Bar Harbor house rental - 24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
Absolutely Delightful 3 BR/2 Bath Home-Large Lot with Beautiful Trees! Sleeps 6

Maine is called 'Vacationland' - it's even printed on the license plates! Mt. Desert Island, home of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, is an incredibly beautiful place where people come to relax, to play and to appreciate all that nature has to offer. 'Acadia Retreat' has been created so that you and your family can stay in a wonderful and comfortable environment while you explore and experience all the beauty that surrounds you! Our charming home is beautifully maintained & lovingly appointed with great attention to detail. We have a bright, open floor plan where the living room, dining area & kitchen share one big space. The kitchen has an abundance of cabinets & counter space. The laundry area located right off the kitchen has a full-sized washer & dryer. The dining area has a handsome round oak table with matching chairs. The living room has 'comfy' sofas & a TV with VCR & DVD players! Great Vacation Spot!

The sunny bedrooms are located on opposite ends of the home for maximum privacy. The master bedroom with a queen-size bed has a private bath & walk-in closet. The second bedroom with twin beds has two closets & the main bath is located right outside the door. The 24x14 Sunroom has a queen sofa bed.

Both baths offer spotlessly clean tub/shower combinations. The heating system is very efficient & a ceiling fan and portable fans are available for extra comfort in warmer weather. The home has been freshly painted bright white & accented with attractive & colorful furnishings & collectibles.

Outside you can enjoy a beautiful yard with exquisite trees & colorful wildflowers that will make you smile. You can just relax in the hammock with a book, send the kids on a treasure hunt in the surrounding woods, cook some lobsters & have a picnic or even shoot some hoops! 'Acadia Retreat' is Truly a Great Vacation Spot for Everyone!

Activities: Hadley Point is a public area (3 miles) where you can launch a boat, have picnics, sunbathe, skip rocks, watch the seals & other wildlife. This is a favorite spot for the kayak rental companies to start & end their day trips-it's fun to watch them come & go--and you just might want to join them! There are several freshwater ponds/lakes on the Island where you can swim, go boating or fishing. You can even go horseback riding on the gorgeous carriage trails that wind through Acadia. You can hike, ride bikes on your own, go out on a whale-watching tour or a sunset cruise on Frenchman's Bay or participate in tons of activities that are offered by Acadia National Park! Definitely go and see the movie that is shown at the Visitor's Center which is less than 10 min away! Try to get to the Jordan Pond House for afternoon tea, popovers, homemade ice cream and of course, take a drive up Cadillac Mountain and around the Ocean Drive where you will see Sand Beach, Thunder Hole & Otter Cliffs!

There are fantastic restaurants, great shopping and even mini golf courses nearby. There is an awesome 'Art Deco' movie theater called The Criterion located in downtown Bar Harbor and two evenings a week there are band concerts on the Village Green. Several art shows are held during the summer and cruise ships come into the harbor weekly! Mt. Desert Island is Truly an Unforgettable Place with Something for Everyone!

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in Bar Harbor and my entire family lives or works only 5 minutes from our rental homes. My husband was born in Wisconsin and he fell in love with MDI the first time I took him there in 1996. He knew even before I did that we MUST have our own property there so that we would always have an excuse to go north whenever we could!

Mt. Desert Island is such a beautiful place - we both are so thankful that we can experience it many times a year and I must say that we are struck by the beauty and the solitude every time we go 'home.'

We hope that you truly have a wonderful time whether it is your first experience or you have been visiting for 20 years.

My Dad's motto is...'If you come to Maine once it won't be your last time.' Of course he is pretty bias on the subject - having lived in Bar Harbor all his life! I wish everyone could get one of his Island tours-they are awesome to say the least!

He started working as a chauffeur at age 15 and he can tell some stories. He and my Mom owned several restaurants and motels and even developed the largest campground on the Island, Bar Harbor Campground which my youngest brother now manages.

Seems like our family has been in the hospitality trade forever and...with all that experience we have certainly learned how to take good care of our guests!

Lorie Wiebrecht purchased this house in 2005

We love the land which is approximately 2.6 acres. The open, grassy area is big and level but the perimeter of the property is surrounded by big beautiful evergreens! There are many other varieties as well so the land is interesting during the fall season. The location is peaceful and quiet yet the property is not very far from anywhere on the Island. The wildlife is plentiful-you might see several deer just a few feet from the windows and the wild turkeys and other birds are all around. We have had rabbits, chipmunks, squirrels, ducks and even a bear was spotted while eating a neighbor's bird seed last year!

