Boston apartment rental - Welcome to Daisy! Front porch door the year the hanging pots went wild...
Welcome to Daisy! Front porch door the year the hanging pots went wild...
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 21 nights
 

Boston Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Spacious, light, renovated 1 BD, sleeps 1 or 2

NOTE: Some mundane info to save you time: MAX 2 person occupancy, no exceptions. 3 WEEK minimum, unless you see a 'hole' less than 3 weeks in the bookings.

Welcome to Daisy! One of the best deals on Home Away in Boston. Only $90-something per day if you are staying a month or more, or about $139 per day if by the week. (Therefore, price is firm, thank you.) This is an entire, private apartment with your own kitchen & bath on the first floor of a 3-family Victorian house, you are not sharing the space with anyone. (It's common in Boston that old houses are divided into several apartments.)

Whether you are a visiting professional or grandparent or a history buff, you will find 'Daisy' a home away from home, an oasis in busy Boston. Jamaica Plain is a vibrant, park-filled neighborhood of Boston with its own walkable restaurant/shopping district, yet a short 10-15 minute train ride to Downtown Boston. The greenery will fool you into thinking you are farther outside the city! Click 'More Details' below here, to the left to read more:

* Squeaky clean & handsomely furnished

* Beautiful light, charm, open feel, hardwood floors

* 40 inch TV with Cable & Roku (stream movies & shows), and high speed internet, with a cable or wireless

* All utilities included

* Laundry right outside apartment door, no steps up or down

* Roomier than most 2 bedrooms! 900 sq ft (84 sq meters)

* Grocery store, pharmacy, etc within short walk--no car needed! (But fairly easy, on-street parking, no permit required if you do have a car. Also, Zipcars very close by. NOTE: parking tricky all over Boston in snowy parts of winter.)

* Steps to public transportation: #39 bus at end of my block goes past Harvard Medical School / HSPH / Longwood Ave Medical Area and down to Copley Square. A 5-8 minute walk to the Orange line train which goes directly to Back Bay, Tufts Medical Center and Downtown Boston in 10-15 minutes. Mass General Hospital an easy train ride too.

* Few blocks walk to gorgeous parks (Jamaica Pond, Arnold Arboretum and more) and downtown JP's many shops and restaurants

* Cheerful eat-in-kitchen

* Dining room that can double as an office

* Petite but spa-like, gorgeously tiled bathroom

* Spacious bedroom with comfy 'Sleep Number' queen bed

* A friendly, shared front porch with couch

* Cozy, flowered, back yard and patio

* Permit free parking, much easier than other neighborhoods

I love to decorate, so I hope you enjoy this colorful, perhaps a tad eclectic home!

Mature and considerate folks only, please. This is a family-oriented, mostly owner-occupied neighborhood and I wish to respect my neighbors. No undergrad students or rowdy travelers, please! : )

More Details
Hide Details

I am originally from the Midwest, but came to Boston to 'try out the East Coast' about 19 years ago and fell in love with New England. Daisy (the house) was an extreme fixer-upper when I bought her and I have been working on her for 15 years. Seems she will never be done--but I'm making progress hopefully!

Tracy purchased this apartment in 1997

Daisy is in a friendly, community oriented neighborhood and so close to everything: the parks, restaurants and shops of JP *and* to Downtown Boston--I was very lucky to settle here when I did!

Boston is a fantastic town to visit, especially if you are a history or architecture or museum buff. There are so many things to do here, but also all over the region! Places like Salem, Lowell, Plymouth Plantation or the Newport Mansions are easy day trips. Great overnight trips may include the Norman Rockwell Museum and Mass MOCA (the largest Contemporary Art Museum in the Country!), Portland, Maine (cute coastal town with fantastic food!) or Providence, Rhode Island or even New York City (a cheap, 4 hour bus ride away!) This beautiful region is all within reach here from Boston, MA. Enjoy!

8 Reviews of Property 3169093 in Boston, Massachusetts

Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Beautiful 'Daisy' in JP!

Beautiful 'Daisy' in JP!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My 2 month stay in JP was GREAT! Tracy has created a peaceful, comfortable enviornment. The apt is clean and had everything I needed to feel at home.
She is helpful, responsive but not intrusive. I loved the area, close to shops and restaurants and an easy commute to downtown. My concern was parking since I had a car but it was never a problem.
I highly recommend this lovely apt.
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A great place to stay in Jamaica Plain

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
[Written in an email as the customer did not come through this website.] We stayed in Daisy from mid-December 2013 for two weeks, and found the apartment very comfortable, cosy, neat, and clean. It was also very quiet, something we noticed and valued, it being our third place in JP on our extended visit. The apartment is conveniently placed, near the subway and bus, the main roads, stores, restaurants, with Jamaica Pond, the Arboretum and Franklin Park all in walking distance. It is extremely well-equipped, with most things you would need at your finger-tips! Tracey is meticulous in her attention to detail and extremely helpful, but not intrusive which makes for a great balance. We would definitely recommend it to others. A great place in a great suburb!
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
5

