Kent Island house rental - Incredible Sunsets From the Sunroom
Incredible Sunsets From the Sunroom
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Kent Island House Rental Photos and Description
4 Beds/2 Baths (sleeps 8) with Central Air Conditioning

Please tell us a little about your family, who would be staying at the home, and the reason for your visit to Kent Island.

This home is a special place to us & has been in our family for over 50 years. Over the years we have made many updates to the home. The location is a serene 3 acre waterfront setting, on Cox Creek, that features incredible western views along with gorgeous sunsets. Relaxing in the 3 season sun room and watching the sunset is a must! Panoramic views of the water can be had from most rooms in the home. Central location allows for day trips to DC, Annapolis, Baltimore, & St. Michaels.

The home has approx 2500 square feet, a wonderful Great Room with fireplace, large Dining Room table that seats 10, & eat-in kitchen. There is a spacious Master Bedroom (queen bed) + Master Bath, Bedroom #2 has a queen bed, Bed #3 has 2 twin beds, Bedroom #4 is also the den off the Great Room & has a pullout sofa bed.

Relax and enjoy the wonderful Chesapeake Bay! : Relax and enjoy the wonderful Eastern Shore of Maryland and Kent Island. Dine at Harris Crab House, The Narrows, The Fisherman's Inn, Hemingway's, or Annie's Restaurant (among many others). Golf at nearby Queenstown Harbor Golf (15 minutes away). Bike on the Cross Island Trail (5 minutes away). Kayak or Canoe at the Chesapeake Bay Environmental Center (15 minutes away). Walk along the beaches at Terrapin Park or Mattapeake Beach (10 minutes away), Kentmorr Restaurant and Marina (10 minutes away, great beach to swim). Take scenic drives to many exciting areas on the Chesapeake Bay including the US Naval Academy in Annapolis (30 minutes) or the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in St. Michaels. Many outlet stores are also nearby in Queenstown. The best thing to do here is Nothing! Gazing at the water is a very popular activity. Fishing and Crabbing Trips may be arranged for an additional fee (possible departure right from our pier!).

How to find out about local events: Search 'Kent Island', 'Queen Anne's County', 'Talbot County', 'Kent County', and 'Anne Arundel County' for web sites and more activities. Kent Island is in Queen Anne's County.

If you Google 'Fisherman's Inn Kent Island' they have an excellent list of 'Things to Do' on their website.

Transportation: 'Kent Island Express' has a full staff of experienced drivers (based at the Bay Bridge Airport) to take passengers to and from airports, offices, or just about any destination on either side of the Bay. Their vehicles include two mini-vans, three 15-passenger vans, two Cadillac sedans, three buses, and a limousine.

Operation Hours

Monday-Friday: 9am - 9pm

Saturdays: 9am - 6pm

More Details
Hide Details

Harry and his son Scott are co-owners of their family vacation home. The home has been in the family since 1950 and has been lovingly maintained and updated. This is a family effort and Harry or Scott personally 'check-in' all guests.

Scott Sanders purchased this house in 2005

We chose to keep the home in our family because of the beautiful setting and convenient location.

25 Reviews of Property 316300 on Kent Island, Maryland

Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

The Kent Island home was clean and well-equipped.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The property was clean, well-equipped and beautifully situated on the water. There was plenty of information provided about the surrounding areas of interest.
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
Rumford, RI
5

Wonderful Rental on Kent Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Having stayed at several rentals in the Kent Island area, we have to say that this is the best. It is the perfect family getaway, close enough to stores, restaurants, and attractions, yet situated in a quiet, safe residential neighborhood. We had family from the area visit during our vacation and it worked well for the 3 year old as well as the 70+ year olds. There are a few steps to negotiate in order to enter the house, but after that it is all on one level. It is very spacious with the master suite at one end of the house and the two bedrooms and den at the other with the second bath near. Although we did not need to use it, the den would work well as a 4th bedroom. The air conditioning kept up with the hot weather quite well. The house was inviting and comfortable with pleanty of space to gather or private space to be alone. Harry was very easy to work with and our transactions were seamless. We highly reccomend this property and hope to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

It's a shore thing!

It's a shore thing!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Staying at Benton's Pleasure was awesome!! I spent many hours just watching whatever was happening on the river, watching the gloriousw sunsets and was even treated to seeing the GoodYear blimp float by!! Our family was very comfortable, able to relax and have one of the best week's of our lives. We had everything we needed, felt welcomed and accomodated. Thanks Harry for your warm & genuine hospitality, we are very grateful!!! We will definitely return.
The description in the listing was accurate and the photos reflected the house appearance and amenities. The condition of the property was well maintained and lovingly cared for, with lots of little extra touches. Harry was kind, friendly and very genuine in answering my questions. We did recommend the house to friends and family because of all of the attractions close to the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