This property is on a private road with only 7 other homes yet it is right on the Island Explorer (free) Bus Service route. You can take the bus and travel all over the Island all day long and even take your bike along.

We also own the home next door and the two lots combined are almost 7 acres. Now when you live in a city where the houses are so close that you can hear your neighbor walking across her hardwoods floors with the windows CLOSED you really know it when you have a peaceful spot where you can relax and focus on the sounds of nature!!! It is heaven for us and we hope that it will be for you, too!

28 Reviews of Property 317880 in Bar Harbor, Maine

'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York
5

Vacationing at Acadia Retreat...Priceless

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Vacationing in Maine is wonderful. Vacationing at Acadia Retreat...priceless. At Acadia Retreat, the quiet of the surroundings calms the soul, and the intermittent song of the birds and chirping of the crickets renews the spirit.

The new sun room brings the splendor of the outdoors inside. Stepping into the sun room first thing in the morning, one stands amazed as countless canary birds flee the wildflowers just outside the windows for the safety of the woods. And as the sun is setting, one is caught up in wonder as deer graze in the back yard a few steps from the treeline.

Acadia Retreat is sparkling clean and completely equipped. In the five years I have come, never have I lacked for anything. Acadia Retreat is perfectly named. That's the reason I return year after year to this wondrous place.

So, the secret is out. I hesitate to say more because I so look forward to returning again and again.

Karen,
New York
Owner's Response: There is nothing that makes me happier than knowing that my guests had a special vacation in Maine and that they so fully enjoyed their experience at Acadia Retreat...it means that my goal has been realized!

An even greater compliment is given when a family chooses to come back year after year when they literally have hundreds of other choices.

It shows me that it is truly possible to create a setting where that comfortable feeling of "being at home" exists... and even though it is not your full time home...you are still so happy to be there...that is very sweet indeed.

I will continue to provide a special place for my guests-we all need a bit of sanctuary these days and I love being able to offer that! Please call me with any questions or comments! Thank you so much! Lorie
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Great time in Maine!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent two weeks here this fall and had a great time. The home was comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. The bed in the master bedroom was especially comfortable. The location was great, near Bar Harbor and Ellsworth but far enough from town that we saw deer, turkeys, a coyote and a fox in the yard while we were there. Lori checked on us a couple of times to make sure we were getting along OK. Next time we are in Bar Harbor, we will stay here.
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Seattle, WA
5

Like staying at a friend's home!

Like staying at a friend's home!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
It was our first trip to Maine and I found this lovely home on the Internet. It was even more beautiful in person. The owner. Lorie, has the house decorated so cute - it is very cozy and homey! And she has it stocked with EVERYTHING! Such thoughtful touches - it's like staying at your best friend's house. Movies, games, umbrellas, flashlights, all the kitchen supplies: foil, baggies, etc. Bring your food and your clothes and you'll be set. It is in a very quiet neighborhood on a large block of land. The only thing we heard at night was the crickets chirping - a wonderful sound! And the house was spotless. It is located about 10 minutes from Acadia Park & Bar Harbor. Lorie was great with the rental process & even helped with sightseeing tips. We were so glad we stayed at Acadia Retreat!
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Considerate and Professional

