Rhinebeck house rental - Large maple trees surround the house, making it shady in summer, bright in fall
Large maple trees surround the house, making it shady in summer, bright in fall
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Rhinebeck House Rental Photos and Description
3BD, 2 1/2 BTH 1850's house with historic character and modern comforts

Even in a village with 400 buildings on the National Register of Historic Places, this Carpenter Gothic house, in the manner of Andrew Jackson Davis, stands out. It's a favorite of the many walkers who stroll the leafy streets of Rhinebeck. Surrounded by maple trees and lawn on a corner lot, the clapboard house wears a fresh coat of white with crisp black window frames topped by a steep slate roof. A graceful front porch welcomes you, an eastward-facing side porch is the perfect place for breakfast, and a stone terrace in the back catches the long rays of late afternoon sun.

Step inside to a generous entry foyer furnished with a Moroccan rug and a long church bench, opposite three doorways. One leads to the library/tv room, one to the stairs to the second floor, and one to the bright living/dining area formed by two rooms that open to each other. The first has a bay window, the perfect place to curl up in a club chair and read with the light spilling over your shoulder. The second has sofas flanking a wood-burning fireplace, French doors to the side porch, and a high counter where everyone hangs out to talk to the cook. Both rooms have tables for dining and other activities. Throughout the house are antique and vintage finds that reflect and suit life in the country.

The kitchen is a delightful place to cook, well-laid out and well-equipped with dishwasher, microwave (tucked inside a pantry cupboard), Viking range, built-in refrigerator, and a complete array of small appliances, cookware, and bakeware. A hallway from the kitchen leads to the back door to the terrace, past a wood-lined powder room and a narrow flight of back stairs leading to the upper floor.

With its red walls, seagrass rug, and comfy seating, the library/tv room is an inviting space for lounging on the daybed to read or watch a movie, or for playing games or catching up on your laptop at the table by the window. (WiFi router, Apple TV, DVD player and 42' TV are located in this room.) The bookcase holds a library of novels, local guidebooks, and other books as well as a selection of two dozen DVDs. This room has two doors which can be closed, making it a private ground floor room as well as an ideal fourth bedroom.

The main staircase leading to the second floor features a graphic wool runner, subtle Venetian plaster walls, and a small chandelier brought back from Florence. At the top of the stairs, the bedroom to the right (the goldenrod room) has twin beds with upholstered headboards, the bedroom to the left (the cocoa room) has a full-size iron and brass bedstead. All beds come with European square and standard pillows as well as down comforters. Both rooms are comfortable and spacious for an old house, with good mattresses and lighting, and connect to a large bathroom furnished with antiques and a deep soaking tub with a handheld shower.

A small hall decorated with exotic botanical prints leads to an additional bathroom with tub and shower and to the back (robin's egg blue) bedroom with a queen-sized bed, chaise longue, and plentiful closet space. In late spring, the room fills with the perfume of the blossoming pink crabapple tree that arches close to its windows.

Because of its large windows, most with their original wavy glass, the house is filled with light throughout the year. Every room captures a different quality of light and has a different mood but all are designed with comfort in mind, accented by a measure of visual spark provided by art, antiques, and design. Further stimulation is just a few blocks away.

A short walk (4 blocks) brings you to the center of the village which has wonderful shops like Paper Trail, Oblong Books, Hammertown, and Sawkille and great restaurants like Gigi Trattoria and Le Petit Bistro. For a cheap and cheerful evening out, nothing beats a burger at Terrapin and a movie at Upstate Films, an independent movie house that has been a beloved local fixture for 40 years. The Rhinebeck Farmers' Market, voted best in the Hudson Valley, takes place every Sunday opposite the firehouse. One block west of the main intersection, up the hill, is Rhinebeck's Starr library and a recreation center which includes big and kiddie pools, tennis courts, basketball courts and playground. At the northern edge of town is the Rhinebeck fairgrounds which hosts events (antique fair, craft fair, wool festival, Dutchess County Fair...) yearround.The Rhinecliff train station, serviced by Amtrak, is right on the Hudson, only two miles from the center of Rhinebeck. Staying in the village means visiting is as easy as hopping a train and catching a cab. There's no need for a car unless you want to explore further afield.

