Lake Sinissippi bungalow rental - Enjoy morning coffee on the covered porch.
Enjoy morning coffee on the covered porch.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Sinissippi Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2-4

Butternut Bungalow, a delightful cottage located on the beautiful 2800 acre Lake Sinissippi.

Great location in Dodge County, less than an hour from Madison or Milwaukee and about 2-1/2 hours from the city of Chicago.

Private parking. Butternut Bungalow is the perfect get-a-way for two! The carpeted bedroom/living room has one queen size bed with a sitting area. For additional guests, two cots are available if needed.

Patio doors access the covered porch, perfect for enjoying morning coffee and watching the sunrise.

Eat-in kitchen with gas stove/oven, full size refrigerator and microwave. One full bathroom with shower stall.

Central heat/air conditioning. Butternut Bungalow is on the waterfront with a dock available should you like to bring your own boat. The public boat launch is nearby. Also on site, a canoe and paddle boat for your use.

Allow us to introduce ourselves…we are Keith and Virginia Wick, proud co-owners and property managers of Butternut Bungalow, a vacation rental property located on Lake Sinissippi in Juneau, Wisconsin. Since August of 2012, we have been blessed with the opportunity to provide a relaxing and comfortable get-a-way for guests traveling from all parts of the United States to the Dodge County area. Our 35 years of sales and customer service experience have afforded us a natural progression into the hospitality industry. Guests visit Butternut Bungalow looking for a way to retreat from their day-to-day routine. As co-owners and property managers, our primary objective is to do our part in making their stay a memorable one. Keeping our guests' needs in the forefront of our minds has been paramount to our success. Virginia, with her design and staging background, especially enjoys making the place unique for each and every guest.

Keith & Virginia Wick purchased this bungalow in 2008

Back in 2008 we began looking for lake property near the Milwaukee area. We have been boating enthusiasts for some time and decided it was time to realize our dream of living near the water 24/7. We had already built one house and were interested in building another, so we began our search with the intention of finding a place where we could design and build our lake home. As it turned out Lake Sinissippi was that place! We drove around the area looking for the perfect spot and while viewing one house for sale, we stumbled on another that had just been put on the market. A double lot, with a little garage/apartment on one and a spot to build our new home on the other. They sold as a set and we decided to take the plunge. We renovated the smaller house and gave it a name - Butternut Bungalow and lived in it while we built our new house next door. It's a great little place that has turned into a get-a-way spot for two. Celebrate your anniversary, birthday, honeymoon, or simply a time a wind down. It's perfect!

As the photo of us shows…WOW! We fell in love with what seemed to be a very well-kept secret - Lake Sinissippi. You can feel the peacefulness as you wind your way in to the lake.

W-O-W stands for Wicks' On Water and we'd love for you to come experience life on the water, in any season, at Butternut Bungalow.

11 Reviews of Property 3166008 in Lake Sinissippi, Wisconsin

Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

What a lovely place to stay. Quite and relaxing...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful time...Just the R&R that we needed....This was our second time being there and we DO plan on staying again in Aug...
Owner's Response: Yes, Lake Sinissippi is a great place for some R & R any season of the year…we look forward to having you back again! Keith and Virginia Wick
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Beautiful modern bungalow with a gorgeous view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a really nice time and thoroughly enjoyed the accomodations at the bungalow. It was even nicer than we expected! We were really impressed with all the little touches that made the place feel more like home than a hotel room and the relaxing view of the lake and cute porch really topped it off! Geez they even put out a bottle of wine and some amazing fresh baked cookies for us! We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Wild Goose State Trail on our bikes and then relaxing in our bungalow with a bottle of wine and hors d' ouvres. I'm already trying to book our next trip back! Thanks!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback and fantastic comments. We look forward to having you back for a visit again in the future. Exploring the Lake Sinissippi area in the winter is a lot of fun, so come on back and check it out! Keith & Virginia Wick
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Exceeded Our Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cozy bungalow was even better than the pictures portrayed. It was roomier than we expected and exceptionally clean. We were surprised how close it was to other homes. However after settling in we realized that it did feel private. It is very tastefully decorated and furnished. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. The binder of local information was helpful and the extra little touches were a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed the serenity of the area and the opportunity to relax, watch television and be close to nature. It was an easy drive to Horicon Marsh and to a local grocery store. We have already recommended it to several people.
Owner's Response: Thank you for recommending Butternut Bungalow to others and for taking the time to share about your experience. We're very happy you were able to relax, unwind and enjoy some of the sights and sounds that the Lake Sinissippi area has to offer. Hope to see you again!
Keith and Virginia
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
4

