Midtown Manhattan apartment rental - Queen Size Sofa
Queen Size Sofa
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Midtown Manhattan Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 1 BR 1 BA Garden Apt Plus Optional 2 Rooms & 1/2 BA Sleeps up to 10

Feel at home with traditional furnishings with contemporary backgrounds, colors and accessories. Designed for sophisticated living with a thought for elegance without ostentation.

Enjoy refined comfort and convenience. Just open the front door to find the heart and soul of NYC at your feet. After you experience an exciting and fun filled day of sightseeing, shopping, museums and theater you can escape from the fast pace and relax in peace and quiet...just steps away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.

Your private walled garden is perfect retreat for relaxing with a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

When you enter your apartment you'll find the romance and charm of exposed brick walls, wide plank floors, and original art.

A cushioned single Bahama bed is convenient for another guest and 2 of the chairs fold out into single beds.

A quaint 150 year old opaque glass wall separates the living room and bedroom. Pamper yourself with an excellent night's sleep and wake refreshed in the queen size bed with quality linens, a fluffy feather duvet and lots of extra pillows. There's plenty of room for all of your clothes and shopping sprees in a wall of custom fitted closets. The en suite marble tiled bathroom has a small tub with shower and a glass vanity and sink.

A rare find in New York is the separate and full eat-in kitchen with large double door refrigerator/freezer with automatic ice maker, full stove with oven and full size dishwasher. The kitchen is nicely equipped with microwave, coffee pot, pots and pans, dishes, glassware, champagne glasses, martini glasses, ice bucket and flatware....just what you need for the real New York lifestyle.

The dining area with window seat overlooks the peaceful private garden.

If you don't feel like cooking, just order in from the many near by restaurants or have the grocery stores deliver.

An adjacent 2-room 1/2 bath duplex suite is available for large families. The small downstairs room is furnished as an office/library and has a queen size sofa bed. Private interior stairs lead to a large upstairs bedroom with 2 twin size beds which can be made up into a king size bed if you prefer. A 1/2 bath is off of this room.

There are 5 rather shallow steps into the building making it unsuitable for very young children and guests who might have a problem with stairs.

The apartment is one of three units in a private 4 story townhouse. It is on the garden floor in the back and is exceptionally quiet, clean, safe and secure. You'll find many extra modern details such as high hat lights in all of the rooms, a security buzzer to open the front doors and quality windows and doors.

It is said that the famous dancer Isadora Duncan once lived here.

We haven't been able to confirm this, but like to believe that it is true. We hope that you will spend some time here, too.

*Free High Speed Wireless DSL *Free Premium satellite TV *DVD *VCR *CD player *Fireplace *Air Conditioning *Ceiling fans *Phone with unlimited local service *Full Well-equipped Kitchen *Microwave * Full Dishwasher, *Double door Refrigerator/Freezer *Automatic Ice Maker *Toaster *Coffee Pot *Cooking utensils *Quality Linens & Towels *extra pillows and blankets *Clock radio & Alarm Clock *Hair Dryer *Iron and Ironing board.

Shopping, Restaurants, Live Theater, Cinemas, Museums, Sightseeing, Short Walk to the Empire State Building, the theater, Lord & Taylors, Macy's and the Farmer's Market. New York is at your feet.

More Details
Hide Details

Travel is my passion and I love to meet new people. My main home is in Florida, but I come to NYC as often as possible. It is rewarding to share my knowledge of insider places with my guests. I wrote a book for my guests, 'How to Live Like a Real New Yorker in our Neighborhood'. It gives suggestions about where to eat in all price ranges, museums, attractions, grocery shopping, luxury shopping, discount shopping, how to take the bus and subway, how to find your way around the city and lots more.

I also write a blog about NYC with posts about restaurants, attractions, How to get Theater tickets and other Tips for Travelers. Just 'like' me on facebook to read it: facebook.com/VacationRentalsInNYC or if you are not on facebook, please e-mail me for the link. You don't have to stay here to read it.

I hope that I can inspire you to love NYC as as much as I do.

Marea Edynak purchased this apartment in 2003

You can't find a better Center City Location convenient to all that New York City has to offer. My husband want to see trees and he did not want to look out the windows into the neighbors' windows. I wanted to open my door and have New York City at my feet.

It is rare to have a large garden and huge trees in the center of Manhattan. Look in one direction and you might think you were in the country. Look another direction and you see skyscrapers. It is only 2 blocks from the subway and 1/2 block from 2 bus lines.....a quick walk but not close enough for the noise.

73 Reviews of Property 315922 in Midtown Manhattan, New York

The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
average rating of 4.881356 based on 73 reviews
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
San Diego, CA
5

Safe, Convenient, Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
This apartment is perfect for any family visiting NYC.
Quiet and convenient - only 2 blocks to the 6 train! Walk to Empire State Building and Flatiron Building.

So quiet we could sleep past noon!

Marea, the hostess is gracious and better than a local tour guide. She gives the information that only a resident really knows: restaurants, bargain shopping, how to save on broadway shows.

