the boat, which are absolutely beautiful. I love to cook and had everything to work with in the kitchen, which is especially nice as the kitchen has a great view of the lake. We did a lot of our shopping at the local Moose Lake Shurfine Market, which had great sale items. We had breakfast one morning at Nettie's Restaurant. It was delicious and the staff was wonderful. I highly recommend this local eatery, which is meticulously maintained. Next year, I would like to acquaint myself with the intown leather outlet. I hear they have some beautiful pocketbooks... I love this vacation and look forward to it annually. We treasure this time together, having coffee in the a.m. on the deck, fishing in the pristine lake, watching the kids enjoy each other, playing games in the evening, cooking marshmallows and enjoying a camp fire each night, and just enjoying each other's company. Life doesn't get better. The gazebo is great and was a nice place to read a book, meditate, or take a little nap. The new TV is wonderful and I think there must be a million channels to watch! I am always sad to leave this paradise but look forward to returning the next year. Additionally, John is very caring and checks in during the week to make sure all is fine and inquires if anything is needed. This is special to say the least.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
SC
5

Getting ready for our 4th visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We are a family from SC who has made the trip to Hartland for four years in a row. For the second year in a row we are now renting for two weeks instead of one. Our family loves, loves, loves our time at the lake house. John is an exemplary host, and bends over backwards to make your time memorable. We've never had any complaints about anything... beds, towels, amenities, etc.... EVERYTHING you need is there. We've grown to call Hartland our second home. We enjoy and CRAVE the quiet that the house brings. Waking up in the morning and it's just you, a cup of coffee, your camera and a loon swimming quietly. At night, stars everywhere! and the same loon, that you can't see, but can hear the call coming across the lake. There's nothing like it. Walks on the trails- exploring in the woods. Oh, and Netties! You must go and get the steak bomb...and the french toast... and a trip to the local library. (I just need to move there someday ! Look-we make the trip from SC to ME with SIX KIDS every year-take my word for it, this place is worth it! Who needs Hilton Head? We have Hartland and John!
...now, if I can only figure out how to get the hubbie to let us stay longer...... ! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Pompton Lakes, NJ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Sept 12th = 19th 2009
In the 8 years we have stayed in Maine none can come close to the truthfullness of this house. Clean and COMFORTABLE HOME!!!! Lots of room to move about and lots of privacy, one home next door but far enough away. We had a great week every night was a star night and from the hot tub you can see the stars. Oh one more thing the grill is star quality! Thank you John for a nice week, our dogs are still recovering.... GREAT HOUSE GREAT VACATION!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Jackson, NJ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My family and I stayed at Great Moose Lake house
for a week in July. We had an amazing time. The
house was very comfortable and the view was just
amazing. There were tons of amenities for us to
enjoy such as the kayaks, paddle boat, gazebo, hot
tub, boat and fishing poles and a fully stocked
kitchen. We took a couple day trips out to Acadia
Nat'l Park which was beautiful. This was my first
time in Maine and I would definitely return as it is
truly a gorgeous state. Thank you John, for
providing such a gorgeous house for us to enjoy a
week of fun and relaxation.
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Dracut, MA USA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We just returned from one of the best vacations ever! We spent the last week with our daughter and her family vacationing at Great Moose Lake and we couldn't have had more fun. The home was spacious and well furnished and its setting on the lake was absolutely spectacular. Our daughter and son-in-law along with the kids (our grandkids) enjoyed fishing (first time for the kids and our daughter - they caught quite a few fish - very exciting), kayaking, canoeing, the hot tub and diving off the raft. We (my wife and I) enjoyed the plontoon boat, the gazebo, the deck, as well as paddleboating and canoeing. There was something for every age to enjoy. In the evening we enjoyed board games, (really great family time) and watching the movies (provided at the home) plus the Direct TV. We looked forward each morning to sitting on the deck and enjoying a cup of morning coffee with our daughter and son-in-law. It was so peaceful and serene. The sun rises over the lake and it is a sight to behold, as is the night sky with the stars and planets all aglow. We had a wonderful time to say the least and we look forward to coming again. This was truly a wonderful experience. Thank you.

