Atlanta cottage rental - View from the 600 sq/ft deck high above the lake and built in the trees
View from the 600 sq/ft deck high above the lake and built in the trees
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Atlanta Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Romantic cottage sleeps up to 5 with free wireless Internet. Very peaceful!

This cottage has it's own dock, a newly added metal roof with skylights, and includes a canoe with the rental. Beautiful 600 sq/ft Trex deck built in the trees high above the lake. Large 2 acre lot so lots of privacy.

This cottage is next door to the larger Atlanta house. Great for family re-unions or large groups.

Located on Crooked Lake which is a no-wake lake, i.e., no jet ski's or fast boats. Great for fishing, canoeing and swimming! The house sits high on a hill overlooking the lake.

Sleeper sofa and day bed sleep up to 4 additional people. Master bedroom has a queen size bed. Fireplace, fire pit and a deck overlooking the lake. Kayak's available if requested at time of rental.

Include all dished, pots and pans, linens, and towels.

Newly redone bathroom with a jet tub, all new fixtures, new window and drywall. Very clean, light and modern.

New carpeting, new 42' Plasma TV, 20 or so DVD to watch.

Baby Bear was the 2nd of the 4 houses purchased in the Atlanta area. The 3 Bears are all next to one another and this one is in between Mama and Papa Bear. Goldilocks is on sandy Clear Lake 10 minutes north of the Bears.

While the smallest of the 4 homes, it has the most charm.

Marc Edwards purchased this cottage in 2004

This house is often rented in conjuction with Mama or Papa Bear given it's location in the middle. This is great for family reunions or larger groups of friends and is discounted by 33% when rented as a group.

This Permalog home is very energy efficent - warm in the in the winter and cool in the summer with one small A/C unit. The new green metal roof with skylights add charm and really light up the living room.

The new bathroom has a jet tub and was completely redone in 2012. The kitchen is fully stocked and the 42' Plasma HDTV has most all of the Direct TV channels.

7 Reviews of Property 316149 in Atlanta, Michigan

Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
Saginaw, Michigan
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We spent a week here--the fastest week of the year!It's very quiet and is located on one of many chanels leading into Clear Lake. Although the kids and my dogs enjoyed swimming in the channnel, I found it to be alittle too weedy for my tase. But it was only 3 minutes to a near-by, little, sandy beach that was never too crowded. The kids and dogs enjoyed the beach too! The best thing about our stay were the two caretakers! Roger's daughter owns the cottage. My brother-in-law broke the motor on his fishing boat the first day we were there. Roger helped us out by lending us his boat for the last part of our stay! Clean, well-manintained, near-by store and restaurant and fabulous cosomer service. I would definitely recommend this get-away!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
5

Great for a quiet, relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Baby Bear Cabin was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted a quiet, tranquil getaway to enjoy the end of summer. The cabin was the perfect size for two adults. We golfed at a few places in the area- the favorite was Elk Ridge. We swam and fished from the lovely dock on Crooked Lake, and took some kayaking trips up the creek. Absolutely beautiful.

Marc was always prompt and professional in our interactions with him. He gave suggestions on local attractions. The cabin was clean and contained everything we needed to enjoy our stay (I especially loved the jacuzzi tub- I found an excuse to use it often!)

I can't wait to visit Baby Bear (or perhaps one of Marc's larger properties with a couple friends) next year. Highly recommend to nature lovers and those looking for peace and quiet. If you're looking to party hearty, you might want to go elsewhere! It's definitely a tranquil, peaceful environment.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
ann Arbor, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Hi Marc, I just wanted to say thank you again for letting us stay in your cottage this past weekend. It was exactly what we were looking for as a ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
Hi Marc,

I just wanted to say thank you again for letting us stay in your cottage this past weekend. It was exactly what we were looking for as a weekend getaway. The area is beautiful & very peaceful. We had a wonderful time and hope to stay there again in the future.

The dogs had a blast. We couldn’t keep them out of the water! They loved swimming in the lake.

Take care,

Jennifer
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
Maple Hill, Kentucky
5

Guestbook Comment

Hello Marc, It was a VERY enjoyable stay. The family loved it and is already talking about, "when can we go again?" It's the first ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
Hello Marc,

It was a VERY enjoyable stay. The family loved it and is already talking about, "when can we go again?" It's the first time in a long time that I haven't been on a schedule and was able to relax. The children spent the days on the lake, in the kayaks and canoe and were very content.

When we make it back to Atlanta, we will definitely be contacting you.

Oh, to top off our stay, as we were leaving, getting off Baker Rd. onto 33, we saw eight Elk right next to the road, what an awesome sight. I grew up in Atlanta, but at that time the Elk were only on Canada Creek Ranch, so we didn't see them.

May God bless you, Evelyn Shibler
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
Ypsilanti, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

WOW!!! What a great cottage. We had a wonderful, relaxing time!! It is so peaceful and beautiful; we can't wait to go back. We ate every meal out...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
WOW!!! What a great cottage. We had a wonderful, relaxing time!! It is so peaceful and beautiful; we can't wait to go back. We ate every meal outside on the gorgeous deck overlooking the lake. The loons provided the best background music ever!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
Northville, Mi 48167
5

Guestbook Comment

The nicest rental cottage we have ever occupied! Very spacious and comfortable. Beautiful deck and spectactular view of the lake from front cottage ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2005
  • Stayed: Oct 2005
The nicest rental cottage we have ever occupied! Very spacious and comfortable. Beautiful deck and spectactular view of the lake from front cottage window. This owner cares about pleasing guests - high threadcount sheets and top of the line mattress in the bedroom. Will stay again, and again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cute (Pet friendly) Cottage on Crooked Lake - aka, Baby Bear
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316149
248 935-9004
Atlanta Northern Michigan
Commerce Twp, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin is comfortable and nicely decorated. The setting is very peaceful and pretty. The deck is awesome and be...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin is comfortable and nicely decorated. The setting is very peaceful and pretty. The deck is awesome and because part of it is covered, we were able to eat outside when it rained. It is rare to find a lakefront property with this much privacy and quiet. We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2