Plymouth cottage rental - Renovated 1900's barn with lots of yard to play in
Renovated 1900's barn with lots of yard to play in
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Plymouth Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-7)

Be swept back in time, as you arrive at charming Starfish Cottage on Plymouth Harbor. This air conditioned retreat, started life as a 19th Century Barn and still boasts of original beams, floors, and doors. It is nestled among historic homes on Route 3A across from the Ocean and lighthouses on the Harbor.

Upstairs are two large bedrooms. They both have vaulted ceilings, skylights, and comfortable furnishings. This Spacious Family-Friendly Cottage comes with a large dining room, a stocked game-play area, and living room with gas fireplace. The nice yard offers a grill, plus a beautiful landscaped yard. The Cottage is professionally cleaned between each guest.

The cottage is two miles from the center of Plymouth and all Historic sites and four-tenths of a mile from Long Beach. Shopping outlets are five miles away over the Cape Cod Sagamore Bridge. 35 minutes from Boston. Easy on and off highways. Charge cards accepted.

Keywords: Renovated Historic Barn

22 Reviews of Property 58793 in Plymouth, Massachusetts

Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
average rating of 4.714286 based on 22 reviews
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Minford, Ohio
5

An extended family Thanksgiving adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I left the New York Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade to arrive at Starfish Cottage in beautiful Plymouth Harbor. What a lovely place to bring my daughter, her husband and the grandchildren. As the ad suggested it is a very child friendly place and the grandchildren had so many things to play with and everything about Starfish was lovely. It is handily located right next to the entrance of The Plimouth Plantation and we had scheduled the seasonal Thanksgiving dinner with the Pilgrims and Wampaog Indians. It is close to The Mayflower and don't miss the important Monument of our Forefathers. Can I suggest staying at starfish and take a daytrip over to Boston and visit the Boston Harbor Museum. You and your children will love the experience of throwing tea into the Harbor! So much to do all around Starfish and it was an experience we will always treasure. So glad Rita came over and met the family one evening. Such a very nice person and wonderful host. Sorry we didn't get to meet the daughter. Can I suggest that you spend some time in Plymouth showing your family where it all began and if we get back we are going to be staying at Starfish Cottage! Randy....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Boston, MA
5

A perfect place to get ready for a wedding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We rented the Starfish Cottage for the day so that my bridesmaids and I could get ready before my Pymouth area wedding. It was perfect! Our hair and makeup artist set herself up in one room, the upstairs rooms were open for the photographer to take pictures of my dress and then for me and the bridesmaids to dress. There is a cute kitchen, dining table and living area, so we brought food and champagne and made a day of it. The place itself is charming and cozy. When we were all dressed, we took some gorgeous pictures in the yard. It was the perfect place to start our day and I hope that my now husband and I will be back soon to spend a longer stay!
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
The Netherlands
4

Great stay with my wife and two little children !

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Stayed for 5 weeks in the Starfish Cottage with my family. Had a great time !! Thanks Rita.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Arkansas, USA
4

Good cottage for certain groups

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cottage has a great location for Plimoth Plantation and the beach. I walked to the beach a few times with my little ones (a stroller plus a 5 and 7 yr old walking). There is a sidewalk most of the way. The beach is mostly a rocky beach, especially at high tide. At low tide, there are sandy stretches. Although the house is located on a main road, the cottage is back from the road so we weren't bothered by traffic at all.

The A/C kept the main living spaces downstairs cool, but the playroom/futon sleeping space did not stay as cool. Although there were 3 beds in the twin room, one was right under the A/C so we chose not to use it. Seemed a bit loud in this location.

Due to the 3 twin beds and the various toys available, this is mostly a good cottage with kids. However, I would not recommend it for the crawling through about 4 age group. For one, no tub. I was able to wash my baby in the large kitchen sink, but at 20mo and petite, she was about maxing out the size for that. Also, the kitchen "cabinets" are actually curtains which was a hassle with a little one who was so curious and always wanting to open them and pull on them. Rita did provide gates for the stairs upon request, but the upstairs gate didn't work right, so that could be an issue for some. As another person mentioned, the stairs are VERY steep.

Rita was wonderful to work with and very quick to handle any mishaps.

This property has a wonderful large yard and a shed full of stuff to use in the yard and at the beach.

A lot of cobwebs, some dirty dishes and some stained towels, so its not for the nit-picky, but I didn't feel dirty staying there.

Lots of restaurants, Walmart, Target, and a couple of major grocery stores as well as a couple of malls provide anything you might need while there (within about 15 to 20 mins away)

Overall a great stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sarah for your input, it was a pleasure meeting you and your beautiful children.

The cottage is very clean as people have noted in their reviews, unfortunately with a quick change over I am sorry that a few items were overlooked but will pay special attention to these things in the future. I wish you had told me about the upstairs gate as the stairs are steep, when I checked it out it was working fine, just a little wider area.