Modern, cozy retreat with fantastic amenities.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our stay was the perfect getaway from a too busy life. Modern, comfortable, with a lakefront setting in the quiet of the countryside. Easy to find and close enough to town for restaurants and other needs. Exquisitely cared for and decorated with a personal touch. Completely furnished with more than the normal necessities. A truly lovely experience to stay in this bungalow. I would recommend this one to all my family and friends.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We enjoy adding personal and unique touches for our guests' visits so their stay may be as comfortable as possible. And thank you for letting your friends and family know about your great get-a-way! Keith and Virginia Wick
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Delightful, Indeed! We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We could not have asked for more in terms of the comfort, appointments, and the quiet we sought for this vacation. Our hosts were delightful, as was our stay. From morning coffee on the porch watching the Pelicans and Eagles, to steaks on the grill at night while the fireflies lit the lawn, it was picture perfect from start to finish!

We enjoyed the local Friday night Fish Fry, the Farmer's Market, and the proximity to so many of Southeastern Wisconsin's must see spots. Horicon Marsh was our primary target to visit, and we were not disappointed.

Although Wisconsin can be very hot and humid in the summer, we regretted not packing sweatshirts for the cooler evenings. Other than that, we have not one thing that should be improved upon!

Thank you Virginia and Keith for providing the ideal location for the quiet, relaxing vacation we'd hoped for! We will be booking another visit with you in the future.

David & Ken
Owner's Response: Hello! It was a pleasure having you here at the lake. We're happy that Butternut Bungalow afforded you the relaxation you were looking for. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Thank you for the fantastic review!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Tranquil & Serene Stay

Tranquil & Serene Stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I am convinced Butternut Bungalow has some magical qualities as it immediately put me into a serene trance once we stepped in. The setting and details inside and outside were truly inviting. We stepped into the kitchen and immediately felt the welcome from owners Keith and Virginia as they had set out cookies, trail mix, and a bottle of sparkling juice for us. They even went out of their way to give us some ears of corn they bought in the morning for us to grill. There were details that continued to put us at ease as they had a binder full of recommendations from where to eat, where to go, and activities of the surrounding areas. The place is very well maintained and organized in a way that felt like you were being taken care of throughout your stay. We were able to grill out for both days while sitting out on the rocking chairs relaxing. The yard was nice and wide as we were able to throw a baseball and football around. The dock area was beautiful as you get a great open view of the lake. We caught a few catfish but the carp were being a bit elusive that day...
We drove to Kettle Moraine State Forest (about an hour away) and spent half a day there fishing (no bites) and hiking (great hiking trails).
Overall, although we stayed for only a couple of days, every minute of it was spent with no worries, calmness, and the sense of a complete getaway. Thank you Virginia and Keith for your thoughtfulness and hospitality!!
Owner's Response: Your review makes us smile! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit to Butternut Bungalow. We are so happy you were pleased with the accommodations and that you were able to experience the tranquility of the Lake Sinissippi area.
Our best to you both! Keith and Virginia
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Fantastic Getaway Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you plan to escape from the hustle and bustle of life, this is the place! What a beautiful, gorgeous, and attractive bungalow. From the moment we stepped in we fell in love with Butternut Bungalow! We were greeted with a wonderful welcome basket containing wine, chocolate chunk cookies, and trail mix. Every detail is thought through which makes this a special place to stay. This way a wonderful place for just the two of us to get away but we plan on bringing our daughter with us when we return.

We stopped at a grocery store on the way in and once we arrived we didn’t get back in the car until it was time to leave. We enjoyed morning runs (I would run every day of the week if it was this beautiful where I live), canoeing (we were able to see Bald Eagles!!), sitting on the porch, going to walks, and we also enjoyed the pedal boat. The few days we had were magical! We hope to be back again soon!! Thank you so much Keith and Virginia for sharing this beautiful place with us!!!!