Neat, tidy, and intriguing building in a great section of Manhattan. The private courtyard takes you into a secret world!
Helpful votes: 26/29
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Northern California
5

Very Comfortable NYC Apartment, central to EVERYTHING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had in NYC and especially at your apartment. We were very comfortable there and especially appreciated the location. Besides having easy access to subway and bus transportation, we enjoyed walking to many locations. Being able to use the main apartment as well as the library and upstairs bedroom gave us plenty of space and privacy. The living room, dining area and kitchen were a good size for all of us to be together.

Thank you as well for helping us work out the details to keep our arrival secret from our son. It was a wonderful surprise and so much fun for all of us. The wines you provided were enjoyed by all of us. Our kids even took time when they first arrived to have a tasting out on the patio. (It was a bit too cool by the time we arrived.)

Hopefully, we will return to NYC in the future and will definitely look up your apartment. As well, if we have friends headed there, we will recommend you to them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You and your family are lovely guests and I enjoyed having you stay in the apartment.....especially "the surprise" for you son. I look forward to your return in the future.
Marea
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Sydney
5

3 Friends from Sydney Australia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My 2 friends and I stayed at this apartment in September 2013. We found the location to be excellent close walking distance to many of NYC attractions with subway stations very close by. Marea was a fabulous help with lots of information and great ides for places to eat shop and sight see. The property was as advertised and had all amenities needed and was great to unwind at the end of a busy day. Kitchen was stocked with supplies and the courtyard out the back was lovely and a real treat in New York.Communication before during and after was excellent and very helpful . It made us feel like we had a friend already in NYC. The area is very safe also and we never felt uncomfortable leaving or entering the apartment. I would recommend this home away from home to anyone who needs a bit of space that a hotel would never have.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
5

Great Location and great Apartment, RECOMMANDED

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family of 10 (french people) stayed in this apartment for 6 nights. It looks as good as the pictures and everything was as listed -- fabulous location, very clean and quiet, offers everything you need, the subway, grocery & restaurants are very close.
Marea, the owner, greeted us with a bottle of wine and provided us so many advises. She makes herself readily available if you have any questions or need assistance during your stay. I would definitely recommend this apartment and hope to have the opportunity to return in the future. Thanks again Marea!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Georgia USA
5

Loved this Apartment - Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Highly recommend this apartment, location and owner- easily 5 stars!!

We couldn't stop talking about how lucky we were to find this wonderful apartment. It made our Girl Scout trip to NYC even more fabulous. Marea greeted us when we arrived, gave us valuable tips on where to go and how to get there. The apartment and location were super! The place was well maintained - clean and the perfect size. We took advantage of the kitchen and eating area to have leisurely breakfasts before starting out on our daily adventures.

We were so close to everything, sightseeing, several subway stations, restaurants, and shopping. We really liked this neighborhood and it's location. It was very safe, quiet, and had a relaxed atmosphere. We traveled with 8 teenagers and 3 adults and used both the main apartment and the library, and studio. We would definitely come back!

Also important to us was that whenever we contacted Marea, the owner, prior to our visit, with questions - we received a prompt, caring, and informative response. We couldn't have asked for better service - it was like visiting family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Secret Garden Oasis In Centeral Manhattan

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Garden oasis in the middle of Manhattan

This apartment is located right in the middle of Manhattan convenient to everything. It is very comfortable and quiet but the real secret is its wonderful garden which provides an oasis where you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful Space and Comfort for a Family of 5

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The location of the apartment & the overall comfort it afforded us, played a big part in the success of our NYC vacation. Before we arrived, I was nervous that the unit wouldn't measure up to our expectations but I need not have. The apartment worked well for us - one couple & 3 teenagers. Everyone had room to spread out, especially at the end of the day. We read in the bedroom, the young ones played cards, watched TV in the main room and snacked in the kitchen. Everyone was happy.was happy.

I especially loved reading the newspaper in the back patio...what an oasis! While we visited the weather broke records, 25 degrees Celsius in March...I can imagine how wonderful this little spot must be in summer, especially when you can fire up the
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Well Furnished Apartment Really Nice Neighborhood

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Appartment is in a great location, really nice neighborhod, great resturants, deli's and close to Empire State, Macys etc. 1 block from subway. Appartment well furnished TV, internet, & good kitchen. Service was very good, especially as we had to extend our stay due to flights being affected by the volcanic ash from Iceland
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We could not recommend more enthusiastically

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2010
This was our first trip to NYC, and we came with myself, my wife, and our six children ages 18-8! Whew! Marea made herself our personal tour guide, and it all started with her lovely apartment in the perfect location for a trip to NYC. Everything was smooth, from check-in to departure, and was everything she had promised it would be. We will return to NY again, and the first place we look for accommodations will be with Marea, for this apartment. We could not recommend this rental more enthusiastically!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Charm of the 1850's with the Tempo of Today ..... Center City Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315922
+1 212 685-0891
Midtown Manhattan Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We Couldn't Wait to Come Back

We Couldn't Wait to Come Back
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2010
This is our second stay at Marea's, the first in 2006 for a family wedding and this time returning because we couldn't wait to get back! Thank you Marea for your warm hospitality and very welcome, delicious New York wine - a lovely way to start our holiday. The accommodation is great, a real home from home, being perfect for our party of 6 adults and one baby. Each day started with breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden to plan our day. It was a pleasure from beginning to end. Thank you and we hope to be back again.

Hide Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in
Cleanliness
Comfort
Location
Service
Value



Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Helpful votes: 1/1