Bard College with its Frank Gehry-designed Fisher Center, Hessel Museum, and Olafur Eliasson installation (the first permanent one in the U.S.) is 20 minutes up the road. In summer, the Spiegeltent sets up camp in the trees, bringing in eclectic performers and cabaret acts. Further north is Olana, painter Frederick Church's house (not to be missed) and Hudson with its incredible concentration of antique shops.

East of Rhinebeck is the Omega Institute for Holistic Studies which offers dozens of classes and workshops. 20 minutes south of town are the Vanderbilt Mansion, sites associated with Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt (and an old-fashioned drive-in right across the road from the Presidential Library), the Culinary Institute of America (five restaurants), Vassar's Frances Lehmann Loeb Art Center and the Powerhouse Theater (summer only) and MetroNorth train service (last stop on the Hudson River Line.)

Nature enthusiasts can climb Burger Hill and follow the path of Poet's Walk, two local parks.Paddlers can put in at Tivoli Bays, a sheltered cove on the Hudson. Hikers and climbers may prefer the greater challenges offered by the Catskills, just half an hour west. Golf, horseback riding, and skiing are also close by.

For a village of only 2600 people, Rhinebeck has alot to offer as does the Hudson Valley. But we hope you'll feel so content in the house that you won't feel driven to leave and, if you do venture out, will always be happy to return.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 3172989 in Rhinebeck, New York

Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
4

A Gem

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family stayed here while visiting a son at a nearby college in November.
It is a darling house, the owner has impeccable taste.
Each room has a unique charm, and the beds are so, so comfortable.
Most of all I loved the feel of the house, the sense of history, and a bit of mystery.
Great location for a walk to town.
Highly recommended.
Holly and Harvey Kahn
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
Harrison, NY
5

Charm, Charm, Charm!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a great home....it had everything you could need, and then some!!! Me and my 3 best friends went for our 50th....the bedrooms were comfy and cozy....all the rooms were decorated so beautifully and artsy....great side porch and back yard! We cooked one night and the kitchen had everything we needed!
We did drive to town which was a hop-skip-jump away... and had the best meals!!! Sunday we went shopping and found so many charming stores...and there happened to be a huge Farmers Market of all the local business sharing their foods/flowers/honey, etc with everyone!!! We had the best time!
Notice the small plastic barn in the living room....we got such a kick out of it!
Hope to be back for our 60th :)
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Perfect place for our annual girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is our second year renting the house and it's absolutely perfect. The locations allows us to walk everywhere in Rhinebeck and the property is lovely.

Everything is clean and cozy. The towels and linens are white and crisp. The beds are comfortable and the house is spacious; we have room to spread out and relax.

We talked about renting it next year pretty much the minute we arrived. The owner is easy to deal with and I highly recommend this property.
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Somewhere North of Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently rented Heather's home and could not have enjoyed our stay more...every detail - from the generously appointed kitchen, to the dreamy, plush beds, the carefully curated furniture and art and the welcome bottle of wine with book of things to do in Rhinebeck - it all created the immensely comforting sense of staying in the home of a friend or loved one.

The house is a short stroll from the heart of Rhinebeck. This small village is just a further extension of the warmth of Heather's home. Don't miss the Farmer's Market on Sunday. There are also several cute restaurants and shops, and Grand Cru is a beer lover's dream. The natural food store has a good selection for groceries, albeit on the expensive side.

All that said, if you want nothing more than to curl up on the couch with a fire blazing, music playing in the background and glass of vino in hand, this is the place for you. The house is also stocked with boardgames and books. We never once turned the TV on during our stay.

