Gift Hill villa rental - Refresh from a salty beach with a dip in your private pool amidst flowers & view
Refresh from a salty beach with a dip in your private pool amidst flowers & view
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Gift Hill Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Private Baths, Plus loft (Sleeps 1 to 8)

Cielo Vista (Heavenly View) is a modern hilltop villa, of white stucco and Caribbean blue roof and shutters. The interior is pristine clean white plaster with rich mahogony wood trim and special Mexican tile flooring. When people come to Cielo Vista their first reaction is awe of the views and appreciation of the cleanliness and architecture. The central Great Room with its vaulted two story space with loft and catwalk is the hub. There are three private bed suites with their own beautiful baths and special showers. There is a sleeping loft/ reading nook in the Great Room connected to an elevated balcony with even more expansive vistas. The modern, full kitchen is well laid out for efficiency and company. The large enclosed outdoor veranda with its proximity to the pool is a place of easy comfort, viewing, reading, and visiting. The pool is private and inviting, surrounded by a deck affording sunbathing, sunset viewing, and morning coffee venue, And always, there is the view.

Cielo Vista can easily accommodate 4 couples in privacy and comfort yet provide for group gatherings for meals, drinks, and conversation in the Great Room, screened-in veranda, and pool deck. The bed suites are all separated so the villa can be a cozy bed room for the single couple as well. The Garden Suite, the third bedroom, was originally conceived by the owners as an independent apartment for visiting family. As such it has its own full kitchen with dinette, separate outside entrance, TV sitting area, screened-in porch, canopied patio and sun deck. Occupants of the Garden Suite can join the group via a short brick garden walk along the side of the pool. The Garden Suite is used when villa guest groups are larger than six and is included in the quoted price. This suite is never rented separately when the villa is rented by guests. However when the owners are in residence and the villa is not leased they rent this suite out separately under the name of ' St John Apartment with View'

More Details
Hide Details

Chris and Harriett Bast were married in the autumn of their lives on tiny Henley Cay just off Caneel Bay in 2010. This was the joyful, improbable union of two recent retirees,a Southern belle from Charleston,SC and an Upstate NY contractor. Chris is a West Pointer with a tour of duty in VN. He started his company with his childhood sweetheart, his deceased wife-Nancy.. It was she who chose the site, selected the name and did much of the physical work of the building. We dedicate this to Nancy with love

Chris and Harriett Bast purchased this villa in 2005

We had been stymied in our 3 year search for just the right property on St John.during the real estate boom in the early 2000's

We had made many offers but were always 2nd bidder or too late. Returning stateside after one especially frustrating trip during which we had tendered two unsuccessful proposals we received an urgent phone call from our realtor which needed an immediate response. A property was about to be listed and already offers were queuing up. We would have to bid 'sight unseen' if we wished to be in the hunt. We bid based on trust and and the agent's detailed description-- An unbelievably great view, nice neighborhood, buildable lot, well treed, convenient location, good assess roads, quiet surrounds, great topography, ample space, and immediate availability. Obviously we were the successful bidder. We hurriedly returned to St John with 3 days of grace if we wanted to withdraw our bid. There was no need-It was love at 1st sight.

Many St John locations can boast of great views but CV has one of the best. In the dark of night the vista continues. No featureless black seascape here. The lights of St Thomas twinkle in the distance. We can watch the the big cruise ships as they steam in from or out to sea from Charlotte Amalie. On clear days we can see the PR islands of Vieques and Culebras. But the best is the spectacular sunsets from the deck or balcony as we review the day.

All rooms have the great view, proximity to the pool, and easy transparent access to the outdoors. The Great Room, a two story, vaulted space with catwalk and loft, houses the functions as a group -visiting/cooking/ TV/ games, etc. The bed suites with their own verandas are get-away spots for reading or napping with privacy. The bathrooms are spacious with special showers which feel like you're outdoors. Originally the villa was built with a large open veranda tying all the areas together around the pool. To reduce the suns rays in late afternoon a special rollup screen was installed in front of the Great Room. This proved so successful that they entire veranda was screened in with overhead fans and comfy cushioned chairs. This room has become a focal point in the villa. It mimics the outdoor living spaces of Charleston, SC.

The pool is central to the villa. The surrounding deck is great for private sunbathing, It is often cool at night for cocktails and visits as the twinkling lights of St Thomas emerge after the sunset. Morning coffee or crossword puzzle are done there also.

The 2nd floor balcony provides an elevated cafe and hammock-enjoy.

8 Reviews of Property 3166327 in Gift Hill, Virgin Islands

Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Connecticut
5

Cielo Vista - Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our first visit to St. John and Cielo Vista. We found Cielo Vista to be absolutely perfect. The location is ideal, perched on the hillside overlooking the town of Cruz Bay, with panoramic views of the harbor and St Thomas in the distance. The villa is just a few minutes from Cruz Bay and is in an ideal location from which to explore St. John.

The villa is beautifully decorated and we found it to be very well equipped throughout. The design is spectacular with views from literally everywhere in the house. We really enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the outdoor dining area overlooking the pool and deck. We loved returning to the villa after a day of snorkeling or touring the island, relaxing on the deck and enjoying the pool. The grand finale everyday was watching the fabulous sunsets from the deck, and then seeing the lights come on after dusk across the bay on St Thomas.

Cielo vista exceeded our expectations, and we can't wait to return. Chris and Harriet - thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
5

Perfect Stay in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We couldn't have asked for more...Cielo Vista was absolutely the perfect place to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We arrived after the car rental closed, so the property manager Denise, not only picked us up from the ferry dock, but stopped at the store so we could have some food before she came the next morning to our jeep rental in town. We appreciated the welcoming special touches that she provided, and the quick overview of the home.

