Poipu condo rental - Life on the lanai can be difficult to leave
Life on the lanai can be difficult to leave
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath (sleeps 2)

Kuhio Shores 104 is on the ground floor of this special property, where a covered lanai and a lush green lawn are only things between the living room and the ocean. We are on the quieter east side, where the sun rises and the cooling trade winds blow. The sea turtles pop their heads up to welcome you. Just imagine yourselves sitting on our cozy chairs on the lanai, enjoying your meal or favorite drink. It is just beautiful!

We have made our condo comfortable and inviting in the spirit of Aloha. We want you to feel perfectly at home. As your hosts, our main goal is for you to have a wonderful vacation experience. We are always available to you.

The furnishings are all new. There is a new king bed with a lux memory foam topper for optimum comfort. The new sofa bed is also made for both seating and sleeping comfort. The sofa sleeper has been an option for guests who want to hear the sounds of the ocean as they sleep. The living room is furnished in a tasteful island style, with practicality also in mind. There is plenty of lighting to read or use your computer, with our wireless high speed internet. The kitchen is well equipped and well stocked for cooking. Along with major appliances, there is a microwave, coffee maker, separate espresso maker, blender, for your island drinks, rice cooker, and all of the dishes, pots, pans and utensils you will need. There is also a great Weber BBQ on the premises. Each of the floors at Kuhio Shores has washer and dryers for your convenience.

Our condo has a great system of lockable plantation shutters so that you can keep the lanai shutters open to hear the waves and feel the cooling breezes. Being on the ground floor also allows you spread out on the lawn, giving you a much bigger space to enjoy the magnificent view. Our condo is in a very convenient location just to the left of the Kuhio Shores lobby. There is no need to use the elevator or stairs.

Here, you are at the water’s edge, but the rest of Kauai has so much to offer. Some of the very best snorkeling and diving can be had on either side of Kuhio Shores. Ho'ai Bay just in front, is a favorite of locals and the home to many sea turtles. Behind is Prince Kuhio's birthplace, a sacred heritage site. Lawai Beach, next to the famed Beach House Restaurant is exceptional. Other amazing white sand beaches for surfing, swimming and snorkeling in Poipu area are just minutes away. Old Koloa Town just up the road, is a gem of old Hawaii. Kukui’ ula Shopping Center, with fine dining and shopping, is a short walk away …and then there is the rest of the breathtaking Garden Isle!

HI TA # W85519404-01

More Details
Hide Details

John and Brenda Loudon-

We have lived for over 30 years on the beautiful Mendocino coast of northern California.This is our first home, where we have raised our children. John is a General Building contractor, specializing in custom homes, and I am a nurse at the local hospital. We love to travel and have been to many special places. We thought that our first home was still the most beautiful place...that is until we experienced Kauai. The friendliness and kindness of the local people also drew us. There is an easy smile and an open heart--the true spirit of Aloha.

John and Brenda Loudon purchased this condo in 2012

I just happened to find our unit, Kuhio Shores #104 on VRBO while hunting for a place to stay on our first trip to Kauai. We couldn't believe how special Kuhio Shores was with the close proximity to the ocean, beautiful gardens and the extremely helpful staff. We returned several times and found out that the unit was for sale! We felt strongly that it was 'meant to be'. We feel so very lucky and are excited to be able to share our second home!

The beauty of this ground floor unit is the location. It is oriented to greet the morning's sunrise and the afternoons Tradewinds.

This allows a complete Hawaiian experience all from your lanai.

11 Reviews of Property 3166032 in Poipu, Hawaii

Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
5

A gem in lush Kaua'i

A gem in lush Kaua'i
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I stayed here for 12 nights in February, our 7th trip to Hawaii, and second time on Kaua'i. The condo was very well stocked, more than others we have rented in the past. It was bright, clean, well-maintained and comfortable for the two of us. We ate most meals and spent the most time on the lanai watching the honu and snorkellers in the bay and whales in the ocean. There is nothing better! Kuhio Shores is very well maintained, and in an excellent location. We would stay here again, and hope to very soon! Mahalo Brenda and John for showing us the spirit of Aloha with your gem in Kaua'i.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Dundee, Oregon
5

Great Condo on the Water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Great well appointed, extremely clean condo on the water. Ocean breezes cool the nicely decorated rooms. There is a room air conditioner should the humidity or doldrums hit. We definitely would go back. Easy and great morning walk routes close by.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Kitchener, Ontario Canada
5

Just right for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This condo is beautifully decorated with high quality linens, appliances etc. Very comfortable, well maintained. We were welcomed with a lovely fruit tray. We really enjoyed just relaxing on the lanai, especially early mornings, to watch the ocean and birds. A real highlight was snorkeling. The shoreline beside the building on one side is rocky and a little tricky but there are many sea turtles. On the other side of the condo there is a lovely sandy beach and the snorkeling was also awesome with abundant colorful fish. The owner was very helpful in answering our questions & provided lots of information on things to see and do. We had an evening flight and the owner was flexible with a late departure which we also really appreciated.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Rocklin, ca
5

So glad we found this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This one bedroom condo was all we hoped it would be! The location an amenities were awesome. We definitely hope to be back some day.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Washington D.C.
4

Wonderful oceanside retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We couldn't keep our eyes away from the ocean--in full view of and only steps away from this lovely, well-appointed condo. The space was really thoughtfully decked out - everything from the binoculars to the snorkel sets to the beach chairs to the coffee machine made our stay really enjoyable. Sites and beaches in Poipu are close to the condo - the lawn in front of the Beach House restaurant, prime sunset-viewing territory, is only a short walk away. We also took advantage of the shopping center (The Shops at Kukui ula) close by. It has great restaurants (Tortilla Republic, for example) and an expensive but handy market with great wine and organic groceries.