Thank you Heather - I cannot wait to visit again!
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Cozy winter respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
An amazing house, in an amazing town. This getaway was exactly what I hoped it would be; a chance to decompress from the stresses of NYC life. The house is carefully curated with the exact types of things I would have if this were my own home. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook meals at home, including a large Viking range. I had the best nights of sleep I've had in a long time on the comfortable bed in the master bedroom. The chill of a random snowstorm was warmed by the cozy fireplace, and plenty of wood was provided. The colors in the house are beautiful and well thought out, with hues of coffee, and delicate shades of pale blue. Walking distance is Market street, where one can find top notch restaurants, wine stores, and baked goods. I can't wait to come back in the Spring.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
New York, New York
5

Perfect Retreat Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Small non-profit board held their annual retreat in this beautiful home. We all thought the house was well-appointed -tons of linens, paper supplies, books to read, everything a cook would want/need. And it's decorated so, so beautifully. And so comfortable too!

The owner goes out of her way to make the house welcoming to others.
We really liked the book with all the recommendations - don’t know what we would have done for Dinner on Friday otherwise - and all of the little notes throughout the house are great.

Great House. Awesome Fireplace. Within walking distance to town. What's not to like!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
4

Great Experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed here over New Years with our 2 young sons. The house was beautiful and very comfortable. We enjoyed time by the fire every night, the kitchen was fully stocked with all the tools, dishes, cooking items we needed and more, and the rooms were beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the extras like plenty of tea and coffee, olive oils, etc... as well as the cozy beds and warmly decorated rooms. We had a wonderful family getaway here and would definitely stay again!
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Just about Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I visited Rhinebeck with 3 friends for Thanksgiving and stayed in this home for 4 nights. The owner was helpful beforehand in terms of answering questions about the house and the town, both of which are very cute and charming! Rhinebeck is full of wonderful shops and restaurants and this home is a short 3 block walk from all the quiet action. It's also a very easy drive to Hudson and Woodstock, both great for day trips. The home doesn't feel at all like a typical rental house - you can tell that someone who loves this house also spends a good bit of time here. Every room is thoughtfully designed and decorated, with gorgeous colors on the walls and ceilings, and a great mix of antique and more updated furnishings. There were ample towels and comfortable linens. The kitchen was well equipped and easily accommodated 4 friends cooking a Thanksgiving feast. The fireplace works like a charm and there was ample firewood. The house was easy to open and easy to shut down, and the short-term rental insurance required by the owner is a nice alternative to a large security deposit. I will definitely rent here again!
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I've been coming to Rhinebeck for the Sheep and Wool festival for 7 years and staying at this beautiful house made for a perfect trip. We parked our car when we arrived and walked everywhere for the entire weekend due to the central location.

The house is beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Everything was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable and the towels were fluffy.

The owner was a pleasure to deal with and I'm booking it for next year.

Highly recommended.
business
Artfully restored house in heart of village, leave the car at home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3172989
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
New Jersey
5

Lovely home, perfect for any season

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
From the moment we unlocked the front door and entered the hall, we were charmed by all this home has to offer. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and note from the owner as well as an extensive guide to the area - such a nice touch. It was a privilege to stay in such a lovely, historic, well-kept home.  Surrounded by beautiful yet comfortable furnishings and decor, we felt as if we were living in the pages of  a home magazine. Plenty of room and comfy seating to spread out and relax, plenty of seating for dining or cards and board games and a top-of-the-line kitchen stocked with cookware for enjoying a meal at home.  We sampled Rhinebeck's wonderful restaurants, cafes, markets, boutiques, antique stores and a year-round farmers' market -all within walking distance.  The surrounding area has hiking trails, museums, historic mansions - we wished we had booked a week, not just a weekend. The photos of the house are amazing- the actual home is even more amazing! We plan on returning- a perfect home, any season. We can't picture staying anywhere else.