We loved the perfectly clean, beautifully decorated and fully equipped villa. Even though the villa has a tenant who lives below Cielo Vista, you are totally secluded and feel as though you are alone.
The home is so uniquely designed where the two bedrooms are on opposite ends of the home. It would be great for two couples. The shower was amazing, we loved the outdoor feel with the awesome views.

The location high on the mountain side delivers breathtaking views of St. Thomas in the distance. Very private pool /deck to soak up the warm, bronzing sun. We really liked the location alot. Although the sharp curves up the mountain are a bit intimidating, (make sure your jeep doesnt have semi bald tires like ours did) we thought the location was ideal because you could get to the beaches easy enough, and a very short drive to town, with fabulous views, and privacy. The villa has everything you need.
The bed & pillows were quite comfortable and after a couple of nights we started getting used to the loud frogs chirping in the night. We would highly recommend this Villa to family and friends, and we hope to return as well. Thank-you Harriett for sharing your beautiful comfortable villa with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Charlton, New York
5

JUST PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We vacationed at Cielo Vista this past October. This was our second visit to St. John and we had a wonderul time both times that we stayed at Cielo Vista. The accommodations are spectacular -- along with the view. The location of this beautiful and well cared for home is the best; atop the winding roads of St. John - looking over to the beautiful sight of St. Thomas; which is lovely and most beautful when lit up at night. Each bedroom is private and spacious with each having a private bath. The living room and kitchen area is open to the screened-in porch - which leads right to the steps into your own personal in-ground salt water pool!! We spent many hours enjoying the pool and admiring the view. We enjoyed delicious food which we prepared in the spacious and well-supplied kitchen -- out on the screened in porch which has a dining table and the spectacular view once again!!. The beaches of St. John are gorgeous and we enjoyed visiting many. Cielo Vista is a lovely home with a perfect view; which makes for a most lovely and relaxing and perfect vacation. We would most surely go again!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Kinderhook, NY
5

Truly paradise, we are never more relaxed than we are at Cielo Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I honeymooned at Cielo Vista in 2007 and have returned every year since to celebrate our anniversary. We love our time on St John and Cielo Vista is the perfect place to stay. The house is amazing, the bedrooms are set up like private master suits at each end of the house both with some of the best views in the Caribbean. One our favorite parts about Cielo Vista is waking up every morning to the beautiful view from the bedroom and hearing the bananaquits feeding from feeder on the railing by the pool. The villa has everything you will need to make your stay on the island truly wonderful, whether you enjoy a relaxing day at the pool admiring the view or exploring the island with easy access from the centrally located Villa. The villa and Island are both breath taking! We look forward to our return every year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Delmar, NY
5

Fantastic home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Fantastic Home

This home is extremely well maintained and is everything the listing says it is.
My husband and I (and children - young adults) have returned several times to
this villa always to find something new has been added. Short drive to beaches
and Cruz Bay restaurants. A/C in bedrooms but we've never needed to use it with
evening breezes coming thru the floor to ceiling bedroom patio doors. Beautiful
evening sunsets, delightful pool and patio, great location - can't wait to
return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Albany, New York
5

Peaceful Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I had the opportunity to stay at this stunning home on two separate occassions with my family. The kitchen and living room had an inviting open layout, which also led into the ever so comfortable outdoor lounge/eating area. We spent many nights sharing food, drinks and playing games in this part of the house, which was also screened-in...a nice bonus! The pool has spectacular views. Sunset cocktails were always a MUST from this area before heading into town for the evening. I've stayed in each bedroom and up in the loft. All sleeping accomadations were comfortable and the bathrooms were more than accomodating. The showers are both sizeable with amazing veiws and the counter space is ample. The beaches and town are all within reasonable distances which was another bonus for us. I can't wait to head back down! Simply GORGEOUS.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Alison, I hope you will be able to visit Cielo Vista again in 2013.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Chris and Harriett Bast
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Queensbury, NY
5

We can't wait to go back! Perfect Getaway!

We can't wait to go back! Perfect Getaway!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I went there with 4 of our friends. We were worried about there being enough room for all of us but it was perfect! The views from the house are absolutely spectacular! It is so close to anywhere on the island but has enough amenities if you want to stay at the house for the day! The layout of the house is perfect for a group of people or even a family. Lots of privacy in the 2 main bedrooms with outstanding views from both rooms. We would absolute recommend staying here for any family looking for a getaway or a group of 6 or less friends looking for a vacation house. We can't wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to read your wonderful review and we thank you for taking your time to write to us. We hope you will come back to visit soon.
Chris and Harriett
business
Cielo Vista, Breathtaking panoramic views from every room/deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166327
+1 8433452525
Gift Hill St John
Albany, NY
5

Can't wait to go back!!!

Can't wait to go back!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This hilltop villa has stunning views - the pictures don't do it justice. The floorplan is well thought out with private, spacious bedrooms and an open main room/kitchen. We’ve visited this villa 4 times in the past 5 years and can always count on a clean, well-cared for property with all the amenities needed for a stress-free vacation. It’s a quick drive to the National Park beaches, and the Gift Hill location makes it easy to explore both sides of the island. There’s something for everyone – hiking for all levels, amazing snorkeling, sun bathing, bird watching, etc. Cruz Bay and Mongoose Junction are also nearby, with shops and delicious restaurants if you don’t want to cook. It all adds up to an unforgettable experience, which is why we keep going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1