P.S. We had a couple of questions and one request and Gary was wonderful.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Milford, NH
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
I tell ya, following that dirt road around Moose Lake, the anticipation grew and grew. When we finally approached the house, WOW…..absolutely gorgeous home and surroundings. Usually when you view a vacation home on the internet, you see only the prime area’s and key attractions of the property. But what they don’t normally show you are the few unmentioned faults or disappointments. Not here. John has done a superb job on the website to give a preview, but pictures cannot describe the entire ambiance. I can guarantee you that when you walk through the door for the fist time and proceed through the house and continue out onto the front deck, you’ll be amazed. After settling in, we only needed to leave to pick up more gas for the boat and jet ski. I normally try to sleep a little later on the weekends and vacation (although it is tough with 4 children) but found myself crawling out of bed hours earlier than the norm to sit on the deck and just enjoy the views. I grew up in the city, so this was not a common site for me. My four children had an absolute blast……not once did I hear the words “I’m board”!! We were able to get some incredible photos from the week that we will cherish forever, and even used a few in our Christmas card. Great fun and memories to share for a lifetime, isn’t that what it’s all about? Thanks for everything John.
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Milford, NH
5

Guestbook Comment

I tell ya, following that dirt road around Moose Lake, the anticipation grew and grew. When we finally approached the house, WOW…..absolutely gorgeous...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
I tell ya, following that dirt road around Moose Lake, the anticipation grew and grew. When we finally approached the house, WOW…..absolutely gorgeous home and surroundings.
Usually when you view a vacation home on the internet, you see only the prime area’s and key attractions of the property. But what they don’t normally show you are the few unmentioned faults or disappointments. Not here. John has done a superb job on the website to give a preview, but pictures cannot describe the entire ambiance. I can guarantee you that when you walk through the door for the fist time and proceed through the house and continue out onto the front deck, you’ll be amazed. After settling in, we only needed to leave to pick up more gas for the boat and jet ski. I normally try to sleep a little later on the weekends and vacation (although it is tough with 4 children) but found myself crawling out of bed hours earlier than the norm to sit on the deck and just enjoy the views. I grew up in the city, so this was not a common site for me. My four children had an absolute blast……not once did I hear the words “I’m board”!! We were able to get some incredible photos from the week that we will cherish forever, and even used a few in our Christmas card. Great fun and memories to share for a lifetime, isn’t that what it’s all about? Thanks for everything John.
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
SC
5

Guestbook Comment

We LOOOOOVE! coming to Hartland and staying in John's house. We will be returning for our THIRD year this coming September. We have a large famil...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We LOOOOOVE! coming to Hartland and staying in John's house. We will be returning for our THIRD year this coming September. We have a large family, and the house accomodates us perfectly. There are tons of amenities at the house. Gazebo (my favorite) the one man kayak (well, my other favorite) a two man kayak, a canoe, great sound system, very well stocked kitchen, beautiful grounds, chairs, swing, bbq, sheets, GREAT blankets, GREAT pillows, GREAT mattresses....I could go on and on. We love to walk, hike, get out on the lake, hear the loons (nothing comparable...we imitate them all year long!) go to the fun little grocery store for a great cup of coffee, talk to Gary the great neighbor...I could go on and on. You must believe that this is a great deal, a great vacation, and a great landlord OR would we drive with six kids all the way from South Carolina to do it?? :) I will close with saying that John not only provides and shares his awesome home, but he has proven to be a friend to us as well. He shared prayer with us this last year when one of our daughters was deathly ill in a PICU...this guy is just tops. Book now! You will not regret it! (I can't wait till September!!!!) Thanks John! Your devoted Maine groupies.... Denise H. for the family :)
business
Private Lakefront Getaway With Outdoor Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55814vb
(603) 557-0856 (New Hampshire, USA)
Hartland Great Moose Lake
Billerica, MA
5

Guestbook Comment

This is a beautiful place. The only downside staying there was my wife asking "Why can't our place be this nice?" And yes, we're r...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
This is a beautiful place. The only downside staying there was my wife asking "Why can't our place be this nice?" And yes, we're repeat customers.

If you like scenic, quiet, and comfy, this is an excellent choice. John is a great guy to deal with too.