Lake Placid house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Lake Placid House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

This charming, newly renovated, three bedroom cottage is centrally located in the Village of Lake Placid. Situated two blocks off main street on a quiet, residential street, and within walking distance to the town's shops, restaurants, movie theatre, Mirror Lake Beach, Lake Placid Marina, the Oympic Center and ice rinks. Whiteface Mountain is a 15 minute drive. The Whiteface Mountain Shuttle can also be used and is within walking distance. IRONMAN 2014 IS ALREADY BOOKED!

35 Reviews of Property 3165303 in Lake Placid, New York

Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Cozy, comfortable, convenient & classy

Cozy, comfortable, convenient & classy
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family of three (two adults, one older child) stayed for a long weekend here and got plenty of late season snow -- which was great, given that the whole point was to meet our son for some skiing at Whiteface (he's a student at Plattsburgh) and shopping/dining in LP. We could not have been happier with our stay here. The cottage is very well-appointed, clean, impeccably/tastefully decorated, comfortable, in good repair, and features pretty much "new" everything (furnishings, kitchen cabinets/counters, linens, etc.). All linens, dishes, pots & pans were included and in good shape. We also availed ourselves of the opportunity to watch a couple DVDs, cooked a couple meals in (some basics in the pantry really helped), found the gas fireplace to be very cozy w/out the fuss of a wood fireplace (though we love both types!), and found everything in flawless working order (wifi, kitchen stove, fridge, furnace, hot water, lock box, etc.) Owner was exceedingly easy to deal with in terms of communication, prepping us for our stay, providing tips for places to eat/visit in LP, and instructions for departure as well. Quite literally, my wife and I kept saying "this is exactly the sort of house we'd like to retire in when we downsize someday." We will definitely rent again when occasion arises...maybe in summer next time, since the back yard/patio looks awesome as well.
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great house in the best location in Placid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
As a frequent visitor to Lake Placid I have stayed at several condos, apartments and hotels over the past several years and I must say this house ranks at the top of my list. Conveniently located within walking distance to all of the bars, restaurants and attractions on Main St this home is everything you would require in a vacation rental. The photos really do not do the place justice- a well-stocked kitchen, 3 bedrooms, a very comfortable living room make this place a great value, and it is immaculate, very well kept and very clean. We stayed for 4 nights over the MLK weekend and could not have been happier with our stay.

We had an issue with a set of lost rental cars keys (never did find them) and the owners, who happened to be in town as well, dropped by to let us know that we could stay in the house for as long as necessary to wait for a replacement vehicle to arrive which was extremely kind of them, they did not hurry us out of the house at all and were very supportive. This place is great for a family or couples. Why would you want to stay anywhere else!?

Sean
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Wallingford, PA
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful stay at this Cottage. The places was very clean and was in walking distance to Main Street and Mirror Lake. Well equipped kitchen and nice porch to hang on. Lake Placid was wonderful and I cannot wait to go back. I was also impressed that as soon as I arrived home, there was notification by the owner that our security deposit had been refunded. All around great experience.
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Wonderful long weekend stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We truly loved this cute little home! It's very cozy with the warm gas stove. The kitchen is spacious, modern and filled with anything you could need to feel at home! It's easy to walk downtown and eat at any of the local restaurants or take a tobaggan ride onto Mirror Lake. Can't wait to return!
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

wonderful stay, we love lake placid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Stayed for a long ski weekend in January with another couple. Before I go on about the house, we love Lake Placid! Such a great town - awesome people, tons to do, Whiteface is NEVER crowded and tons to do if you don't ski - was our 2nd time here in the winter months and hope to return in the summer.

Now, house was lovely and exactly as pictured - we had more than enough room for 2 couples (would even be perfect for a small family). Rooms and bathroom were good size so we didn't feel cramped. The living room was comfortable and had plenty of jacket hooks (8 to be exact) and a place for shoes at the entrance. We liked the fireplace and prefer for it not to be wood burning - much more convenient. The kitchen was clean and updated and having an extra bedroom (murphy beds) was perfect as we turned in into our "ski clothes" room. Front porch was lovely and would be great on a spring/summer/fall night. Missed not having a garage as in our previous rentals but that's only because it was -30* out! An extra bathroom/half bath would have been nice, especially it being 2 couples but it wasn't as much of an issue as I thought it could be. We kept our skis in the car and didn't use the rack that was on the porch. The walk to town is easy - up and down a few hills but nothing extreme and much better than worrying about drinking/driving (check out Smoke Signals for dinner - we loved it, great food and vibe!).

Would stay again in a heartbeat and hope to next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Newtown PA
5

Lovely little cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This nice little home was exactly what we were looking for. It was just a few short blocks to town, super clean, and well maintained. It looked precisely as featured on the website. Beds were comfy and the kitchen was really cute. My husband was a little disappointed when he saw that we would not have a real wood burning fireplace for this trip but the reality was, the gas was much cleaner and easier after an active day. Very cozy! Skiing at Whiteface was great, as was the ice skating at the Olympic oval. I would definitely recommend.
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
United States
5

Great place for an Ironman experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Owners responded quickly to the two issues we had...easy fixes! The house was welcoming and within an easy walk of town (you will get exercise anywhere you stay in Lake Placid). We could have used one more fan for the back bedroom (there is not an electrical outlet in that room to plug into), but we made do. We were able to see many of the 1980 Olympic venues withing easy walks or drives from the cottage. We would definitely consider staying there again should our travels take us to the Lake Placid area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Bloomingdale, NJ
5

Lake Placid Marathon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I stayed a few nights at this wonderful cottage and couldn't be more pleased. The house was super clean and freshly landscaped, and everything inside looked exactly like the pictures (if not better)!

We were in town to run the Lake Placid Marathon and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the town. Some nice restaurants and shops down on Main St...only about a 5 minute walk from the cottage! We had never been to Lake Placid before, but hope to return again, and hopefully stay at this same house. Absolutely Perfect!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Columbus, OH
5

Nice cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We went to the cottage for Spring Break this year. It happened to snow 3days while there. Perfect! We downhill skiied, cross country skiied, toured the town and Olympic Museum, hiked on one of the trails, had a great, memorable time. The cottage was very charming, very nice updates! We were able to eat in several times and found several nice restaurants. The owner had lots of great information and was extremely nice! Close to town, walking distance, enjoyed the fireplace, well stocked kitchen, even had the driveway shoveled.
Loved that we were able to wash clothes as well. Thanks for sharing your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Placid Grand View Avenue Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165303
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great Cottage retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Lake Placid cottage. Only improvement needed would be extra bathroom. With five women trying to get out in the morning, it was hectic. We managed nicely due to the wonderful comfort the cottage afforded us. Very, very clean and tastefully decorated, we cooked, relaxed and slept well here. We plan another trip back next spring!
Helpful votes: 1/1