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had booked the Acadia Retreat for our family vacation this year. Unfortunately, we were forced to cancel the trip. I contacted Lorie and while she outlined the terms of our contract, she also worked very hard to re-book our week so that our deposit could be refunded. She provided fair, professional and excellent service on our family's behalf.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Beyond Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The beauty of Acadia National Park is completely matched by the comfort and peacefulness of the Acadia Retreat house. Everything the other reviewers have said is true. We have rented quite a few vacation houses and this is by far THE MOST thoughtfully maintainted house. It is spotless and so comfortable and best of all - feels like home. Although Lorie is not there with you on vacation, you do feel as if your best friend has set up the house for you. She has literally thought of everything to make your stay wonderful - even to the point of rainy day activities, often overlooked housekeeping items, and kitchen equipment. In addition, the house is on a lovely (and quite large) piece of property that adds to the relaxing "retreat" nature of your stay. Although you feel apart from things you are actually in a very convenient location to do everything on Mount Desert Island. We explored all the towns - beause they each have something different to offer - as well as hiking in Acadia, relaxing on Sand Beach, kayaking on Lond Pond, and the best lobster at the Trenton Lobster Pound just off the island. In Bar Harbor we walked over to Bar Island, did the shore path, and had a delicious brunch with exquiste biscuits at the Two Cats Inn. We also had great Mexican at Gringos, pizza from Rosalie's, and developed a serious addiction to Giffords MaineWild Blueberry ice cream all over the Island. Acadia Retreat was such a lovely place to return to after our days spent out exploring. It made our vacation so special and memorable in all the best ways. Thank you Lorie for your thoughtfulness and kindness that shines through in Acadia Retreat. I miss it every day!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Convenient and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wow! When I read the reviews about how clean the house was, I was still a bit skeptical. I've read reviews in the past about cleanliness at other destinations only to be disappointed upon arrival. I was NOT disappointed at Acadia Retreat. Everything was very clean, even the refrigerator had been wiped clean. The windows even looked like they had recently been cleaned. The master bedroom has a wonderful walk-in closet to store your suitcases. In addition, there was plenty of paper products at the house. And, the kitchen was fully stocked. The house is in an ideal location...not far from Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor. I'd say about 5 miles for the park's entrance. Also, Acadia Retreat is in a quiet neighborhood. It was very peaceful. We didn't see or hear any neighbors during our stay. My only disappointment was that I didn't get to enjoy the wonderful sunroom. My daughter overtook it and claimed it as her own. Our security deposit was returned within a few days, and Lorie was very helpful. She provided us with driving directions and recommendations on places to stop along the way. I would highly recommend Acadia Retreat to family and friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Great location and beautifully appointed house centrally located near Bar Harbour and Acadia National Park. The yard is lovely, with a hammock, and the changing leaves were so beautiful. We loved the sun room, the kitchen had all the things we needed for cooking up a storm, and the beds were VERY comfy! We arrived at night, and the sensor lights made it easy to find our way safely in, and the owner checked to see how we were going - lots of information is provided in the dining area regarding things to do in the area. We loved hiking in Acadia, and we purchased the driving tour on a day when the rain kept us in the car - very informative and an enjoyable way to see the park when weather doesn't cooperate. We had dinner at the Chart House - very nice and the kids loved it, too, and bought and cooked some magnificent seafood from Parker market nearby, where we met and chatted with the lobsterman. Saw wild turkeys on our morning walks, and enjoyed shopping in the specialty shops in Bar Harbour. The boat trip to see seals was great fun, with a naturalist sharing info about local sites, the park, and wildlife. I would recommend this house to anyone travelling in the Acadia Park area - we will definitely be back if we return to Maine.
Owner's Response: I do believe that this traveler wins the award for the longest travel time - she found our listing while living in Australia!! Oh, the power of the Internet! :-)

This world traveler and family met up at her parents' home in Missouri and then came on to Maine. They only had 4 days in the area as they were stopping in other places but I know from our conversations that they just loved it! And I was surprised to see how MANY things/places that they experienced - good planning for sure!

I must say again that the location of Acadia Retreat is perfect for travel all over the Island. That really helps when you want to access as many places as possible. The free shuttle bus - The Island Explorer - also stops right up the road so you can save some gas money OR go in separate directions if your party has different interests.

This guest mentioned the driving tour CD and was even kind enough to leave it in our library for the next group! We do have lots of information and there are several information centers throughout the area. The Acadia National Park Visitor's Center is only 7 miles from the house and I really recommend a stop there and the movie that they show every 20 minutes in very informative as well.

There is so much to enjoy and experience. Call today so that I can help you plan your next Maine vacation and your stay at Acadia Retreat!

Also...keep in mind that we have another house called "The Birches" next door that can sleep another family of 4! That way you can bring a group of 10 and be side by side in your own little enclave-over 6 acres! Thank you. Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Great place to relax!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just loved the place. This was our first time to Maine and the location of the house is perfect. It is very close to the Acadia National park and downtown. The living room is very cozy and the kitchen is equipped with all the required things.
We loved the new sunroom. It just brings so much light in and the furniture in this room is also very comfortable.
We would love to come back again and spend more time in the house.

Thanks,
Shweta and family..
Owner's Response: Make my day...again!! That 24 X 14 sunroom was just the best idea! Everyone loves it because there are so many windows that it feels like you are outside but you get to enjoy the coziness of being inside. This room adds another gathering room with a TV so that families can watch 2 (a 3rd show can be watched in the bedroom, too!) at the same time. The sports fans can hoot and holler while the HGTV fans plan their next home improvement in another room. We have very nice seating for all!

