Coupeville cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Coupeville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cove Cottage, a low bank waterfront property, sits on the south shore of Penn Cove with views of Mount Baker and the Cascades. Complete with fireplace, outdoor four person whirlpool hot tub, full kitchen, and two bedroom, one queen and one king, each with their own bathroom. This cottage is quiet, secluded and has a ramp and wheelchair accessible shower adjoining the king bedroom. TV, Cable, High speed internet, phone, Audio CD, and DVD system. Sleeps up to 4 people. This is the casual, easy living beach cabin you have always dreamed of escaping to! (This unit has a mandatory $45 Hot Tub Maintenance fee.) 4 night minimum in July/August

15 Reviews of Property 3166750 in Coupeville, Washington

172 - Cove Cottage
average rating of 3.4 based on 15 reviews
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
3

172 Cove Cottage

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
First of all I would like to say that Tara Properties was very professional at handling paperwork for a spontaneous winter break. However, we did not appreciate being pushed through Clear Stay which seemed redundant and added extra fees. The property itself was located right on the water and had nice views of the sound. The cottage does have a casual look and feel that makes a guest feel at home. The appliances all worked well. Guests are expected to clean towels, dishes, strip beds and generally clean up. I have no problem with these things; but at the same time we had expectations that bath walls and curtains would be free of scum, and fireplaces free of ashes for new guests. I could not recommend this very nice cottage to others simply because of extra fees, and expectation from guests which aren't matched by management.
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
DuPont, WA
3

A nice weekend on Whidbey

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is the 6th year my 2 friends and I have taken a long weekend somewhere along the coast. This cottage was not what we anticipated for the price. It was basically clean, with the exemption of a very large dead and dried spider sticking out the light switch and dead worm-type larva on the floor in the bathroom. We had to wash the dishes in the cupboard before using them due to a greasy substance on them. Although we had a fire place, we had to provide our own wood, kindling and even matches.
The hot tub was nice and hot, but lacked privacy - our neighbors could look right out and see us. Plus the "view of the Sound from the hot tub" was completely obstructed by the overgrown bushes around the from of the deck. When we followed the checkout list we had to go in search of the big trash can (finding it at the end of the drive by the main road), and when we started the load of towels as requested, the washer would not work.
We felt for the price, the quality and attention to detail was not what it should have been. With a little extra attention it could be a very pleasant cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
East Dummerston, VT
3

started out rough but ended up lovely

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We arrived late in the afternoon and the cottage was not clean, beds weren't made, laundry was in the shower, no spare key, and we couldn't get immediately ahold of anyone. In a couple hours this was sorted out, but was not a good first impression. BUT the place was lovely, location great, weather perfect, and we had a wonderful time.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Port Coquitlam, BC
2

disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Bit of a chore just to get in touch with someone for rental details. Wasn't impressed with the $90 "checkout" fee that was not included in the advertised rate. Hot tub was not clean when we arrived, and would not heat up for the first day. Old load of laundry in the washing machine that smelled musty. Were not given the password for the advertised wi-fi. Website also says there is a phone, but phone disconnected.
i
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Regina, Saskachewan
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We spent 6 days in this cottage at the end of August 2012. We are the family of three adults and love to be close to water and nature, but appreciate luxury of a city life. This place perfectly match our criteria and expectations. Location is great: being on an island and being in close proximity to all the points of interest was exceptional. The cottage located on a high beach shore and provides remarkable view on a cove. Seals came to greet us every morning and we never heard our neighbours during our stay, so this is a pretty secluded location. The old world style decor of a cottage creates great atmosphere. Bedrooms are big and mattresses are super comfortable. Property management was in permanent contact with us and was very responsive. There were not any problems with the place. The hot tub was not in use at that time and maintenance fee was reimbursed immediately. hot tub was at the bottom of our "must have" list, so we did not really care about having it. Internet and TV worked perfectly well and we were able to plan our days after quick Internet search and visit number of places easily from this location. Kitchen is well stocked and convenient for cooking. Overall, that was a very comfortable leaving space and we rate it high in our long list of rented cottages in both the USA and Canada.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Westport, Wa
4

quiet house plus a cozy fireplace

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great, quiet location on Penn Cove. would be classified as waterfront, but there are some trees that block the view. One downside was that everytime we walked into the house, the smell of the chemical cleaners overwhelmed the point where I didn't want to be in there. We built a fire, which burned up the smells, and then it was cozy.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Umatilla, OR
3

Reality vs. Advertising

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was somewhat unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The picture of the outside is extremely misleading. The house has no real direct view of the water, nor is it easy to get down to the beach. If you're looking for something you can get to a walking beach, this isn't it. The property is overgrown and a bit creepy on the outside. The driveway leading up to the house is difficult to maneuver to turn around and leave. A REAL TV would be nice and if there's going to be a surround sound type system, it would have been nice to have it hooked up. The sound for TV was very poor. Fridge leaked, kitchen sink leaked and extra linens were stored in a store room filled with spiders, no doubt coming in from the brambles just outside the window and front door that's locked off. The hot tub was good. The water made one of our group sick. The posted sign said call the front desk for bottled water...What front desk??? All in all, I was disappointed greatly.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
San Mateo, CA
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My Uncle passed away recently and my Aunt and I needed a place to stay for a week. I booked this location and it was great. It meet all of our needs. If we had to book a hotel we would had spent a lot more money. We each had our own bedroom and bath. We we able to enjoy the luxury of a home with a beautiful view. With all the planning and arranging we had to do this place met all of our needs. We will need to come back to do some work with the estate and we hope to book this same place again.
There is a wonderful hotel with a restaurant a short walk down the road with great food and lemon drops.
Our cottage was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Our overall experience was very satisfied. We had only one very small problem with the toilet in one of the baths. (very minor) Very happy with the location. The place was clean. The Property management was very nice and attentive.
If anyone is looking for the perfect place on Whidbey Island I would highly recommend this cute little cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Mukilteo, WA
3

comfortable retreat

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Stayed here with some buddies before one moved across the country. The cabin was really comfortable and the beds were great. The pictures don't the kitchen but it's very usable. Frig is small, about half normal size, but bigger was not really needed and stores are super close. It was nice having Coupeville so close for exploring. The only disappointment was that the hot tub had some trouble and never managed to get hot. Stayed about 60 degrees despite all our attempts to increase heat. The controls were basically an on-off switch and temperature dial so there wasn't much to screw up. Suspect heating element was failing. Not being able to use the hot tub was unfortunate since that was a draw, but none the less we enjoyed our stay

Manager responded on 7/21/2012:
Our extreme apologies go out to this guest for the hot tub issues. Apparantly the only problem with the hot tub was the reset switch had been turned off on accident. Our new hot tub maintenance person did not realize it was off, but is now aware of that feature of this hot tub and will be double checking it at every cleaning. The hot tub did re-heat after this and has been working great since.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
172 - Cove Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166750
+1 855 5296084
Coupeville Whidbey Island
2

cabin

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Problems with cat or raccoon smell and dirty couch. Inaccurate information provided and management was unhelpful. The place could be amazing with more attention paid to customers concerns. Location and structure are wonderful.
Helpful votes: 1/1