Majic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and i spent 1 month in Daisy and it was a perfect chose. When we arrived the house was spotless. It had more then ample space sunny wooden floors large bedroom with lots of space and it was very well equiped. The bathroom had recently been renovated and there was a very large kitchen with all the utensils that one requires.Tracy the owner is meticulous and provides detailed explanations of how everything works. Furthermore she has maps and suggestions of where to shop and what sites to see. She is extremely helpful but is very discreet and if there is anything you need she is there in a flash. Daisy is situated very centrally near center street and Jamaica pond.We jogged around the pond most mornings and it was majic. Center street is a hive of activity and has some excellent restaurants.There is excellent public transport to downtown
with the T orange line and Bus 39 which was only 3 minute walk from the house.
We highly recommend the house and if your are in Boston either for a short or long stay this is ideal.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Such a wonderful stay

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Left as a sweet handwritten note:
Hi Tracy--

We have had such a wonderful stay here! Daisy on Child Street was perfect for us.

You've done an amazing job of attending to every little detail. Your notes & instructions were very helpful - we never had to wonder about any procedures. You anticipated every question we might have.

I want to thank you for equipping such a complete kitchen. I did quite a bit of cooking here to keep [our new grandchild's parents] fed & stock their freezer. The kitchen had *everything* I needed. I can tell you put a lot of thought into having the right assortment of cooking tools. Much appreciated!

We hope to return to Boston frequently to visit our grandson, and will definitely check with you for availability first.

Thanks!
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely Place...

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Written on dry erase board in kitchen:
Tracy --
Lovely place here on Child St...We really enjoyed the apartment and your hospitality...
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were in Jamaica Plain for 3 weeks in October spend precious time with our new granddaughter.
We were so very fortunate to have found Daisy and owner Tracy; it’s the perfect place to stay! It’s cozy, spacious and sunny, with every amenity that one could ever imagine, including a washer/dryer unit, right outside the bedroom door.
Upon our arrival, Tracy introduced us to our spotless ‘home away from home’ and was accommodating and helpful throughout our visit. She provided us with quiet and privacy, but if we needed her, she was there in a flash; always a text, email, or phone call away.
Hurricane Sandy blew through during our final days in JP, and Tracy was accommodating and helpful!
Daisy is within walking distance to everything needed. Centre Street, (the delightful hub of JP) with all of its restaurants, taverns, and stores, is a short walk from the house. (Harvest Co-Op was our favorite spot to shop for groceries!) The Green Street T stop is a 5-minute walk away, and is a convenient, straight shot to downtown Boston.
We certainly plan on using Daisy for future visits! It's the perfect place for grandparents to stay; we were close by, but could give our kids (and us...) some breathing room!
Thanks, Tracy for your irreplaceable hospitality!
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
5

Perfect location in Boston and perfect hostess

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 1997
My partner Steve and I were Tracy's first long-term tenants back in 1997. We lived in this apartment for 6 years and loved it. It's very cool that Tracy's now doing short-term rentals because now more people can enjoy this great space and perfect location.

Jamaica Plain is a great neighborhood in Boston full of parks, great cafes, restaurants, and friendly people--and only a 15 minute subway ride to downtown Boston. Tracy's house is in the perfect location for exploring the city and the neighborhood. It's a short walk to downtown J.P. and the subway.

The apartment is open, sunny, and colorful with a large bedroom, large kitchen for folks who like to cook, and a large living room. Tracy's recently redone everything and it looks beautiful and new. She's the perfect landlord--she's there and attentive when you need her but gives you privacy when you don't. Any time we had a problem (which wasn't often) Tracy would take care of it immediately.

If you're looking for a nice place to stay while visiting Boston this is the place for you.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunny 1 BD in Jamaica Plain, Boston's Greenest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3169093
+1 617 275-6053
Boston Greater Boston
5

Charming, comfortable stay in hip JP

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of being the second guests to stay in this apartment in Jamaica Plain. Tracy has done a beautiful job renovating the apartment with a comfortable, modern interior that perfectly balances out the charming character of the classic JP triple-decker. The unit includes a great entertainment center (TV, stereo, cable, and roku), a kitchen with every appliance you could reasonably need while away from home, and even a washer and dryer (with detailed instructions on how to use everything.)

The location is literally a stone's-throw away from the Southwest Corridor, a popular bike/walking path that runs through several Boston neighborhoods, and only a 5-10 minute walk to the T. Parking is also easy, as there is plenty of non-resident, non-metered parking around the surrounding blocks. For anyone looking for entertainment nearby, there are a number of shops and restaurants, as well as a branch of the Boston Public Library, all within a few blocks of the apartment.

During our stay Tracy was an attentive, yet respectful host, readily available to answer questions (including over email). She obviously cares a great deal about the experience of her guests, and we will hopefully be staying in her unit again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1