The kitchen is the biggest in any of our rentals and it has so much cabinet space I have to add a lot to fill it! And...I still haven't managed to do that. There are so many small appliances and serving dishes and baskets for your snacks. There is a great variety of cooking utensils and serving utensils and don't forget the baking dishes!

You can create almost anything you want in the kitchen - you will have lots of counter space where you can prepare your meal and most any gadget that you need for the preparation. I have included a good range of spices and we also inherite some great ones that are left behind.

If you have a birthday in your group...the flour, sugar, baking powder, soda, corn starch and vanilla is already there just waiting for the fresher ingredients to be added. Come and bake a pie or a cake so the whole group can celebrate together!

This family had a great time and I know that we can make your family very happy in one of our 3 special vacation rentals. Call today and we will discover which one is the right match for you!
Thank you for your interest!!! Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Can't say enough about our stay at Acadia Retreat. I have stayed in rentals before but never, never, was provided with all the ammentities that Acadia Retreat provided. When we walked in it was like the whole house had just had a fresh coat of paint inside. The sun room was the clincher on this house, what a room (I'm jealous) fresh, airy and so many windows to look out onto the yard. I'm kind of a fussy person when I stay in someone else's house, but this house went above and beyond my expectations. Close to everything, Bar Harbor, Cadillac Mtn., all the beaches. You cannot want for anything. Can't wait to go back.
Owner's Response: WOW! This has been the season of the compliment-I am so HAPPY!!

People ask me why I do this and this is why...I get the opportunity to create an environment that enhances peoples' experiences...no doubt!

I spend hours thinking of different things that I can do to "blow the minds" of my guests and I guess I am doing something right-it is so much fun!

This particular family had such a good time and I was so excited to hear from them that...I wanted to be part of their family vacation.

I do stay at each of my 3 rentals for several days a year just so that I can see if there is anything that I am missing while I am there. If I discover any item that I can add to make the house even more attractive or more user-friendly...I make it happen!

My husband wishes that I wouldn't notice any more items that I could add however...some girls buy shoes...I buy things for my rentals! :-)

Call me today and tell me about your family and the kind of vacation that you want to create.
Thank you! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

1st Time Stay at Acadia Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was our 1st time to visit Bar Harbor , Maine and we checked out many places to stay on the Home Away web site and we counted on reviews written to base our decision. The reviews of Acadia Retreat were great, so we decided to call Lorie and confirm our decision. I can tell anyone who reads these reviews that it was the BEST decision we could have made. Acadia Retreat is ALL THAT
and more .
The house itself is the most perfectly kept and well maintained home we have rented for a vacation and has all the perks offered--- as your own home. Lorie has thought of everything possible to make your stay at Acadia Retreat as comfortable and relaxing as possible, and the location is close to everything which is a great convience and yet you have alot of privacy. The Sunroom is a room we all envied and is where we spent most of the time , (when we were home) . We were only there for a short time but being our 1st time we crammed in alot of activities and sights and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The expierience and process of dealing with Lorie and Carl has been most pleasurable and we wish we could have spent more time there because there is so much to see and do (which does give us an excuse to re-visit). Thank you so much for making our 1st visit to your home and Maine a great one.
Thanks Again,
Ed, Joan, Maureen & Rich
Owner's Response: Wow, Ed, thank you! That is a wonderful review-I knew that you were having fun but this report is just super!

When folks are coming to Maine for the first time I am almost as excited as they are. It is so beautiful-I tell people it is like being in a calendar...I was born in Bar Harbor almost 60 years ago and I still am so moved by the beauty of Mt. Desert Island.

Part of the charm is that there are so many tucked away places that you can visit you can come back for YEARS and not be bored. There is always another trail to hike or a special bike ride along a carriage road that you have yet to explore. Whether it is rainy or sunny the ocean vistas will take your breath away and there is nothing any cuter than seeing a Mama deer with 3 little fawns that are all covered with spots. It is a magical place that will not disappoint if you love nature and tranquility.

When I call my guests to check in I always listen to their stories and wonder..."Have they been bitten by the Maine bug?" I don't mean the black flies...I mean have they fallen in love with the place. It is rare that I don't hear that level of enthusiasm.

As you can see when reading these reviews many folks say they want to come back again. The Island is awesome, the food is great-the air is clean and the people are friendly-what could be bad?! :-)

Thank you for your continued interest in our vacation properties. Call me today and I will help YOU and your family plan your next "Vacationland" adventure. Enjoy! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1