Waipio house rental - 'Waipio Valley Nanea' is on the cliffs near Waipio Valley on the Hamakua Coast
'Waipio Valley Nanea' is on the cliffs near Waipio Valley on the Hamakua Coast
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Waipio House Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Welcome to WAIPIO VALLEY NANEA.

Nanea (Na-nay-ah) means tranquility, relaxing, enjoyable, and fascinating; that is exactly what this location is. Our property sits on the 1000 foot cliffs leading to the historic Waipio Valley, or Valley Of the Kings, where many of the ancient Hawaiian ali’i (kings) once resided. This is a very sacred place steeped in Hawaiian history. The stunningly beautiful Waipio Valley is verdant and lush, teaming with waterfalls, fishponds, hiking trails and rivers that lead to a pristine mile long black sand beach.

The ‘Ohana (family guest cottage) which adjoins our home is a newly constructed large studio with 2 private entrances, one with a private patio. The living space is open and fills with sunlight. It features a romantic four post teak bed, a kitchenette area with everything you will need to cook and enjoy a lovely meal, a spacious bathroom with slate floors, granite counters, a walk-in shower big enough for two, a walk-in closet, and a lounge area with a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. A stroll through the back yard puts you right at the cliffs edge, with expansive views of the ocean, the valley cliffs and even Maui, on a clear day. It’s quiet, peaceful, and intimate; the perfect place to come home to after your adventures and explorations of the Big Island. Use ‘Waipio Valley Nanea’ as your base for day hikes into Waipio Valley, or for more adventurous travelers, camping trips into Waimanu Valley. A hot shower and cozy bed will always await you upon your return.

*Please visit our website!

WAIPIOVALLEYNANEA

Keywords: Guest Cottage, Ohana, Suite, Bungalow, Apartment, Vacation Rental, Hamakua Coast

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha!

We've spent the majority of our lives traveling, looking for that 'place' that stops us from looking, and we believe we have found paradise here. Before we moved to the Big Island of Hawaii we were living and sailing on our 31 foot trimaran. We are adventure travelers, always searching for that unforgettable experience, and we know what it's like finding it, and then wanting a hot shower and clean cozy bed to curl up in at the end of the day, or at end of a few days of hiking, camping, or exploring. We are both avid sailors, surfers, divers, hikers, naturalists and environmentalists. I have been a scuba diving guide and tour guide and know how rewarding it is to help people stop and appreciate the moment, and I must say, every moment here will overwhelm you with extreme natural beauty. We look forward to meeting you.

Please visit our website, WAIPIOVALLEYNANEA

~ kendyll & flip

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

We love the ocean, the tropics and the simple life. The Hamakua Coast of the Big Island is all that and more. From it's small bucolic towns, epic ocean views and expansive green countryside to it's welcoming communities and families. The low population density means no traffic, and no stress. We are often the only ones on the beach in Waipio Valley and have the surf all to ourselves. The intoxicating smell of wild ginger fills the air, mingling with the scent of sweet guava and gardenia. The wildlife is abundant, wild horse graze freely in the valley and it's a birdwatchers dream. In the winter months we sit on the cliffs and watch the Humpback Whales spy hopping and breaching. And finally, it seems as though there is always a pocket of sunshine on the cliffs of Waipio Valley : )

Please visit our website! WAIPIOVALLEYNANEA

23 Reviews of Property 317499 in Waipio, Hawaii

Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Kula
5

An Absolute Gem!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved, loved, loved staying at Waipio Nanea. It's in a beautiful world-class setting and the accommodations were wonderful and new. Beautiful furnishings, a big deck with ocean views, and the hosts were kind, caring, and hospitable. When we return to the Big Island, if Waipio Nanea is available, that's where we'll be staying.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Hamburg, Germany
5

Holiday paradis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is one of the places where we could stay for weeks - a little holiday paradise. The studio is filled with so much love. There is a spaciously room with a sitting area, a big comfortable bed and a small kitchenette. There is also a spacious bathroom and a walk-in closet, a BBQ and an extra lanai for guests, a strong WIFI and an iPod station. But the best thing is the view from the garden behind the house over the Waipio Valley, the cliffs on the other side and the ocean. With a little luck you could see whales out there – and on a good day you will see Maui in the distance. You will need a 4WD car to go down in the valley or you have to walk down. The cottage is located very near the Valley Lookout. It is a 10 minute drive to Honokaa, there you will find a supermarket. We did not know that this area is also the new home of the Coqui frogs. They “sing” the whole night – we had earplugs so it was no problem. With this sound and the rain at night after a sunny day it was a feeling like staying in the rainforest. The hosts, Kendyll and Flip, are very nice and relaxed people. We enjoyed meeting them – thanks for everything. We will plan to stay longer next time in this beautiful studio which we highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