I was telling a few friends who just returned from Mexico about our trip. They had the worst vacation ever and spent most of their time with the resort doctor. They are thinking something like this would work out a lot better next time and save them a lot of money.
Owner's Response: We are so happy that your stay lived up to your expectations and you were able to experience some of the things the Lake Sinissippi area has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Butternut Bungalow. We look forward to having you come back and see us again sometime. Keith and Virginia
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Just Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a perfect place for just the two of us to get away from the typical race of life. The Bungalow was beautifully decorated, and exceptionally clean. The lake was beautiful to watch throughout the day.
My best review is saying, "We'll be going back soon."
Owner's Response: We love promoting our vacation rental as a get-a-way for two so we are very pleased to hear your comments. Even in the warmer months, Lake Sinissippi is a quiet and peaceful spot to enjoy some R & R. We look forward to having you back in the future! Keith and Virginia
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

Beautiful and cozy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at this wonderful cabin for our 1 year anniversary and it was the perfect little getaway! It was quiet, cozy and everything right down to the napkins were high end. Some of the details offered were a library of DVD's, firewood for the firepit, magazines and a binder full of "what to do and where to go" ideas. No detail was overlooked for a comfortable stay. It was close to several little towns that we were able to find with our GPS. The entire area had typical country charm. We enjoyed Joan's Country Cooking for breakfast and The Mercantile in downtown Hustisford that offered wine tasting. We found wonderful deals at the local Buy n Sell shop and found a new favorite meat market in Horicon called Leroy's Meats.
Our only regret is that we never got to meet Keith and Virginia, the owners of this lovely cabin. Maybe next time!
Dan and Sarah
Owner's Response: Dan and Sarah - We are so glad you were able to enjoy some of the local hot spots! There are a lot of great little towns nearby that are fun to discover, especially when it's too cool to enjoy summer watersports on the lake. We look forward to seeing you again and we thank you for the wonderful review.
Keith and Virginia Wick
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Delightful Bungalow With Scenic Lakeside View Of The Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3166008
+1 9203499425
Lake Sinissippi Southern Wisconsin
5

delightful indeed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cute little bungalow is perfect for a couple looking to spend time together in a serene setting. It is clean and well coordinated with tasteful accents and aesthetically pleasing decor. The modern bedding, without the quilted roosters typical in a rural cottage setting, scored major points. The owners make the guests feel truly welcome with thoughtful little touches like a bottle of wine with 2 glasses and home baked cookies waiting for you on the kitchen table, full ice tray in the freezer, colorful fresh flowers on the nightstand, and the mini shampoo and soap all set up with clean towels in the shower.

The property itself is not very secluded and has a quiet road on one side (far enough and quiet enough not to be a bother) and the property owner's house on the other side. The owners, however, provided a perfect balance of interaction and space and couldn't have been more accommodating.

The nearest good hiking place is the Kettle Moraine Forest about 20 min. away and it is worth the trip as you can easily spend an entire day there. If fishing is your passion, there is plenty of fish (big and small) you can catch off the pier. If you're an avid fisherman, you might consider bringing your own boat since there is tons of big fish further away from the shore.There is a canoe and a paddle boat provided, so neither is a good vessel for fishing, but they're perfect means for exploring the lake. The weekdays are extremely tranquil with a lot more activity on the lake during the weekend.

Overall, it was a perfect way to recharge and get away. My companion and I spent a very lazy (and wonderful) week looking at the lake, watching the sunsets, fishing from the pier, observing the family of chipmunks that live under the porch, and concluding each day with a warm campfire. Thank you Keith and Virginia for providing everything we needed for a comfortable and carefree vacation!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you appreciated your stay and were able to unwind and relax at Butternut Bungalow. In preparation for our guests, we like to put ourselves in their shoes and include the little touches that we would like to have when we are traveling. We're very pleased that we were able to provide accomodations to make your stay special and memorable. We look forward to seeing you again!

Keith and Virginia
Helpful votes: 3/3