Bellaire / Shanty Creek chalet rental - Chalet with 10' Surrounding Deck
Chalet with 10' Surrounding Deck
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bellaire / Shanty Creek Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Secluded 3,000SF, 5BR, 3.5BA Chalet (w/private dock) on Lwr Chain of Lakes

This home offers a peaceful setting, central air, gas fireplace, built-in appliances, etc., and tastefully decorated with country charm. Among the 5 bedrooms are 3 bedrooms with direct access to a full bath (perfect for multi-family use). In addition, there are three queen size sofa sleepers and two roll-out foam mattresses that are perfect for children.

During the summer, step outside onto a wide wrap-around cedar deck to overlook the forest, or take a walk to the waters edge to view a tranquil setting, or venture out in your boat from our private dock on the Lower Chain of Lakes. Evenings, relax around a large campfire.

During the winter, skiing is within minutes of Schuss Mountain and Shanty Creek.

Amenities: Cable TV, VCR, DVD, phone, and fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, garbage disposal, coffee pot, toaster, pots & pans, dishes, utensils and glassware. Also equipped with washer & dryer, barbecue grill, and outdoor furniture. Towels, bed linens & pillows are provided.

Activities: Boating, fishing, swimming, skiing/tubing on Lake Bellaire, Grass River, Clam Lake, Torch Lake, Torch River, Lake Skegmog and Elk Lake. Snow Skiing at Shanty Creek & Schuss Mt

Area: Within minutes of downtown Alden, Bellaire, Shanty Creek and Schuss Mountain, and approximately 30 minutes from Traverse City, and 20 minutes from Turtle Creek Casino.

Responsible party must be 25 years of age or older to rent this home.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 316588 in Bellaire / Shanty Creek, Michigan

Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Southwest Michigan
5

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from a wonderful week with our family at Runnin Bear. We had seven adults and our two little grandchildren and we couldn't have had a more perfect spot for our family vacation! The home is absolutely amazing and impeccably clean! We could all spread out as we pleased and each of the bedrooms were so big that each family was able to have their own sleeping space with the most comfy beds!! Having a full bath on each floor was also a real plus. I can't say enough about how nice the house was. It literally seemed like something from Better Homes and Gardens all decorated in a "beachy" theme! Big flat screen TV's, pool table, lots of games for the kids, a fully stocked kitchen with very nice cookware and dinnerware......everything was top of line both inside and out. Absolutely nothing missing!! The wrap around deck had very unique furniture, with lots of places to sit in the sunshine or relax in the shade. The house is very secluded, yet close to many of the fun tourist spots. The little ones loved the sandbar and beach at the Dockside!! The girls did some fun shopping at both Bellaire and Alden (cute little boutique shops) and the guys got some golf time in at three of the area courses. They didn't have much luck with the fish.......but maybe next time. Kudos to Linda on her organization with the entire rental process!! She is a great communicator with her renters, including sending out a complete packet of information on the surrounding area listing all events occurring during the time of your stay. We have rented in various areas in northern Michigan for the past few years and Runnin Bear is certainly at the top for a perfect vacation home for a large family!! Our family would highly recommend Runnin Bear and we look forward to returning to the Bellaire/Torch Lake area in the future. Thank you Linda!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Fenton, MI
5

Rainy Days

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The house is more beautiful than the pictures portray. There is a ton of room!! Sadly it rained the entire weekend we were there. However we still had an incredible time. We were able to spread out and all watch the different games we were interested in and then reconvine as a group without ever being crowded. There are so many options of things to do while you are there and we didn't even get to use the outside facilities. Looking forward to our next trip and better weather.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Auburn, WA, USA
5

Family/Friends & Food - that's all you'll need! :)

Family/Friends & Food - that's all you'll need! :)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
What a FABULOUS place! Fourteen of us (eight adults and six kids ranging from 5-13) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Runnin' Bear and would highly recommend it to others. Great communication by Linda (owner) who provided extensive information specific to our trip. We journeyed from WA, NY, & Eastern MI to come together as a family and were blessed with all that the home and surrounding area had to offer. We included the pontoon boat in our rental which was extremely worth it. Lots to do in the area, but unfortunately (or fortunately!) we had such a great time enjoying the house, the expansive yard, the boat, fishing, and just relaxing lakeside on the dock we never really ventured out. If our annual excursion finds us in MI again, we'll certainly return to Runnin' Bear!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
York Springs, PA, USA
5

Even better than described

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This house was a wonderful retreat in the heart of the chain of lakes. When we arrived, the house was fully stocked with all essentials you could think of. We had plenty of room for 8 adults, 7 kids, and there were lots of things to do at the house. The area itself is definitely for avid boaters and fishers. We enjoyed cherry picking, as well as the restaurants in Traverse City which is about 45 minutes away. We also went to Mackinac Island, a must do. It is about 1 hr 15 min away from the house, and definitely worth the trip. All in all, we highly recommend this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Waterford, MI
5

The perfect family vacation spot!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We have been to Runnin Bear for the last 3 years and absolutely love the home and property. Everything you could imagine you would need is provided for you. We have stayed in numerous homes throughout Michigan and Runnin Bear is our favorite by far.The home and beautiful yard are always immaculate upon arrival. The towns of Bellaire and Alden are great for souvenir shopping and local dining. And you can spend days on end traveling through the chain of lakes, or just anchored at the Torch Lake Sand Bar. We plan on making Runnin Bear a continued annual family trip.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
LaGrange, Illinois
5

Magical House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We rented this chalet end of January (for office weekend ski trip) and had a fabulous time! My four year old called this the "magical house."
When we pulled up to the property it looked like it was straight out of a Thomas Kinkade painting- covered in snow (oh the snow!) and surrounded by forrest--- gorgeous.
The house was immaculate and to our surprise, very child-friendly (high chair, kids books and games galore!) Skiing was close by and we loved the little town of Bellaire.
In the morning we made breakfast while the four year old marvelled at the deer in the front yard.
This is our favorite rental ever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Florida
5

Peaceful, Serene and all the ameneties of home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This is one of my favorite homes to rent in northern Michigan. We have rented over 20 years.....The wildlife is abundant and there are many choices of lakes to visit. The Grassy River is unique and beautiful. The house is well maintained and has everything you need for a great vacation...The home is so large it never seems crowded. The furniture on the front porch is unique!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Southern Michigan
5

Spacious, spotless and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This spacious home was absolutely spotless inside. We completely enjoyed the three levels of living which helped us spread
out, relax and have fun. We sat on the huge front porch so much that it actually became our family room, and with the peace and quiet of this home's location, we heard birds chirping and trees swaying and loons calling to each other. The beds in this home were by far the most comfortable and the highest quality we have encountered in 8 years of renting in N. Mich. The little beach down by the Dockside restaurant was perfect for our kids to swim and dig and play, and the fishermen in our group trekked down to the river every day on the beautiful lighted boardwalk to the lake for a full day of fishing. All in all, a very happy vacation in a home that invites you in and makes you completely comfortable. Thank you Linda! A+++++++
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Waterfront on Lower Chain of Lakes(w/dock) & minutes from Shanty Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316588
248 408-0925
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Novi, Michigan
5

Great Place to Relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Our family spent a week at Runnin Bear. The house is beautifully decorated and very roomy. The place met all of our expectations and was easy to find due to the great directions we received from the owners. The property was clean and well maintained. I would recommend the property to anyone. You are able to fish right off the dock. We enjoyed the meal we had at Toonies in Bellaire. The little town of Alden nearby had some nice shops also.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5