Better than any Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We got fortune to spend 3 wonderful nights at Waipio Valley Nanea. We absolutely felt in love with a stunning view, great location and the ‘Ohana itself. We appreciate Kendyll & Flip’s tasteful upgrades & decorations, and their suggestion about a beach (snorkeling on beach 69 was great!), a local farm market (Waimea) and scenic view road (Botanic Garden). The view from the backyard bench was awesome. We were enjoying hiking down to the valley & a beach with black sand. Hiking up was quite challenging, but enjoyable as well. We were impressed by history of this sacred place. We couldn’t find a better place to celebrate 30 years our wedding anniversary! Three nights we spent over there were certainly unforgettable! Thank you, dear Kendyll and Flip!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

Best Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We got fortune to spend 3 wonderful nights at Waipio Valley Nanea. We absolutely felt in love with a stunning view, great location and the ‘Ohana itself. We appreciate Kendyll & Flip’s tasteful upgrades & decorations, and their suggestion about a beach (snorkeling on beach 69 was great!), a local farm market (Waimea) and scenic view road (Botanic Garden). The view from the backyard bench was awesome. We were enjoying hiking down to the valley & a beach with black sand. Hiking up was quite challenging, but enjoyable as well. We were impressed by history of this sacred place. We couldn’t find a better place to celebrate 30 years our wedding anniversary! Three nights we spent over there were certainly unforgettable! Thank you, dear Kendyll and Flip!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Aloha spirit is alive & well here

Aloha spirit is alive & well here
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Kendyll & Flip's gorgeous 'Ohana studio was, by far, our favorite place to stay on the Big Island. The unit is over the garage and has a separate entrance. It is gorgeously decorated and very quiet. There is a big, comfy bed as well as a snuggly sectional sofa. The little kitchenette was perfect...coffee maker, toaster, hot plate & sink (with a fridge and microwave in the large walk-in closet). We really enjoyed having our morning coffee out on the wooden deck & watching the waves. At night, we laid out in the yard and watched the shooting stars from the Geminids meteor shower while listening to the singing of the Coqui frogs.

The house is literally 1 minute walking distance from the astounding Waipio Lookout point & Valley road/trailhead. You are about 15 minutes driving from Honoka'a which has a market and a few small stores & restaurants. We ended up going into Waimea, however, for most of our needs (larger supermarkets, fantastic restaurants like Merriman's plus a new brew pub) which was about 30 minutes driving from the 'ohana studio.

Kendyll & Flip have created a lovely, relaxing place to decompress and enjoy nature. They are both kind & hip people (and we adored their dogs, too). We, honestly, wish that we could have just moved in permanently.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Ridge Manor, Florida
5

Wonderful time at the Waipi'o Valley

Wonderful time at the Waipi'o Valley
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent 2 days here and really enjoyed ourselves. Kendyll and Flip are great hosts. The cottage is done very well with quality furnishings and attention to detail. It will be really nice after the walk out deck is finished. The view from their backyard is amazing. I can't believe that they get to wake up to that every morning. This area is more rural than Hilo or Kona, but that is it's charm. You get to see the real Hawai'i when you stay in this area. We will recommend this property to anyone that is considering staying in this area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Canada
5

Sunsets over Waipio Valley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay at this B and B was really nice. K. is a gracious host. The view from the backyard bench was stunning. The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and everything worked; hot showers, cold fridge, etc. Note: no a/c (we didn't need it) no TV (watch the sunset over the Valley). The property sits on a cliff so young children need to be watched like a hawk. Great location for exploring the northern part of the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Chicago, IL
5

Spectacular Views and Accomodating Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We (unfortunately) only spent one night here and absolutely loved our stay. Our last night on the Big Island and what a perfect way to spend it! Peaceful setting, awesome hosts, spectacular views, and great access to hiking trails. Looking forward to visiting again for a longer stay on our next trip to the Big Island. Thanks Kendyll and Flip!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Ucluelet, British Columbia
5

Spectacular Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Such an amazing retreat at the end of the road. Where to begin! The cottage is 5 star, tastefully decorated, comfortable and a wonderful canopy queen bed. We slept so well. The cottage was very well equipped with everything one needs. Many thanks for the use of the BBQ. The property and view from the cliff over the Waipio Valley are really beyond words. Hiking down to the valley floor was fabulous and the black sand beach well worth the 25% grade hike up. Take lots of water. Many thanks Kendyll for the personal tour of the Valley in your 4 x 4, it is a very special place full of mana. A special place with very special hosts. We will come back. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waipio Valley Nanea ~ Near the Cliffs of Waipio Valley Lookout
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317499vbi
(808) 775-9194 (Hawaii, USA)
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Grand Junction, CO
5

A wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our hosts were very kind and helpful, the accomodations were clean and comfortable, the views and location couldn't be more special. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4