All the best - Rita
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
5

Starfish Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just loved Starfish Cottage! The pictures couldn't capture the quaintness of this cottage. We were so pleased with everything. The owner was very hands on and helpful! We have already recommended to many family and friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Panama City Beach, FL
5

quaint comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
our family of four adults enjoyed our stay at the Starfish Cottage very much! the rooms and furnishings were just as pictured. the cottage was very spacious and provided everything needed. Rita was very helpful when we needed wifi connection. not only will i recommend the Starfish to friends and family, i hope to bring them next time i come! we visited dennis and the eden hand art shop, west brewster, the sandwich glass museum, and the dexter grist mill in sandwich and plymouth rock and the founder's memorial in downtown plymouth during our stay.
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
5

Relaxing, Spacious, Well Furnished Vacation Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Ten days at the Starfish Cottage was not enough! Located between the Mayflower and Plymouth Rock and Plimouth Plantation, this vacation spot was the perfect home away from home. Easy access to freeways and local highways, close to Boston and the Cape, and a quiet escape when the touring was done.

The Cottage is well appointed and large enough to relax. A barbecue off the kitchen door calls you home for the evening. The beautiful lawn and gardens are well-maintained and inviting. I would recommend the Starfish Cottage to any travellers to the South Shore or Cape Cod.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
south of ATL
4

Good central place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Enjoyed our stay at Starfish Cottage...actually a former barn/stable built in the 1850's, which has been lovingly converted to a cottage. It's located behind the owner's home in a quiet residential neighborhood. It's conveniently located to all the Plymouth attractions and about an hour from Boston, Concord, Lexington, and Cape Cod. Newport, R.I., is about 1 1/2 hrs away and is also a good place to visit.

It's clean, well maintained, and fully stocked with most anything you'll need during your stay. Plenty of supplies on hand for the bath, kitchen, and play room. Towels are very thick and soft, and linens and master bed are comfy (didn't try the others). It's attractively decorated, a bit antiqueky, a bit beachy, and a bit eclectic. Price quoted is final price; no extra/hidden charges.

Several things to note that weren't a problem for us but could be to others. The place is plenty spacious for 4-6 people, but it has only one small bathroom. The shower is a bit small so parents might find it difficult to assist children with bathing. Rita, the owner, plans to add a mirror near good lighting and an electrical outlet so that there's another place to do hair and makeup.

Both bedrooms are upstairs and the bath is downstairs. Navigating the steep stairs during the night while half asleep can be a bit daunting. There's a futon and sleeper sofa downstairs that could be used. Not sure the futon would be that comfortable, and we weren't interested in pulling out and putting up the sleeper sofa each day. A blow-up mattress could possibly be a good alternative.

There's a two-burner cooktop, a large toaster oven (no built in oven), and a microwave. That's all we needed to fix breakfast and reheat leftovers or food we had picked up. There's no dishwasher, but plenty of soap, drain rack, and dishtowels are provided. Also, no ice maker in the refrig, but plenty of trays to make ice and a basket to hold extra.

Rita was quick to respond to all inquiries prior to our arrival and to help us use the heating system when we couldn't figure it out on our own. She made great suggestions on places to eat and what to see. Don't miss Plimoth Plantation, it was the highlight of our 11 stay in NE. The quick market that she recommended was also very good, reasonably priced, and convenient.

Plymouth Pizza has very good pizza for an inexpensive meal and something different from seafood. Monday night's are 2 for 1 entree's - dine in only.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Aurora, IL
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a great place this turned out to be. We have a family of 5 and the cottage served our needs perfectly. It is perfectly located and we were able to get to just about anywhere we wanted to go in an hour, exception was Provincetown. We had a wonderful vacation and it all started with this cottage. Thank you to Rita for a wonderful stay.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Cozy, Charming, Lovely Gardens, Near Ocean , Family Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58793vb
508-746-4745
Plymouth South Shore Massachusetts
Newcastle, Staffordshire
4

Comfortable and homely cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a pleasant stay at Starfish Cottage. It was extremely clean, comfortable and cosy and had everything you might need in a holiday home, with lots of nice touches.
There was a fully equipped kitchen, coffee and coffee maker( for any Brits - also a kettle!), and we found relishes and sauces in the fridge. Pretty bed linen, Wi-Fi, large TV, DVD, VCR, lots of films to choose from, toys/game room, fully air conditioned, heating for the winter months, dozens of books, local info. Towels and beach towels too, cooler for the beach. Large garden with table and chairs. Havent listed everything but we didn't need a thing, oh, hair dryer, tongues, shampoo, shower gels etc.
The cottage is quite dark but it's not a problem, and couldnt see the ocean but that might just be us? Stairs are quite steep so that's not good for elderly or infirm but there is possibility of sleeping downstairs and bathroom is downstairs so that would work out fine.
Starfish is located just outside the centre of Plymouth in a lovely residential area, a ten minute walk to the nearest beach, and a few minutes drive into town.
Whale watching is not to be missed, numerous eating places, nice harbour, Boston about an hour drive away, close to Cape Cod, we even squeezed in a trip to New York which was a wonderful experience. Don't worry if you miss Plymouth Rock, it's unexciting!
Overall, we would definitely recommend this cottage and it's lovely location.
Helpful votes: 1/1