Saugatuck / Douglas cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Saugatuck / Douglas Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

Butterfly Cottage is a truly unique cottage located in the Historic district of Saugatuck. Casual cottage styling mixed with colorful spaces, this cottage makes for a comfortable stay in Saugatuck. This quaint cottage will accommodate 8 or 9 people comfortably.

The main house has two bedrooms; one with a queen sized bed and the other with a full. The bungalow, just steps away in the backyard, serves as the third bedroom and has heat and air conditioning. The bungalow has a queen size bed and also bunk beds. The bungalow has a full bath that was added in 2011.

Located in the heart of the village district, plan on walking to all the in-town locations. The river is just a few hundred feet away with shops, restaurants and parks located within a 3-10 minute walk. If you are familiar with Saugatuck, Butterfly cottage is a stone's throw from the public boat launch, Gleason's market and Ida Reds.

We are happy to be one of the few places to welcome well mannered pets in our cottage. An added plus, the back yard is fully fenced.

Our home was fully booked all but 2 nights during the summer season this year. We are beginning to fill up for 2012, so please contact us early if your dates are limited. During June, July and August, we try to limit ( with some flexibility ) our rental periods to full weeks running Saturday to Saturday.

Keywords: Saugatuck, Cottage, Home, Bungalow, Downtown, Village, Town, River, Cute, Lake ,Michigan, Douglas, rental, vacation, Holland, South Haven, Oval Beach

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased Butterfly Cottage in 1999 as a weekend getaway. Saugatuck is such a unique community,with a lot to offer. We enjoyed our weekends in Saugatuck so much, we sold our house in Kalamazoo and moved out to Butterfly Cottage full time from 2001 through 2003. When we decided to start a family, we made our cottage available for seasonal rentals for a few years. During this time, it was nearly always full and we enjoyed reading the comments left by our guests.

Scott Sanderson purchased this cottage in 1999

41 Reviews of Property 317951 in Saugatuck / Douglas, Michigan

Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
average rating of 5.0 based on 41 reviews
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5

Loved this cottage and town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our first visit to Michigan and we knew little about this area and the town of Saugatuck. Saugatuck is very quaint, quiet, and sweet. I would stay there again. There was snow on the ground and it was snowing when we arrived - all wonderful.
The cottage was just what we needed. It was clean and cute and the beds were warm and comfortable. I did wish that the fireplace was functioning. It was also a great location. I would highly recommend this VRBO. The owner was also friendly and responsive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Can't wait to stay again!

Can't wait to stay again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have stayed at a few other places and the pictures on the websites do not meet up to the actual house. This house does, so beautiful, we felt right at home. Very clean and well maintained, and the yard is great for dogs. The detached unit behind the house was brand new and very quiet...only problem with that is we could never get the door to lock, had to be a trick to it I'm sure, but it just wouldn't lock for me. The neighborhood is very nice, big beautiful homes with nice landscaping, which made for nice walks with the dogs. We can't wait to go back. Make sure to visit South Haven and Holland - just minutes away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Mrs.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
we all love the cottage. The dogs loved the fenced in yard. We grilled out on the gas grill. We would do again next summer. We arrived on Sept.3- Sept. 9. The property was clean and well maintained. I would recommend the star of Saugatuck boat ride and the dune buggy ride. I would recommend the property to a friend or relative.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
5

Happy people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Butterfly was everything the description said it was....charmingly decorated with many amenities, conveniently located to downtown Saugatuck, parks, river fun, Lake Michigan, Dunes State Park , and so we could walk everywhere or just drive a short way. We all loved it and want to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Schaumburg,Il
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had a great time. House is in a perfect Location to walk to everything in town which is a big plus on a Holiday week. Everything was clean nicely decorated and I don't Know who liked the fenced in yard more us or the Dogs. Also nice for two couples with the Bungalow you have some privacey
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Maryville, TN
5

Perfect Location to see Saugatuck

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Butterfly Cottage was the perfect place to stay and see Saugatuck. Located within walking distance of the attractions in Saugatuck. The yard is fenced so it is pet friendly and the additional bungalow gives plenty of space for everyone. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. The owners are great and easy to work with. Also, Saugatuck is pet friendly with several nice parks and places that allow pets. We had a great time in Saugatuck and visiting the local attractions located nearby. I recommend the Butterfly Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
-
5

Perfect girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This cottage was clean, beautifully decorated, and perfect for 7 girls to getaway for the weekend. The guest house added so much room (plus another bathroom). I'd recommend this rental to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Serene Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This cozy cottage has a great location, just a short 1 or 2 block walk to town. In fact, you can 'see' town as you park in front of the cottage. The cottage was more spacious than I expected and I loved the 'annex' room with the vaulted ceiling out back. The home was immaculately clean. Getting into the cottage was quick and easy, even though we arrived in the evening. The furniture and bedding were very comfy. We explored town and really enjoyed the Saugatuck Tea Party Cafe where owner Gina treated us like family as we sipped tea and ate yummy scones. We had pizza delivered from Scooters - but be warned, they cannot be bribed into doing a quick beer run for you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Toledo, Ohio
5

Comfortable Cottage Close to Everything!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I brought my parents who are senior citizens and our pet for a long weekend. It was decorated wonderfully, extremely clean and had everything we needed. My husband and I stayed in the detached unit with the bath which made sleeping arrangements perfect! The neighborhood is quiet, yet within walking distance to shopping. We have stayed at several places in the area and the Butterfly Cottage is our favorite. I hope we can come back this summer with other family members and enjoy the beach!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Butterfly Cottage is a Truly Unique Cottage Located Downtown.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317951vb
(269) 547-4799
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Michigan City&Chicago
5

President's weekend

President's weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family and I had the most enjoyable time at this adorable cottage! There was enough room with privacy for all of us and it was so bright a cheery! The town was half closed down for the winter but there was still enough to do with the shops open and some of the resturants. It was hastle free and a nice escape from the city. The snow was beautiful and the and had no problems getting around. My grown children and I would love go back in the winter and summer time too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2