A great home base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This home was exactly as advertised. Our family of two parents, three adult kids, one 11 year old and one grandfather fit beautifully. The accommodations were spotless. This is not a modern or fancy home, but a lovingly maintained family home with plenty of room for both privacy and the whole group to gather. The kitchen was way more than adequate for the cooking we needed to do, which tended toward cheese platters and morning coffee, and it, in addition to the dining room, accommodated all of us.
The bedroom situation is thus: two nice sized bedrooms (one with two twin beds and the other with a queen or double) were on one side of the house along with one bathroom. The fold-out couch in a room adjacent to the living room was fine for twenty year olds, but was not entirely separate from the living room and had a window and a door open to the living room. Not a problem for us, but nice to know. The master bedroom/bath was spacious and on the other side of the house, providing significant privacy.
THE PLACE TO BE was outside at sunset. What a show! Astoundingly beautiful sunsets most nights. Do bring your Off! mosquito repellant, but the changing view is absolutely worth a few mosquito bites.
We used the house as our home base for day trips to Easton, St. Michaels, Tilghman Island, Annapolis and Baltimore, and although we faced a couple of traffic snarl-ups, in general, we felt the location was quite convenient.
Harry and Scott the owners are very pleasant and fastidious homeowners.
I hope we'll be back.
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
Colesville, MD
4

Family gathering

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is as depicted as comfortable and homey. It was very clean and well maintained and there were many amenities provided to make our stay comfortable. The owner was very helpful and had notes everywhere to facilitate our use of his home. I would certainly recommend this property and will stay there again. The only suggestion I would make would be the replacement of the mattresses in the second bedroom.We had a family gathering and everyone found the accommodations to be most comfortable.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Becoming an islander

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Want to get a taste of what it is like to live on Kent Island? This is the house. It’s located in an upscale neighborhood but manages to retain the charm of its original owners. As you drive down the tree lined driveway towards the house, the bay becomes visible along with the private dock. When you are ushered through the front door, your eye is drawn to all the little historical details of the house such as the interior Dutch door, the brick fireplace in the library and the built-in corner cabinet in the kitchen. Once you’ve taken in the spotless appearance (spotless means no evidence of previous guests), you will marvel at the décor. Not your ordinary rental fare. The kitchen is well equipped with just about anything you might need to stir up a casual dinner of crabs to a full course meal with a better than picnic presentation. The bedrooms are located at either end of the house allowing for a private master bedroom/ bath combination. The central air conditioning worked beautifully in 95 degree temperatures.
The house is situated in a rural setting but within reach of the local stores. Kent Island has a charm of its own. You become an islander while shopping for supplies or dining in the restaurants. Souvenir shops were not around every corner. Remnants of century old historical sites are within a short drive as well as the public beach in the park. The locals are more than willing to give you tips on what to see and where to eat. Major site seeing destinations, such as the Annapolis Naval Academy’s new museum are just a short drive over the Bay Bridge and a day at Saint Michaels is just a drive southward. For one short week, our family enjoyed the hospitality of the Sander family, kayaked in the bay, crabbed off the dock, enjoyed site seeing, went for evening walks in the neighborhood and relaxed……………..
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Kent Island property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Terrific place. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. The family is already talking about coming back next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Rejuvenating and Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
A beautiful setting and gracious hosts made for a totally relaxing early Spring break from all stresses. The house is in a lovely location, with sweeping water views, great dock and all wished-for comforts inside. Yet, just minutes away one finds every shopping, dining and service needs easily fulfilled,Whether you spend a weekend or several weeks there, you will leave refreshed and happy you chose this property. We've been there at least five times!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Nice, relaxing, and needed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed in the property over the last week of July and found it to be quite relaxing. While the weather was quite warm, it was not too bad for most of the trip and we spent a great deal of time in the water. My kids insisted on putting out the crab traps and we caught enough for a great dinner our last night.

There are plenty of great restaurants close by, and the location is very convienent to both the Annapolis area, and Easton and St. Michaels on the Eastern Shore.

One note of information.....The primary way to get to the house is across the Bay Bridge. During the weekend, the traffic going to the Eastern Shore can back up pretty badly. If your schedule will allow it, try to go across sometime late in the day.

The last thing we said as we left was..."I wonder what this place is like in the fall." Hopefully we will return and find out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Peaceful, Waterfront Cottage w/Pier (close to St. Michaels & Annapolis)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316300
+1 410 967-3675
Kent Island Chesapeake Bay
Philadelphia
5

Property Exceeded Our Expections

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Quality, spacious vacation home property with excellent amenities, beautifully maintained grounds (3 acres) and outstanding location on Kent Island provided recent Memorial Day weekend experience that will long be remembered. Everything described was provided and delivered as promised. Property delighted our family members-- who ranged in age from 3 years old to 80+ -- with rooms for everyone to spread out, shared meals on enclosed sun deck with sweeping views of the water and sunsets, we fished and crabbed from the private pier and along the shore. We trekked to nearly local restaurants in Kent Narrows, found time to sight see in nearby historic Cambridge, Annapolis and Baltimore Harbor, Returned to this lovely home--more like a tranquil, peaceful oasis--to be refreshed and rejuvenated. Owners were extremely knowledgeable of the area, took great care to respond to our initial queries when booking and then provided even more professional, courteous and helpful support upon arrival, We hated to leave and can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5