The owners were responsive and offered great tips about what to see and do. They seemed genuinely interested in making sure that we had a pleasant experience.

The only downside is the lack of privacy--since the unit is on the ground floor, several people (surfers among them) walked past our place to check out the view from the Kuhio Shores lawn. You can't blame them, though, because the view is beautiful. We spent most of the time on the lanai, checking out the sea turtles.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
5

The title says it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Loved this place. As soon as you open the front door, the view is incredible. We were always comfortable. This condo is located in a great spot...close to a wonderful place to shop, within walking to a great restaurant and fun beach. Also, the bed was the best I have ever slept on! Everything you need is right there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Portland, OR
5

Awesome Kauai vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a wonderful time in Kauai and would recommend this condo highly. It was very clean and well-equipped with everything we needed and then some. Brenda and John were very helpful, leaving us a welcoming gift basket with yummy snacks and provided a very helpful list of enjoyable things to do while on Kauai. They were very responsive to our inquiries and questions. The view from the lanai was wonderful - like having the ocean is your own backyard! We saw multiple sea turtles and enjoyed watching the locals ply the waters for fish. The beach next door was the best snorkel spot we have been to - many fish of all types and colors. And the sunsets from the beach were spectacular! We also enjoyed Poipu beach where we saw sea turtles right on the shallow shoreline and a monk seal sunning itself on the beach.
We would recommend Tortilla Republic for dinner - good food and nice atmosphere. We also enjoyed drinks and appetizers at the Seaview Terrace at the Hyatt - gorgeous view- then wandering the beautiful grounds of the Hyatt.
Overall, a great experience and vacation and a return visit is to this condo is in our plans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Calgary
5

The Sound of the Ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The condo is in a beautiful location. The Lanai overlooks the water and you can watch and listen to the ocean all day long, along with the turtles a few steps away and the whales on the horizon. The area is quiet and away from the busier Poipu Beach area. Any night, you can walk around the building and join others watching an unobstructed view of the sunset and/or enjoy some good food at the Beach House Restaurant. The Shops at Kukui'ula are located a short 10-15 minute walk away where there is a great organic market and cafe as well as shops and several very good places to eat almost anything you feel like eating or snacking on. The historic town of Koloa is a short drive away where the main grocery store is as well as a great fish market, food trucks, shops, etc. The condo is well equipped and very comfortable and the building itself is very well maintained. The owners were very pleasant and easy to deal with. We would definitely recommend this to others and we would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
P.O. Box 128 Comptche, CA 95427
5

Spectacular oceanfront condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We loved everything about our stay . The beautiful tasteful decor, fully stocked kitchen, spectacular ocean view (including huge turtles), super comfortable bed,beautifully landscaped grounds, laundry service, parking, snorkel equipment. We had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation We enjoyed both great locations on either side of the property for swimming and snorkeling. The welcome basket in the fridge was such a nice touch and set the tone for papaya, mango and pineapple every day! The location is peaceful and quiet, with many dinner options within walking distance and even more a short drive away. We especially loved the beach house and tortilla factory.

We enjoyed the Kipu ranch ATV tour as an outing, we were able to see the terrain and great unspoiled views. The two guides were like a comedy show and told stories throughout the guided tour. We also enjoyed the "canyon" drive with a little hiking. We enjoyed every sunrise and sunset....so close to the water was a dream come true. We plan to return when we are able and in the meantime we highly recommend this as the very best place to stay in Kauai!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Condo with the Comforts of Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166032
+1 707 964-2625
Poipu Kauai
Charleston, SC
5

One of the most beautiful spots on earth for sure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Sea turtles just steps from your patio, whales frolicking just yards away and a rainbow overhead! This has got to be paradise.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The condo was a fantastic way to enjoy our vacation. It was lovely, clean and very comfortable. The owners were so helpful and kind. The Kauai Guide Book we received weeks prior to our arrival from them marked up with personal notes and highlights was terrific.

The ability to live as we do at home and be able to relax and enjoy some meals right there was great. The condo had everything we needed to cook a meal or just enjoy a takeout. Twelve nights away from home and we didn't have that "hotel weary" feeling. Being on the first floor gave us quick accessibility to see nature, sunsets or just unfold a couple of beach chairs and read the afternoon away.

The entire Kuhio Shores property is beautifully maintained, literally on the water and absolutely the best location on Kauai. The best restaurant on Kauai, The Beach House is next door. Two of the best snorkeling beaches are on either side. Shopping/groceries are steps away. Even the Spouting Horn blowhole can be a nice walk away!

We would definitely recommend this condo and location to anyone who wants a totally relaxing stay on Kauai, The Garden Island.

Thank you so much for your hospitality and sharing your beautiful condo with us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3